Werner Lorbeer
Wednesday September 16th, 2015

OECD Survey Disproves District Administrator

geometrie““96 per cent of the students we asked have a computer at home, 72 per cent use this technology at school. In Germany, pupils from upper-class households use the internet more for information gathering than socially disadvantaged young persons. In those social classes, computers are used for watching videos, playing online games or chatting.“

Well, it is not like this comes as a surprise, is it? But it underlines some pedagogic hypotheses, at the same time destroying others. On the picture, you see children in a bi-lingual situation solving a geometry problem. The result is true gain in competence: in mental concentration, problem solving, emphatic listening and once in a while by testing the characteristics of a geometrical object or of a geometric operation. They did not talk very much while they were working. But: it was all in the category “communication” if you love competence-oriented formulation.

Here are the pedagogic hypotheses:

  • – Buying computers for schools will neither improve learning for the pupils, nor bring better success. That is a pity if you were the district administrator from the more prosperous district. It has been disproved.
  • Working with the computer and the networks will not give students the desired competence in the scientific-technological area. This is sour wine for all those who want to sell life in the social networks as a goal of teaching. And for those who want to raise searching processes into the heaven of pedagogics, rather than understanding what you found.
  • The educational standard of children with equal talent will not change through using a computer or software (tendency towards improvement). Instead, the two things that give this chance are industriousness and frustration tolerance.

It would be wise to use the end of technological illusions for truly experience-based learning. You could actually teach the children and adolescents with the actual objects, for instance beekeeping, cooking, gardening, robotics,… ,

I think this would give many people joy..

wl
(Translated by EG)

Werner Lorbeer
Saturday August 22nd, 2015

Myths About Teaching

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

School as a variable social system.

Current argument in BW! It is – politically tried and tested – about the school system. And it is always also about the teacher/student ratio and inclusion.

What I find rather shocking is that the parties who are arguing do not seem to know anything about the empirical research literature.

It remains to be said that one-on-one teaching or teaching only a few is an art that, as you can read in the research literature of the 18th and 19th centuries, was a total failure.

It is also known that the well-researched autonomous learner will create a strong differentiation in his structural development status. The PISA studies show that the group size is basically determined by the discipline of the learning group but that it does not limit the success.

Jauch’s shows are not a mirror of the current social concepts in our schools. They are characterized by a huge amount of variable social forms, even if this seems to be hardly understood by the educational editing boards. On the picture, you see a routine situation at the Augsburg Holbein Gymnasium: the final stage of a project phase.

However, this does not mean that matters could continue endlessly in this way. Instead, this class, too, is entitled to be taught physics systematically; because knowledge has a structure that has been fought for over many decades. The more gifted a child is, the more successful he or she will be when it comes to transferring said knowledge structure to other problems.

Incidentally, we also know from empirical research that specific teacher talents will also substantially contribute to the learning success. “Success” always has to be understood multi-dimensionally in pedagogical research – social effects, academic effects, impacts on the development of a child’s personality, etc.

Not every teacher has an equal chance when it comes to personality structure. Neither will his effect on students be the same for all pupils. There is numerous “trait-treatment interaction“ research to prove this. In this light, the argument they are having in Baden-Württemberg is superfluous, because the quarrelling parties have no interest whatsoever in promoting the pedagogical practice, let alone pedagogical research.

Here is one last note on the teacher:
If you feel stressed out by children and if you are close to “burnout”, then you should ask yourself if your personality is suitable for “educating”. Children have the daily right to a “friendly, relaxed teacher” (Hefendehl-Hebecker), and they offer the teacher a new start every day.

So tell me where, in the world of grown-ups, you ever get this kind of opportunity!

wl
(Translated by EG)

Werner Lorbeer
Mittwoch, der 16. September 2015

OECD Messung widerlegt den Landrat

geometrie„96 Prozent der befragten Schüler haben danach einen Computer zu Hause, 72 Prozent gebrauchen diese Technik in der Schule. In Deutschland nutzen Schüler aus bessergestellten Schichten das Internet mehr zur Informationsbeschaffung als sozial benachteiligte Jugendliche. Dort dienen Computer, um Videos zu schauen, online zu spielen oder zu chatten.“

Nicht dass das unerwartet wäre. Aber es unterstreicht einige pädagogische Hypothesen und vernichtet einige andere. Das Bild zeigt Schülerinnen in einer bilingualen Situation beim Lösen einer Geometrieaufgabe. Das Ergebnis ist echter Kompetenzzuwachs in geistiger Konzentration, Problemlösen, empathischem Zuhören und hin und wieder Erprobung der Eigenschaften eines Geometrieobjekts oder einer Geometrieoperation. Geredet haben sie dabei nicht viel. Aber: Alles aus der Kategorie „Kommunikation“, wenn man an Kompetenz orientierte Formulierungen liebt.

