Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Tuesday March 24th, 2015

The Moral Bookkeeper Living Inside Us All.

filitos1

He is not my favourite concept of self.

How we all would like to see ourselves.
Self-confident, humorous, tolerant, spontaneous.

No: he is industrious, stubborn, accurate.

Just what we all want bookkeepers to be like.

Our moral judgement takes the characteristics of the bookkeeper. It compares words and behaviour of others with our values and then assigns consequences. In doing so, we weigh things against each other like in a debit and credit account that have nothing to do with each other. In the book “Christie Malrys Double Bookkeeping”, the author asks how we deal with all the small instances of meanness we are subjected to by others on a daily basis.

This is a question that concerns all of us. He comes up with the idea of starting a life bookkeeping in the form of double accounting. The protagonist, Christie Malrys, writes down everything he experiences under “debit” and “credit”. The slights are debits and must be made up for by corresponding credits, meaning experiences that were nice (for him). For instance, Malrys comes up with the idea of paying back a neighbour who never gives him the time of day by making a scratch mark on his car. A house that he finds offensive gets a thick painted line on its façade.

You think this is over the top? Sure. Pure Fiction? No. Our double accounting wants justice and will not hesitate to apply small or embarrassing ideas. After all, our values, which have been underscored by our sense of justice, are not officially calculable or exchangeable like Euros or Dollars. They exist exclusively in our very personal exchange rate mode. The correct exchange rate lies in our eyes or perhaps in that of our reference group.

So what is the right, appropriate, just “credit” for an Islamist who sees his God exposed to ridicule? What is it for us when we see the Greek Minister of Finances show the finger at Günter Jauch’s show? Public “beheading” by TV? Higher interest and credit rates? Appealing to the public to not spend their next vacation in Greece? As it is, the slights, that is the “debits”, are at a majority in real life, and a balance sheet that is constantly in the red numbers will easily tempt us to become more and more ingenious when it comes to looking for a balance. From the perspective of the others, we get more and more spiteful and unjust. Those who spend all their time looking to balance “old accounts” will miss a lot of life looking for suitable measures.

Wherever the moral bookkeeping is especially conservative, it will not see the accounts balanced. Practicing its balancing justice, it will also demand harsher punishment. Soft or moderate punishment would debase some behaviour. Those who believe in this system think that evil deeds cannot be paid for dearly enough. Conversely, those who criticize conservative bookkeeping look upon those strategies as upvaluation of a misdeed to turn it into a rare commodity. Not everybody is supposed to be able to afford it.

There is a general disagreement about how a balancing between good and evil should be accomplished. But there is agreement that there should be some redress. Either by revenge or by mercy, but justice must be done. You have to pay back if you overbalanced on your account.

While in financial bookkeeping we have strategies for minimizing double accounting, we get an overflow when it comes to moral bookkeeping with double standards. A moralist will certainly deny ever being calculating. This would weaken his moral position. He will not even admit that human behaviour and moral values can be measured at all.

And instead of laying open the criteria for his measuring and retribution, he simply will deny having any such strategy. Behind the moral judgement is a mental concept which transports a calculation of weighing good against evil. Yet at the same time it camouflages this background concept. Moral bookkeeping will camouflage that it is bookkeeping at all.

What humans say instead was stated by George Lakoff in his disarming book “Auf leisen Sohlen ins Gehirn“ (voyage into the brain on soft shoes) like this: “I am totally aware of what I think. It is exclusively my own decision what I think and which conclusions I draw. All persons can think in the same way. And in thinking, I understand objective truths as they are found in the world. All things have a basic meaning and can thus be mentally followed as they exist. This is why I, like all other persons, can think and speak objectively.”

Well, I wish that were how it is.

kjg
(Translated by EG)

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Saturday February 16th, 2013

It Feels Like Being Struck by Lightning!

A pope gave notice, lightning struck, and a Meteorite (Meteorit) explodes in Central Russia – this cannot be a coincidence! It is high time that zoo directors, along with leaders of states and their advisors all over the place remember their central competence: the carefree happiness of the animals entrusted to them.

It borders on the irresponsible if we leave humans in particular totally in the lurch when it comes to finding causal connections. What we need is a definite, official declaration. Why don’t we have a state religion that explains how the unpredictable coincidences and accidents of the universe are a prudent and planned destiny of the all-encompassing logic?

