Roland Dürre
Tuesday November 27th, 2018

The CIO

Giving support only when there is a puncturen.

I always like helping people who are looking for a job. Actually, I even developed a small strategy. I call it “alternative job application”:

We sit together and draw up an “alternative job application“. It is a text where the person who is looking for a job offensively describes his or her strengths and develops a vision that outlines what extra value he/she can and would like to bring to the target enterprise with all his/her enthusiasm and courage. This sounds simple, but demands from the applicant that he thinks a lot and accepts many ideas, besides being creatively open.

As soon as this document is finished, we use the story as a text for our “alternative job application”. Additionally, we might also do a video recording that shows how the applicant can convince any audience with his personal attributes – including a link for responses – as a substitute for the commonly used gangster photos.

🙂 All of this will be individually adapted to the job and the enterprise the applicant feels he/she would like to become part of and work in. My underlying idea is that the one thing an entrepreneur is most interested in is how the applicant can “be beneficial to his enterprise” and how and if said applicant can follow somebody’s train of thoughts.

And, as a general rule, the “alternative curriculum vitae”, will usually be followed by job interview invitations quite quickly. Naturally, these interviews, too, will have to be prepared thoroughly. After all, success mostly is not the consequence of passivity.

More often than not, the people I coach have wonderful classical curricula vitae where they describe many details in the common classical way in tables. You will read what they did and what their roles were during the last (20 !?) years, full of workshops, trainings and certificates. All these lists have been written well and with diligence.

However, these applications are not too much of a success. The applicants get negative replies all the time, which will be quite frustrating for the poor applicant. To me, this sounds totally plausible, because how are you supposed to prove to anybody how competent (knowledge + competence) you are?

Quite frequently, the “classical” curriculum vitae is something nobody is interested in. Consequently, we make it more concise and then only use it as an additional attachment. As such, it shows that there are good reasons for making yourself look optimistic in your “alternative job application”.

More often than not, the first thing I have to do is give the depressed applicant some hope and belief in his own value.

Some of the people I coached were women. After having spent several years educating their children, they now wish to get back into work. And I must say that, whenever we together manage to be a success, we are extremely happy. I share all of their joy and belief in the future.

A short time ago, I accidentally worked with a true “top-class” person. He had been manager of a very good medium-sized IT enterprise. Now he had given notice. His reason for giving notice – which was absolutely rationally acceptable – lay in the fact that the owners had sold the enterprise and the new masters had decided on a policy and goals he was not at all prepared to agree with.

Quite courageously, he gave notice without having found a new job. Now he is looking for a job as CIO (Chief Information Officer) with a well-established medium-sized company. And then, at least that was my perception, he was surprised that, regardless of excellent formal qualifications, he did not find it easy at all to land a new job.

When we talked, he turned out to be an extremely nice person in the prime of life. He also said many rational things. In many respects, he came pretty close to perfection. His personal record in life, too, looked absolutely a success to me. He also had a wonderful classical curriculum vitae.

In some way or other, I got the impression that he was not only depressed but also no longer quite up to date. Especially when it came to the internet and the turn of the era that has perhaps been initiated by digitalization. For me, his rather negative and relatively one-sided verdict on twitter, which he himself (naturally) does not use, was somehow significant.

After our conversation, I accompanied him to his car. And I was eager to see what kind of car I would see. I won the bet – it was the biggest Audi SUV available in Europe.

I had offered to support him during his application phase and said that I would also listen around in my network. All he would have to do is come back.

He never came back. Perhaps he did not think it possible that someone who rides a bike can actually help him.

Well, that is fine by me. It gives me more time to help those who perhaps need my assistance more. And perhaps I should have given the CIO the book on “The U Tactics” by Otto Scharmer?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Saturday February 18th, 2017

Farewell to a Good Friend.

Eulogy for Werner Lorbeer.

On April, 25th, 2016, my friend Werner Lorbeer died. Unfortunately, I only heard about his death after he was buried on May, 2nd, which means I was not there. It still hurts. I will never forget Werner.

