Roland Dürre
Saturday August 29th, 2015

“Why Don’t You Have A Euro-Flat-Rate?

A short time ago, a friend of mine who also spends his vacation here asked me this question. After all, he knows how much I travel in Germany and Europe. Well, the question astounded me – and I was wondering why, indeed, do I not have one? As it is, I always have to beg for WLAN passwords. Wouldn’t it be convenient if I could always have access to the internet, no matter where I am and independent from the WLAN drama in Germany and some other countries?

As always, I needed a few days to think about it. And each day, it became clearer to me why, indeed, I do not wish to have this kind of flat-rate. And that, in my opinion, this is the wrong approach. Which is also why I will continue to always look for the nearest hotspot on my travels.

First and foremost, I simply find it too complicated. After all, during my travels, I also use several devices for access to the internet. Besides my Android-Smart-Phone, there are two tablets: a big one if I carry a lot of luggage and a small one, for example for bike tours. Sometimes I travel with the MacBook Air – in order to be able to work efficiently – and sometimes with the Chromebook. Or, as now in our tent, I have both of them with me.

And I definitely do not feel like equipping all my devices to make them become mobile radio compatible. And to me, “tethering” also looks like a less than optimal solution. The rechargeable battery of the mobile telephone will be empty in no time. Some way or other, that is also too complicated. After all, all my devices have the WLAN function as a matter of course.

And when all is said and done, the world-wide transmitter towers erected by the telecom companies, too, are not really sufficient. Which means that I would not really gain very much. But deep down, my refusal of private flat-rates has philosophical reasons. Basically, I do not wish access to the internet at all times and in all places. For me, it is totally sufficient if I get the chance to access the network once in a while on my travels. For instance in the evening at the hotel or on the campground.

And there are certainly more than enough WLAN networks wherever I stay. Unfortunately, however, and for totally irrational reasons, they are often nailed shut with passwords. I find it a fair and uncomplicated procedure to share WLAN hot-spots for high-power networks.

Perhaps a good metaphor for using private flat-rates world-wide is individual and private mobility. That is also an area where they thought they could do without making the transport of materials and humans a common duty as long as everybody has his or her private means of transportation. Then we got the many small and big vehicles with the combustion motors that alone make you independent. Which is what caused the traffic mania of private mobility with all the consequences we see every day.

Consequently, I find fixed networks with open WLAN subsystems “on the last mile” better suited for my vision of a “Common Land World” than private and competing telecom companies.

There is a constantly growing awareness inside me of how many resources belong to all of us, that is: humans as an entity. And that we should not and must not use and destroy those resources as we wish and in private for unimportant things. Because soil, nature and water are too precious for our survival and the survival of the next generations.

One of the commodities I would also count among the Common Land is, for example, the absence of noise. There is no doubt that the thoughtless, accidental or also voluntary generation of noise destroys your quality of life. And that is why I only generate noise when this is absolutely necessary and avoid it wherever I can.

Free communication is a basic need of the modern world. We need it for our future. Would it not be nice if the access to all information of this world and the network connecting us all also were some kind of Common Land? A civil right for all humans. Like the air, which transports WLAN. Without any private special treatment?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

In my little series of articles on barcamp and PM Camp (#pmcamp), I described some models for three kinds of sessions in the last instalmnt. Today’s article is about twittering and some behavioural rules directly related to it!

Can you twitter during a barcamp in general and during sessions in particular?

During a PM Camp, you not only can, but actually should (must) twitter. In fact, twittering is a very important part of the Camp. Incidentally, you are also permitted to play on your mobile phone in the middle of a session and to leave the room in order to attend another session.

As a general rule, you have a minimum of one “Twitterwall” at a PM Camp. On it, all tweets written in twitter and marked with the tag of the event will run there in real-time (for example #pmcamp13ber for the next PM Camp in Berlin). Thus, you get a central theme which actually can be taken as first documentation and comments on the entire event. You will know what happens on the PM Camp, how other persons feel and what their experiences and thoughts are.

Naturally, all participants can also take a look at the twitterwall on their individual devices. And they will often see that many persons who are not physically present will actually take part in “real-time” in this way. For instance when I first went to the Dornbirn PM Camp in November 2011, I could not come before noon of the first day. Sitting in the train on my way out, I read the barcamp tweets (#pmcamp) and was absolutely enthusiastic – I was literally driven towards getting to Dornbirn as fast as possible.

