Or: Entrepreneur’s Diary #118 – Be Happy!

It is now almost 18 months since I am no longer working as managing director at InterFace AG. Just like, about 18 years ago, I decided to no longer work as a programmer.

I have now been a free agent for 1.5 years.

And I managed – which is quite sensational if you know me – to look forward to every morning and every evening since then. In the morning, I get up and delight in the fact that my body and even my brains still function properly. I look at my hands and feet. They are still there, just like my eyes, ears, nose and much more.

As I perceive it, the organs function and my heart is still beating. Isn’t that just great? And as an additional bonus, I am financially independent and can more than afford to live well. As most of us who are so privileged in this world.

In this article, I will tell you how I managed to become a happier person. I will write about the secrets I discovered and the rules I found. And about the projects that bring me joy.

My Secrets

izzo5Geheimnisse.Five of them can be found in the book by John Izzo:

“The five secrets you should discover before you die”

These five are an important part of all my secrets. I recommend that everybody read the book even if it is a little “American”. If you want a short version, maybe you want to read my IF Blog article (IF-Blog-Artikel) on the book. It says all you need to know, just in a more concise way.

Ask-an-Answer_1m-185x300Another secret lies in finding the right friends, partners and mentors. This is how, for example, Jolly Kunjappu, became part of my life a few years ago.

Today, he accompanies me as a friend and teacher (which, incidentally, he does not want to be). He is my partner in the project PEACE. The heading of this article is by him. He is only one among many who give me a lot. I am happy that many young persons are among them.

This is where I wish to thank you all!

My Rules.

  • Plan something nice every month.
    Currently, I plan to do something especially nice on 10 special days of the month. For instance, in May, we rode our bikes through Italy and combined this tour with an exciting congress. In June, there will be ten days of island hopping, taking only our backpacks, on the Cyclades (Kykladen). It continues in this vein and I will always have something beautiful to look forward to.
  • Only meet persons you actually like!
    How many miserable hours have I had to spend in the company of persons I never understood? And neither did they understand me. Both sides hoped it might work. But it did not. And what remained was frustration.
  • About Meetings:
    How often have I sat in useless meetings? That is why, for me, the following rules are particularly important:

    • Peer-to-Peer is more important than big meetings.
      I once read that “truth always begins with two”. That is a nice metaphor and it clearly indicates how difficult it is to have a meeting with more than two persons. Peer-to-peer communication is the golden way. If there is a meeting with more than two persons, I either do not participate or only as the “host” or moderator.
    • No meeting must be longer than 90 minutes!
      Basically, you never need more than 60 minutes or even less. If meetings take longer than that, there is the chance that you will verbally destroy what you have achieved. Besides, you will often turn in circles and the result (the agreement) is determined by where you are at the end. What horror!
If a meeting, especially one with more than two persons, has to take place, I feel quite justified if I remain standing during said meeting.
  • On Appointments:
    Do not make appointments in the far-away future, except if it cannot be avoided!  
(for example for a supervisory board meeting) 
Because: appointments will rob you of your freedom. They will become your corset, paralyse you and make it hard for you to act. 
Example: Why should I decide upon a date three months from today at the end of a discussion with my mentee? Would it not be a better way to meet again when my mentee needs me? And then it would be nice if I could see him on short notice. As a free agent, I can always make time for him. If we are locally distributed, it can happen through an “image telephone“.
  • Act Homeopathic!
    What I mean with this is: “never force yourself on somebody!”. “Never try to control things” or “Never think in advance for others and control or manipulate them”. Let things happen, then the right things will happen. 
Example: For me, it is an absolute taboo to actively manipulate others. Anybody can and is welcome to turn up whenever it makes sense to them. And if they do not come, then this only means that they do not need me. And this is also a good thing. All I want is help him or her towards becoming a little happier and more successful.
  • Nurture your Network!
    You are a social being. You need the exchange with other persons. That is the most important of all things because progress will never happen in an isolated surrounding.
  • It is Fun to Learn!
    Currently, I learn extremely much in practice. This year, the number of business plans I either was made aware of by way of mouth or in the written form and then evaluated is perhaps in the high two-digit range. It happens because I am part of the jury in a business plan contest. I have now done this for a few years. Ir is also something I enjoy and it makes me happy.

