Roland Dürre
Tuesday February 7th, 2017

Hacked By XwoLfTn …

Logo of the Chaos Computer Club, the most influential association of hackers in the German-speaking world. Security questions are their main field of interest.

Now it happened:

IF-Blog has been hacked. For the second time. Here is what happened each time:
The headline is overwritten – and so is the text. The last time, it was my article America Firs that got under attack.

The headline was replaced by
Hacked By XwoLfTn
and the entire content was overwritten by
Hacked By XwoLfTn – Tunisian Hacker.

Before that, it was my EURO story (EURO-Geschichte).  With the same result. The headline and the content were the same as this time.

I was able to reconstruct both articles, which means I am glad that nothing worse happened. But you can see they actually exist: evil guys on the internet. The Chaos Computer Club (CCC) – which I hold in high esteem – is again correct. And so is my friend Hans Bonfigt.

Unfortunately, I do not yet know if we are talking an individual person who wants to annoy me or another Bot doing damage. Looking at google and realizing how many blogs are affected by the same effect, I rather fear the latter.

As soon as possible, I will now install the latest wordpress version. And I hope that helps. And if any of you are wordpress experts – or even better: if any of you know what exactly happened, I would be grateful for any advice you can give me!

Many thanks in advance!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Hans Bonfigt
Saturday August 27th, 2016

Am Beispiel eines Pioniers

Heinz Sebiger ist tot.

Hans Bonfigt
Sunday August 21st, 2016

Ende mit Schrecken

Der Rolan, zurecht, sagt ja immer, hier im Blog müsse das Positive überwiegen. Und er hat recht.

Digital Transformation and New Mobility – Paradise or Hell?

Or:
Our Brave New World seen with the eyes of the entrepreneur, IT pioneer, blogger, father and biker Roland Dürre.

When he still worked at the GLS bank, Carsten Schmitz often invited me to attend nice events. I met urgewald and Katrin Frische when she was “telling stories”, and many more people of interest. Now a board member of the HOHENFRIED e.V., Carsten is responsible, among other things, for networking, fundraising and financing.

One of the things he initiated is a loose series of presentations in Berchtesgaden:

“Civil Society Initiative with Current Topics at the Lederstubn“

And he asked me if I would be interested in supporting his project by giving a presentation. Which, of course, I will gladly do. After all, this is an excellent opportunity to thank him for all his hospitality and at the same time do something beneficial for a good cause.

Plakat13Juli-Lederstubn

Since I assume that the audience will be quite diverse, the first thing I plan to do is ask them about their interests and then sort the input. And then the resulting list will be discussed in good order, a little like an OpenSpeech.

Consequently, I expect it to become a really open and interactive event that will be great fun for all participants – and that will also make people thoughtful.
I will go there by train and use the Bayern-Ticket.

Currently, I plan to take the S-Bahn train S7 from Neubibert on July, 13th at 14.31 hours and then change at Ostbhanhof and in Freilassing, arriving in Berchtesgaden at 17:30 hours. I plan to return on the same day, starting from Berchtesgaden at 20:31 hours, which means I will be back in my bed around midnight.

Of course, I would be delighted to welcome friends among the audience. I will gladly take you if you wish to use part of my Bayern-Ticket.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Wednesday March 9th, 2016

For Sale: Informatics Domains

At one time, I and some of my friends wanted to build an INFORMATICS PORTAL.

It was going to be a very innovative portal. Based on a 3-D browser, all users were to be provided with their “individual (and even three-dimensional) structured rummage table”. This “rummage table” was to be automatically fed by many sources (for example Heise.de or fefe.blog.de – just to name two of them) and chaired by us (a group of activists).

InterFace_Icon_30Jahre_01-94The 3D Browser software was developed by IF Lab (the InterFace AG IT young academics in the laboratory) and was the technological basis for the InterFace history wall we had generated for our 30-year jubilee. It was a great piece of software, but it was never used for anything else.

Naturally, if you want an informatics portal, you need an informatics domain. My first idea was informatik.de. However, the person who owned this domain wanted money to the tune of a six-digit number of Euros. Consequently, this was no longer an option.

Then I considered informatik.org. A good friend of mine who, like me, had been one of the chairmen of the GChACM (German Chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery) owned this domain, which he loaned the GChACM for its website. The German ACM chapter then (as I see it, illegally) confiscated this domain and was not prepared to return it to said friend of mine. Mind you, this happened regardless of the fact that the association now only uses it as an alias for germany.acm.org. To me, such behaviour looks a little shabby. Consequently, Informatik.org was also a no-go.