Instead, every individual person is left alone with his or her small and error-prone understanding.

The average citizen is overstrained, which makes him unhappy. How is he – probably equipped with only a G8 graduation diploma – supposed to come to terms with the number 13, which incidentally is made up of the last two digits of the year 2013? Hardly anyone takes the pain to actually take a closer look at the digit 2. Because it, too, like the 13, is a prime number.

The Zero between the two prime numbers probably indicates the nullity the world – exposed between two primes one of which even is the 13 – will have to accept as its future destiny.

Consequently, we can under no circumstances ignore the cosmic events that happened during the last few days. They are just harbingers of the approaching apocalypse. Some among us have foreseen this for a long time already.

The least we can expect from our government is that it protects us against all harm. But that is exactly what it fails to do. The meteorite could just as easily have hit the nuclear power plants of Biblis or Schweinfurt. A few thousand kilometres between Russia and Mid-Germany are less than a stone’s throw if you think in cosmic dimensions. Nobody is prepared to deal with this kind of scenario. Our governments failed.

Now it almost happened and the media distract from the problem. People like the astronaut and physics professor Ulrich Walter of Munich are cited, saying shamelessly: “It was pure coincidence”. But every human being not narrow-mindedly thinking in terms of physics or other precise sciences knows that this cannot be a coincidence.

It is providence, that is what it is. And there is a moral quality to it, because it is the punishment of justice that will never permit for humans to just live in the here and now and perform the routines of their daily work. Because everyone only thinks of him- or herself, living just in his or her small world. Obviously, there had to come a time of reckoning for this.

So where are the zoo directors telling us in the face of these cosmic powers that it feels basically small-time slutty if there are still people on strike because they want more income at Hamburg airport; if some people are still worried about saving both Greece and the Euro – and, yes, how irresponsible politicians behave if they now start thinking about winning or losing in the coming Federal Elections?

In the hour of misery, the truth will come out: politicians, too, only think of their own well-being. Consequently, every one of us will have to deal with the unpredictability of cosmic events and accept what little consolation the zookeepers will hand out.

kjg
(Translated by EG)

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Wednesday June 15th, 2011

Meeting Churches …

During the last few days, there has been quite some lament about the 33rd Evangelical Church Congress having produced plenty of words, yet there not being much of a chance that many actions follow.

What makes this opinion interesting?

Politics is not made with paternosters, presumed Machiavelli almost half a millenium ago. Today, we know that he was wrong. Church congresses do make politics, but not in a responsible way. Instead, they do it by building up moral pressure. Because if you get active, mostly even just if you refrain from getting active, just because you are afraid to violate taboos, you are acting all but in a responsible way.

Let us just take a closer look at the details how a pious visitor of a church congress – no matter if catholic or evangelical – understands them. We will find the criteria rather alarming. First and foremost, the behaviour of a church congress friend cannot be considered behaviour in the proper sense of the word. It is more like being operated. Because the pious Christian visits the church congress in order to make sure that he is executing his God’s wish. In the Christian sense, only behaviour he can reconcile with the conscience of his God is good behaviour.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Thursday March 18th, 2010

Catholic Ministration and Priestly Celibacy

The people expect the Pope to make a statement. He is supposed to use a public occasion and the strongest terms for declaring how abominable he finds the fact that Catholic priests have been using novices as lust objects for millennia. The general expectation shows how poorly the people understand the mechanisms and mode of operation for moral verdicts in general and the Catholic sexual teachings in particular.

Because if the Pope allows himself to be impressed at all by the moralizing pressure of the current times, he will only succumb to a certain degree: his assurances will have exactly the level of commitment that halfway pacifies the spirit of the time outwardly while leaving the option for him to internally get out of the tight spot in the eyes of public judgement at any time.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Friday February 19th, 2010

Emergency Announcements

Late in the morning of February, 18th, 2010, all news services in Germany interrupted their programs to send an “emergency announcement”: “Homicidal maniac kills teacher at a school in Ludgwigshafen”. Why is this an emergency announcement?

What makes this news important? What is it the media want to achieve by reporting it?

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Monday November 2nd, 2009

Our Daily Fear Give Us Today!

Vortrag1aSince the serum against swine infection is available, the producers of same have made a strange discovery: people have lost the desire to fear the virus. It goes without saying that this makes the parties concerned a little nervous. They fear they might end up not selling any of the serum, because the Germans refuse to take the vaccination. The political institutions, too, see themselves challenged. After all, it was they who were supposed to boost the production by creating the fear that perhaps the serum might not be available in large enough quantities.