My Projects.

Your goals should be ambitious and you should be prepared to really work hard towards achieving them. However, you should also tolerate your own mistakes if things do not work well. My two major projects, besides my own life and my family are currently “AktMobCmp“ and PEACE. The former is about “active motility in everyday life” as part of mobility in the future. And then there is the project PEACE that will become more and more the focus of my attention. And I also try to keep good ideas, such as PM-Camp, from going astray.

My Assumption:

I am sure that, even when I was still the managing director, I could have lived as I now do live. And I might have been more successful and happier. But I lacked the courage. Now I know that it can be done. You just have to try!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Or, in Jolly’s words:
» Be different be yourself (unique)«
and
» Do not be a slave of the system, be a master of your own life «
Jolly Kunjappu
(aus ASK AN ANSWER 2016)

actmobcmp_100-300x86#AktMobCmp

In the last few weeks, the topic “active mobility” suffered from too little attention by me. Instead, I was busy doing something about #FRIEDEN and DIGITALE TRANSFORMATION, seeing my grandchildren and my mentees, giving a little support to start-ups and attending to private interests such as riding my bike through Italy. And much more.

I am truly sorry about this, because I keep receiving news and new information that show how badly we need to do something:

  • The fine dust pollution in all the cities of the world is extremely high and still rising.
  • Due to the ever smaller size of pollutants through modern technology (we are talking nano dimensions), they are more unhealthy than ever.
  • The climate catastrophe gets more real, closer and ever more threatening.
  • Our autonomy in life is restricted, our way of life is more and more determined from the outside.
  • This is how, controlled from the outside, we sacrifice what is important to us, giving it to foreign institutions that manipulate us and put their own interests above ours.
  • The metrics of money and profit are onmi-present and rules the entire world and all areas of life.
  • The way how huge concerns manipulate us and rule over us gets more and more outrageous.
  • Fear becomes the determining drive of a strongly increasing irrationality in society and politics.

My conclusion:
As far as I am concerned, I am fed up with the new dishonesty and evil double morals. We need a huge transformation that begins with our cognitive perception. Mobility is an ample metaphor for the current development and the fact that transformation is absolutely necessary. It shows all the things that go wrong and how we badly need to change our opinions and habits for our own good.

The next chance to do something is in exactly one week! On May, 21st, 2016, the next Camp für active Mobility #AktMobCmp will be held in Augsburg. Since it is during the Bavarian Pentecost Holidays, the organizers cut the camp down to one day. They are happy to welcome all visitors  …

On this day, the interests and needs of all participants will be very intensely discussed in the format of a barcamp. The “part-givers” will share their knowledge and leave after a day of shared realizations, ideas and plans, not to mention all the new friends they will have found.

So here is my personal plea to all the “friendly persons” who want to take responsibility for the future: try the Augsburg.#AktMobCmp. If it is only your inertia that keeps you from attending, please overcome your “inner weak self” and come! Register here.

 

Gestiftet von VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken.

Donated by VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Click on the image to enlarge.

 

Early last year, we started with a very nice camp in Unterhaching.

We will continue in 2017 – probably on January, 5th and 6th, again in the Kubiz Unterhaching.

Starting in September, our preparations will gain new momentum. We will do some massive advertising and invite many people and institutions we know well by now. And I guarantee that this barcamp will, again, bring many persons together, be extremely enjoyable and bring fundamental additional knowledge.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Roland Dürre
Tuesday May 10th, 2016

Future, Evolution, Transformation & Digital!

One week ago on Saturday evening, we started on our way to Italy, leaving the train on the next morning in Orvieto. It took us three days to get to the congress venue at Castel Gandolfo by bike. Riding our bikes to the Albanian Ocean in the south-west of Rome was a great preparation for the international
“10th NETWORK MEETING OF THE PETER PRIBILLA FOUNDATION (MAY, 4th – MAY, 6th 2016, ROME)” I was lucky enough to be part of.