Zu den pädagogischen Hypothesen:

  • – Die Investition in Computer in der Schule führt weder zu besserem Lernerfolg der Schüler noch zu mehr Lernerfolg. Das ist schade für den Landrat aus dem reicheren Landkreis, es ist widerlegt.
  • Der Umgang mit dem Computer und den Netzen für nicht zu zu den gewünschten Kompetenzen im wissenschaftlich-technischen Bereich. Das ist saurer Wein für alle, die das Leben in den sozialen Netzen als Unterrichtsziel verkaufen wollen, die das Rechieren in den pädagogischen Himmel heben und nicht das Verstehen des Gefundenen.
  • Der Bildungsabstand von gleich begabten Kindern ändert sich durch Computereinsatz, Softwareeinsatz, – nicht (wird tendenziell größer). Es ist vielmehr Fleiß und Frustrationstoleranz, die diese Chance setzen.

Es sollte das Ende der Technologie Illusion für das wirkliche erfahrungsbasierte Lernen genutzt werden, um mit den Kindern und Jugendlichen am gewünschten Gegenstand zu lernen wie z.B. Bienenzucht, Kochen, Gärtnern, Robotik …

Ich denke, das würde vielen Freude bereiten.

wl

Werner Lorbeer
Samstag, der 22. August 2015

Mythen über Unterricht

MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

Schule als variable Sozialform

Aktueller Streit in BW! Es geht politisch bewährt um die Schulform. Und natürlich auch immer um den Quotienten Lehrer/Schüler und die Inklusion.

Erschütternd aus meiner Sicht ist die mangelnde Kenntnis der Streitenden über die empirische Forschungsliteratur.

Es bleibt festzuhalten, dass Einzelunterricht oder das Unterrichten weniger eine Kunstform ist, die literarisch studierbar im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert völlig gescheitert ist.

Dass der gut untersuchte autonome Lerner zu starker Differenzierung im sachstrukturellen Entwicklungsstand führt ist ebenfalls bekannt. Dass die Gruppengröße im wesentlichen durch die Disziplin in der Lernergruppe beschränkt ist, dies aber den Erfolg keineswegs beschränkt, zeigen uns die PISA Studien aus.

Jauchs Shows sind kein Abbild der aktuellen Sozialformen in der Schule. Diese ist gekennzeichnet durch sehr variable Sozialformen, auch wenn das in den Bildungsredaktionen kaum bekannt ist. Das Bild zeigt eine Routinesituation aus dem Holbein-Gymnasium Augsburg, das Ende einer Projektunterrichtsphase.

Was aber nicht heißt, dass es immer so weiter gehen konnte. Vielmehr hatte diese Klasse auch das Recht auf eine systematische Darstellung der Physik; denn Wissen hat eine Struktur um die im Laufe von vielen Jahrzehnten hart gerungen worden ist. Je begabter das Kind, um so erfolgreicher wird es die Wissensstruktur auf weitere Probleme anwenden.

Wir wissen aus der empirischen Forschung übrigens auch, dass die spezifischen Lehrerbegabungen den Unterichtserfolg ganz entscheidend beeinflussen. „Erfolg“ ist in der pädagogischen Forschung immer multidimensional zu verstehen – soziale Wirkungen, akademische Wirkungen, Auswirkungen auf die Persönlichkeitsentwicklung des Kindes etc.

Nicht jeder Lehrer hat von seiner Persönlichkeitsstruktur her gleiche Chancen. Und seine Wirkungen werden auch nicht auf jeden Schüler gleich sein. Es gibt zahlreich „trait-treatment interaction“-Forschungen, die das belegen. So gesehen, ist der Baden-Württemberg-Streit überflüssig, weil in keiner Weise dem Erfahrungsschatz der pädagogischen Praxis oder gar der pädagogischen Forschung verpflichtet.

Eine letzte Bemerkung zum Lehrer:
Wer sich durch Kinder „gestresst“ fühlt und sich „dem burn out“ nähert, der muss prüfen, ob seine Persönlichkeit geeignet ist, „Erzieher“ zu sein. Kinder haben das tägliche Recht auf einen „freundlichen, entspannten Lehrer“ (Hefendehl-Hebecker) und sie bieten dem Lehrer an, jeden Tag neu zu starten.

Wo bitte, gibt es in der Erwachsenen-Welt solche Chancen?

wl