So I reserved a few informatics domains for the portal that sounded nice to me:

informatik.cc as   Kokosinseln  in  Cocos Islands  on the Indian  Ocean.
(http://informatik.cc)
“cc“ sounded nice to me, because we also have the famous dict.cc. Besides, “cc” reminds me of the good old Unix C compiler… From emails, everybody knows “cc”, too.

informatik.co as  Kolumbien  in Columbia South America
(http://informatik.co)
“co“ rather appealed to me, it sounds like informatics&co.

informatik.io as  Britisches Territorium im Indischen Ozean  British Territory on the Indian Ocean.
(http://informatik.io)
Well, we all know the input/output problem, don’t we?

informatik.me as  Montenegro  Montenegro, Europe
(http://informatik.me)
The English “me” sounds a little like “my” (informatics).

informatik.mu as  Mauritius  Mauritius Africa
(http://informatik.mu)
This reminded me of the Bavarian Capital.

For several reasons, the dream of an informatics portal never became reality. But I still own all these domains, although I do not need them. Consequently, I would like to hand them on to an interested party.

The price is subject to negotiation and also depends on how I like the buyer. At the least, I would like to be reimbursed for what the domains cost me during the last few years.

If you are interested, just send me an email – an actual proposal is appreciated.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Bauer-GoosI consider myself to some extend as a third generation informatics pioneer. And I like remembering my first huge projects in the 1970ies. They were called START, ITS, Dispol or SNATCH.

In my private order of things, the second generation of IT pioneers is represented by F.-L. Bauer, whom I personally hold in high esteem. When I was a mathematics student at TUM (at the time it was still called TH for Technische Hochschule) in the fall of 1969, I sat in his lecture when I first studied my minor subject: computer science. Incidentally, the book you see on the picture is my personal copy bought at the time. As you can easily see, it has been read in quite often.

In those days, informatics was something totally new for me. And I probably chose the minor subject because I did not really know what it was. Simply because, in some way or other, it pointed towards the future.

BauerAlmost as a logical consequence, I did not understand everything professor Bauer wanted to teach us during this beautiful lecture course. Very regrettably.

During the last few years, I was permitted to accompany professor Bauer when he gave several guided tours in the Informatics department of the Deutsches Museum. Those tours were held for our (InterFace AG) customers, friends and partners. Many things I had not understood as a young student became a lot clearer in the wake of those tours.

Incidentally, I count Konrad Zuse among the first computer science generation. I made his personal acquaintance at the end of the 1086 InterFace-Konrad-Zuse-Bike Tour. He gave us a great welcome, delivered a wonderful speech and presented us the picture you see here during the great reception at Hünfeld. Today, you can see the picture hanging on the wall at the InterFace AG building in Unterhaching.

K_ZuseBy now, informatics has moved on by “light years”. I was and still am a computer scientist with all my heart. For me, the combined meaningfulness of my work, my life and society has always been important. Consequently, the development and future of informatics is important to me. Articles written by third parties about the subject and by distinguished informatics representatives are, naturally, of special interest.

In the 14th edition of the TUM magazine “Faszination Forschung” – a first-class high-gloss TUM München magazine – dated June 2014, I found the article  “Connecting the World”.

Here is the trailer:

In the future, everyday objects will be linked via the Internet, enabling them to interact autonomously. To realize this vision, computer scientists are developing virtual models they can use to test practical implementation and monitor the security, safety and reliability of connected systems.

The article describes the future of computer science on the technological level. It is basically about how systems can be coordinated in a future “cyber physical world”. Since I consider the article worth reading and a good basis for further discussion, I am providing you with the download: Cyber-Physical (723).

My friend and partner in the InterFace AG advisory board, Professor Dr. Manfred Broy, is cited in the article. You will also find his picture. It can be assumed that the content of the article is partly the result of the research supervised by him.

I do not totally agree with the article. To be sure, there will be remarkable future developments in our technology, perhaps even more remarkable than those described in the article. However, I do not believe in what applications are predicted. Instead, I assume that the society of the future will have to cope with totally different challenges than we assume today. And I am sure we will then find very exciting solutions. But those solutions will not be part of this “brave new world”.

Yet matters begin to get exciting (and for me alarming) when I read the reply written by Professor Werner Meixner. In a presentation, professor Dr. Meixner described how this article “strikes someone (him) who basically understands the meaningfulness of his professional life as a fascination with the natural sciences as a humanist value”.