Now we get the opportunity to study the patterns of how fear is created. Almost all of us know the swine infection exclusively from the media. If there had not been reports by the media about it, swine infection would never have become an anxiety factor.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Wednesday October 28th, 2009

What Remains of a Day

What remains of a day is a little bit of memory. It might be some of what was said in the presentation. Mostly, it is something quite unimposing. We wake up noticing that we dreamed about it. So it keeps mushrooming as we think about it during the day, creating some kind of chemical substance in our brains that interacts with our suppressed wishes and fears. After all, every individual human being carries around enough of them as unfinished demands.

This is how ghosts come into existence. We all have a tendency towards being dominated by ghosts. They are hallucinations particularly useful for telling stories about. But as soon as you have told stories about something, it exists in space and time. It starts looking like a historical fact.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Sunday September 27th, 2009

“Beauty Is Still Permitted” or “Equality Legislation”

Mona_Lisa“Regardless of her having an excellent lawyer, she would have lost at court if she had not opened the front of her dress and captivated the jurors with her glamorous beauty” says the inventor of the philosophical essay, Michel de Montaigne. We are talking about the classy Greek prostitute Phryne. The establishment wanted to get her prosecuted for godlessness. She had claimed that her beauty was no less than that of Aphrodite herself.

Modern judges, too, sometimes let themselves be influenced by the beauty of the accused. After what I just told you, the many ugly people who do not possess the beauty of Aphrodite or Phryne can no longer hope for a mild verdict. Being plain is discriminating.

In Germany, we introduced the “Common Law of Equality” (AGG) three years ago. It forbids you to discriminate for racial or ethnic reasons, for reasons of sex, religion or ideology, because of a handicap or sexual persuasion. Beauty is not part of the list.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Wednesday September 16th, 2009

Anxiety

For several months, I have now enjoyed travelling through Germany and presenting my book “Anxiety – About the Usefulness of a Feared Emotion” to the public. My experience during these travels not only confirms what I postulate in the book, but should definitely be written down both on paper and on the comment pages of an internet blog.

FriedhofIAfter one of my presentations on “Fear of the Dead” as we humans cultivate it, a young lady sought me out and told me she had found my words very inspiring. Consequently, she had the desire to tell me that she, personally, was not afraid of the dead. In fact, she even made a habit of walking through cemeteries at night all by herself.

I warmly recommended that she read my book, because in the process she would find out a lot about herself.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Wednesday August 5th, 2009

Kopf oder Bauch

Vortrag1a People working in the business sector usually claim that their decisions are based on rationality. Almost everybody makes business decision every day. Although it has been emphasized by numerous economists of the 20th century – if not earlier – that a decision culture based exclusively on rationality has a limited potential, it is still considered “polite” to give rational reasons for your decisions.

The latest crises in global financial business seem to prove the economical theories developed since the 20th century. To be sure, complex systems can be described rationally, but when far-reaching decisions have to be made, rationality is apparently only of minor importance. The course of the current crisis in particular shows almost in a “student model” way how decision processes work. The real cause has less to do with reasons consciously given and much more with emotions like fear, striving for power, and avoiding shame.

If we assume that it was based on rationality, the question must be asked if it could not all have been prevented before it happened, or else: why is it apparently so difficult to get the crisis under control now?

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Dienstag, der 24. März 2015

Der moralische Buchhalter in uns.

filitos1Er ist nicht das Lieblingsbild von uns selbst.

So wie wir uns gerne sehen würden.

Selbstbewusst, humorvoll, tolerant, spontan.

Nein, er ist  fleißig, beharrlich, korrekt.

So, wie wir uns eben Buchhalter wünschen.

Unser moralisches Urteil bedient sich der Charaktereigenschaften des Buchhalters. Gleicht Worte und Taten anderer mit unseren Werten ab und ordnet Konsequenzen zu. Dabei bringen wir wie in einem Soll- und Haben-Konto Vorkommnisse zum Ausgleich, die überhaupt nichts miteinander zu tun haben. In dem Buch „Christie Malrys doppelte Buchführung“ stellt der Autor die Frage, wie man eigentlich mit all den Gemeinheiten umgeht, die einem andere täglich antun.

