Roland Dürre
Wednesday July 26th, 2017

Shouldn’t Business Serve Humans?!

In Unterhaching, we have a great soccer club, a number of IT enterprises such as the InterFace AG and even world-famous companies. One of them is Wrigley.

Let me relate to you what I learned over the last few weeks. I did not make any attempts at verifying the story, but it is quite possible that things I heard in the form of reports or gossip around here are the truth.

I am sure the degree to which Unterhaching has become considerably more famous even beyond Germany is due to the Spielvereinigung Unterhaching.

Besides soccer, we also have volleyball, gymnastics and several other successful athletic areas in Unterhaching – as well as several more interesting enterprises and a wonderful outdoor swimming pool and much more.

The Unterhaching Civic Office is certainly glad that the famous Wrigley enterprise has its European headquarters here. And perhaps in the future, you will have to say “had”.


The big concerns want power. To this end, they like to swallow up other concerns.


It is quite possible that, with its profit of 35 billion US dollars in 2016, Mars falls a little behind Nestlé (turnover in 2015 was 88.8 billion). That is just more motivation for Mars to catch up with the big rival.

Currently, they are preparing for the merging of the animal hospital chain VCA Inc. (Veterinary Centres of America). Mars wants to spend 9.1 billion US dollars, including the debt. It is supposed to further strengthen the business area “animal health”. To me, it looks more like mania and misdirected late capitalism. I can imagine only too well (or rather, too badly) what the leading US food giant wants to achieve by the merging.


Food producer invests in animal hospital. Shame to him who evil thinks.


Wrigley was swallowed by Mars as early as 2008. Initially the European headquarters remained in Unterhaching. Another important Mars location is obviously in Viersen near Düsseldorf.

Now, Mars wants to centralize a few of its activities in London. One of the consequences will be that people now living in Unterhaching or Viersen will have to move to London. This might hurt some residents of Unterhaching, for others it will be an exciting challenge.

But then, this is what you get in a global world and economy. After all, most of the people seem to like it, since they support it – at least with their consumption habits.
But that is not what this article is about. What gives me pause is the reason they give for moving to London.


Big concerns assume that, in the future, the central key towards success in our competitive world will be the quality of marketing.


To the concern, that seems useful, and even necessary, because it assumes that, in the market for PROVISIONS, only an enterprise that has the best MARKETING can establish itself and perhaps even add to its turnover. And among the top managers, they assume that the most efficient and effective marketing firms basically sit in London. Consequently, they seek close proximity to them – and go to Great Britain. Regardless of the Brexit and such. In my opinion, the Brexit is more an operetta than anything else.

PROVISIONS concerns are, first and foremost, after turnover and results (profit). And, in the eyes of the concerns, MARKETING is the determining factor in this field. Everything else, like the quality of food and the consequences for your health, only plays a minor role.


Business should serve the people, not vice versa!


For the concerns, only one thing is important: the people must buy the cheaply produced mass food at a price that is as high as possible. To make it attractive for the masses, it is made “convenient” and optically seducing. Enriched with aromatic ingredients, “the taste of the world“ is generated and realized. “Cheap” is more important than quality, optical appeal and wrapping is more important than the content, uniformity beats diversity, mass has priority over class, storage life beats freshness, logistic feasibility has priority over taste. …

Thus, there is a strong LOBBY that forbids the legislators in Europe and Germany, for instance, the clear marking of a product if it contains substances that may be detrimental for your health.

And what do the people do? Nothing. They believe what marketing says and buy like lemmings all the products by Mars, Nestle and co. Unfortunately, this is also true for Unterhaching.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Saturday April 23rd, 2016

New Barcamps is What the Country Needs!

Now I know why my enthusiasm about barcamps is dwindling …

PM_BannerDiese Woche war This week, I was invited to attend the first (!) barcamp organized by one of the really huge German world concerns in their enterprise building. The “anti-conference” was announced as an experiment and was about “modern leadership principles“.