This presentation is also part of an open letter addressed to Professor Dr. Manfred Broy with the title: 

Where is informatics headed?
Like before, I am providing the link for downloading of the open letter by Professor Meixner:
Wohin geht die Informatik? (726)

Since I wish to motivate IF blog readers to read the articles, I will now cite a short but perhaps central part of the article:

All human decisions – and concerns know this quite well – contain an act of added value, which means they are valuable per se. The most important factor is that the owner of the produced value is the one who made the decision and is responsible for it. This is exactly the meaning of privacy and the consequence is the indisputable worthiness of privacy protection. All business behaviour is a consequence thereof.

In fact, I do not quite understand what the author wants to say. My attempt at analysing it dialectically results in me finding a random truth claim which is easy to disprove.

🙂 However, since I am a blogger, I never write open letters to anyone. Instead, I publish my personal opinion in my blog. Totally transparently, everybody can read it.

Here comes:

I find the TUM magazine article one-dimensional. The “open letter” gave me consternation.

In both articles, I find a concept of the world and humans which is no match at all with what I see in the real world. The first article reminds me a little of the nuclear energy euphoria (which at the time was controlled by business interests) more than fifty years ago. The second article glorifies a meaning of privacy and laments its worthiness of protection which – based on my experience in life and my knowledge of anthropology, neurology, psychology, philosophy and sociology – is not at all justifiable. Even theological reasoning would probably fall short

For all of us, the real challenges will quickly be others than those described. The dream image of a networked world will not help us to cope with all those challenges. Neither will the convulsive protection of our private data – which, basically, cannot be protected anyway.

The current news about the IS fronts, other wars and their consequences, refugees seeking asylum in the EU, the assassinations in France , or #Pegida and #Anti-Pegida in Germany are clear indications of a reality that quickly changes and that we have to accept. Also, we have to learn how to deal with this reality in a rational way.

A dominating global economy which creates free markets for products yet leaves labour unfree (a seamstress in Bangladesh cannot move to Europe and do her work there, even though the dresses she makes are exclusively sold in Europe) will come to its end. The rich persons of this world (we) exploit the poor more than ever in human history and the number of slaves is higher than ever.

The tensions generated by these contrasts will probably discharge themselves like earthquakes. It has already started. Basic conditions (climate, food and soil) in many regions already deteriorate and will geometrically continue to do so. Sooner or later, this process will catapult us into critical spheres. The tensions will become more and more noticeable.

In fact, we might be approaching a rough awakening from our current dreams faster than we had anticipated. It is my hope that here, too, informatics can help. Naturally, I do not yet know how this might happen. All I can do is imagine how it might be.

I think the IKT can only contribute positively towards the humaneness of mankind if it – above all – succeeds in supporting a highly complex, world-wide and truthful discourse which thus will render striking results. This is the only way to come to a consensus not based on enmity and exploitation. Instead, it should prepare humans (us) for the necessary changes in our mental concepts and life.
This is the only way to change society without violence. It is the only way to transform today’s economy into a “common-good-economy”. And it is also the only way to find solutions for a better copyright and patent system. Through the wisdom of the masses and against the simple-mindedness of the individual person.

[Note: perhaps our colleagues at Youmigo.de already understood this – which is why they wrote a wonderful APP for “world agreement”.]

As to the TUM magazine article: I would argue that we do not need a luxury world of networked technology which, when all is said and done, will only enslave us even more. As to Werner Meixner’s theses, I think he inflates the topic “pretty good privacy” like a profession of faith. However, instead of giving credible reasons, he remains dogmatic.

And I also believe that our privacy will be something we will be fairly indifferent about in the future. Because we will have other problems. Also, we humans will always move in the stress field of individuality and collectiveness. Either way. With data protection or without. And the only way we can manage to do that in a humane way is if we think and act in a value-oriented way. Dogmata and their prayer-like publication will not be helpful.

Here is another idea about personal data. Isn’t it a rather normal part of human civilization to collect information about people. After all, there were good reasons to come up with administration and, for instance, write down when a child is born. Of course, technological advancement made unbelievable things possible since they invented filing systems and cataloguing.

With “new” technologies, you can certainly collect a lot more data than formerly. Yet this is only the continuation of a development that started with the invention of writing on paper as a means to conserve and hand on information. Quite possibly, the invention of filing systems (certainly an IT invention) brought another impulse. And IKT yet another.