Through your own tweets, you also can and should make your own evaluation known to others as soon as possible. In this way, becoming part of the whole is even better guaranteed and you can again inform others. Taken together, all tweets are a nice retrospective report of the event. Later, you will enjoy looking at them and mentally reviving the camp.

Incidentally, there is no “official” documentation of a PM Camp, such as proceedings or the like. This is absolutely intentional! Because the documentation, too, is voluntary. It is organized and determined quasi automatically by the participants. This works quite well and thus you get a thorough multi-media documentation which, above all, is also correctly weighted. It contains text, images and videos and covers everything important, on top of being available centrally on openPM and inter-linked.

Of course, in twitter and on barcamps in general, the same rules should apply as in normal life:

You cannot make others small or hurt them. Personal attacks must be avoided, even if there are times when you are very disappointed. And if it happens that you really did something inexcusable, you have to apologize.

When all is said and done, it is particularly true for the internet and open communities that all you do will reflect upon yourself.

So, please, do also accept weaknesses – and if there is something that annoys you very much, you will just have to leave.

The only thing you cannot tolerate on a PM Camp is intolerance. But intolerance, in particular, is something you should address personally, rather than talk about behind people’s backs.

In this article, I only referred to twittering. Of course, you may also write in facebook or in Google+ during the Camp. You might even wish to create a community there – ideally after coordinating it with the other parties concerned. Twittering is very open and my personal favourite medium, because it is very short and thus will not distract you for too long. And after deducting the day, you have 100 characters left with which you can formulate quite much and with quite a high precision.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Sunday March 24th, 2013

“I like” & Facebook or “WiTuN”

I like Facebook, Google+, Twitter and many more …

I constantly hear sentences like…

“… all those Facebook and twitter affairs are evil … personally, I absolutely boycott social media … virtual friendships are rubbish, because you have to see each other face-to-face, anyway… and worst of all is, after all, this stupid: I like!”

… from persons who are otherwise basically to be taken quite seriously. I mean people who climb into their cars and drive off at high speed or go back to watching TV – which means they actually use technology that used to be quite modern and relevant.

I prefer to keep quiet on hearing their comments. After all, I know that any and all of my attempts at explaining things (social media) to them is totally useless. There is nothing you can ever do about dogmatic know-all manners, especially if those know-alls do not even know what they are talking about and consequently cannot understand it. This is actually true in general.

In the last ifcamp (barcamp at InterFace) on our BlueFriday (of March, 22nd, 2013), I introduced one “knowledge management” session. It was about how we can set knowledge free and then share it. In order to then evaluate it together and identify what is relevant. With the goal of finding the right and probably better decisions for the future from the “crowd”.

In the course of our discussion, the Facebook phrase “I like” also came up. And we concluded that this is probably a first and extremely simple tool for social feedback. You can use it if you want to show people that you like something. Or that you appreciate them. Or that you simply are sympathetic. …

During the session, we came to the mutual conclusion that there is a need for a refined and neutral “feedback technology” for applications intent on using the crowd and the good social web. For these systems, this would be an absolute necessity. Without this technology, these kinds of projects cannot succeed.

We spontaneously found ways to improve on “I like”. Here are some examples.

  • Give a limited number of “I like”-s to each participant;
  • Assign a certain amount of them each month;
  • The participants get dynamically more “feedback units” as the social relevance increases, perhaps similar to klout;
  • Or maybe there could be something like a “Page-Rank” for members of a social system;
  • It might also be a good idea to introduce “feedback units” with different weightiness…

In a nutshell: I believe the “feedback technology” is a very important and central component of all kinds of crowd and social web applications. But this is not at all a trivial topic; it is well worth dealing with in great detail. I am sure there is also a considerable number of scientific works with good ideas which one might be well advised to take a closer look at.

Here is an example from another field that surprised me:
I like writing in stenography. So I had this idea that the technology of “writing quickly and ergonomically (instead of tense) by hand” – which has been developed and perfected over hundreds of years – could be used for text processing on tablets or with gesture-controlled systems. And then there was a friend of mine who works among the Academia who found it a wonderful bachelor theses topic, so it was very thoroughly analysed.