They wanted to try something new and invited around 50 internal employees and a few external persons (one of whom was me). Almost all of the concern employees were young “high potentials”, among them many personal assistants of directors or persons responsible for a sector of product.

With respect to the degree of freedom, the barcamp was a little restricted. For instance, the “feet principle” and the roles of “butterflies and bees” were intentionally not formulated. When I asked about those, the organizers told me they had been afraid that this would have been a little too much innovation – a fear that I do not happen to

But: the event was an extremely good experience.

To me, it seemed that, after a short phase of scepticism, all participants were really enthusiastic and active. And that it was a great thing for all parties concerned. Not one of the participants had actively prepared for the event by writing a presentation or some such! Consequently, all session givers formulated their problems, anxieties and experiences spontaneously after having spent only a short time pondering. And that really found its target – in the sessions, we always worked on topics that seemed really important and very exciting.

I, too, again, learned a lot and was truly glad to have been there. In particular, I now understand far better how huge concerned work today when it comes to leadership and management. As an extra knowledge increase, I also realized that, today, it is actually no longer the rule that new products need to be found useful by the customer.

In fact, first and foremost, it is all about evaluating where and if there are under-provided sectors on the market (product-free spaces), yet where the majority of persons who have been asked think they might need it.

As soon as this requirement is met, all you have to do is come up with a good marketing strategy and a concept that will make a basic scaling and good profit (production costs / price acceptable for the buyer) possible. I was actually a little taken aback when I heard that the usefulness of a product no longer plays any role when it comes to creative planning.

However, one (indirect and), for me, very important realization was (and this is why I write this article) that this “concern barcamp” made me aware of why I get more and more tired of barcamps:

The longer you have had a barcamp, the more people come with topics they prepared at home. They no longer formulate what is on their minds spontaneously and/or in the context of what actually happens.

pmcamp3Unfortunately, this is a tendency I see more and more often in the once so much-loved PM-Camps that, so far, I have always remained true to. And when I am there, I mostly stay in the coffee room and talk to the many great persons present. Also, it seems to me that, as the years go by, other barcamps have more and more “ready-made” session, which causes the anti-conference to slightly differ only in one respect from the good old classical conference: its format-based freedom.

Here is a possible solution to the problem:

a) communicate in no uncertain terms that it is better to let the moment determine what happens on a barcamp and have sessions develop from the individual and shared situation and

b) make the planning phases more iterative and “shared” (i.e. just fix the sessions for the morning after breakfast, then reflect in the forum for a short time what is going to happen and what should be continued).

To be sure, the constant tightrope walk between individually (alone) and collectively (together) and between agile and planned in advance is certainly not something easily done. But that does not mean we should not keep trying.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Modern enterprises want their employees to “actively participate” in the company. The participation of the employees when things are developed and their actively being part of decisions is considered a positive asset and a necessary requirement for a secure future. Terms such as “democratic enterprise” are en vogue. Some even get enthusiastic about holocracy (Holokratie), which is a term I like to intentionally misspell as “holocrazy”.

Yet I have all the respect in the world for the underlying intensions. Just as I also very much appreciate the ideas about “Common Good Economy” (“Gemeinwohlökonomie” – for instance as initiated by Christian Felber). But how is an enterprise supposed to manage the necessary change?

Meine Twitter-Fenster.

My Twitter Windows.

As I see it, social media play an important role when it comes to trying to establish the culture of an enterprise – both internally and externally.

For change and modifications, communication at eye-level and an internal intranet that works a little like the well-known social media systems à la Facebook are an important requirement. Today, we also call these concepts “Corporate Social Media (CSM)“. Perhaps we will soon have an “SMO” on top of the SEO (search engine officer who is responsible for the search engine optimization) – with the SM, naturally, not being short for sado-maso, but for Social Media (Social Media Officer).

I am a little sceptic about a CSM who has been appointed from the top. The employees should initiate the transformation. The same is true for the very popular term CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility). It is about how an enterprise can live up to “ethical expectations”. This is also one of the tings the basis must want and work towards.