Eine Frage, die uns alle berührt. Er kommt auf die Idee, eine Lebensbuchführung in Form einer doppelten Buchhaltung anzulegen. Unter Soll (Debit) und Haben (Credit) notiert sich die Hauptfigur Christie Malrys alles, was ihr so widerfährt. Die Kränkungen sind debits (Soll) und müssen ausgeglichen werden durch entsprechende  credits (Haben), (für sie) angenehme Erfahrungen. So überlegt sich Malrys, einem Nachbarn, der ihm den Gruß verweigert, es diesem durch einen Kratzer im Lack seines Autos  zu vergelten. Ein Wohnhaus, das ihm im Weg steht, bekommt einen fetten Strich auf die Fassade.

Übertrieben? Klar. Reine Fiktion? Nein. Unsere doppelte Buchführung möchte Gerechtigkeit und scheut dabei vor keiner Kleinlichkeit und Peinlichkeit zurück. Unsere Werte, die wir unserem Gerechtigkeitsempfinden unterlegen,  sind ja nicht wie Euro oder Dollar im offiziell festgelegten Kurs zu berechnen oder zu tauschen, sondern ausschließlich in unserem, persönlichen Verrechnungsmodus. Die korrekte Verrechnung der Konten liegt in unseren Augen oder vielleicht noch, in dem unserer Bezugsgruppe.

Was ist der richtige, passende, gerechte „credit“ für einen Islamisten, der seinen Gott verhöhnt sieht? Was für uns der Stinkefinger des griechischen Außenministers bei Günter Jauch? Öffentliche „Hinrichtung“ per TV? Höhere Zinsen für Kredite? Aufruf zum Boykott des nächsten Griechenland-Urlaubs? Ohnehin überwiegen im richtigen Leben die Kränkungen, die „debits“,  und eine Bilanz, die für uns ständig in den Miesen steht,  führt uns stark in Versuchung, beim Ausgleichsversuch immer erfinderischer zu werden. Gehässiger und für die anderen ungerechter. Wer ständig denkt, „offene Rechnungen“ begleichen zu müssen,  wird auf der Suche nach den geeigneten Maßnahmen viel Leben verpassen.

Wo die moralische Buchhaltung besonders konservativ ist, sieht sie die Konten nicht ausgeglichen. In ihrer ausgleichenden Gerechtigkeit fordert sie auch einen härteren Strafvollzug. Weicher oder laxer Strafvollzug entwerte bestimmte Handlungen. Ihre Vertreter sind der Meinung, dass üble Taten nicht teuer genug bezahlt werden. Kritiker der konservativen moralischen Buchhaltung sehen in diesen Strategien jedoch eher eine Aufwertung der Straftat zu einem knappen Gut. Nicht jeder soll sie sich leisten können.

Es herrscht Uneinigkeit in der Frage, wie die Wiedergutmachung als ein Ausgleich zwischen Gut und Böse stattzufinden habe. Einig sind sich jedoch alle in der Forderung nach der Wiedergutmachung. Entweder durch Rache oder durch Gnade, aber Gerechtigkeit muss sein. Rückzahlen oder Heimzahlen muss man es jemandem, wenn er sein Konto überzogen hat.

Während wir in der Finanzbuchhaltung Strategien kennen, die doppelte Buchführung einzudämmen, schießt in der moralischen Buchhaltung die Doppelmoral ins Kraut. Ein Moralist wird es weit von sich weisen, dass er berechnend vorgeht. Das würde seine moralische Position schwächen. Er möchte sich noch nicht einmal darauf einlassen, dass menschliches Handeln und moralische Werte messbar seien.

Und statt die Kriterien seiner Messungen und Vergeltungsakte offenzulegen, leugnet er schlichtweg diese Strategie. Hinter dem moralischen Urteil steht ein Denkmuster, das ein bestimmtes Kalkül der Verrechnung von Gut und Böse transportiert, das aber zugleich dieses Hintergrundmuster verschleiert. Moralische Buchhaltung verdunkelt, dass sie eine Buchhaltung ist.

Was Menschen stattdessen behaupten, hat George Lakoff in seinem entlarvenden Buch „Auf leisen Sohlen ins Gehirn“ so ausgeführt: „Mein Denken ist mir komplett bewusst. Es obliegt allein meiner Entscheidung, wie ich denke und welche Schlussfolgerungen ich ziehe. Alle Menschen können gleich denken. Und indem ich denke, erfasse ich objektive Wahrheiten, die in der Welt vorhanden sind. Alle Dinge haben einen eigentlichen Sinn und können gedanklich so nachvollzogen werden, wie sie existieren. Deshalb kann ich, wie jeder andere Mensch auch, objektiv denken und sprechen.