So – let us get under way;
Let Us Share Knowledge – and Use It!
(LUSKUI)

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Note:
This article does not suggest that I find everything Facebook or Twitter does agreeable. If, for instance, I will notice certain tendencies towards tampering with “social metrics” at Facebook, you will have seen the last of me there sooner than you might have imagined.    
But such a turn of events at FB will not change my opinion that social networks and shared knowledge applications mean social progress. In fact, it would be one more reason to rekindle the old philosophical and ethical discussion: how can we get to a stage where the production of articles and services will be done decently? After all is said and done, this will again end up in a discussion about privatization or the social responsibility of those who own all the production goods.

Roland Dürre
Sunday March 17th, 2013

Emily Post of the 21st Century

Today: communication, mail and messages!

I take calls from everybody at all times. Most of my friends, however, know that you should only call others if you have something really, really important to tell them.  Consequently, I have to answer the telephone relatively infrequently. But there are some exceptions . Some people call me more often than strictly necessary. And since those people are very nice people, I forgive them.

But seriously: if it were up to me, I would write quite a few new things on communication in “Etiquette in Society, Business and at Home – 2013”.

For instance, when it comes to the letter C as in “communication”, I would write the following commandments:

  • Never call anybody unnecessarily!
  • Only use the telephone function of your small, mobile computer when you are in a totally hopeless situation!
  • In particular, avoid calling while travelling – no matter if you are walking, riding a bike, driving a car or going by train!
  • Only call someone if you have arranged to call beforehand!
  • If you cannot avoid calling someone, find out if maybe communicating via Hangout or perhaps Skype is a better alternative!
  • And, please, prepare in advance what you want to talk about. Arrange your ideas and have all documents you may need for reference handy before you start dialling!
  • And, please, do not be too talkative and long-winded!

Under the letter M like in “Mail” I would formulate as follows:

  • Only send an email if there is no better alternative!
  • How about re-reading about TOFU!
  • If you have to send an email, avoid long footers!
  • Avoid at all costs attachments with some strange legally necessary and yet totally useless phrases!
  • Wherever possible, send your email only to one recipient!
  • If at all, use “cc” only as in the way of sending a  “copy to”!
  • Never send “bcc”, because it is forbidden!
  • Well – and if we are talking one of those ping pong emails: why don’t you just delete all the rubbish and all those footers!

More on the letter M like in “Messages” :

  • Wherever possible, avoid SMS!
  • If you have to send short messages to people, use the medium preferred by your partner. You might use “What’s App”, FB Messenger, Twitter DM or some such!
  • Do not write short messages unnecessarily long!

And here another letter M like in “Miscellaneous” where I would give you basic advice as follows:

  • Never think in terms of distribution, but always in terms of communities!
  • In communication, too, transparency and openness are the central values!
  • Whenever you write about persons, keep in mind that the person concerned might read it!

I am sure you could find more on the subject. And if necessary, I am quite willing to justify every one of the aforementioned points. And in the future, I will also try to adhere to my own rules a little better.

RMD

(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Friday January 4th, 2013

Dangers and Horrors of the New World.

I used to enjoy using the yahoo group functions.  Now I am an enthusiastic google user. The google+ tools, such as Drive, Hangout and many more – supplemented by more tools for various purposes – are so diverse that they constitute an ingenious system for shared working, so-called co-working. Even if we are talking distributed locations.

On top of this, I love facebook. Many of the dialogues I have with persons I feel quite close to happen exclusively through facebook. Relationships with beloved friends, even on other continents, are easy to nourish in this way. I also use twitter quite intensely, not just for big events like #pmcamp.

My cell-phone communication is preferably done through WhatsApp or FB Messenger. Without these great tools, I would probably really get something like “communication stress“. But as it is, things are easy – regardless of the fact that I feel connected with and communicate with a whole lot of people.

But here comes the worst news: my favourite way of paying is through Paypal!

Many of my contemporaries are outraged on hearing all these things. They think I am really very careless. Even persons with a lot of civil courage give serious warnings. After all, I am making very personal data available to such anonymous powers as google. FaceBook is spying on me for advertising purposes. WhatsApp will steal my telephone number and then abuse it. And using Paypal is an absolute NOGO. It constitutes a truly immense risk. Not just for my data, but also for my money (are banks less of a risk for my money?).

And then I think:

What exactly are you all afraid of? Once upon a time, there was an innovation – it was called automobile or car. And we all jumped the bandwagon. Mind you, it was really dangerous! There were years when the fatal accidents in West Germany alone were 20,000! In those days, I drove a car. And I remember quite a few times when I almost died in it.