You will immediately understand my scepticism about CSR initiated by leaders after, for instance, having read the books by Mr. Otfried Höffe. His books have become standard literature at universities in the ethics faculties. I have no idea why this is so, because, as I see it, the books contain poor material all the business students have to learn. They do not satisfy any philosophical requirements.

But then, I am an evil sceptic who even considers the valuable term BGM (company health management) ridiculous, regardless of it not even beginning with a “C”. Incidentally, I distrust abbreviations that start with a C as a matter of principle. This is not only in politics and not only when the C is for “Christian” or “Corporate”. I am also very cautious when it comes to all combinations and abbreviations that contain terms such as management, manager or officer.

But now let me write the constructive part of this article. I would like to show with the example of twitter how you can actually manage to make people inside an enterprise really enjoy the meaningful use of corporate social media addressing the world outside the firm. The motivation of the employees is joy and intrinsic, without any special incentives or such.
How to make an entire enterprise twitter and thus authentically demonstrate its strength in the network, at the same time showing its nice collection of great individualists and presenting them to the market?

As you can easily imagine, this cannot be done through centrally controlled marketing strategies that follow ancient concepts. The role of marketing is among the things that need to undergo drastic change. Virtues – and I do not mean new virtues – such as the subsidiarity principle that is based on trust and error tolerance must also be re-established.

Before I elaborate on the details, I would like to point out the difference between “collective enterprise twittering” and the “functional twittering” as it is done by the National Railway (Die Bahn@bahn) or the Telekom with their twitter accounts (“Telekom hilft” @Telekom_hilft – I tried it myself when I was in an emergency situation and it helped me a lot). It makes a lot of sense and is often a good way to get the attention of these enterprises when you have problems. And it is also often the only chance a user has of being heard when the hotline or other “normal” channels that should connect you with the enterprise fail.

For the enterprises, the use of these social media channels is quite beneficial, because it helps to release the burden of the expensive hotlines that by their constantly being busy already annoy the customers. And, as a general rule, good social media services can be offered much cheaper than the classic help desk.

But this has nothing to do with “corporate social media” as in “here, the employees twitter”.
In order to twitter collectively as an enterprise, the first thing you need is a shared twitter account that is used by many, ideally all, employees. Initially, a defined team should do the exemplary twittering for the enterprise on this account and maintain the account. In the long run, it is, of course, desirable that all the parties concerned share the maintenance work and responsibility for the account.

Perhaps such a team should also help with some advice and organizational assistance as to what sort of communication is supportive of the enterprise and what is not. But then, most employees have quite a good instinct when it comes to this issue.

Also, all office buildings should have a screen installed in rooms such as the entrée, meeting halls and kitchens. On these screens, a twitter wall (here is the example of the ActMobCmp-Twitter-Wall) with current tweets is running at all times. Because reading the tweets your friends and colleagues have written will whet your appetite and encourage you to do some twittering of your own. This is how activity and shared directing will start happening by itself.

In this article, I used “twittering” as a kind of metaphor (pars pro toto) for social media in general. With Facebook, Google+ or also a Corporate Blog, it is not much different. Thus, Corporate Twittering is a good way to start more social media activities. As soon as (almost) everybody is enthusiastic, you can also try “Corporate Blogging”.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For more articles of my entrepreneur’s diary, click here: Drehscheibe!

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 26. Juli 2017

Wirtschaft sollte doch für die Menschen da sein?!

Unterhaching beherbergt einen tollen Fussball-Verein, eine Reihe von IT-Unternehmen wie auch die InterFace AG und sogar Weltfirmen. Zu einer von diesen gehört Wrigley.

Ich erzähle mal, was ich in den letzten Wochen so gehört habe. Ich habe die Geschichte nicht recherchiert, es könnte aber gut sein, dass es stimmt, was so als Bericht und Gerücht durch die Gegend wabert.

Sicher ist es die Spielvereinigung Unterhaching, die den Bekanntheitsgrad von Unterhaching über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus beträchtlich erhöht hat.