The workshop was intense and challenging. Consequently, we spent the day afterwards being truly at leisure and indulging in luxury in Labico. Subsequently, we rode our bikes through Italy for three days. The first leg was from Labico to Terracina (around 80 km). Then we continued to Nettuno (about 75 km). From there, only about 50 kilometres were left to ride to Ostia, which meant that we arrived there early in the afternoon and had plenty of time to see the ancient Ostia by bike and generally enjoy Ostia.

During the three days riding through the provinces of Roma and Latina during the wonderful Italian early summer, I had a lot of time for contemplation. It was a truly special meeting.

Tomorrow, our voyage will be at its end. We are going to Rome. There, the night train that is supposed to take us back to Munich by Thursday morning is already waiting for us. Let me write down a few memories of today’s meeting.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert.

Lido di Ostia, picture taken and scenery admired from the central ocean bridge :-).

The meeting was sponsored by the “Pribilla-Foundation“ and about “Digital Transformation“: After all, this is a transformation that concerns all of us ever more, making us aware of change that is happening and growing at rapid speed.

The workshop was opened with an impulse presentation by Manfred Broy, who is the director of the Bavarian Digital Centre (Digitales Zentrum.Bayern). He gave a precise “sweeping swipe” on “digitalization”. Based on exciting facts, he pointed out to us what is currently happening. I was allowed to give one of the three (3-minute) short responses to the presentation. Here is a short version of what I said (with a few additions, because three minutes is actually quite a short time):

“The digital transformation will probably have a massive influence on the evolution and our future. It might even help on the way towards finding the necessary great transformation humanity needs badly.”

I came up with a theory on all the terms marked in this sentence – that is: I formulated my “basic beliefs”. Here they are:

  • Future
    As I see it, the future cannot be predicted!
    That is also the first theory formulated by the great and unfortunately already dead management scientist Hans Ulrich from St. Gallen who revolutionized the theory of management in the 1980ies with his essay “Eight Theories on Change in Management”..
    It may well be possible to predict the future correctly once in a wile if you use the tools of science and your common sense. That is: you might receive a “message from the future”. Yet you will never manage to correctly interpret said message.
    To me, the future of humanity can be described using the metaphor of a boat on a river. The river is in the “white area”. The boat moves down the river.
    You can measure the speed at which the river flows and also, for instance, the stream gradient and other data. But still, all those data will only give you limited information on what is going to happen. Using a spy glass to look into the distance will also only be of little help. It is not predictable how the river will continue on its way (will it become broader or will it find its way through a narrow gorge and become a torrential river, will there be a bend or a waterfall or will it suddenly disappear totally underground?).
    And in this metaphor, we do not even know if humanity is the boat or the river (or maybe just a swarm of fish?).
  • Evolution
    Evolution is useless. Perhaps it tries to make sure there will always be life, but we do not know why and for what purpose.
    As I see it, evolution cannot be controlled – just like the future is not predictable. Basically, we cannot install a “steering committee” and tell them ”Please control evolution!”. It simply will not work (just like, incidentally, it does not work with huge enterprises and social systems).
  • Transformation
    I think in a next step, evolution will have to and will undergo another huge transformation. This is necessary if humanity wants to survive. It will come, disregarding the question of whether humanity will continue to live or not. We know nothing about this transformation, except that it will bring basic change and come as a huge surprise. The time for this transformation is ever nearer. It will probably happen within the next few generations.
  • Digital Transformation
    It would be nice if digital transformation could become a positive driver for this great transformation. I see quite a good chance. Even now, the world changes through digitalization – and in my opinion said change is for the better.
    The friendly persons build networks, the combination of digital + social makes it possible to cooperate constructively in a way that was hardly possible in former times. Thanks to the “digital” world, something like “enlightenment 2.0” develops. To me, this looks to be more important than the “buzzword” of “industry 4.0” which, after all, is only “normal” technological progress.

What remains is the question: how can we contribute towards digitalization changing the world in a positive way?