But: did IKT really make such an enormous difference? And how huge is the damage? And isn’t it just great that in general information can be made available by whistle blowers and that it was IT which made it easier?

I see a threat if “a-moral systems” (like unlawful systems) get hold of the data. But if it comes to that, no data protection will help us, anyway. Instead, we should see to it that “a-moral systems” never gain control over us. And that is a permanent social challenge for every citizen. Basically, you can only resist “commercial utilization” of data by being autonomous. But then, the same is true for the continuing threat of manipulation through marketing. And if you consume senselessly, it will only cost money, rarely your life.

Personally, I consider the avoidable damage the “old” technologies caused us during the last hundred years and still cause us permanently today significantly higher than the damage done by the new technology IKT during the last 25 years.
For instance, the technologies of the last century stole our piece. Does any of you still know a single place in Munich where you hear no “technology noise”? Yet the noise pollution is only a truly harmless example compared to the 1.2 million traffic fatalities each year – caused through motorized individualized mobility on a world-wide scale. And it is a fact that we also like to ignore other threats, such as the carbon dioxide content in the atmosphere.

In the same way we accepted the limitless noise emissions, we also got used to our (still very limited, regardless of all efforts) transparency. Limited, because even the networking systems used in industry and in the world 4.0 will find it hard to read our thoughts. And because, if we want to survive, we will definitely have to develop into autonomous persons in a self-determined frame.
Maybe the permanent calls for secrecy of data are nothing more than an outcry of protest, because, after all, you have to be against something, don’t you? And you are not courageous enough to actually stand up for the real threats.

But then, do not let us forget:

Only the new technologies provide us with a chance of networking and sharing our ideas with others. Which is how we can fight ignorance, intolerance, dogmata, irrationality and much more of the same.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Digitale Transformation und Neue Mobilität – Paradies oder Hölle?

Oder:
Die schöne neue Welt aus Sicht eines Unternehmers, IT-Pioniers, Bloggers, Familienvaters und Radfahrers Roland Dürre

Wie er noch bei der GLS-Bank war, hat mich Carsten Schmitz öfters zu schönen Veranstaltungen eingeladen. Da durfte ich urgewald kennen lernen, die Katrin Frische beim „Story Telling“ und einiges mehr erleben. Jetzt sorgt Carsten im Vorstandsstab des HOHENFRIED e.V. unter anderem fürs Netzwerken, Fundraising und die Finanzierung.

Unter anderem hat er in Berchtesgaden eine zwanglose Vortragsrunde ins Leben gerufen:
„Zivilgesellschaftliche Themenabende in der Lederstubn“
Und da auch bei mir angefragt, ob ich sein Projekt mit einem Vortrag unterstützen würde. Das mache ich doch sehr gerne. Es ist ja eine schöne Gelegenheit, mich für seine häufige Gastfreundschaft zu bedanken und für etwas Gutes zu wirken.

Plakat13Juli-Lederstubn

Da ich mal davon ausgehe, dass der Kreis der Besucher sehr gemischt sein wird, werde ich zu Beginn die Interessen meiner Zuhörer abfragen und sortieren. Und dann diese der Reihe nach abarbeiten, sozusagen einen OpenSpeech halten. So wird es auf jeden Fall ein sehr offene und interaktive Veranstaltung werden, die auch bestimmt allen Teilnehmer viel Spaß macht – und aber auch zum Nach-Denken anregen wird.

Anreisen werde ich im Zug mit dem Bayern-Ticket. Zurzeit plane ich die Verbindung zu nehmen, die in Neubiberg am 13. Juli um 14:31 mit der S-Bahn S7 startet und mit Umsteigen am Ostbahnhof und in Freilassing dann in Berchtesgaden Hbf um 17:30 ankommt. Die Rückfahrt plane ich am selben Tag von Berchtesgaden Hbf um 20:31, so dass ich wieder vor Mitternacht in meinem Bett liegen kann.

Natürlich freue ich mich auf Zuhörer aus meinem Bekanntenkreis und nehme sie gerne auf meinem Bayern-Ticket mit.

RMD

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 9. März 2016

Informatik Domains 4U (zu kaufen)

Ich wollte mal mit Freunden ein INFORMATIK-PORTAL bauen.