Neben Fußball gibt es in Unterhaching auch Volleyball, Turnen und manche erfolgreiche Sportart mehr – und einiges an weiteren interessanten Unternehmen, ein wunderschönes Freibad und vieles schöne mehr.

So erfreut sich auch die Gemeinde Unterhaching auch daran, dass das namhafte Welt-Unternehmen Wrigley seine Europa-Zentrale seinen Sitz hat. Und das muss demnächst wohl heißen „hatte“.


Die großen Konzerne streben nach Macht. Für diesen Zweck übernehmen sie gerne andere Konzerne.


Mag sein, dass Mars mit Erlösen in 2016 von 35 Milliarden US-Dollar eher im Schatten von Nestlé (Umsatz 2015 war 88,8 Milliarden CHF) steht. Umso mehr arbeitet Mars daran, den großen Rivalen einzuholen.

Gerade bereiten sie die Übernahme des Tierklinikbetreibers VCA Inc. (Veterinary Centres of America) vor. Inklusive Schulden will Mars 9,1 Milliarden US-Dollar ausgeben! Damit soll das Geschäftsfeld Tiergesundheit weiter verstärkt werden. Ich empfinde das als Wahnsinn und fehlgeleiteten Spätkapitalismus. Was der amerikanische Nahrungsmittel-Gigant mit der Übernahme vorhat, das kann ich mir nur zu gut (besser schlecht) ausmalen.


Nahrungs-Mittel-Hersteller investiert in Tierklink. Bestraft sei, wer hier Böses denkt.


Schon in 2008 wurde Wrigley von Mars übernommen. Die Europa-Zentrale verblieb zuerst mal in Unterhaching. Ein weiterer wichtiger europäischer Standort von Mars liegt wohl in Viersen bei Düsseldorf.

Jetzt will Mars eine Reihe seiner zentralen Aktivitäten in London konzentrieren. Eine Folge wird sein, dass Menschen von Unterhaching und Viersen nach London umziehen müssen. Manchen Unterhachingern mag das weh tun – für andere wird es eine spannende Herausforderung sein.

Aber das ist halt so in einer globalen Welt und Wirtschaft, die ja die meisten Menschen mögen zu scheinen und zumindest mit ihrem Konsum-Verhalten unterstützen.

Das ist aber nicht das Thema dieses Artikels. Was mich bestürzt, ist die Begründung für den Umzug nach London.


Große Konzerne gehen davon aus, dass in Zukunft die Qualität des Marketing der zentrale Erfolgsschlüssel im Wettbewerb ist.


Dieser erscheint dem Konzern nützlich, ja notwendig, weil er davon ausgeht, dass im Markt der LEBENS-MITTEL nur das Unternehmen sich behaupten wird und vielleicht sogar zulegen kann, das das beste MARKETING macht. Und in den Kreisen des Top-Managements geht man davon aus, dass die effizienten und effektiven Marketing-Firmen halt in London sitzen. So wird deren Nähe gesucht – und man geht nach Great Britain. Trotz Brexit und so, der nach meiner Meinung ja auch mehr so ein Operetten-Ding ist.

LEBENS-MITTEL-Konzerne sind zuerst Mal auf Umsatz und Ergebnis (Profit) getrimmt. Und da ist – in der Wahrnehmung der Konzerne – das MARKETING der entscheidende Erfolgsfaktor. Alles andere wie Qualität der Nahrungsmittel und die Folgen für die Gesundheit spielt nur eine untergeordnete Rolle.


Wirtschaft sollte für die Menschen da sein, nicht die Menschen sind für die Wirtschaft!


Wichtig ist den Konzernen nur eines – die Menschen müssen das billig produzierte Massennahrungsmittel kaufen und zwar für einen möglichst hohen Preis. Damit es der Masse schmeckt, wird es möglichst „convenient“ gemacht und verführerisch dargestellt. Mit opportunen Aroma-Stoffen angereichert wird „the taste of the world“ generiert und durchgesetzt. „Billig“ geht vor Qualität, Aufmachung und Verpackung vor Inhalt, Einfalt vor Vielfalt, Masse vor Klasse, Haltbarkeit vor Frische, logistische Eignung vor Geschmack …

Und so gibt es eine starke LOBBY, die dem Gesetzgeber in Europa und BRD untersagt, dass dieser zum Beispiel eine klare Kennzeichung für gesundheitlich schädliche Produkte einführt.

