Bernhard Findeiss
Monday May 11th, 2009

ScrumDay Munich: Ken Schwaber’s keynote

On May 6th, 2009 Munich saw its first “ScrumDay”, a new conference on Scrum. It paralleled “TeamConf”, a conference on “Microsoft Visual Studio Team System.

The day began with a keynote by Ken Schwaber, one of the inventors of Scrum, on “Scrum, but … “.

At first, he gave a brief introduction to the topic of Scrum and the underlying values (self, transparency, integrity).

Afterwards, he made clear software development in general (and Scrum in particular) is an empirical process, as it is necessary to periodically look at the project situation and make corrective adjustments. He compared it to an air conditioning system’s temperature sensor, which periodically checks the temperature in a room and then sets the system accordingly.

This approach is necessary because the complexity of today’s software development projects is generally too high to understand everything in detail. It’s sufficient to detail the next 4 weeks. In addition, approx. 35% of a project changes anyway, so too much planning in advance is a waste of time.

The solution, however, is not to just introduce Scrum. Instead, Scrum visualizes your problems, and only if you resolve these, a sustainable improvement in project situation can be reached. Moreover, applying Scrum also needs a certain time of learning.

He compared it to a football team: Just because a team knows the rules does not necessarily mean it will win the championship. This needs a lot of training, and most teams still won’t achieve it.

According to Schwaber, only 25% of all software development teams are capable of writing high-quality code. A team of “jerks and idiots” (word-by-word quotation Schwaber) will be able to deliver an product increment at the end of an iteration anyway, but it will be an increment of trash.

Many organizations tend to bend the rules when introducing Scrum. He called it “ScrumButs”: Reasons (or better: Excuses) why the full benefit of Scrum cannot be applied here. He even specified an own Syntax for ScrumButs:

(ScrumBut) (Reason) (workaround)

For example (found here):

(The Daily Scrum meetings are too much overhead) (because the team members do not need to meet so often) (so we only have them once a week, unless we need them more often).

This bending of rules should be strictly avoided because this way you’ll never be able to use Scrum’s full potential.

Unfortunately, we had to leave the keynote at this point, as our own presentation on retrospectives started immediately afterwards (and we wanted some preparation time). So we could not witness Schwaber playing the “Boss & Worker ‘exercise with the audience.

This exercise, often part of the “Certified Scrum Master” training, demonstrates how even large teams (in this case about 150-200 people) can organize themselves in short time and without much of a hassle, and then work on a given task more efficiently as if there were detailed guidelines. If you want to learn more about it check this page, for example.

We found the keynote to be very intersting and even exciting, as was the rest of the day. The presentations were good to very good in quality, and feedback on our presentation was positive as well.

We will shortly publish separate articles on some of the other presentations.

I also found it very interesting that this event (in these days of crisis), although only held for the first time, was very well attended: About 80-100 people showed up for the ScrumDay itself. In addition, some people moved over to ScrumDay from TeamConf. As a result, some presentations (eg. the one by Boris Gloger and Oliver Zeiler) were rather crowded (than well-attended). But it didn’t detract from the good mood.

Overall, we thought the event to be quite successful. I also learned it is likely to be repeated next year. We hope to be there, too.

The next Scrum-related event in Munich, we should note,  is the Scrum Gathering in October. Many known agilists will then return to Munich, including Ken Schwaber. So, if you missed him this time, you can still hear him later this year.

BFI

Kommentar verfassen

*

Bernhard Findeiss
Montag, der 11. Mai 2009

ScrumDay München: Keynote von Ken Schwaber

Am 6. Mai 2009 fand in München zum ersten Mal der „ScrumDay“ statt, zeit- und ortsgleich mit der „TeamConf“, einer Konferenz zum Thema „Microsoft Visual Studio Team System“.

Der Tag begann mit einer Keynote von Ken Schwaber, einem der „Erfinder“ von Scrum, zum Thema „Scrum, But …“. Er gab eine kurze Einführung in das Thema Scrum und die dahinter liegenden Werte (Selbstorganisation, Transparenz, Integrität).

Zudem stellte er noch klar, daß Scrum empirische Softwareentwicklung bedeutet, da man in regelmäßigen Abständen auf die Projektsituation blickt und, so notwendig, Anpassungen vornimmt. Er verglich es mit dem Temperaturfühler einer Klimaanlage, der in regelmäßigen Abständen die Temperatur eines Raumes überprüft und bei Abweichungen die Anlage höher oder niedriger stellt.

