Roland Dürre
Sunday October 15th, 2017

Great Orators and Their Stories – #7 Jolly Kunjappu

I started with the “Day Labourer” Alain Neumann. Then I told you about Hans-Jörg Bullinger and Hans Strack Zimmermann before arriving at Augustinus Heinrich Graf Henckel von Donnersmarck, Klaus-Jürgen Grün and Rupert Lay .

Today, it is my special pleasure to add my friend Jolly Kunjappu to the list of names in my personal hall of fame.
Jolly’s motto is INSPIRING PEOPLE. Today, he sees himself as a Performance Artist, Keynote Speaker and Philosopher. In his life, Jolly Kunjappu lived many different roles. Among other things, he played music with such well-known musicians as Mick Jagger. He also organized “drum” seminars for top managers.

One of the activities I shared with him was my cooperation in the series of presentations about peace. Here is what he himself says about it.

You will find several articles about what he does in the IF Blog.

I bow to Jolly and his life work.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Hans Bonfigt
Friday September 22nd, 2017

Krampfhennenreport #1: VerbraucherschützerInnen

Sorry, this entry is only available in German.

Die Winderhitzer der Völklinger Hütte.

““Die Winderhitzer der Völklinger Hütte”. Also Vintage”

Regardless of the fact that I consider email vintage technology, I still have some email addresses. Many useless and stupid messages arrive.

It is my task to then delete those emails and ask my communication partners if, please, they could use other ways of communication.

Today, something happened that made me smile. I received an email from a beloved and long-time friend whose technological competence I rather appreciate.

He sent an email to a lot of people ( (all@XYZ.de):


Hi,
Could you please leave us alone with this totally irrational discussion!!!!!
I, too, said what I think about mail distributors and internal mail in the survey about new communication forms.
This is another typical example illustrating the fact that intra-company emails are total nonsense and why email distributors inparticular should be immediately made redundant.
To all, and I really intended to write this!


Incidentally, the “totally irrational discussion” was about the problem with rechargeable i-phone batteries and their exchange.

I replied as follows:


Your email made me smile. 🙂
After all, I totally agree with you – except that I am even more radical. Email is no longer a general communication channel. Instead, it is a totally old-fashioned one which – it goes without saying – should no longer be used in modern enterprises.
Emails to third parties should only be sent in those few instances where in former times you actually wrote a letter, sent a telegram or went to a public phone booth. Everything else should be done with tools that are adequate to the task.
Best wishes and a nice weekend to you!


Yes, I, too, dislike emails. More often than not, they have huge footers made even larger by artificial nonsense and totally uninteresting advertisements or stupid legal disclaimers.

I hate email dialogues that cause a constantly growing series of email incarnations through more and more dialogue steps. With every reply, you create a new email that contains the same as before, with the addition of the last reply.  When the internet was first introduced, they made an attempt to make the design of email communication a little more agreeable. For example there was the so-called tofu rule.

Unfortunately, however, “tofu” was only applied by very few users and consequently failed.

As a general rule, communication will be carried out as a “thread“. Ever since we have the perfect chat, email is mostly obsolete. In the “peer2peer“ thread, I can always immediately see what has been recently said. That is also true for persons with whom I rarely communicate – where it is extremely valuable. Threads are also a good tool for more than two persons who wish to communicate. If you use email, you immediately get a catastrophic flood of “cc”-s and “bcc”-s.

Moreover, I enjoy using images, audios or small videos in my daily communication. How cumbersome is this both for the sender and the recipient if you use email? Just look how easily bbm, wechat, whatsapp, the FB “messenger“ or Skype, the twitter  “dm“ (direct message) etc, work. Not to mention Snapchat, the system with the most modern and simple of all user interfaces.

Even better for structured communication, even in bigger teams/groups than chat systems are “communities”. There are many communities in the internet, for instance in Google+. They show you how it is done. And how you can communicate well and yet very structured and highly efficient with very simple means within an organization. And how you can do totally without the email nonsense, rather than flooding the non-interested and non-concerned parties with spam all the time!