Und was machen die Menschen? Gar nichts. Sie glauben dem Marketing und kaufen wie Lemminge die Produkte von Mars, Nestlé und Co. Leider auch in Unterhaching.

RMD

 

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 23. April 2016

Neue Barcamps braucht das Land!

Jetzt weiß ich, warum meine Begeisterung für Barcamps nachlässt …

PM_BannerDiese Woche war ich beim ersten (!) Barcamp eingeladen, das einer der ganz großen deutschen Weltkonzerne in seinem Unternehmen veranstaltete. Die „Unkonferenz“ galt als Experiment und hatte als Thema eines der modernen „Führungsprinzipien“.

Man wollte mal etwas Neues ausprobieren und hat dazu zirka 50 interne Mitarbeiter und ein paar externe eingeladen (einer davon war ja ich). Die Mitarbeiter aus dem Konzern waren fast alles junge „high potentials“, darunter viele persönliche Assistent*innen von Vorständen bzw. Bereichs- oder Produktverantwortlichen.

Von den Freiheitsgraden war das Barcamp ein wenig eingeschränkt. So wurde das „Prinzip der Füße“ und die Rollen der „Schmetterlinge und Bienen“ bewusst nicht formuliert. Ich habe nachgefragt, die Veranstalter waren in der Sorge – nach meiner Meinung zu unrecht, dass es dann dass doch zu viel der Innovation sein könne.

Aber: Die Veranstaltung war wahnsinnig gut.

Ich hatte den Eindruck, dass nach kurzer Skepsis alle Teilnehmer richtig begeistert mit gemacht haben. Und dass es für alle eine tolle Geschichte war. Kein einziger der Teilnehmer hatte sich explizit mit einem Vortrag oder ähnlichem vorbereitet! So haben alle Sessionsgeber nach kurzem Nachdenken spontan ihre Probleme, Sorgen und auch Erlebnisse formuliert. Und das kam an – so wurde in allen Sessions immer an Themen gearbeitet, die wohl brennend wichtig und sehr spannend waren.

Ich habe auch wieder mal viel gelernt und war froh, dabei gewesen zu sein. Besonders habe ich viel besser verstanden, wie große Konzerne heute betreffend Führung und Management ticken. Als Wissens-Beifang wurde mir auch bewusst, dass es tatsächlich in der Regel nicht mehr darum geht, Produkte zu kreieren, die den Kunden nutzen. Denn als erstes geht es um die Bewertung, ob es im Markt noch Bereiche gibt, die unterversorgt sind („produktfreie“ Lücken), von denen jedoch eine Mehrheit der befragten Menschen glaubt, das man so etwas brauchen kann.

Wenn diese Bedingung erfüllt ist, dann geht es nur noch darum, ob es eine gute Marketing-Strategie und ein Vermarktungs-Konzept gibt, dass wesentliche Skalierung und gute Profitabilität (Herstellungskosten / durchsetzbarer Preis) ermöglicht. Dass der Nutzen eines Produkts bei der kreativen Planung so gar keine Rolle mehr spielt, hat mich dann doch ein wenig entsetzt.

Eine (indirekte und) für mich persönlich wichtige Erkenntnis war aber (und deswegen schreibe ich hier), dass mir auf diesem „Konzern-Barcamp“ klar wurde, warum ich immer barcamp-müder werde:

Je länger es ein barcamp gibt, desto mehr Menschen kommen mit vorbereiteten Themen und formulieren nicht mehr spontan und/oder im Kontext des Geschehens ihre Anliegen.

pmcamp3Diese Tendenz sehe ich leider auch immer mehr bei meinen ehemals so richtig geliebten PM-Camps, denen ich bisher immer treu die Stange gehalten habe. Und bin dann mittlerweile am meisten im Kaffeeraum und rede mit den vielen tollen Menschen, die da immer da sind. Auch meine ich bei anderen barcamps zu sehen, dass jedes Jahr die „konfektionierten“ Sessions immer mehr werden und so die Unkonferenz sich nur noch aufgrund ihrer Format-bedingten Freiheit ein wenig von einer guten klassischen Konferenz unterscheidet.