Eine solche Vorgehensweise wird nötig, da die Komplexität heutiger Softwareentwicklungsprojekte zu hoch ist um alles zu überblicken (länger als 4 Wochen sowieso nicht). Zudem ändert sich erfährungsgemäß sowieso 35% eines Projektes im Laufe der Zeit.

Die Lösung ist es jedoch nun nicht, einfach Scrum einzuführen. Stattdessen wird Scrum lediglich die eigentlichen Probleme sichtbar machen, und nur wenn diese gelöst werden erreicht man eine nachhaltige Verbesserung der Projektsituation. Außerdem benötigt auch Scrum eine gewisse Zeit des Eingewöhens und Lernens.

Er verglich das mit einer Fußballmannschaft: Nur weil ein Team die Regeln des Spiels versteht heißt das noch lange nicht, daß es auch Meister wird. Dazu ist viel Übung notwendig, und viele Teams schaffen es trotzdem nicht.

So sind, laut Schwaber, von Haus aus überhaupt nur 25% aller Softwareentwicklungsteams in der Lage, qualitativ hochwertigen Code zu schreiben, und ein Team aus lauter „Dummköpfen und Idioten“ (O-Ton Schwaber) wird es mit Scrum zwar schaffen, nach 4 Wochen ein Inkrement zu liefern, allerdings ein Inkrement Müll.

Außerdem werden bei der Einführung von Scrum gerne die Regeln verbogen. Er nannte das „ScrumButs“: Gründe (bzw. Ausreden) warum man den vollen Vorteil von Scrum nicht nutzen kann. Für einen solchen ScrumBut kann man sogar eine eigene Syntax angeben:

(ScrumBut) (Reason)(Workaround)

Beispiel (gefunden hier):

(The Daily Scrum meetings are too much overhead) (because the team members don’t need to meet so often) (so we only have them once a week, unless we need them more often).

Dieses verbiegen der Regeln sollte man aber unbedingt vermeiden, da dadurch die Teams die vollen Möglichkeiten von Scrum nicht ausschöpfen können.

Leider mussten wir die Keynote an dieser Stelle verlassen, da wir direkt im Anschluß an die Keynote selbst mit unserem Vortrag zum Thema Retrospektiven an der Reihe waren. So konnten wir leider nicht mehr miterleben, wie Ken Schwaber die „Boss & Worker“-Übung durchgeführt hat.

Diese Übung, die oftmals auch Teil der „Certified Scrum Master“-Schulung ist, demonstriert, wie sich auch große Teams (anwesend waren ca. 150-200 Personen) in kurzer Zeit und ohne viel Aufregung selbst organisieren können, und eine gestellte Aufgabe dann besser erledigen als wenn Vorgaben gemacht würden. Wer mehr darüber erfahren will, dem sei z.B. diese Seite als Lektüre empfohlen.

Wir empfanden den Vortrag als sehr gelungen und auch spannend, wie auch den Rest des Tages. Die Vorträge waren durchweg von guter bis sehr guter Qualität, und auch die Rückmeldungen auf unseren eigenen Vortrag waren positiv.

Auf einige der mir besonders in Erinnerung gebliebenen Vorträge des restlichen Tages werden wir noch gesonderte Artikel schreiben.

Interessant war auch, daß die Veranstaltung, obwohl sie zum ersten Mal stattfand (und überall Krisenstimmung herrschen soll) sehr gut besucht war – ca. 80-100 Personen werden es beim Scrum-Teil in etwa gewesen sein, dazu kamen natürlich auch noch einige Teilnehmer der TeamConf, die zeitweise mit dazugekommen sind. Manche Vorträge (etwa der von Boris Gloger und Oliver Zeiler) waren eher schon überfüllt als nur gut besucht, was aber der guten Stimmung keinen Abbruch tat.

Im Großen und Ganzen war es aber eine gelungene Veranstaltung. Wie ich gehört habe soll sie auch im nächsten Jahr wieder stattfinden. Wenn irgendwie möglich wollen wir auch da wieder dabei sein.

Der nächste Scrum-Termin in München, den man sich vormerken sollte, ist übrigens das Scrum Gathering im Oktober. Viele bekannte Agilisten werden dann vor Ort sein, u.a. auch Ken Schwaber. Wer ihn auf dem ScrumDay verpasst hat, der kann ihn daher dieses Jahr noch einmal in München reden hören.

BFI

Kommentar verfassen

*