Gastautor(en)
Monday January 2nd, 2012

Rolo’s Favourite Story

It was Rolo who pointed me towards this story and its author:

Jobber’s Story

We jobbers assembled wires and spirals, put small plastic discs into oval red-painted metal pieces – and at the opposite end of the assembly line sat Mehdi. He drilled a hole through the eggs with his machine, then the thing was finished.

During the first few weeks, I still tried to find out what it was I made. After all, you wanted to find something that made sense in what you did – or at least that was the idea. Well, said one of the jobbers, a politics student from Sierra Leone, the piece is obviously for car motors. It plays an important role in the carburator. The Polish student of religions said it is for export to Japan, where it will be part of a shintoistic sect cult and highly venerated.

The only thing we knew for certain was that the finished pieces were rather expensive. Behind closed doors, it was said that they cost 300.- Deutsch Marks per piece. But nobody knew for certain. The eggs had different sizes. They varied weekly. Our foreman adjusted the machines to fit and we had to do everything exactly as he ordered it.

He enjoyed being in charge and ordering people around. Soon, these students would leave the university and then play boss with their bizarre theories, but here, in the practical world, it was still he who was boss.

His favourite sentence was: »We do not pay you for thinking, but for working.« He was really one of the old types. For him, the phrase “co-operative leadership” belonged in the same category as homosexual swinishness.

One morning, shortly after seven o’clock, Mehdi, the exiled Iranian, called to the foreman: »The machine is not correctly adjusted.« The foreman’s reply was: »How would you know that, you stupid Turk. Shut up and do your work.«

Around eight, Mehdi again called the foreman: »Can’t you see! The machine is not properly adjusted. The angle for drilling is too steep. I think if you…«

The foreman said: »We do not pay you for thinking, but for working.«

Mehdi drilled. He drilled and drilled. 120 eggs per hour. The smile on his face got broader and broader. Occasionally, he shook his head with an air of incredulity: »Rejects«, he said. »Friends, do not waste hard labour on this«, were his words to us, »I am turning all your work into rejects, anyway. These are all rejects.« He chuckled softly. We started wondering when they would discover it.

They found out half an hour before the day’s end. The department head yelled, sounding like he had fallen into the skip. Mehdi was already cleaning his machine when the hierarchy approached him: the department head, the master, the foreman. Well, said Mehdi, hadn’t he told them that the machine was not properly adjusted? The foreman asked how Mehdi assumed he would know this kind of thing.

Mehdi said: »Well, I study machine engineering in the eighth semester.« With tears in his eyes, the department head asked Mehdi if he was aware of the fact that he had produced rejects to the tune of a quarter million Deutsch Marks. »Is that how much it was?«, said Mehdi. The rest of us who were standing around quickly did the arithmetic. Well, it meant that the 300 Deutsch Mark per piece were true.

I think this is a truly beautiful story!

The author is BOV BJERG
Bov Bjerg, born 1965. The former truck driver is now editor for the magazine »Salbader« and columnist of the Berlin city paper »Scheinschlag«. He reads at the »Reformbühne Heim & Welt« and at the »Mittwochsfazit«.
(On the internet: www.bjerg.de)

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Rolo is  Rolo Zollner, a cherished friend and excellent photographer. Occasionally, he permits me to publish pictures he took in the IF blog.

2 Kommentare zu “Rolo’s Favourite Story”

  1. Chris Wood (Monday January 9th, 2012)

    Is this a true story?

  2. rd (Monday January 9th, 2012)

    Du kannst den Autor fragen. Meines Wissens lebt er noch …

Kommentar verfassen

*

Gastautor(en)
Montag, der 2. Januar 2012

Rolo’s Lieblingsgeschichte

Auf diese Geschichte und ihren Autor hat mich Rolo aufmerksam gemacht:

Jobbergeschichte

Wir Jobber steckten Drähte und Spiralen ineinander, legten kleine Plastikscheibchen in ovale rot lackierte Teile aus Metall, und am Ende des Bandes saß Mehdi, der bohrte mit der Maschine ein Loch durch die Eier, dann war das Ding fertig.