For almost one year, I have now tried to find the right words to say good-bye to Werner in my IF Blog. I could not find them. My memory of Werner is still as fresh as on the first day.

Over the last few years before his death, Werner, Josef and I met every few months in Munich. We talked about “God and the World”. But in particular, we talked about the future. And about what we could do to make the future better. We were no longer very young, but still full of plans and ideas. These meetings were always beautiful occasions with a strong feeling of togetherness.

Werner (in the middle) with me and Josef drinking our Frühschoppen at the Weißbräu im Tal (2012) – the picture was taken by a nice waitress.

Werner was a person who enjoyed life. He also took a lot of responsibility. He was sick for many years, but fought his illness and was active for many good causes.

And he also regularly wrote IF Blog articles. For me, this was truly a lucky strike. If you wish to read all his articles, click here.


Like me, Werner Lorbeer had attended the Jakob Fugger Grammar School. Soon after I started there in 1960, I registered for the school chess team and met him there. He was a little older than I and one level above me both at school and in chess for eight years.

Even in grammar school, he played an important role and soon became “students’ representative”. He was equally respected by teachers and students and supported by all. Later on, we – together with other friends – did quite a few things in the school magazine “Brücke”.

In those days – and that never changed – he struck me as a truly nice person. He was a shining figure who, in a very special way, always acted exemplarily and in a surprisingly wise manner. He always lived his values, which were always very close to mine, with consistency. In short: he was an enormously wise person full of empathy and he had tremendous charisma.

I witnessed how he always respected and appreciated other people in an exemplary manner. For me, he was a quiet haven who always was sympathetic towards our mistakes. That is something that stood in total contrast to me: I always saw myself as a hothead who made many mistakes.

Werner helped me to overcome the desperation I was often consumed by when I was young. I believe he was also my friend. My relationship with him was definitely full of friendship, love and warmth. I have reason to believe that these feelings were reciprocated, which makes me very happy.

Consequently, I would now like to formulate a few ideas about Werner and our friendship. Because I do not really know how to define friendship and love. Once in a while, I think I feel it, but I really cannot understand it. Just like I also do not know what really is the “meaning of life”.

During our youth, Werner and I often had discussions about this and similar questions. I always felt that Werner had understood all the questions that seemed to bring me to desperation. For me, his help was essential.

A friend of mine once wrote:
In my definition, friendship is something one human being on this planet cannot have room to experience with twenty-thousand people (in the intensity I would demand) on this planet with all its biological restrictions (sleep, day-night, bio-rhythm, winter, summer, mental capacity,…). Not even for one thousand.

As I see it, this is a nice metaphor for friendship. I, too, believe you cannot have zillions of friends in one life. And that friendship is a rarity. But that is not really an answer, either, is it? Love is probably something other than friendship? Perhaps there is a close connection between the two?

Metaphors such as “being prepared to die for someone”, too, make me rather sceptical. Also “similar souls” or “a lot of sympathy and a high degree of similarity when it comes to values, expectations, interests and needs” does not really help. “Blind understanding over time and space” also seems nothing more but a nice metaphor. Rupert Lay, from whom – similar to Werner – I learned many important things, once said:

Tolerance is if you accept that someone else is different from you. Love, however, is if “you want the other person to be different from you”.

I find that metaphor great. I think it is also true for friendship. For me, following it means that Werner was a true friend, because I not only accepted but wanted his “being different from me” both for him and for me.

🙂 So I continue looking for the meaning of friendship and love and still do not know what it really is. The philosophers are not really much help, either. 🙂

And I am and remain sad about my friend Werner having left us.

Here are two small articles about Werner’s life from the Augsburger Allgemeine and a  report  by “Pro Augsburg“ written after his death. He was always very intense and successful when It came to the well-being of our home-town. And he achieved quite a few things the Augsburg people are happy about today.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For many years, Werner’s illness had not longer been a secret to me. When I heard about it, I was very depressed and described my feelings it in the IF Blog in a very personal post.

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 27. November 2018

Der CIO

Diesmal Unterstützung nur beim Reifen flicken.