Was that not very careless? If you take the number of fatal accidents in Europe, or even world-wide, you will discover that this technology caused millions of deaths. And probably more than a billion wounded or otherwise massively injured persons. Not to mention the destruction of nature and habitats and the reduction of quality life.

Consequently, here is my answer for all those who are worried: you are afraid of FaceBook, Google, Paypal, Twitter and WhatsApp! But you still drive cars? Given your worries, you should never have started driving a car and you should also never have filled up on gasoline at the evil concerns, such as BP, Esso or Shell.

Because this innovation caused massive damage both for humans and their money! And it still continues doing so. Your excuse is that there is no alternative to driving a car. Which is not true. Ever since I decided to no longer drive a car, I am feeling a lot better.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 29. August 2015

„Warum hast Du eigentlich keine Euro-Flat-Rate?“

Diese Frage wurde mir vor kurzem von einem Freund hier im Urlaub gestellt. Weil er weiß, dass ich doch ganz schön in Deutschland und Europa unterwegs bin. Sie hat mich selbst verblüfft – und ich dachte mir: Ja, warum habe ich eigentlich keine? Und muss immer um WLAN-Passworte betteln? Wäre doch praktisch, immer und von überall im Netz sein zu können, unabhängig vom WLAN-Drama in Deutschland und manch anderen Ländern.

Wie immer habe ich dann ein paar Tage zum Nachdenken gebraucht. Und jeden Tag wurde mir immer mehr klar, warum ich keine Flate-Rate dieser Art haben will. Und dass ich das auch für den falschen Weg halte. Und deswegen mich weiter auf meinen Reisen immer auf die Suche nach dem nächsten Hotspot begeben werde.

Zum ersten finde ich es einfach zu kompliziert. Nutze ich doch auch auf meinen Reisen mehrere Geräte, um ins Internet zu gehen. Neben meinem Android-Smart-Phone noch zwei Tablets, ein großes wenn ich mit viel Gepäck verreise und ein kleines zum Beispiel für die Radtouren. Mal bin ich mit dem MacBook Air unterwegs – um auch lokal effizient arbeiten zu können und mal mit dem Chromebook. Oder wie zurzeit beim Zelten mit beiden.

Und ich habe keine Lust, alle meine Geräte mobilfunk-fähig auszustatten. Und „tethering“ ist für mich als Lösung auch eher unteroptimal. Der Akku vom Mobilen Telefon geht dann so schnell leer. Auch irgendwie zu kompliziert. Haben doch alle meine Geräte eh die WLAN-Funktion.

Und letzten Endes ist die Abdeckung der Welt mit den Sendemasten der Telekoms auch nicht ausreichend. So viel würde das also gar nicht bringen. Aber tiefer gedacht bin ich aus „philosophischen Gründen“ gegen private Flat-Rates. Ich will ja gar nicht immer und überall ins Netz. Mir reicht es völlig, wenn ich auf meinen Reisen eine Chance habe, regelmäßig ins Netz zu kommen. Zum Beispiel Abend im Hotel oder auf dem Zeltplatz.

Und WLAN-Netze gibt es ja überall wo ich bin mehr als genug. Leider sind diese nur zu oft aus völlig irrationalen Gründen mit Passwörter zugenagelt. An Hochleistungs-Netzwerke angebundenen WLAN-Hotspots sich zu teilen, das finde ich den fairen und kostengünstigen Weg.

Vielleicht passt für das Nutzen von privaten weltweiten Flat-Rates die Metapher der individuellen und privaten Mobilität. Da hat man auch gedacht, man kann auf den Transport von Gütern und Menschen als gesellschaftliche Aufgabe verzichten, wenn denn nur jeder sein privates Transportmittel hat. Und haben dann die vielen kleinen und großen Fahrzeugen mit den erst unabhängig machenden Verbrennungsmotoren bekommen. Das hat dann zum Verkehrs-Irrsinn der privaten Mobilität mit den bekannten Folgen geführt.

So finde ich feste Netze mit offenen WLAN-Subsystemen „auf der letzten Meile“ zu meiner Vision einer „Allmende-Welt“ besser passend als privatisierte und konkurrierende Telekoms.