Wenn der Mensch nur so wäre.

kjg

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Samstag, der 16. Februar 2013

Es trifft uns wie ein Schlag!

Ein Papst kündigt, ein Blitz schlägt ein im Petersdom, und ein Meteorit sprengt Zentralrussland – das kann kein Zufall sein! Zoodirektoren gleichermaßen wie Staatsführer und ihre Stützen weit und breit sollten sich jetzt wirklich einmal um ihre Kernkompetenz kümmern: Das unbekümmerte Glück der ihnen anvertrauten Tiere.

Es grenzt an Unverantwortlichkeit, dass wir vor allem die Menschen vollkommen alleine lassen mit der Erfindung kausaler Zusammenhänge. Was uns fehlt, ist eine verbindliche, eine amtliche Erklärung. Warum haben wir keine Staatsreligion, die uns die unberechenbare Zufälle und Unfälle im Universum als die weise geplante Vorsehung eines allumfassenden Verstandes erklärt? Statt dessen bleibt jeder mit seinem kleinen und fehlbaren Verstand sich selbst überlassen.

Der Bürger ist überfordert, und das macht ihn unglücklich. Wie soll er – ausgestattet vielleicht nur mit einem G8-Abitur – das alles in Einklang bringen mit der 13, die die letzten beiden Ziffern des Jahres 2013 bilden? Kaum einer macht sich die Mühe, die Ziffer 2 dabei genauer ins Auge zu fassen. Denn auch sie ist, wie die 13, eine Primzahl. Mit der Null zwischen zwei Primzahlen dürfte die Nullität angedeutet sein, in die die Welt, aufgespannt zwischen zwei Primzahlen, von deren eine sogar die 13 ist, demnächst stürzen muss.

Die kosmischen Ereignisse der vergangenen Tage dürfen wir daher keineswegs ignorieren, denn sie sind bloß die Vorboten für die bevorstehende Apokalypse. Manche haben das schon lange vorhergesehen.

Es ist das Mindeste, was wir von unserer Regierung erwarten dürfen, dass sie Schaden von uns abwendet. Aber genau das tut sie nicht. Der Meteorit hätte genauso gut das Atomkraftwerk Biblis oder Schweinfurt treffen können. Die paar Tausend Kilometer zwischen Russland und Mitteldeutschland sind nicht einmal ein Katzensprung im kosmischen Maßstab. Darauf ist keiner vorbereitet. Unsere Regierungen haben versagt.

Nun ist es beinah passiert und die Medien lenken ab vom Problem. Da kommen Leute wie der Astronaut und Physikprofessor Ulrich Walter aus München zu Wort, die unverschämt verkünden: „Das war reiner Zufall.“ Aber jeder Mensch, der sich nicht engstirnig mit Physik und anderen exakten Wissenschaften den Verstand trübt, weiß, dass dies alles kein Zufall sein kann.

Das ist Vorsehung. Und sie hat moralische Qualität, denn sie ist die Strafe der Gerechtigkeit, die es niemals erlaubt, dass die Menschen auf Dauer und in der Mehrheit einfach nur in der Gegenwart leben und sich um die Aufgaben ihrer täglichen Arbeit kümmern. Jeder denkt nämlich nur an sich und lebt in seiner kleinen Welt. Das musste irgendwann bestraft werden.

Wo sind nämlich, die Zoodirektoren, die uns angesichts der kosmischen Kräfte klarmachen, dass es sich geradezu kleinkrämerhaft nuttig anfühlt, wenn da noch einer für mehr Lohn am Hamburger Flughafen streikt; wenn da noch Sorgen aufkommen, wie wir Griechenland und den Euro gleichzeitig retten können – ja und überhaupt: wie verantwortungslos ist es von unseren Politikern, dass sie jetzt noch an Sieg oder Niederlage in der kommenden Bundestagswahl denken?