In den ersten Wochen hatte ich mich noch bemüht herauszufinden, was ich da eigentlich herstellte, um der Arbeit etwas von ihrer Entfremdung zu nehmen oder so ähnlich. Das Teil sei wohl für Automotoren, sagte der eine, ein Politikstudent aus Sierra Leone, es spiele eine wichtige Rolle im Vergaser. Es sei für den Export nach Japan, sagte der polnische Religionswissenschaftler, dort würde es von gewissen shintoistischen Sekten kultisch verehrt.

Klar war nur, dass die fertigen Teile ziemlich teuer waren. Man munkelte etwas von 300, – Mark pro Stück, aber genau wusste es niemand. Die Eier waren unterschiedlich groß, das wechselte von Woche zu Woche. Der Vorarbeiter stellte die Maschinen passend ein, und wir mussten alle Handgriffe exakt so ausführen, wie er es anordnete.

Er genoss es, Anweisungen zu geben. Bald würden diese Studenten die Universität verlassen und mit ihren wirren Theorien im Kopf die Chefs spielen, aber hier, in der Welt der Praxis, hatte immer noch er das Sagen.

Sein liebster Spruch: »Ihr werdet hier nicht fürs Denken bezahlt, sondern fürs Arbeiten.« Einer vom ganz alten Schlag. Kooperativer Führungsstil, das war für ihn irgend so eine schwule Schweinerei.

Eines Morgens, es war kurz nach sieben, rief Mehdi, der Exiliraner, den Vorarbeiter: »Die Maschine ist falsch eingestellt.« Der Vorarbeiter sagte: »Das kannst du gar nicht wissen, du dussliger Türke. Arbeite weiter.«

Gegen acht rief Mehdi wieder nach dem Vorarbeiter: »Guck doch mal, die Maschine ist falsch eingestellt. Der Bohrwinkel ist zu steil. Ich denke, wenn man …«

Der Vorarbeiter sagte: »Du wirst hier nicht fürs Denken bezahlt, sondern fürs Arbeiten.«

Mehdi bohrte. Er bohrte und bohrte, 120 Eier in der Stunde. Er grinste vor sich hin, und manchmal schüttelte er ungläubig den Kopf. »Ausschuss«, sagte er. »Leute, gebt euch keine Mühe«, sagte er zu uns, »ich mach eure Arbeit eh zu Schrott. Das ist alles Ausschuss.« Er gluckste leise. Wir waren gespannt, wann sie es merken würden.

Sie merkten es eine halbe Stunde vor Feierabend. Der Abteilungsleiter brüllte, als wäre er in die Metallpresse gefallen. Mehdi fegte schon seine Maschine, als die Hierarchie sich vor ihm aufbaute: der Abteilungsleiter, der Meister, der Vorarbeiter. Er habe doch gesagt, dass die Maschine falsch eingestellt sei, sagte Mehdi. Woher er denn so etwas wissen wolle, wollte der Vorarbeiter wissen.

Mehdi sagte: »Na ja, ich studiere im achten Semester Maschinenbau.« Der Abteilungsleiter fragte Mehdi mit Tränen in den Augen, ob er sich eigentlich klar darüber sei, dass er heute für eine Viertelmillion Mark Schrott produziert habe? »Ach, doch so viel?«, sagte Mehdi, und wir Umstehenden überschlugen die Rechnung im Kopf. Dann kam das ja in etwa hin mit den 300 Mark pro Stück.

Wie ich finde, wirklich eine schöne Geschichte!

Der Autor ist BOV BJERG
Bov Bjerg, geb. 1965. Der ehemalige Berufskraftfahrer ist Redakteur der Zeitschrift »Salbader« und Kolumnist der Berliner Stadtzeitung »Scheinschlag«. Er liest in der »Reformbühne Heim & Welt« und im »Mittwochsfazit«.
(Im Netz: www.bjerg.de)

RMD

P.S.
Rolo ist Rolo Zollner, ein lieber Freund und toller Fotograf. Er gestattet mir ab und zu, Bilder von ihm in IF-Blog.de zu veröffentlichen.

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Kommentare zu “Rolo’s Lieblingsgeschichte”

  1. Chris Wood (Montag, der 9. Januar 2012)

    Is this a true story?

  2. rd (Montag, der 9. Januar 2012)

    Du kannst den Autor fragen. Meines Wissens lebt er noch …

Kommentar verfassen

*