Note also:

The telephone is also OUT. I only use my telephone after having made an appointment in advance to do so, if there is something important I need to do or if I want to talk with someone and pay full attention. Consequently, I no longer use the telephone in the car or in public places like trains. And even for important issues, I only use the telephone if image telephones (Hangout, Facetime, Skype, Cisco, Citrix …) are not an option because the person at the other end prefers the good old telephone.

In case you forgot: the “telephone” function on the smartphone is also just an app for synchronous spoken communication that enables your connection with addresses made up from telephone numbers (digits) and through “voice-over-IP“.

Consequently:
If someone calls me and I reply with
“Now who interrupts me in my work?“,
then I kindly ask you to forgive me.

I continue to be available on the telephone for all those who need me. Here is my physical telephone address 0049 171 4850115 (unfortunately, the symbol telephones have now been out of fashion for a long time). But, please, only call if it is really important and totally urgent!

In all other instances, please ask yourself if it might not be enough for you to use asynchronous (spoken) messages through one of the chatters I use or, if it is about a specific topic, for you to send a message to the respective community.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Die Winderhitzer der Völklinger Hütte.

„Die Winderhitzer der Völklinger Hütte. Auch Vintage.“

Obwohl ich E-Mail für Technik von vorgestern halte, habe ich natürlich noch ein paar E-Mail-Adressen. Da kommt viel Belangloses und Mist an.

Meine Aufgabe besteht dann vor allem darin, diese E-Mails zu löschen und meine „Kommunikations-Partner“ zu bitten, doch modernere Kommunikationsformen zu nutzen.

Heute musste ich aber mal wieder so richtig Schmunzeln. Da kam eine E-Mail von einem lieben und langjährigen Freund, den ich auch fachlich für sehr kompetent halte.

Der hat – an ganz viele Menschen (all@XYZ.de) – geschrieben:


Hi,

könnt ihr uns alle bitte mit dieser für mich vollkommen sinnfreien Diskussion in Ruhe lassen!!!!!

Ich habe meine Meinung zu Mail-Verteilern und interner Mail auch in der Umfrage zu den neuen Kommunikationsformen von mir gegeben.

Das ist ein typisches Beispiel dafür, warum E-Mail unternehmens-intern Blödsinn ist und die E-Mail-Verteiler insbesondere sofort abgeschafft werden sollten.

Mit Absicht an all!


🙂 Bei der „sinnfreien Diskussion“ ging es übrigens um das Problem mit „Akkus von I-Phones“ und deren Umtausch.

Ich habe dann geantwortet:


Deine E-Mail lässt mich schmunzeln. 😊

Bin ich doch genau Deiner Meinung – nur noch radikaler. E-Mail ist kein generelles Kommunikationsmittel mehr sondern ein völlig veraltetes, das man selbstverständlich in modernen Unternehmen nicht mehr nutzen sollte.

E-Mails an Dritte sollte man nur noch senden, wenn es einen Anlass gibt, für den man in vergangenen Zeiten tatsächlich einen Brief geschrieben, ein Telegramm aufgegeben (!) oder eine Telefonzelle aufgesucht hätte.

Alles andere sollte man mit Werkzeugen erledigen, die dem Zweck adäquat sind.

Liebe Grüße und ein schönes Wochenende!


Ja – ich mag E-Mails auch nicht. Oft sind sie mit einem Riesen-Footer ausgestattet, der dann noch künstlich mit viel Quatsch und völlig uninteressanten Hinweisen werblicher Art oder blödsinnigen juristischen Belehrungen verlängert ist.