Mir wird immer mehr bewusst, wie viele Ressourcen uns allen, sprich der menschlichen Gemeinschaft, gehören. Und dass man die einfach nicht so nach Gutdünken und ganz privat für Unwichtiges verbrauchen und vernichten sollte und darf. Weil Boden, Luft, Natur und Wasser zu wertvoll für unser Überleben und das der nachfolgenden Generationen ist.

Zu den Allmende-Gütern zählt für mich auch zum Beispiel die Ruhe. Zweifelsfrei vernichtet das leichtfertige, fahrlässige oder auch mutwillige Generieren von Lärm Lebensqualität. Und deshalb erzeuge ich Lärm nur wenn möglich und vermeide ihn nach Möglichkeit.

Freie Kommunikation ist ein Grundbedürfnis der neuen Welt. Wir brauchen sie für die Zukunft. Wäre es nicht schön, wenn der Zugang zu den Informationen dieser Welt und die Vernetzung von uns untereinander auch so eine Art Allmende-Gut wären? Ein Grundrecht, das für alle Menschen da ist. Wie die Luft, die WLAN transportiert. Ohne private Extrawürste?

RMD

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 24. August 2013

barcamps und PM-Camp (4) – Twittern gehört dazu.

In meiner kleinen Reihe von Artikeln zu barcamp und PM-Camp (#pmcamp) habe ich in der letzten Folge modellhaft drei Arten von Sitzungen herausgearbeitet. Heute geht es ums Twittern und um ein paar Verhaltensregeln, die damit in unmittelbarem Zusammenhang stehen!

Darf man auf barcamps allgemein und aus den Sessions heraus twittern?

Bei einem PM-Camp darf man nicht nur sondern soll (muss) man Twittern. Twittern ist da ganz wichtig. Nebenher auf seinem Mobil-Telefon zu spielen ist sowieso genauso erlaubt wie den Raum zu verlassen und in eine andere Sitzung zu gehen.

 In der Regel gibt es auf einem PM-Camp mindestens eine „Twitterwall“. Da laufen dann in Echtzeit alle Tweets durch, die in Twitter geschrieben und mit dem „Tag“ der Veranstaltung gekennzeichnet worden sind (z.B. #pmcamp13ber für das nächste PM-Camp in Berlin). So entsteht ein roter Faden, der schon eine erste Dokumentation und Kommentierung der Veranstaltung ergibt. Man merkt, was auf dem PM-Camp aktuell passiert, was andere Menschen erleben oder fühlen und wie sie denken.

Natürlich kann jeder Teilnehmer auch auf seinem Device die Twitterwall anschauen. Und wird dann oft erleben, dass viele Menschen, die örtlich nicht anwesend sind, so auch in „real time“ teilnehmen. So konnte ich zum ersten PM-Camp in Dornbirn im November 2011 erst am Mittag des ersten Tages teilnehmen. Und wie ich im Zug auf der Hinfahrt die Tweets vom pmcamp gelesen habe (#pmcamp), da war ich schon ganz begeistert und es hat mich förmlich nur so nach Dornbirn gezogen.

Durch eigene Tweets kann und soll man auch seine eigene Bewertung immer zeitnah anderen Teilnehmern zugänglich machen. So wird man noch mehr Teil des Ganzen und kann selber andere informieren. Alle Tweets in Summe stellen eine schöne Retroperspektive der Veranstaltung dar, die man sich ganz gerne auch später mal anschaut und dabei das Camp wieder lebendig werden lässt.

Eine „offizielle“ Dokumentation bei einem PM-Camp in Form eines Tagungsbandes oder ähnlichem gibt es übrigens nicht. Dies mit voller Absicht! Denn auch die Dokumentation ist freiwillig. Sie wird quasi automatisch von den Teilnehmern selbst organisiert und bestimmt. Das funktioniert in der Tat und so entsteht extrem zeitnah eine gründliche und vor allem richtig gewichtete bunte und multimediale Dokumentation, bestehend aus Textbeiträgen, Bildern und Videos, die alles Wichtige erfasst und auf openPM zentral verfügbar oder verlinkt ist.

Natürlich sollten bei Twitter und allgemein auf barcamps dieselben Regeln gelten wie auch im normalen Leben:

Niemand darf klein gemacht oder gar verletzt werden. Persönlich Angriffen sind zu vermeiden, auch dann wenn man mal schlimm enttäuscht ist. Und wenn man mal daneben langt, dann entschuldigt man sich.