Of course, I do not know the answer. It is my belief that we should not talk too much but instead act. Every one of us should act in his own specific way, following his personal inclination. And we all should do it together and connect with all the ”friendly persons” in our society – for instance those persons I actually met in huge numbers at the nice meeting in wonderful surroundings!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
During the meeting, I mentioned a book that might actually help you a little to understand how totally different even our “small” children think – and how helpless the ancient concepts of thinking and teaching and education have become.
(Re-Invent Yourself! A Declaration of Love for the Network Generation by Michel Serres).

Oder: Unternehmertagebuch #118 – Werde glücklich!

Vor bald 18 Monaten habe ich meinen Job als Vorstandsvorsitzender der InterFace AG „an den Nagel“ gehängt. So wie ich vor vielleicht 18 Jahren meine „Programmierstiefel“ wortwörtlich und symbolisch an einen anderen Nagel gehängt habe.

Seit bald 1,5 Jahren bin ich frei.

Und ich habe es geschafft – für mich fast sensationell – mich in meinem neuen Leben auf jeden Morgen und jeden Abend zu freuen. Auf die nächste Stunde und das nächste Treffen.

Morgens stehe ich auf und freue mich, dass mein Körper und sogar mein Verstand noch funktionieren. Ich schaue meine Hände und meine Füße an. Sie sind noch da so wie meine Augen, Ohren, die Nase und vieles mehr. In meiner Wahrnehmung funktionieren die Organe und mein Herz schlägt wie schon seit 66 Jahren. Ist das nicht unglaublich schön?

Ergänzend dazu kommt, dass ich materiell unabhängig bin und mir meine Grundbedürfnisse gut erfüllen kann. Wie die meisten von uns, die wir in dieser Welt so privilegiert sind.

In diesem Artikel schreibe ich, wie ich es geschafft habe glücklicher zu werden. Welche Geheimnisse ich dazu entdeckt und welche Regeln ich gefunden habe. Und welche Projekte mir Freude machen.

Meine Geheimnisse.

izzo5GeheimnisseFünf dieser Geheimnisse stehen im Buch von John Izzo:

„Die fünf Geheimnisse, die Sie entdecken sollten, bevor Sie sterben.“

Diese fünf Geheimnisse sind eine wichtige Untermenge meiner Geheimnisse. Die Lektüre dieses Buches empfehle ich jedem, auch wenn es ein klein wenig „amerikanisch“ ist. Ersatzweise könnte auch das Lesen meines IF-Blog-Artikels zum Buch ausreichen, da steht das meiste drin, nur viel kürzer.

Ask-an-Answer_1m-185x300Ein weiteres Geheimnis ist es, die richtigen Freunde, Partner und Lehrmeister zu finden. So ist zum Beispiel Jolly Kunjappu vor ein paar Jahren in mein Leben getreten. Ganz plötzlich und zufällig.

Heute begleitet er mich auf meinem Lebensweg als Freund und Lehrer (der er gar nicht sein will). Er ist mein Partner im Projekt FRIEDEN. Die Überschrift dieses Artikels ist von ihm.

Er ist nur einer von vielen, die mir viel geben. Ich bin froh, dass sehr viel junge Menschen da dabei sind. An dieser Stelle möchte ich mich bei Euch allen dafür bedanken!

Meine Regeln.

  • Nimm Dir jeden Monat etwas Schönes vor.
    Zur Zeit nehme ich mir vor, in jeden Monat zirka 10 besonders schöne Tage zu haben. So sind wir im Mai durch Italien geradelt und haben das mit einen spannenden Kongress verbunden. Im Juni machen wir 10 Tage Insel-Hopping nur mit Rucksack auf den Kykladen. So geht das dann weiter und ich habe immer etwas Schönes, auf dass ich mich freuen kann.
  • Treff Dich nur mit Menschen, die Du magst!
    Wie viel quälende Zeit habe ich mit Menschen verbracht, die ich nicht verstanden habe? Und die mich nicht verstanden haben. In der Hoffnung, es könnte funktionieren. Aber es hat eben nicht funktioniert. Und übrig blieb der Frust.
  • Zu Besprechungen:
    Wie oft habe ich in meinem Leben in sinnlosen Besprechungen gesessen? Und habe gute Miene zum bösen Spiel gemacht. Und dabei viel Lebenszeit verloren. Deshalb sind mir die folgenden Regeln besonders wichtig:

    • Peer-to-Peer geht vor größeren Meetings.
      Ich habe mal gelesen, dass „die Wahrheit immer zu zweit anfängt“. Das ist eine schöne Metapher und ein Hinweis, wie schwierig es ist Besprechungen mit mehr als zwei Menschen durchzuführen. Die Peer-to-Peer-Kommunikation ist der goldene Weg. An Besprechungen von mehr als zwei Menschen nehme ich nur noch in der Rolle des „Gastgebers“ und Moderators teil.
    • Keine Besprechung über 90 Minuten!
      Eigentlich genügen meistens 60 oder weniger Minuten. Die Gefahr ist, dass man bei längeren Meetings das
      Erreichte nur wieder zerredet. Außerdem dreht man sich schnell im Kreise und das Ergebnis (der Beschluss) hängt davon ab, wo man am Ende gerade steht. Welch ein Horror!
      Gerade Besprechungen mit mehr als zwei Menschen führe ich aus guten Grunde am liebsten im Stehen durch.
  • Zu Terminen:
    Mache keine Termine mehr in der Ferne, außer es ist unumgänglich!

    (wie zum Beispiel für eine Aufsichtsratssitzung)
    Begründung: Termine machen unfrei. Sie werden zum Korsett, lähmen und erschweren das Handeln.
    Beispiel: Warum soll ich am Ende eines Gesprächs mit meinem Mentee einen neuen Termin in 3 Monaten vereinbaren? Die bessere Alternative ist doch, dass wir uns genau dann wieder treffen, wenn der Mentee mich braucht. Und das dann möglichst kurzfristig. Als freier Mensch kann ich die Zeit immer einschieben. Auch bei räumlicher Trennung ist ein „Bildtelefonat“ über große Entfernung immer möglich.
  • Wirke homöopathisch!
    Damit meine ich „Dränge Dich nie auf!“, „Versuche nie die Dinge zu kontrollieren!“ oder „Für andere Menschen vorzudenken und sie zu steuern und zu lenken“! Und denke daran: Kleine Dosen sind besser als große. Lass es laufen, dann passiert schon das Richtige!
    Beispiel: Es ist für mich tabu, einen Mentee aktiv zu beeinflussen. Er darf und soll kommen, wenn er es für sinnvoll hält. Und wenn er nicht kommt, dann heißt das doch nur, dass er mich nicht braucht. Und auch das ist gut! Ich will doch nur helfen, dass er oder sie ein wenig glücklicher und erfolgreicher wird.
  • Pflege Dein Netzwerk!
    Du bist ein soziales Lebewesen. Du brauchst den Austausch mit anderen Menschen. Das ist das wichtigste, weil Weiterentwicklung nie isoliert statt findet.
  • Lernen macht Spaß!
    Zurzeit lerne ich wahnsinnig viel in der Praxis. In diesem Jahr habe ich wohl schon eine hohe zweistellige Zahl von Geschäftsplänen mündlich und schriftlich kennen gelernt und bewertet. Das erfolgt im Rahmen meiner Tätigkeit in der Jury bei einem Businessplan Wettbewerb, die ich schon seit ein paar Jahren ausübe. Und lerne dabei soviel. Auch das macht mir Freude und macht mich glücklich.

 

Meine Projekte.

Setz Dir anspruchsvolle Ziele und setz Dich für sie ein. Sei aber auch fehlertolerant gegen Dich selber, wenn es mal nicht klappt! Meine beiden Hauptprojekte neben meinem eigenen Leben und der Familie sind „AktMobCmp“. Da geht es um die „aktiven Mobilität im Alltag“ als wichtiger Teil von zukünftiger Mobilität. Und das Projekt FRIEDEN, auf das ich mich immer mehr konzentrieren werde. Und ich versuche gute Dinge vor dem Entgleisen zu bewahren wie PM-Cmap.