Es sollte ein ganz innovatives Portal werden. Basierend auf einem 3-D-Browser sollte jeder Nutzer über „einen individuellen (und eben auch dreidimensionalen) Wühltisch mit Ordnung“ verfügen. Dieser „Wühltisch“ sollte von vielen Quellen (wie Heise.de oder auch fefe.blog.de – die beiden hier nur mal beispielsweise) automatisch gespeist und durch uns (einer Gruppe von Aktivisten) moderiert  werden.

InterFace_Icon_30Jahre_01-94Der 3D-Browser-Software wurde vom IF-Lab (dem Labor für den IT-Nachwuchs bei der InterFace AG) entwickelt und war die technologische Basis der InterFace History-Wall, die wir für unser 30-jähriges Jubiläum erstellt hatten. Ein feines Stück Software, das aber sonst nie zum Einsatz kam.

Für ein Informatik-Portal braucht man natürlich eine Informatik-Domäne (domain). Mein erstes Ziel war die informatik.de. Der Inhaber dieser Domäne wollte aber als Ablöse einen 6-stelligen Euro-Betrag. Das war natürlich keine valide Option.

Dann dachte ich an informatik.org. Diese Domain hatte sich ein guter Freund, der mal gemeinsam mit mir im Präsidium des GChACM (German Chapter of the Association for Computing Machinery) war, vor langer Zeit reserviert und dem GChACM damals für seine Webseite geliehen. Das deutsche Chapter des ehrwürdigen ACM hat diese Domäne (nach meiner Meinung zu unrecht) beschlagnahmt und war nicht bereit, sie meinem Freund zurück zu geben. Dies obwohl sie vom Verein nur noch als Alias für germany.acm.org genutzt wird. Das Verhalten fand ich ein wenig schäbig. So war Informatik.org auch keine Variante.

Also habe ich mir ein paar schön und gut klingende Informatik-Domains fürs geplante Portal reserviert:

informatik.cc von  Kokosinseln  Kokosinseln Indischer Ozean.
(http://informatik.cc)
„cc“ fand ich gut, weil es da das berühmte dict.cc gibt. Und „cc“ assoziert bei mir mit dem guten alten Unix-C-Compiler … Vom E-Mailen her ist „cc“ ja auch gut bekannt.

informatik.co von  Kolumbien  Kolumbien Südamerika
(http://informatik.co)
„co“ hat mir gefallen, dass klang so nach Informatik&co

informatik.io von  Britisches Territorium im Indischen Ozean  Britisches Territorium Indischer Ozean.
(http://informatik.io)
Wer kennt das Problem mit der Ein- und Ausgabe nicht?

informatik.me von  Montenegro  Montenegro, Europa
(http://informatik.me)
Das englische „me“ klingt doch ein wenig nach „my“(Informatik) .

informatik.mu von  Mauritius  Mauritius Afrika
(http://informatik.mu)
Das war eine Remniszenz an die Landeshauptstadt Bayerns.

Jetzt ist aus verschiedenen Gründen der Traum vom Informatik-Portal nichts geworden. Alle diese Domänen habe ich aber immer noch und brauche sie nicht mehr. So würde ich sie gerne weitergeben.

🙂 Der Preis ist Verhandlungssache und hängt auch von der Sympathie des Käufers ab. Zumindest die Kosten, die mir die Domänen über die letzten Jahre verursacht haben, hätte ich aber gerne wieder.

Anfragen bitte per Mail – gerne mit konkreten Angeboten – an mich.

RMD

Bauer-GoosEin wenig fühle ich mich als Informatik-Pionier der dritten Generation. Und denke gerne an meine ersten großen Projekte in den Siebziger Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts zurück, die START, ITS, Dispol oder SNATCH hießen.

Für die zweite Generation der IT-Pioniere steht in meiner privaten Ordnung mein verehrter Professor F.-L. Bauer, bei dem ich 1969 im Herbstsemester an der TUM (damals noch TH für technische Hochschule) als Student der Mathematik meine erste Vorlesung in meinem Nebenfach Informatik hören durfte. Das abgebildete Buch ist übrigens mein erkennbar viel gelesenes persönliches Exemplar aus dieser Zeit.

Damals war das Thema Informatik etwas ganz Neues für mich. Und wahrscheinlich habe ich das Fach gewählt, weil ich nicht wusste, was es ist. Einfach, weil es irgendwie in die Zukunft gewiesen hat.

In der schönen Vorlesung von Professor Bauer habe ich so fast folgerichtig nicht alles von dem verstanden, was er uns mitgeben wollte. Sehr zu meinem Leidwesen.