Ein Lösungsansatz könnte so sein:
a) Deutlich zu kommunizieren, dass es besser ist, wenn wir auf barcamps wieder den Moment wirken lassen und sich ausschließlich spontan und aus der eigenen und gemeinsamen Erkenntnis-Situation heraus Sessions anbietet und
b) Die Planungsphasen iterativer und „gemeinsamer“ zu gestalten
(also am Morgen nur die Sessions für den Vormittag festlegen, dann im Forum kurz zu reflektieren, was passiert ist und wie man das am Besten fortsetzen kann).

Die immer wiederkehrende Gradwanderung zwischen individuell (allein) und kollektiv (gemeinsam)  und zwischen agil und im voraus geplant ist sicher nicht einfach hinzukriegen. Aber wir müssen es immer wieder versuchen.

RMD

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 20. April 2016

Unternehmertagebuch #116 – Social Media: Corporate Twittern

Moderne Unternehmen wünschen sich, dass ihre Mitarbeiter im Unternehmen aktiv „mitmachen“. Eine Partizipation der Mitarbeiter an der Entwicklung und ihre Beteiligung an den Entscheidungen des Unternehmens gilt als positives Asset und als notwendige Bedingung für Zukunftssicherheit. Begriffe wie „demokratisches Unternehmen“ sind in Mode. Manche schwärmen sogar von Holokratie, („Holocracy“, das Wort verunglimpfe ich gerne abwertend zu „Holocrazy“).

Doch habe ich hohen Respekt von den dahinter liegenden Absichten. So wie ich auch die Gedanken zur „Gemeinwohlökonomie“ (z.B. nach Christian Felber) sehr schätze. Aber wie kann ein Unternehmen die notwendige Veränderung schaffen?

Meine Twitter-Fenster.

Meine Twitter-Fenster.

Ich meine, dass beim Versuch, die Kultur in einem Unternehmen zu gestalten, Social Media eine wichtige Rolle spielt – intern wie extern.

Für Wandel und Veränderung sind Kommunikation auf Augenhöhe und ein unternehmensinternes Intranet, das ein wenig wie bekannte Social Media Systeme à la Facebook funktioniert, wichtige Voraussetzungen. Heute redet man in diesem Kontext auch von „Corporate Social Media (CSM)“. Vielleicht haben wir bald neben dem SEO (Search engine officer verantwortlich für search engine optimization) auch einen „SMO“. Wobei dann SM natürlich nicht für sado-maso sondern für Social Media steht (Social Media Officer).

Einem von oben verordneten CSM stehe ich skeptisch gegenüber. Die Mitarbeiter müssen die Transformation machen. Wie auch bei dem sehr aktuellen Thema CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility). Da geht es darum wie ein Unternehmen „ethischen“ Ansprüchen genügt. Auch das muss die Basis wollen und machen.

Meine Skepsis zu CSR durch Führungskräfte versteht man sofort, wenn man zum Beispiel die Bücher des Herrn Otfried Höffe liest. Dessen Bücher sind zur Standardliteratur an den Unis im Fach Ethik geworden. Ich weiß nicht warum – steht da nach meinem doch ein schlimmer Stoff drin, den die armen Wirtschaftsstudenten da lernen müssen und der einem philosophischen Anspruch nicht genügt.

Aber ich bin ja auch ein böser Skeptiker, der sogar das wertvolle BGM (Betriebsgesundheits Management) als einen lächerlichen Begriff empfindet, obwohl es gar nicht mit „C“ anfängt – den Abkürzungen, die mit C anfangen misstraue ich besonders. Nicht nur in der Politik und nicht nur wenn das C für „Christlich“ oder „Corporate“ steht. So wie ich bei allen Kombinationen und Abkürzungen vorsichtig bin, die Begriffe wie Management, Manager oder Officer beinhalten.