Meine Annahme.

Ich bin überzeugt, dass ich auch als Vorstandsvorsitzender so hätte leben können, wie ich es jetzt mache und dann erfolgreicher und glücklicher gewesen wäre. Ich war jedoch zu feige. Aber ich weiß, dass es geht. Einfach ausprobieren!

RMD

P.S.
Oder nochmal mit Jollys Worten:

» Sei anders, sei du selbst (einzigartig) «
» Be different be yourself (unique)«

und
» Sei kein Sklave eines Systems, sei Meister deines eigenen Lebens «
» Don’t be a slave of a system, be a master of your own life «

Jolly Kunjappu
(aus ASK AN ANSWER 2016)

actmobcmp_100-300x86#AktMobCmp

Die letzten Wochen habe ich mich zu wenig um das Thema „Aktive Mobilität“ im Alltag gekümmert. Da waren die Themen #FRIEDEN und DIGITALE TRANSFORMATION, meine Enkel*Innen, die Mentées und Startups, die ich ein wenig unterstütze und private Interessen wie Radeln durch Italien. Und manches mehr.

Das tut mir leid, denn laufend erreichen mich Nachrichten und neue Erkenntnisse, die zeigen, dass wir handeln müssen:

  • Die Feinstaubbelastung in allen Städten der Welt steigt auf hohem Niveau weiter.
  • Aufgrund der Verkleinerung der Schadteile durch moderne Technologie (es geht in den Nanobereich) sind diese gesundheitsgefährdender denn je.
  • Die Klima-Katastrophe wird realer, rückt näher und wird immer bedrohlicher.
  • Unser Lebensautonomie ist angeschlagen, unsere Art zu Leben wird immer mehr fremd gesteuert.
  • So opfern wir ferngesteuert das uns Wichtige fremden Instanzen, die uns manipulieren und ihre Interessen über unsere stellen.
  • Die Metrik aus Geld und Profit ist omni-präsent und beherrscht die gesamte Welt und alle Lebensbereiche.
  • Die Manipulationen der uns beherrschenden Großkonzerne werden immer unverschämter.
  • Angst wird immer mehr der wesentliche Treiber von stark zunehmender Irrationalität in Gesellschaft und Politik.

Mein Schluss:
Ich persönlich habe die Nase voll von der neuen Unredlichkeit und schlimmer Doppelmoral. Wir brauchen eine große Transformation, die bei unseren kognitiven Wahrnehmungen beginnt. Mobilität ist eine gute Metapher für die aktuelle Entwicklung und die Notwendigkeit einer Transformation. Sie zeigt auf, was alles falsch läuft und wie wir unsere Einstellungen und Gewohnheiten dringend zu unserem Besten ändern müssen.

Die nächste Chance etwas zu tun ist schon genau in einer Woche! Am 21. Mai 2016 findet in Augsburg das nächste Camp für aktive Mobilität #AktMobCmp statt. Da es in die bayerischen Pfingstferien fällt, hat der Veranstalter das Camp auf einen Tag reduziert. Das Orga-Team freut sich über jeden Besucher …

An diesem Tag wird im Format eines Barcamps ganz intensiv auf die Interessen und Bedürfnisse aller Teilnehmer eingegangen. Die „Teilgeber“ werden ihr Wissen teilen und mit neuen gemeinsam erworbenen Erkenntnissen, Ideen und Plänen und neu gewonnenen Freunden aus dem Tag heraus gehen.

Also meine persönliche Bitte an alle „freundlichen Menschen“, die Verantwortung für Zukunft übernehmen wollen. Probiert das #AktMobCmp in Augsburg aus. Wenn es nur Trägheit ist, die dem entgegensteht, dann überwindet den „inneren Schweinehund“ und kommt! Hier geht es zur Anmeldung.

 

Gestiftet von VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken.

Gestiftet von VisualBrainddump (Christian Botta & Daniel Reinold) Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken.