BauerIn den letzten Jahren durfte ich Professor Bauer dann bei mehreren Führungen im Deutschen Museum in der Abteilung Informatik begleiten, die er für uns (InterFace AG) und unsere Kunden, Freunde und Partner gehalten hat. Da ist mir vieles klar geworden, was ich als junger Student noch nicht verstehen konnte.

Zur ersten Generation der Informatik zähle ich übrigens Menschen wie Konrad Zuse, den ich am Ende der InterFace-Konrad-Zuse-Radtour 1986 kennen gelernt habe. Er hat uns dort toll empfangen, eine wunderbare Rede gehalten und uns das abgebildete Bild beim großen Empfang in Hünfeld geschenkt, das heute bei der InterFace AG in Unterhaching hängt.

K_ZuseHeute ist die Informatik um „Lichtjahre“ weiter. Ich war und bin mit Herzblut Informatiker. Die Sinnkopplung zwischen meiner Arbeit, meinem Leben und der Gesellschaft war mir immer wichtig. Deshalb ist für mich die Entwicklung der Informatik wie ihre Zukunft wichtig. Beiträge von Dritten zu diesem Thema von herausragenden Vertretern der Informatik interessieren mich natürlich ganz besonders.

So habe ich in der 14. Ausgabe des TUM Magazins „Faszination Forschung“, einem hochwertigen Hochglanz-Magazin der TU München, in der Ausgabe vom Juni 2014 zum Thema „informatics“ den Artikel „Connecting the World“ gefunden.

Der Trailer zum Artikel liest sich so:

In future, everyday objects will be linked via the Internet, enabling them to interact autonomously. To realize this vision, computer scientists are developing virtual models they can use to test practical implementation and monitor the security, safety and reliability of connected systems

Der Artikel beschreibt die Zukunft der Informatik auf der technischen Ebene. Es geht hier vor allem um das Zusammenwirken von Systemen in einer zukünftigen „cyber-physikalischen Welt“. Da ich den Artikel lesenswert und als eine gute Diskussionsbasis empfinde, biete ich ihn hier zum „Download“ an: Cyber-Physical (618).

Mein Freund und Partner im Aufsichtsrat der InterFace AG, Professor Dr. Manfred Broy, wird dort zitiert und abgebildet. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Aussagen im Artikel zum Teil Ergebnisse der von ihm geleiteten Forschungsarbeit sind.

Ich bin mit dem Inhalt des Artikels nicht ganz einverstanden. Sicher wird es noch erstaunliche Entwicklungen in unserer Technologie geben, vielleicht noch verblüffender als die im Artikel beschriebenen. Nur an die Vorhersage der Anwendungsfelder glaube ich nicht, da ich annehme, dass die Gesellschaft der Zukunft ganz andere Herausforderungen haben wird, als wir sie uns heute vorstellen. Und wir dann sicher sehr aufregende Lösungen finden werden, die sich aber nicht in diese „schönen neuen Welt“ bewegen werden.

Spannend (und für mich bedenklich) wird es aber, wenn man die Entgegnung von Dr. Werner Meixner liest. Dr. Meixner ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter an der TUM und hat wohl in in einem Vortrag niedergelegt, wie dieser Artikel „auf jemanden (ihn) wirkt, der den Sinn seines Berufslebens wesentlich aus einer Faszination für Naturwissenschaften als einem humanistischen Wert versteht“.

Dieser Vortrag ist auch der Inhalt eines offenen Briefes an Professor Dr. Manfred Broy und hat zum Thema:
Wohin geht die Informatik?
Auch hier der Link zum Download des offenen Briefes von Dr. Meixner:
Wohin geht die Informatik? (654)

Um den IF-Blog-Leser auch hier zum Lesen anzuregen zitiere ich einen kurzen aber vielleicht zentralen Auszug aus diesem Artikel:

Jede menschliche Entscheidung, und das wissen Konzerne ganz genau, beinhaltet einen Wertschöpfungsakt und ist also wertvoll an sich. Das Wichtigste dabei ist, dass der Eigentümer dieses produzierten Wertes derjenige ist, der die Entscheidung getroffen hat und verantwortet. Dies genau ist die Bedeutung des Privaten, aus der auch die unbedingte Schutzwürdigkeit des Privaten folgt. Jegliche wirtschaftliche Tätigkeit ergibt sich daraus.