Letzten Endes fällt gerade im Internet und in offenen Communities doch alles wieder auf einen selber zurück.

Also, auch mit Schwächen Nachsicht haben – und wenn man etwas gar nicht mag, dann einfach gehen.

Das einzige, was man auch auf einem PM-Camp nicht tolerieren darf, ist Intoleranz. Aber gerade gegen Intoleranz sollte man immer direkt und persönlich angehen und sie nicht hinten rum anprangern.

Ich habe in diesem Artikel zwar nur von „Twittern“ gesprochen. Natürlich darf man das Camp auch in Facebook oder in Google+ begleiten. Oder dort – möglichst abgestimmt – eine „Communitiy“ anlegen. Twitter ist allgemein und mein bevorzugtes Medium, weil es den Vorteil der Kürze und so am wenigsten ablenkt. Und man kann in den nach Abzug des Tags verbleibenden gut 100 Zeichen erstaunlich viel und sehr präzise formulieren.

RMD

 

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 24. März 2013

„I like“ & Facebook oder „WiTuN“

I like Facebook, Google+, Twitter und manches mehr …

Immer wieder höre ich Sätze wie

„… das ganze Zeug wie Facebook und Twitter wäre schlimm … Persönlich würde man das social media ja absolut boykottieren … Virtuelle Freundschaft wäre doch Quatsch, denn man müsse sich doch auch noch persönlich sehen … Und das allerschlimmste wäre doch dieses I like!“

von ansonsten durchaus ernst zu nehmenden Menschen. Die dann in ihr Auto steigen und davon brausen oder sich wieder hinter den Fernseher zurück ziehen, also durchaus Technik nutzen, die mal modern und relevant war.

Zu ihren Aussagen sage ich dann besser nichts mehr. Weiß ich doch, dass jeder Versuch die Dinge (social media) ein wenig zu erklären, völlig sinnlos ist. Gegen dogmatische Besserwisserei kann man nichts ausrichten, besonders wenn die Besserwisser das Subjekt ihrer Besserwisserei gar nicht kennen und so nicht verstanden haben können. Das gilt ganz allgemein.

Im ifcamp (barcamp der InterFace) am letzten BlueFriday (22. März 2013) habe ich eine Session „Wissensmanagement“ gemacht. Es ging darum, wie wir Wissen frei machen und teilen können. Um es dann gemeinsam zu bewerten und das Relevante zu identifizieren. Mit dem Ziel in und aus der „crowd“ die richtigen oder vielleicht besseren Entscheidungen für die Zukunft zu finden.

Da kam das Gespräch auch auf das „I like“ von Facebook. Und wir waren der Meinung, dass dies wohl ein erstes und allereinfachstes Werkzeug für soziale Rückmeldung ist. Um Menschen zu zeigen, dass man etwas gut findet. Oder sie wertschätzt. Oder um einfach nur Sympathie zu zeigen  …

In der Session entstand die gemeinsame Bewertung, dass es für Anwendungen, die die „crowd“ nutzen wollen“ und „gute“ social web-Lösungen eine ausgefeilte und neutrale „Rückmeldungstechnologie“ braucht. Für solche Systeme ist das eine zwingend notwendige Funktionalität. Ohne eine solche Technologie werden solche Projekte nicht gelingen.

Spontan sind dann auch gleich Verbesserungsvorschläge für „I like“ entstanden. Hier ein paar Beispiele.

  • Man gebe jedem Teilnehmer nur eine begrenzte Menge von zu vergebenden „I like“.
  • Man könnte jeden Monat wieder eine gewisse Anzahl verteilen.
  • Die Mitspieler bekommen dynamisch mehr oder weniger „Rückmeldeeinheiten“ entsprechend ihrer sozialen Relevanz, vielleicht wie bei Klout.
  • Oder es gibt so etwas wie einen „Page-Rank“ für die Mitglieder eines sozialen Systems.
  • Man könnte auch die „Rückmeldeeinheiten“ verschiedenen Gewichts einführen …

Kurzum, ich glaube, dass die „Rückmeldungstechnologie“ eine ganz wichtige und zentrale Komponente für crowd- und social web-Anwendungen verschiedenster Art ist. Allerdings ist das alles andere als ein triviales Thema; es lohn sich, sich damit zu beschäftigen. Mit Sicherheit gibt es eine Reihe auch von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten, die hier gute Ideen beinhalten und die wir uns dringend mal anschauen sollten.

