Christof Stierlen
Thursday August 14th, 2008

Creative Scrum Teams – The Underlying Idea (June 2008)

In our daily work, Scrum has established itself in a central position. We are executing a multitude of projects with huge organizations as customers with this concept. The agile way of processing has found more and more friends, both among the people at InterFace and our customers. However, instead of just applying Scrum, we also wish to give something back. What is more, we want to reciprocate without changing anything about the methods and simple rules we have come to appreciate. Looking around, we contacted our friends at university and found a very interesting research project:

Creative Collaboration Tools

It looks into the co-operation between people while applying electronic creative techniques. Existing methods will be analyzed and, if necessary, new solutions tested. The entire process is an inter-disciplinary one (computer science, economic science, psychology, etc.) and closely linked with practical experiences.

Of course, the question is: how will Scrum benefit from this?

The answer is not that you implement another tool into the well-seasoned scrum processes. There are enough of those – and, after all, Scrum is characterized by its simplicity.

Instead, we want to offer support during the creative phase before Scrum starts. Because this is the phase where you have to find out what the subsequent Scrum project is supposed to do:

Who are the parties concerned? What are the goals? Which approaches do you want to follow? And the like. This is where creative approaches and ideas need to be found, and that is where we want to help with our cooperation.

To be continued …

CST
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Christof Stierlen
Donnerstag, der 14. August 2008

Creative Scrum Teams – Die Idee dahinter (Juni 2008)

Scrum ist bei uns ein Mittelpunkt der täglichen Arbeit geworden. Eine Vielzahl spannender Projekte bei großen Kundenorganisationen wird mit dieser Methode durchgeführt. Die agile, praxisnahe Vorgehensweise hat die Menschen bei InterFace und unseren Kunden zunehmend überzeugt.Nun wollen wir Scrum aber nicht nur anwenden, sondern nach Möglichkeit auch selbst etwas zurückgeben. Und dass, ohne an den bewährten Methoden und den einfachen Regeln etwas zu verändern. Bei dieser Suche haben wir uns an unsere Universitätskontakte gewandt und sind dort auf ein sehr interessantes Forschungsvorhaben gestoßen:

Creative Collaboration Tools

Hierbei wird erforscht, wie sich die Zusammenarbeit von Menschen unterstützen lässt, wenn man elektronische Kreativitätstechniken anwendet. Es werden bestehende Methoden untersucht und bei Bedarf neue Lösungen erprobt. Dies geschieht interdisziplinär (Informatik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften, Psychologie, u.a.) und in enger Verbindung mit der Praxis.

Die Frage lautet natürlich: Auf welche Weise kann dies Scrum nützen?

Sicher nicht dadurch, dass man innerhalb der bewährten Scrum-Abläufe ein weiteres Tool einbaut. Denn davon gibt es genug – und Scrum lebt ja auch von seiner Einfachheit.

Stattdessen wollen wir bei der kreativen Phase im Vorfeld von Scrum gezielte Unterstützung anbieten. Denn in dieser Phase muss man herausfinden, worum es im nachfolgenden Scrum-Projekt eigentlich gehen soll:

Wer sind die Beteiligten? Was sind die Ziele? Welche Lösungsansätze sollen verfolgt werden? und ähnliches mehr. Hier gilt es, kreative Ansätze und Ideen zu finden, und dazu wollen wir mit dieser Kooperation beitragen.

Fortsetzung folgt …

CST

Kommentar verfassen

*