In der Stunde der Not offenbart sich die Wahrheit: Auch die Politiker denken nur an ihr eigenes Wohl. Und so muss jeder mit der Unberechenbarkeit kosmischer Ereignisse selbst fertig werden und das Wenige an Trost annehmen, was ihm die Tierpfleger angedeihen lassen.

kjg

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Mittwoch, der 15. Juni 2011

Kirchen tagen …

Es ist in diesen Tagen viel beklagt worden, dass der 33. Evangelische Kirchentag viele Worte erzeugte, jedoch wenig Handeln erwarten lässt.

Was ist interessant an dieser Auffassung?

Politik wird nicht mit Paternostern gemacht, vermutete Machiavelli vor beinahe einem halben Jahrtausend. Heute wissen wir, dass er sich irrte. Kirchentage machen Politik, aber nicht auf verantwortungsvolle Weise, sondern weil sie moralischen Druck aufbauen. Denn ein Handeln, das aus Angst vor moralischen Tabubrüchen erzeugt wird, meistens sogar bloß verhindert wird, ist alles andere als verantwortungsbewusst.

Betrachten wir nämlich einmal im Detail, was ein frommer Besucher eine Kirchentages – sei er katholisch oder evangelisch – versteht, dann stoßen wir auf recht bedenkliche Kriterien. Zunächst einmal ist das Handeln eines Kirchtentagfreundes kein Handeln im eigentlichen Sinn des Wortes. Es ist vielmehr ein Gewirktwerden. Denn der fromme Christ geht zum Kirchentag, um sich dort zu versichern, dass er den Willen seines Gottes vollstrecke. Nur dasjenige Handeln ist gut im christlichen Sinn, das der Gläubige mit dem Gewissen seines Gottes vereinbaren kann.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Donnerstag, der 18. März 2010

Katholische Fürsorge und priesterliches Zölibat

Die Menschheit erwartet eine Stellungnahme des Papstes. Er soll öffentlich und mit starken Worten verabscheuen, dass katholische Priester in Klöstern seit Jahrtausenden Novizen als Lustobjekte missbraucht haben. Die Erwartungshaltung der Öffentlichkeit zeigt, wie wenig sie Mechanismen und Wirkungsweise moralischer Urteile sowie Verurteilungen im Allgemeinen und katholische Sexuallehre im Besonderen verstanden hat.

Denn wenn sich der Papst überhaupt vom moralisierenden Druck des Zeitgeistes beeindrucken lässt und ihm nachgibt, wird seine Bekundung genau denjenigen Grad an Verbindlichkeit haben, der nach außen den Zeitgeist halbwegs beruhigt und ihm nach innen die Möglichkeit gibt, seinen Kopf jederzeit wieder nach allen Seiten aus der Schlinge des öffentlichen Urteils zu ziehen.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Freitag, der 19. Februar 2010

Eilmeldungen

Am 18. Februar 2010 werden am späten Vormittag in Deutschland alle Nachrichtensender unterbrochen durch die „Eilmeldung“: „Amokläufer tötet Lehrer an einer Schule in Ludwigshafen“. Warum ist dies eine Eilmeldung?

Wodurch wird diese Meldung wichtig? Was wollen die Medien durch diese Meldung erreichen?

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Montag, der 2. November 2009

Unsere tägliche Angst gib uns heute!

Vortrag1aSeit der Impfstoff gegen Schweinegrippe unterwegs ist, machen seine Produzenten eine merkwürdige Entdeckung: Die Menschen haben die Lust an der Angst vor dem Virus verloren. Das jagt natürlich allen Betroffenen Angst davor ein, auf dem Impfstoff sitzen zu bleiben, weil die Deutschen sich partout nicht impfen lassen wollen. Auch die politischen Institutionen, die doch mit dem Aufbau der Angst, dass vielleicht nicht genügend Stoff für alle da ist, die Produktion anheizen wollten, sehen sich in der Pflicht.

Nun haben wir Gelegenheit, die Muster der Angstmache zu studieren. Fast alle kennen die Schweinegrippe nur aus den Medien. Hätten diese nicht davon berichtet, wäre Schweinegrippe niemals zum Angstfaktor aufgestiegen.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Mittwoch, der 28. Oktober 2009

Tagreste

Ein Tagrest ist ein kleines Stück Erinnerung. Er kann ein Eindruck vom Vortag sein. Meistens ist er unscheinbar. Wir haben ihn in einen unserer Träume mitgenommen. Dort gärt er nun weiter und bildet eine Art chemischer Verbindung mit den verdrängten Wünschen und Ängsten, die jedes menschliche Individuum als unerledigte Forderung mit sich herumschleppt.