Ich helfe immer gerne Menschen, die einen Job suchen. Dazu habe ich sogar eine kleine „Methode“ entwickelt, ich nenne sie „alternative Bewerbung“:

Gemeinsam entwickeln wir zusammen eine „alternative Bewernbung“. Das ist ein Text, in dem der Jobsuchende offensiv seine Stärken beschreibt und eine kleine Vision aufbereitet, welchen Mehrwert er mit seiner Arbeit fürs Ziel-Unternehmen mit Freude und Mut gerne bringen möchte und könnte. Das klingt einfach, verlangt aber einiges an Nach- und Neudenken und dazu eine kreative Öffnung des Bewerbers.

Sind wir damit fertig, dann nutzen wir die entwickelte Geschichte als Text für die „alternative Bewerbung“. Zusätzlich machen wir vielleicht noch ein kleines Video, in dem Bewerber seine persönliche Ausstrahlung rüberbringt – mit Link im Anschreiben – sozusagen an Stelle des üblichen Fahndungs-Fotos.

🙂 Das alles richten wir individuell auf den Ziel-Job und das anvisierte Unternehmen aus. Mein Gedanke ist, dass es einen Unternehmer am meisten interessiert, was der Bewerber seinem Unternehmen „Gutes tun“ könnte und ob und wie dieser mitdenkt.

Und tatsächlich, in der Regel führt der „alternative Lebenslauf“ dann zeitnah zu Einladungen zu Bewerbungsgesprächen. Die dann natürlich auch wieder gründlich vorbereitet werden müssen. Denn Erfolg kommt halt meistens nicht von nichts.

Oft haben die von mir betreuten Menschen einen wunderbaren klassischen Lebenslauf und in diesem sind dann viele Details auf die übliche klassische Art tabellarisch beschrieben. Da sind die Tätigkeiten und Rollen der letzten Jahre (20 !?) aufgelistet, gespickt mit Lehrgängen, Schulungsmaßnahmen und Zertifikaten. Gut und gewissenhaft gemacht.

Nur sind diese Bewerbungen nicht so erfolgreich. Es hagelt dann absagen, dies wiederum frustiert den armen Bewerber. Das leuchtet mir auch ein, denn wie will man so die eigenen Kompetenz (Wissen + Können) klar machen?

Der „klassische“ Lebenslauf interessiert halt oft niemanden. Deshalb kürzen wir ihn und nehmen in dann nur als Anlage, die belegt, dass es gute Gründe für das zuversichtliche Auftreten in der „alternativen Bewerbung“ gibt.

Oft muss ich den von seiner Erfolglosigkeit am Boden zerstörten Bewerber erst mal wieder aufrichten.

Unter meinen „Schützlingen“ waren auch Frauen, die – nachdem sie sich einige Jahre um die Kinder gekümmert hatten – wieder einsteigen wollten. Und ich muss sagen, wenn wir dann gemeinsam Erfolg haben, ist das Glück oft sehr groß. Und ich freue mich wahnsinnig mit.

Vor kurzem hat mich der Zufall mit einem „echten Hochkaräter“ zusammen gebracht. Der war Geschäftsführer bei einem guten mittelständischem IT-Unternehmen. Dort hatte er dort gekündigt. Der für mich absolut nachvollziehbare Grund war, dass die Eigentümer des Unternehmens dieses verkauft hatten und ihm die Politik und Ziele der neuen Herren aber auch so gar nicht zusagten.

Mutig wie er war hat er gekündigt, ohne einen neuen Job zu haben. Jetzt sucht er einen Job als CIO (Chief Information Officer) bei einem guten Mittelständler. Und wurde in meiner Wahrnehmung überrascht, dass das trotz bester formaler Qualifikation gar nicht so einfach war.

Mein Gesprächspartner war ein hochsympathischer Mensch im besten Mannesalter, der auch lauter vernünftige Dinge sagte. In vielen Dingen war er nahezu perfekt. Auch seine Lebensbilanz erschien mir als durchaus erfolgreich. Er hatte auch einen großartigen klassischen Lebenslauf.