Dazu ein Beispiel aus einem anderen Segment, das mich verblüfft hat.
Ich schreibe gerne Stenografie. Mir kam der Gedanke, dass man diese über Hunderte von Jahren ausgereifte Technologie des „schnellen und ergonomischen (nicht verkrampfenden) Schreibens mit der Hand“ für die Texteingabe bei Tablets oder durch Gesten gesteuerte Systeme nutzen könnte. Und siehe da, ein Freund aus der Academica hat dann ganz schnell eine wunderbare Bachelorarbeit gefunden, die dieses Thema sehr gut analysiert hat.

Also – tun wirs;
Wissen Teilen – und Nutzen!
(WiTuN)

RMD

Anmerkung:
Dieser Artikel soll keinesfalls suggerieren, dass ich mit dem, was Facebook oder Twitter alles so treiben, einverstanden bin. Wenn ich z.B. bei Facebook gewisse Tendenzen des Eingriffs in die „sozialen Metriken“ beobachte, kann es gut sein, dass ich da schneller weg bin als mancher denkt.
Ein Umkippen von FB ändert aber nichts an meiner Annahme, dass soziale Netzwerke und gemeinsame Wissensanwendungen einen gesellschaftlichen Fortschritt bedeuten. Wäre nur wieder ein Anlass mehr, die alte philosophische und ethische Diskussion aufleben zu lassen: Wie kann man es erreichen, dass die Produktion von Gütern und Dienstleistungen auf anständige Art erfolgt. Was letzten Endes zu einer Diskussion führt über Privatisierung bzw. die soziale Verantwortung von Inhabern der Produktionsgüter.

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 17. März 2013

Knigge im 21. Jahrhundert

Heute zum Thema Kommunikation, Mail und Message!

Mich dürfen alle Menschen immer anrufen. Die meisten meiner Freunde aber wissen, dass man andere Menschen nur dann anrufen sollte, wenn es etwas ganz, ganz Wichtiges ist. Deswegen werde ich relativ selten angerufen. Es gibt aber auch ein paar Ausnahmen 🙂 Die rufen mich öfters an. Und da das ganz liebe Menschen sind, verzeihe ich Ihnen.

Aber im Ernst: In den Knigge 2013 würde ich zur Kommunikation manches Neue rein schreiben.

Beim Buchstaben K unter „Kommunikation“ zum Beispiel folgende Gebote:

  1. Rufe keinen Menschen ohne Not an!
  2. Die Telefonfunktion Deines kleinen mobilen Computer verwende nur, wenn Du in einer ausweglosen Situation bist!
  3. Besonders vermeide den leichtfertigen Anruf von unterwegs, gleich ob Du zu Fuß, auf dem Fahrrad, im Auto oder im Zug unterwegs bist!
  4. Telefoniere nur dann, wenn das Gespräch vorher vereinbart ist!
  5. Wenn Du schon telefonieren musst, dann prüfe ob nicht die Kommunikation über ein Hangout oder notfalls Skype die bessere Alternative ist!
  6. Und bereite Dich auf das Gespräch gebührend vor. Fass Deine Gedanken und bereite alle Unterlagen, die Du brauchst rechtzeitig vorher vor.
  7. Und sei dann nicht zu geschwätzig und langatmig!

Bei M unter „Mail“ würde ich folgendes formulieren:

  1. Schreibe eine E-Mails nur dann, wenn Du keine bessere Alternative hast!
  2. Lies mal nach, was TOFU war!
  3. Wenn Du eine Mail schreiben musst, dann verzichte auf einen langen Footer!
  4. Vermeide unbedingt Anhänge mit irgendwelchen vermeintlich juristisch notwendigen und doch so sinnlosen Floskeln!
  5. Sende die E-Mail wenn möglich immer nur an einen Teilnehmer!
  6. Verwende „cc“ wenn überhaupt nur im Sinne der alten Technik „Kopie an“!
  7. Das „bcc“ ist eh verboten!
  8. Ja – und wenn das so eine Ping-Pong-E-Mail ist, dann kürze sie doch mal um den ganzen Quatsch und die vielen Footer!

Bei M unter „Messages“ würde ich formulieren:

  1. Verzichte wenn es geht auf SMS!
  2. Wenn Du unbedingt Leute mit Kurznachrichten versorgen musst, dann verwende das vom Partner bevorzugte Medium. Das könnte „What’s App“, FB Messenger, Twitter DM oder ähnliches sein!
  3. Mach die Kurznachrichten nicht unnütz lang!