Ich verstehe die zitierte Aussage nicht so ganz. Wenn ich versuche, sie dialektisch zu analysieren, so meine ich einen willkürlichen Wahrheitsanspruch zu entdecken, der mir leicht widerlegbar scheint.

🙂 Ich schreibe aber an niemanden offene Briefe, da ich ein Blogger bin. Und BLogger schreiben keine öffentlichen Briefe sondern bloggen. So veröffentliche ich meine Meinung in meinen Blog.

Also:
Den Artikel im TUM-Magazin finde ich zu eindimensional technologisch, der „offene Brief“ hat mich bestürzt.

In beiden Artikeln nehme ich ein Welt- und Menschenbild wahr, das der von mir als real wahr genommenen Wirklichkeit nicht gerecht wird. Der erste erinnert mich ein wenig an die (damals ja von wirtschaftlichen Interessen gesteuerte) Euphorie zur Kernkraft vor mehr als 50 Jahren, der andere überhöht die Bedeutung des Privaten und lamentiert über dessen Schutzwürdigkeit, die nach meiner Lebenserfahrung und meinem Wissen aus Anthropologie, Gehirnforschung, Psychologie, Philosophie aber auch Soziologie überhaupt nicht zu rechtfertigen ist. Sogar mit theologischen Begründungen dürfte dies misslingen.

Die Herausforderungen für uns alle werden zeitnah andere sein als die beschriebenen. Nicht das Traumbild einer total vernetzten Welt wird uns helfen, diesen Herausforderungen zu begegnen noch der krampfhafte Schutz unserer privaten Daten, die letztendlich eh nicht geschützt werden können.

Die aktuellen Nachrichten, sei es von den Fronten der IS, von den sonstigen Kriegen mit ihren Folgen, von den Flüchtlingen die in die EU drängen, von dem Attentat aus Frankreich oder zu #Pegida und #Anti-Pegida in Deutschland sind deutliche Anzeichen einer sich beschleunigt verändernden Realität, die wir akzeptieren müssen. Und mit der wir vernünftig umgehen müssen.

Die Vorherrschaft der globalen Wirtschaft, die total freie Märkte für Waren schafft aber die Arbeit unfrei lässt (eine Näherin aus Bangladesch kann ihren Arbeitsplatz nicht nach Europa verlagern, obwohl die von ihr genähten Kleider nur dort verkauft werden), wird zu Ende gehen. Die Reichen in dieser Welt (wir) beuten die Armen mehr in enormen Masse aus und die Anzahl der Sklaven ist höher als je zuvor in der Geschichte der Menschheit.

Die durch diese Gegensätze generierten Spannungen dürften sich wie Erdbeben entladen. Das beginnt schon jetzt. Die Verschlechterung der Rahmenbedingungen in vielen Regionen (Klima, Wasser, Ernährung und Böden) entwickelt sich geometrisch wachsend und wird uns früher oder später in kritische Bereiche bringen. Die Spannungen werden immer spürbarer.

So könnte es ganz schnell gehen, dass wir sehr unsanft aus unseren aktuellen Träumen geweckt werden. Meine Hoffnung ist, dass uns auch hier die Informatik helfen wird. Natürlich weiß ich aber noch nicht wie und kann mir dies nur so ungefähr vorstellen.

Ich glaube, dass die IKT einen positiven Beitrag für die menschliche Zukunft nur dann leisten kann, wenn es ihr gelingt, vor allem einen hochkomplexen, weltweiten, redlichen Diskurs zu unterstützen, der eindringliche Ergebnisse bringt. Nur so kann eine Konsensbildung gelingen, die nicht auf Feindseligkeit und Ausbeutung beruht sondern die Menschen (uns) auf und für die notwendige Veränderung von Denken und Leben vorbereitet.

Nur so kann die globale Gesellschaft mit möglichst wenig Gewalt verändert werden. Nur so kann die heutige Art des Wirtschaftens in eine „Gemeinwohl-Ökonomie“ transformiert werden. Und nur so können wir Lösungen für ein besseres Copyright- und Patentwesen finden. Durch die Weisheit der Vielen und gegen die Einfalt des Einzelnen.

[Hinweis: Unsere Kollegen von Youmigo.de haben das vielleicht verstanden und eine wunderbare APP zur „Weltverständigung“ geschrieben.]

Dem Artikel im TUM Magazin würde ich entgegen halten, dass wir keine Luxuswelt von vernetzter Technologie brauchen, die uns letztendlich noch mehr versklavt. Zu Werner Meixners Aussagen meine ich, dass er das Thema „pretty good privacy“ in Form eines Glaubensbekenntnis überhöht, dieses aber nicht glaubhaft begründet sondern im dogmatischen verbleibt.