So entstehen die Gespenster, von denen sich Menschen gerne beherrschen lassen. Es sind Halluzinationen, die sie mit Vorliebe weiter erzählen. Aber das Weitererzählte existiert plötzlich in Raum und Zeit. Es hat die Gestalt eines historischen Ereignisses angenommen.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Sonntag, der 27. September 2009

„Schönsein ist noch erlaubt“ oder „Gleichstellungsgesetz“

Mona_Lisa„Obwohl sie einen hervorragenden Anwalt hatte, wäre ihr Prozess verloren gewesen, wenn sie nicht ihr Kleid geöffnet und die Richter durch den Glanz ihrer Schönheit bestochen hätte“, gibt der Erfinder der philosophischen Essays, Michel de Montaigne zu bedenken. Die Rede ist von der griechischen Edelnutte Phryne. Das Establishment wollte ihr den Prozess wegen Gottlosigkeit machen. Sie hatte nämlich behauptet, ihre Schönheit stünde hinter der von Aphrodite in nichts zurück.

Auch moderne Richter lassen sich von der Schönheit der Angeklagten manchmal beeinflussen. Die vielen hässlichen Menschen, die nicht so schön sind wie Aphrodite und Phryne, können nach dem Geschilderten nicht auf ein mildes Urteil hoffen. Hässlichkeit diskriminiert.

Wir haben aber seit drei Jahren in Deutschland ein „Allgemeines Gleichbehandlungsgesetz“ (AGG). Es verbietet Benachteiligung aus Gründen der Rasse oder wegen der ethnischen Herkunft, des Geschlechts, der Religion oder Weltanschauung, einer Behinderung, des Alters oder der sexuellen Identität. In der Liste taucht Schönheit nicht auf.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Mittwoch, der 16. September 2009

Angst

In diesen Monaten habe ich das Vergnügen, durch Deutschland reisen zu können und auf Vorträgen mein Buch „Angst – Vom Nutzen eines gefürchteten Gefühls“ vorstellen zu dürfen. Was ich dabei oft erlebe, bestätigt nicht nur die Thesen des Buches, sondern gehört ebenso auf die bedruckten Blätter wie auf die Kommentarseiten von Internetblogs.

FriedhofIm Anschluss an einen Vortrag über die „Angst vor den Toten“, die wir Menschen pflegen, kam einmal ein junge Frau auf mich zu und sagte mir, dass sie meine Ausführungen sehr gelungen fand und nun das Bedürfnis habe, mir zu sagen, dass sie persönlich keine Angst vor den Toten habe; sie gehe sogar nachts allein auf Friedhöfe.

Nun konnte ich ihr wärmstens die Lektüre meines Buches empfehlen, weil sie dabei eine ganze Menge über sich selbst herausfinden würde.

mehr »

Klaus-Jürgen Grün
Mittwoch, der 5. August 2009

Kopf oder Bauch

Wirtschaftlich Handelnde halten sich im Allgemeinen zu Gute, dass ihre Entscheidungen rational getroffen werden. Fast jeder trifft täglich wirtschaftliche Entscheidungen. Obwohl spätestens seit dem 20. Jahrhundert zahlreiche Ökonomen  auf die Begrenztheit der  Leistungs­fähigkeit einer ausschließlich verstandesmäßigen Entscheidungskultur hinweisen, gehört es nach wie vor „zum guten Ton“, Entscheidungen rational zu begründen.

Jüngste Krisen in der globalen Finanzwirtschaft scheinen ökonomischen Theorien seit dem 20. Jahrhundert Recht zu geben. Komplexe Systeme sind zwar einer rationale Beschreibung zugänglich, aber die Rationalität spielt beim Zustandekommen weitreichender Entscheidungen offenbar nur eine untergeordnete Rolle. Gerade im Verlauf der aktuellen Krise zeigen sich fast „schulbuch­mäßig“ die Abläufe von Entscheidungsprozessen, deren tiefere Ursachen weniger mit den bewusst artikulierten Gründen zu tun haben als mit Emotionen wie Angst, Machtstreben, Vermeidung von Scham.

War das alles, wenn es denn rational begründet war, nicht von vornherein auszuschließen bzw. warum ist es offensichtlich so schwer, die Krise jetzt zu beherrschen?

mehr »