Und unter A wie „Allgemeines“ würde ich als Grundregel festlegen

  1. Denke nie in Verteilern sondern immer in Communities!
  2. Transparenz und Offenheit sind die zentralen Werte auch der Kommunikation!
  3. Wenn Du über Menschen schreibst, dann immer so, als ob der Betroffene dies lesen würde!

Da könnte man sicher noch mehr dazu schreiben. Und bei Bedarf bin ich gerne bereit, jeden einzeln dieser Punkte zu begründen. Und werde auch versuchen, mich in Zukunft auch persönlich noch besser an diese meine Regeln zu halten.

RMD

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 4. Januar 2013

Gefahren und Schrecken der neuen Welt.

Früher habe ich die Gruppenfunktionen von Yahoo gerne genutzt. Heute bin ich ein begeisterter Google-Nutzer. Die Vielfalt der Werkzeuge von Google+ wie Drive, Hangout und manches mehr ergänzt durch weitere Tools für verschiedene Zwecke bilden ein geniales System für gemeinsames Arbeitens, das sogenannte coworking, auch über große räumliche Distanzen hinweg.

Auch liebe ich Facebook. Viele Dialoge mit mir nahestehenden Menschen führe ich fast ausschließlich über Facebook. Beziehungen zu lieben Freunden auch in anderen Erdteilen leben so sehr einfach weiter. Auch Twitter nutze ich intensiv, nicht nur zu Großereignissen wie #pmcamp.

Meine Kommunikation übers Handy realisiere ich am liebsten mit WhatsApp oder FB Messenger. Ohne diese tollen Hilfsmittel würde ich wahrscheinlich wirklich in „Kommunikationsstress“ kommen. Aber so geht das ganz locker vom Hocker – obwohl ich mich mit sehr vielen Menschen verbunden fühle und kommuniziere.

Aber jetzt kommt das Schlimmste – meinen Zahlungsverkehr realisiere ich am liebsten mit Paypal!

Viele meiner Zeitgenossen sind ob dies allem entsetzt. Ich wäre doch arg leichtsinnig, meinen sie. Menschen mit Zivilcourage warnen mich ernsthaft. Meine ganzen persönlichen Daten würde ich anonymen Kräfte wie Google anvertrauen. FaceBook würde mich für Werbezwecke ausspionieren. WhatsApp alle meine Telefonnummer stehlen und missbrauchen. Und ein absolutes NOGO wäre die Nutzung von Paypal. Das wäre doch ein ganz großes Risiko. Nicht nur für meine Daten, auch für mein Vermögen (Als ob die Banken ein geringeres Risiko für mein Vermögen wären).

Und ich denke mir dann:

Wovor habt Ihr eigentlich Angst? Es gab da mal eine Innovation, die nannte man Automobil oder Kraftfahrzeug. Und da sind wir auch alle aufgesprungen. Dabei war das wirklich gefährlich. Es gab Jahre, da hatten wir nur in der BRD 20.000 Verkehrstote! Damals bin ich Auto gefahren. Und wäre ein paar mal beinahe umgekommen.

War das nicht sehr leichtsinnig? Wenn man die Zahl auf Europa oder gar auf die Welt hochrechnet, hat diese Technologie Millionen von Menschen auf dem Gewissen. Und wahrscheinlich mehr als eine Milliarde Verletzte und sonst irgendwie massiv Geschädigte verursacht. Von der Zerstörung von Natur und Lebensraum und der Reduktion der Lebensqualität gar nicht zu sprechen.

Und so entgegne ich meinen besorgten Mitmenschen: Ihr habt Angst vor FaceBook, Google, Paypal, Twitter und WhatsApp! Aber Autofahren tut Ihr noch? Mit Euren Sorgen hättet Ihr nie Autofahren und bei den bösen Konzernen wie BP, Esso oder Shell auch nicht tanken dürfen.

Denn diese Innovation hat absehbar massiven Schaden an Menschen- und Vermögen bewirkt. Und tut dies immer noch. Eure Ausrede ist dann, dass das Auto alternativlos wäre. Ist es aber nicht. Seitdem ich nicht mehr Auto fahre, geht es mir sogar besser.

RMD