Jetzt aber zum konstruktiven Teil meines Artikels. Ich möchte hier am Beispiel von Twitter erläutern, wie man es im Unternehmen hinkriegen kann, dass die Menschen des Unternehmens gerne und sinnvoll bei Coporate Social Media, also nach außen gerichtet, mitmachen. Dies aus Freude und intrinsischer Motivation heraus, ohne irgendwelche Anreize oder ähnliches.

Wie kann ein echtes gemeinsames Twittern eines Unternehmens erreicht werden, das so authentisch im Netz seine Stärke und Kompetenz zeigen und sich als sympathisches Kollektiv von tollen Individualisten dem Markt präsentieren kann.

Wie man sich leicht denken kann, geht das aber nicht durch ein zentral gesteuertes Marketing alter Denke. Nicht nur die Rolle des Marketings muss sich gravierend ändern, auch – durchaus nicht neue – Tugenden wie das Subsidiaritäts-Prinzip aufbauend auf Vertrauen und Fehlertoleranz müssen wieder aufleben.

Bevor ich anfange, möchte ich das „kollektive Twittern eines Unternehmens“ abgrenzen von „funktionaler Twitterei“, wie es die Bahn (@bahn) oder die Telekom mit ihren Twitterkennungen machen (Telekom hilft – @Telekom_hilft – habe ich selbst mal probiert, wie ich in Not war und hat mir sehr geholfen). Das ist sehr sinnvoll und oft ein guter Weg, zu diesen Unternehmen mit seinen Problemen durchzudringen und so oft für die Nutzer die einzige Chance, gehört zu werden, wenn Hotline und andere „normale“ Kanäle zum Unternehmen versagen.

Fürs Unternehmen lohnt sich solche Nutzung von Social Media Kanälen auch, weil so wesentlich Last von den teuren Hotlines genommen werden kann, die allein schon wegen ihrer Überlastung die Kunden verärgern. Und gute social media services sind in der Regel viel preiswerte anzubieten als eben ein klassischer Help Desk.

Dies hat aber mit „Coporate Social Media“ im Sinne „hier twittert die Belegschaft“ nichts zu tun.

Um als Unternehmen gemeinsam twittern zu können, ist zuerst Mal eine gemeinsame Twitterkennung, die von möglichst vielen, am besten allen Mitarbeitern genutzt werden kann. Zu Anfang sollte ein definiertes Team beispielhaft auf dieser Kennung fürs Unternehmen twittern und diese Kennung moderieren. Langfristig ist natürlich eine Moderation von allen Beteiligten in gemeinsamer Verantwortung wünschenswert.

Vielleicht sollte dieses Team auch ein paar Hinweise und organisatorische Hilfestellung geben, welche Art von Kommunikation im Sinne des Unternehmens ist und was eher nicht. Wobei die Mitarbeiter das meistens selber schon auch sehr gut wissen.

Weiter sollte in jeder Filiale in Räumen wie dem Entrée, Teamräumen oder Küche ein Bildschirm vorhanden sein, auf dem eine Twitterwall (hier das  Beispiel der ActMobCmp-Twitter-Wall) mit den aktuellen Tweets läuft. Denn das Lesen der Tweets der Freunde und Kollegen macht Appetit, auch selber zu twittern. So kommt das Mitmachen und die gemeinsame Moderieren ganz von selber.

Twittern steht in diesem Artikel so ein wenig als Metapher für Social Media ganz allgemein. Mit Facebook, Google+ oder auch einem Corporate Blog geht das dann auch nicht viel anderes. Das „Corporate Twittern“ ist so ein guter Einstieg in weitere corporate social media Aktivitäten. Wenn (fast) alle mit Begeisterung dabei sind, dann kann man sich auch mit „Corporate Blogging“ versuchen.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!