Irgendwie gewann ich aber den Eindruck, dass er nicht nur bedruckt sondern auch nicht mehr so ganz auf dem Laufenden war. Besonders wenn es um das Internet ging und die vielleicht durch die Digitalisierung mit verursachte Zeitenwende. Sein eher negative und ziemlich einseitige Beurteilung zu Twitter, das er selber (natürlich) nicht nutzte, war für mich irgendwie bezeichnend.

Nach dem Gespräch habe ich ihn zu seinem Auto gebracht. Und innerlich darauf gewettet, was da für ein Auto stehen würde. Ich habe die Wette gewonnen – es war der größte SUV von Audi, den es wohl so in Europa gibt.

Ich hatte ihm angeboten, dass ich ihn bei seiner Bewerbung unterstützen und mich auch in meinem Netzwerk umsehen würde. Er müsse sich nur bei mir melden.

Das hat er nicht gemacht. Wahrscheinlich hat er es nicht für möglich gehalten, dass ein Radfahrer ihm helfen könnte.

Mir soll’s Recht sein, dann bleibt mir mehr Zeit für andere, die es vielleicht nötiger haben. Und vielleicht hatte ich dem „CIO“ das Buch von Otto Scharmer zur „Methode U“ schenken sollen?

RMD

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 18. Februar 2017

Abschied von einem guten Freund.

Nachruf auf Werner Lorbeer.

Am 25. April 2016 ist mein Freund Werner Lorbeer gestorben. Von seinem Tod habe ich leider erst nach der Trauerfeier am 2. Mai erfahren, so dass ich nicht dabei sein konnte. Das schmerzt mich immer noch. Ich werde Werner nie vergessen.

Seit fast einem Jahr habe ich versucht, mich auch in IF-Blog von Werner zu verabschieden. Ich habe es nicht geschafft. Meine Erinnerung an Werner ist immer noch ganz frisch.

In den letzten Jahren vor seinem Tod haben Werner, Josef und ich uns alle paar Monate in München getroffen. Da haben wir über „Gott und die Welt“ geredet. Aber vor allem über die Zukunft. Und was wir zu einem guten Ausgang wohl beisteuern könnten. Wir waren nicht mehr so jung aber immer noch voller Pläne und Ideen, es waren immer schöne Treffen in großer Gemeinsamkeit.

Werner (in der Mitte) mit mir und Josef beim Frühschoppen im Weißbräu im Tal (2012) – aufgenommen von einer der netten Bedienungen dort.

Werner war ein sehr lebensfroher Mensch, der viel Verantwortung übernommen hat. Er war viele Jahre krank, hat seiner Krankheit getrotzt und sich für vieles eingesetzt. Und auch regelmäßig für IF-Blog geschrieben. Das war ein großes Glück für mich. Hier findet Ihr alle seine Artikel.


Werner Lorbeer war wie ich Schüler am Jakob Fugger Gymnasium. Bald nach meinem Übertritt im Jahre 1960 ins Gymnasium habe mich mich für die Schachmannschaft der Schule gemeldet und ihn dort kennen gelernt. Er war ein wenig älter als ich und für acht Jahre in der Schule wie im Schach eine Klasse höher als ich.

Schon am Gymnasium spielte er eine wichtige Rolle und wurde so auch bald zum „Schulsprecher“, bei Lehrern und Schülern gleichermaßen beliebt und von allen unterstützt. In späteren Jahren haben wir auch in der „Brücke“, der Schülerzeitung des Jakob-Fugger, mit weiteren Freunden einiges angestellt.

Ich habe ihn damals – und das ist immer so geblieben – als wahrhaftig sympathische Persönlichkeit wahr genommen. Er war eine Lichtfigur, die in ganz besonderer Art und Weise immer vorbildlich und erstaunlich weise gehandelt hat. Sein Wertesystem, das mir immer sehr nahe war, hat er konsequent gelebt. Kurz: er war ein enorm kluger Kopf voller Empathie und verfügte über eine so große menschliche Ausstrahlung.