 

Anfang letzten Jahres sind wir mit einem sehr schönen Camp in Unterhaching gestartet.

Das setzen wir in 2017 – wahrscheinlich am 5./6. Januar und wieder im Kubiz Unterhaching fort.

Ab September werden wir mit neuem Schwung in die Vorbereitung starten, kräftig wirbeln und viele uns mittlerweile gut bekannte Menschen und Institutionen einladen.

Und ich garantiere, auch dieses Barcamp wird wieder viele Menschen zusammen bringen, richtig Spaß machen und wesentlichen Erkenntnis bringen.

RMD

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 10. Mai 2016

Zukunft, Evolution, Transformation & digital!

Am Samstag Abend vor einer Woche sind wir nach Italien aufgebrochen und am Morgen in Orvieto ausgestiegen. Drei Tage haben wir mit dem Rad zum Tagungsort Castel Gandolfo gebraucht. Die Tour zum Albaner See südwestlich um Rom herum war eine tolle Vorbereitung auf das international besetzte
„10th NETWORK MEETING OF THE PETER PRIBILLA FOUNDATION (MAY, 4th – MAY, 6th 2016, ROME)“, bei dem ich dabei sein durfte.

Die Tagung war intensiv und fordernd. So waren wir im Anschluß erstmal einen Tag richtig faul und haben uns in Labico dem Luxus hingegeben. Anschließend sind wir drei Tage durch Italien geradelt. Die erste Tour ging von Labico nach Terracina (zirka 80 km). Dann ging es weiter nach Nettuno (zirka 75 km). Nach Ostia waren es dann von Nettuno nur noch gut 50 km, so dass wir schon am frühen Nachmittag angekommen sind und noch Zeit hatten, das antike Ostia mit dem Rad zu besuchen und Ostia allgemein zu genießen.

Auf den drei Tagestouren durch den wunderbaren Frühsommer Italiens  durch die Provinzen Roma und Latina hatte ich viel Zeit, das Erlebte zu reflektieren. Es war in der Tag ein besonderes Treffen.

Morgen ist unsere Tour zu Ende, es geht nach Rom. Dort wartet der Nachtzug, der uns am Donnerstag früh in München absetzen soll. So möchte ich heute noch ein paar Erinnerungen vom Treffen aufschreiben.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert.

Lido di Ostia, von der zentralen Seebrücke aus bewundert und fotografiert :-).

Das Treffen der „Pribilla-Foundation“ stand im Zeichen der „Digitalen Transformation“, die uns immer mehr erfasst, bewußt wird und ein enormes Tempo vorlegt.

Eröffnet wurde die Tagung  von einem Impulsvortrag Manfred Broys, dem Vorsitzenden des Digitales Zentrum.Bayern. In einem präzisen „Rundumschlag“ erläuterte er das Thema „Digitalisierung“. Basierend auf spannenden Fakten machte er klar, was da eigentlich passiert. Ich durfte eine der drei Kurzanmerkungen (3 Minuten) zu diesem Vortrag halten. Hier die Zusammenfassung meines Beitrages, ein wenig ergänzt, denn 3 Minuten sind arg kurz:

„Die digitale Transformation dürfte die Evolution und unsere Zukunft massiv beeinflussen. Vielleicht hilft sie, die notwendige Große Transformation zu schaffen, die die Menschheit dringend braucht.“

Zu jedem der in diesem Satz genutzten Begriffe habe ich eine These aufgestellt, sprich meine „basic believes“ formuliert. Hier sind sie:

  • Zukunft
    Ich meine, dass Zukunft nicht vorhersagbar ist!
    Das ist auch die erste These des für mich großen und leider schon verstorbenen Management-Wissenschaftlers Hans Ulrich aus St. Gallen, der in den 80iger-Jahren mit seinem Aufsatz „8 Thesen zum Wandel im Management“ die Lehre vom Management revolutionierte.
    Es mag zwar möglich sein, wenn man die Werkzeuge der Wissenschaft mit gesundem Menschenverstand anwendet, ab und zu Vorhersagen für die Zukunft zu machen, die richtig sind. Also eine Art von „Botschaft aus der Zukunft“ zu empfangen, die zu korrekt zu interpretieren aber nie gelingt.
    Mir scheint, dass die Zukunft der Menschheit mit der Metapher eines Bootes auf einem Fluss beschrieben werden kann. Der Fluß fließt in „weißes Gebiet“. Das Boot bewegt sich flußabwärts auf dem Fluss.
    Die Flussgeschwindigkeit des Flusses kann man messen wie auch z.B. sein Gefälle und weitere Daten. Daraus lassen sich aber nur sehr begrenzte Schlüsse ziehen, wie es wohl weiter geht. Mit dem Fernglas als Werkzeug kann man ein wenig in die Ferne sehen, aber auch das hilft nur sehr eingeschränkt.
    Der weitere Verlauf des Flusses (wird er breiter oder geht es reißend durch eine enge Schlucht, kommt eine Kehre oder ein Wasserfall oder versickert der Fluß plötzlich im Boden?) ist nicht vorhersagbar.
    Und in dieser Metapher wissen wir nicht einmal, ob die Menschheit das Boot auf dem Fluß oder das Wasser des Flusses ist (oder vielleicht nur ein Fischschwarm?).
  • Evolution
    Evolution hat keinen Zweck. Vielleicht versucht das Leben so sein Überleben zu sichern, wir wissen aber nicht warum und wieso.
    Ich meine, dass – so wie die Zukunft nicht vorhersagbar ist – kann auch die Evolution nicht gesteuert werden. Wir können eben kein „steering committee“ aufstellen und sagen „Bitte steuert die Evolution!“. Das wird nicht funktionieren (so wie es in den großen Unternehmen und sozialen Systemen übrigens auch nicht funktioniert).
  • Transformation
    Ich meine, dass die Evolution als nächsten Schritt wieder mal eine große Transformation machen muss und wird. Die ist notwendig, wenn es mit der Menschheit weiter gehen soll. Sie wird kommen – ganz gleich ob die Menschheit dann weiterleben oder aussterben wird. Wir wissen nichts über diese Transformation, außer dass sie eine für uns wesentliche Veränderungen bringen dürfte und uns wahrscheinlich stark überraschen wird. Der Zeitpunkt für diese Transformation kommt immer näher und dürfte schon in wenigen Generation passieren.
  • Die digitale Transformation
    Es wäre schön, wenn die digitale Transformation zu einem positiven Treiber dieser großen Transformation werden würde. Ich sehe da eine gute Chance. Schon jetzt verändert sich die Welt durch Digitalisierung – wie ich finde – zum Besseren.
    Die freundlichen Menschen vernetzen sich, die Kombination digital+sozial ermöglicht ein konstruktives Miteinander wie es früher kaum möglich war. Dank der „digitalen“ Welt entwickelt sich so etwas wie eine „Aufklärung 2.0“, die mir wichtiger zu sein scheint als das „buzzword“ von der „Industrie 4.0“, die ja nur „normaler“ digitaler technischer Fortschritt ist.

Bleibt die Frage, was wir beitragen können, dass Digitalisierung die Welt positiv verändert?

Ich weiß es natürlich auch nicht. Mein Glaube hierzu ist, dass wir nicht zu viel Reden sollten sondern Handeln müssen. Jeder auf seine Art und Weise, so wie er es am besten kann. Und dies im Verbund und Netzwerk mit den „freundlichen Menschen“ unserer Gesellschaft, wie ich sie auch auf der schönen Veranstaltung in wunderbarer Umgebung tatsächlich so zahlreich kennen gelernt habe!

RMD

P.S.
Auf der Tagung habe ich ein Buch erwähnt, das vielleicht ein wenig helfen kann, eine Ahnung zu bekommen, wie ganz anders schon unsere „kleinen“ Kinder denken – und wie hilflos das alte Denken in Schulung und Bildung dem gegenüber steht (

Erfindet Euch neu! Eine Liebeserklärung an die vernetzte Generation. von Michel Serres.