Und ich meine, dass in Zukunft uns Menschen unsere Privatsphäre ziemlich egal sein wird. Weil wir ganz andere Probleme haben werden. Und wir Menschen uns immer im Spannungsfeld Individualität und Kollektivität bewegen werden. So oder so. Mit Datenschutz und ohne. Und das schaffen wir nur auf eine dem Menschen würdige Art, wenn wir auf Werte basiert denken und handeln. Dogmen und deren gebetsmühlenartige Verkündung hilft uns nicht.

Noch ein Satz zu den persönlichen Daten. Informationen über Menschen zu sammeln ist doch ein ganz normaler Teil der menschlichen Zivilisation, die sich ja aus guten Gründen Administrationen geschaffen hat und so z.B. die Geburt eines Kindes protokolliert. Natürlich hat der technologische Fortschritt seit der Erfindung von Karteikästen und -karten unglaubliches ermöglicht.

Sicher lässt sich mit „neuen“ Technologien viel mehr Daten sammeln als früher. Das ist aber nur die Fortsetzung einer Entwicklung, die begonnen hat mit der Erfindung von der Schrift und Papier als Möglichkeit, Informationen aufzuzeichnen und weiterzugeben. Mag sein, dass die Erfindung von Dateikasten und -Karten (sicher eine Erfindung von IT), einen Schub gebracht hat. Und die IKT dann nochmal.

Aber: Hat die IKT hier wirklich so viel verändert? Und wie groß ist der Schaden? Und ist es nicht wunderschön, dass Informationen generell durch Whistle-Blower veröffentlicht werden können und die IT dies noch viel leichter gemacht hat?

Ich sehe eine Bedrohung nur dann, wenn sich „unmoralische Systeme“ (wie z.B. ein Unrechtssystem) der Daten bemächtigen. Aber dann hilft uns auch kein Datenschutz. Vielmehr müssen wir vermeiden, dass wir unter die Kontrolle „unmoralischer Systeme“ geraten. Und das ist eine permanente gesellschaftliche Herausforderung für jeden Bürger. Der „Kommerziellen Nutzung“ von Daten zu widerstehen geht sowieso nur durch persönliche Autonomie, aber das war und ist mit der andauernden Manipulationsbedrohung durch Marketing genauso. Und wenn man unsinnig konsuminert, kostet das doch nur Geld und selten das Leben.

Persönlich empfinde ich den vermeidbaren Schaden, den uns die „alten“ Technologien der letzten 100 Jahre zugefügt haben und heute permanent zufügen, deutlich höher als den Schaden, den die neue Technologie IKT in den letzten 25 Jahren generiert hat.

Die Technologien des letzten Jahrhunderts haben uns zum Beispiel die Ruhe geraubt. Wer kennt noch einen Ort in München, der frei von „technischem Rauschen“ ist? Die Lärmverschmutzung ist jedoch ein wirklich harmloses Beispiel im Verhältnis zu anderen Folgen wie den 1,2 Millionen Verkehrstoten pro Jahr – weltweit verursacht durch den motorisierten Individual-Verkehr. Und die wir auch sonst nur zu gut kennen aber gerne ignorieren wie den Kohlendioxid-Gehalt in der Atmosphäre.

So wie wir uns an die grenzenlose Lärm-Emissionen gewöhnt haben, so haben wir uns doch schon lange unsere (ja trotz allem immer nur sehr eingeschränkte) Transparenz akzeptiert. Eingeschränkt, weil auch die vernetzen Systeme der Industrie und Welt 4.0 kaum unsere Gedanken lesen werden können. Und weil wir uns eh zu autonomen Menschen in einem selbstbestimmten kollektiven Rahmen entwickeln müssen, wenn wir überleben wollen.

Sind so gesehen die permanenten Forderungen nach Geheimhaltung von Daten nicht nur ein Protestschrei, weil man ja gegen irgendwas sein will und muss, sich aber nicht traut, gegen die wahren Bedrohungen aufzustehen?

Aber vergessen wir nicht:

Nur die neuen Technologien bieten uns die Chance, uns zu vernetzen und unsere Gedanken zu veröffentlichen. Und so gegen Ignoranz, Intoleranz, Dogmen, Unvernunft und Dummheit und manches mehr dieser Art zu wehren.

RMD