Ich habe erlebt, wir er seine Mitmenschen immer in einer vorbildlichen Art respektiert und wertgeschätzt hat. Für mich war er ein ruhender Pol, der immer viel Nachsicht für unsere Fehler hatte. Dies ganz im Gegensatz zu mir, ich habe mich selber als Hitzkopf empfunden, der vieles falsch gemacht hat.

Werner hat mir geholfen, meine Verzweiflung die ich in jungen Jahren nur zu oft hatte, zu überwinden. Ich glaube, dass er auch mein Freund war. Meine Beziehung zu ihm war auf jeden Fall voller Freundschaft, Liebe und Wärme. Ich habe Grund zu vermuten, dass die Beziehung symmetrisch war. Darüber bin ich sehr froh.

So habe ich das Bedürfnis, hier ein paar Gedanken zu Werner und unserer Freundschaft zu formulieren. Ich weiß nämlich nicht, was Freundschaft und Liebe so wirklich sind. Ab und zu meine ich es zu fühlen, aber verstehen kann ich es nicht. Wie ich auch nicht weiß, was so wirklich „der Sinn des Lebens“ ist? In unserer Jugend haben Werner und ich häufig über solche und ähnliche Fragen diskutiert. Ich hatte immer das Gefühl, dass Werner die Fragen verstanden hätte, an denen ich zu zerbrechen drohte. Seine Hilfe war für mich essentiell.

Eine Freundin hat mir mal geschrieben:
Ich definiere Freundschaft als etwas, was ein Mensch auf diesem Planeten mit seinen biologischen Randbedingungen (Schlafen, Tag-Nacht, Biorhythmus, Winter, Sommer, geistige Kapazität, …) nicht in ausreichendem Maße zur Verfügung haben kann für zwanzigtausend Menschen (bei von mir gewünschter Intensität). Nicht mal für eintausend. 

Das ist für mich eine schöne Metapher für Freundschaft. Ich meine auch, dass man im Leben nicht beliebig viele Freunde haben kann. Und Freundschaft etwas Seltenes ist. Eine Antwort ist das für mich aber auch nicht. Liebe ist ja wohl etwas anderes als Freundschaft. Vielleicht gehört aber beides eng zusammen?

Metaphern wie „bereit sein für jemanden zu sterben“ oder ähnliches machen mich eher skeptisch. Auch „Seelengleichheit“ oder „große Sympathie mit hoher Übereinstimmung bei Werten, Erwartungen, Interessen und Bedürfnissen“ bringt mich nicht so richtig weiter. „Blindes Verständnis über Zeit und Raum“ erscheint mir auch nur eine schöne Metapher. Von Rupert Lay habe ich wie von Werner vieles mir sehr Wichtiges gelernt. Rupert hat uns mal gesagt:

Toleranz ist, wenn man das „Anders Sein des Andern“ akzeptiert. Liebe jedoch bedeutet, das „Anders Sein des Andern“ zu wollen!

Diese Metapher finde ich großartig. Sie dürfte auch für Freundschaft gelten. Ihr folgend wäre Werner für mich ein absoluter Freund gewesen, weil ich sein „Anders Sein“ nicht nur für ihn sondern auch für mich wollte.

🙂 So bin ich weiter auf der Suche nach der Bedeutung von Freundschaft und Liebe und weiß immer noch nicht was das wirklich ist; die Philosophen helfen mir da auch nicht weiter 🙁

Und bin und bleibe traurig, dass mein Freund Werner von uns gegangen ist.

Hier noch zwei kurze Beiträge zum Leben von Werner aus der Augsburger Allgemeine und ein Bericht von „Pro Augsburg“ anlässlich seines Todes.  Für das Wohl unser beider Heimatstadt hat er sich immer intensiv und erfolgreich engagiert. Und manches bewirkt, über dass sich die Augsburger heute richtig freuen.

RMD

P.S.
Von Werners Krankheit habe ich schon viele Jahre gewusst. Als ich davon erfahren habe, war ich sehr niedergeschlagen und habe in IF-Blog über meinen Schmerz in einem sehr persönlichen Post geschrieben.