Ich hasse die E-Mail-Dialoge, die mit jedem Dialogschritt eine immer länger werdende neue Inkarnation der Mail verursachen. Denn mit jeder Antwort entsteht eine E-Mail, wo dasselbe alles noch mal drinsteht ergänzt um die letzte Antwort. In der Ur-Zeit des Internets gab es Versuche, die E-Mail-Kommunikation ein wenig erfreulicher zu gestalten. Da gab es z.B. eine gute Regel, die man tofu nannte. Leider wurde „tofu“ aber nur von wenigen angewendet und ist so gescheitert.

Da Kommunikation erfolgt in der Regel als „Thread“ (Faden).  Spätestens seit dies im Chat perfekt möglich ist, ist E-Mail in vielen Fällen verzichtbar. Im „peer2peer“-Thread sehe ich immer sofort was in der letzten Zeit so alles ausgetauscht wurde. Das gilt auch für Menschen, mit denen ich ganz selten kommuniziere und ist da besonders wertvoll. Threads sind auch gut geeignet, wenn mehr als zwei Menschen gemeinsam kommunizieren wollen. Bei E-Mail führt es dann sofort zur katastrophalen Fluten bedingt durch „cc“ und „bcc“.

Dazu kommt, dass ich alltäglich gerne mit Bildern, Sprachnotizen (Audios) oder kleinen Filmen (Videos) kommuniziere. Wie umständlich ist das bei E-Mail für Sender und Absender? Man schaue sich einfach an, wie bbm, wechat, whatsapp, der „messenger“ von FB oder Skype, die „dm“ (direct message) von Twitter usw.  funktionieren. Von Snapchat, dem System mit der modernsten und einfachsten „Benutzer-Oberfläche“ möchte ich hier gar nicht reden.

Noch besser als chat-Systeme eignen sich „communities“ für die geordnete Kommunikation auch in größeren Teams/Gruppen. Im Internet gibt es viele „communities“ z.B. in Google+, die zeigen, wie es geht. Und wie man mit ganz einfachen Maßnahmen innerhalb einer „Organisation“ vortrefflich und trotzdem sehr strukturiert und hocheffizient kommunizieren kann. Und so auf den E-Mail-Blödsinn verzichtet und nicht dauernd die Nicht-Interessierten oder -Beteiligten voll mit Spam voll schüttet!

Im übrigen:

Auch Telefonieren ist OUT. Ich nutze das Telefon nur noch nach terminlicher Absprache, wenn es etwas Wichtiges zu erledigen gibt und ich mit einem Mitmenschen mit voller Aufmerksamkeit darüber sprechen will. So setze ich das Telefon im Auto oder in öffentlichen Räumen wie Zügen nicht mehr ein. Und auch für Wichtiges nutze ich Telefonie nur dann, wenn Bildtelephonie (Hangout, Facetime, Skype, Cisco, Citrix …) nicht möglich ist, weil mein Gesprächspartner das gute alte Telefon bevorzugt.

🙁 Nur zur Erinnerung. Die Funktion „Telefonieren“ ist auf dem Smartphone auch nur eine App für synchrone Sprach-Kommunikation, die es möglich macht, Verbindung mit Adressen aufzunehmen, die aus „Telefon-Nummern“ (Ziffern) bestehen und mit „voice-over-IP“ ein Telefonat emuliert.

Also:
Wenn mich jemand anruft und ich mich melde mit
„Wer stört denn jetzt schon wieder?“,
dann bitte ich, dies mir nicht übel zunehmen.

Ich bin weiter für jeden erreichbar, der mich braucht: Hier meine physikalische Telefonadresse 0049 171 4850115 (leider sind die symbolischen schon lange aus der Mode gekommen). Aber bitte wirklich nur anrufen, wenn es wirklich wichtig und ganz dringend ist!

Sonst bitte ich zu überlegen, ob es nicht genügt, mir eine asynchrone „(Sprach-)Botschaft“ über einen der Chatter die ich benutze zu senden oder falls es auf ein bestimmtes Thema bezogen ist, diese Nachricht in der entsprechenden Community zu hinterlegen.

RMD