Eilika Emmerlich
Sunday October 31st, 2010

Business Locomotive Germany – Who Is The Stoker?

“Germany is again at the forefront and pulling the European Business Train”. Those are the proud words of the German Federal Minister of Economic Affairs. The Federal Chancellor says it with the hint of a fighting spirit showing around her mouth. The Federal Minister of Finances says it cautiously. So we ask: who does the pulling? Who is the stoker? The innovative enterprises? The diligent German workers, with and without migratory background? Probably.

But looking at the calendar, I get a different idea, probably a better one. The first of May – a Saturday. The third of October – a Sunday. Reformation Day – a Sunday. The first and second day of Christmas – Saturday and Sunday. And I am sure you already guessed – New Year’s Day is also a Sunday, although strictly spoken it no longer counts. 5 more work days than in other years means a roughly 2.5 per cent higher GDP. Even if we take into consideration that Reformation Day is no longer a holiday in all regions, there still remain 4 days = 2 per cent.

So, ladies and gentlemen: be cautious and humble! Instead of praising yourself, you should pay an extra bonus to Pope Gregory XIII (of course less than 500,000 Euros) by lighting a candle of thanks on this Reformation Day. After all, it was he who, in the year 1582, wrote the bull “inter gravissimas”, thus showing how farsighted he is and seeing to it that we work so much in the “boom year 2010”.

EEM
(Translated by EG)

As a supplement to my article about the suitability of ethical theories in business, I want to give voice to Peter Ulrich one more time. During his final lecture at St. Gallen, the expert in business ethics said that the “social embedding of the market economy is the main problem of the 21st century”.

mehr »

Eilika Emmerlich
Friday December 4th, 2009

(political correctness)³

In the FAZ of December, 2nd, I read that criminal gangs of children belonging to the “group of Rotational Europeans” are more and more active in the Rhine-Main area. They usually strip flats of all valuables and then disappear quickly, before the break-in is noticed.

According to the FAZ, the definition of “Rotational Europeans” is: families of Sinti and Roma who send their children east from Strasbourg to do their thieving in our country.

Isn’t it truly a comfort to know the politically correct name for the gangs? It certainly makes the loss of valuable items only half as painful, doesn’t it?

EEM
(Translated by EG)

Independent from the popular scientific literature on management, the subject “business ethics” established itself at the universities. In economic science, however, it has been neglected so far. Leading institutes, such as the EBS or faculties for instance at the universities of Mannheim and Frankfurt have only just started offering compulsory courses in “business ethics” for future business leaders. Here is an overview of one older yet still current and three modern positions:

mehr »

Eilika Emmerlich
Sonntag, der 31. Oktober 2010

Wirtschaftslokomotive Deutschland – wer ist der Heizer?

„Deutschland ist wieder vorn und zieht den europäischen Wirtschaftszug“. Sagt der Bundeswirtschaftsminister stolz. Sagt die Bundeskanzlerin mit kämpferischem Zug um den Mund. Sagt der Finanzminister vorsichtig. Also fragen wir uns: Wer ist der Antreiber, wer heizt? Die innovativen Unternehmer? Die fleißigen deutschen Arbeitnehmer mit und ohne Migrationshintergrund? Mag sein.

Aber ein Blick in den Kalender belehrt mich eines anderes, vielleicht besseren. Der 1. Mai – ein Samstag. Der 3. Oktober, ein Sonntag. Das Reformationsfest – ein Sonntag. Der erste und zweite Weihnachtsfeiertag – Samstag und Sonntag. Und Sie ahnen es schon – auch Neujahr fällt auf einen Sonntag, obwohl der Tag streng genommen nicht mehr zählt. 5 Arbeitstage mehr als in anderen Jahren bedeutet ca. 2,5 Prozent höheres BIP. Bedenken wir, dass das Reformationsfest nicht mehr in allen Bundesländern gefeiert wird, bleibt noch ein beachtlicher „Rest“ von 4 Tagen = 2 Prozent.

Also Vorsicht und Demut, Herrschaften! Statt Euch selbstgefällig zu loben, solltet Ihr dem Papst Gregor XIII einen Sonderbonus (natürlich unter 500.000Euro) zahlen, indem Ihr am heutigen Reformationsfest eine Dankeskerze anzündet. Der hat nämlich 1582 mit der Bulle „inter gravissimas“ weitsichtig dafür gesorgt, dass im „Aufschwungsjahr 2010“ so viel geschuftet wird.

EEM

Als Ergänzung zu meinem Artikel über die Tauglichkeit der wirtschaftsethischen Theorien möchte ich noch einmal Peter Ulrich zu Wort kommen lassen. In seiner Abschiedsvorlesung bezeichnet der Wirtschaftsethiker in St. Gallen die „gesellschaftliche Einbettung der Marktwirtschaft als Kernproblem des 21. Jahrhunderts“.

mehr »

Eilika Emmerlich
Freitag, der 4. Dezember 2009

(political correctness)³

In der FAZ vom 2.12. lese ich, dass Kinderbanden aus dem „Kreis der Rotationseuropäer“ vermehrt im Rhein-Main-Gebiet einfallen, Wohnungen ausräumen und blitzschnell wieder verschwinden, ehe der Einbruch bemerkt wurde.

„Rotationseuropäer“ sind laut FAZ Sinti- und Roma-Familien, die ihre Kinder aus Straßburg hierher auf Klau-Tour schicken.

Ich finde, wenn man erst den politisch korrekten Begriff für die Banden hat, tut der Verlust der Wertsachen nur noch halb so weh, oder?

EEM

Neben der populärwissenschaftlichen Managementliteratur hat sich an den Universitäten das Fach „Wirtschaftsethik“ etabliert, das allerdings von den Wirtschaftswissenschaften weitgehend vernachlässigt wurde. So bieten führende Institute wie die EBS oder Fakultäten wie an den Universitäten in Mannheim und Frankfurt erst jetzt „Wirtschaftsethik“ als Pflichtkurs für zukünftige Führungskräfte der Wirtschaft an. Hier ein kurzer Überblick über eine ältere, immer noch aktuelle, und drei zeitgenössische Positionen: mehr »