Klaus Hnilica
Thursday February 24th, 2011

Why Would Anybody Exercise?

Carl and Gerlinde (IV)

„Now, Carl, do not let the corners of your mouth droop so much. You are not our Federal Chancellor”, said Gerlinde for the third time on this Sunday morning. After all, at long last it was again a sunny day and she had taken such pains with preparing a nice breakfast …

But, regardless of all the sunshine, Carl was in a miserable mood! One look at the Sunday paper had been enough. The fuss they were making about the Olympic Games of 2018 in Garmisch was just ever so sad! How dilapidated can a country be? This entire “To hell with…” mentality not only made Carl let the corners of his mouth droop. It also took away all his own motivation to exercise.
What was the point of doing anything physical in this society, anyway? Is there anybody who can give a good reason? Wasn’t it better to put an extra layer of chocolate spread onto his breakfast toast? And yet another one on the bottom side of the toast! It might not be very healthy, but it is certainly deliciously comforting…
„What do you mean no longer any motivation to exercise…?” Gerlinde asks pointedly while doing a mole-like reading session through the regional news, “it has been a long time since you last gave your body anything like physical exercise. You never even manage to go down to the letter box and get the newspaper in the morning…“
Ha – ha, like that was anything like relevant exercise! Wasn’t it much more important and heroic that he drew up his own athletic program of daily jogging! Mind you, we are talking all the year round! At all weathers. Not to mention the dumbbell exercises he always plans on a Saturday while watching the soccer league games. And what about all those weekly Sunday strolls with her and their friends …

Incidentally, Kurt was quite impressed when – over a shared glass of beer – he explained his workout program to him. After all, Kurt really never did anything. Even less than nothing, says his Hannelore…

„Sorry, my dear Carl, but if you really mean what you are saying, then something must be wrong with my eyes. All I ever see you with, both on weekends and weekdays, is the beer bottle – and that is not restricted to sports programs”, while saying so, Gerlinde pulled the glass of chocolate spread so far towards herself that, to his annoyance, he could definitely no longer reach it…

„Great, Gerlinde! You manage to spoil my Sunday every week! Today, I get pulled down with the first rays of the sun! Are you really going to hold it against me that, once in a while, I drink a little beer and that, as an exception from the rule, I also sometimes watch the sports program? After a strenuous work day? After all, there is never any Sunday when you do not totally immerse yourself in your Rosamunde Pilcher while I never got to see a “Tatort” in weeks, even months”?

„But Carl, that is not what this is all about”, countered Gerlinde with an air of exasperation. “What we were talking about is exercise and your super workout program. You always tell everybody how you run through the forests for hours every evening, regardless of wind and weather …“
„Well, that is what I do, whenever possible…“

„… but you use dumbbells that, strangely enough, look a lot like beer bottles!“

„Won’t you stop it, Gerlinde” grumbles Carl. „If I may remind you: all I did was take the liberty to be annoyed about the Olympics they plan in Garmisch! And the reason is that, here in Germany, nobody can put to practice what he had planned without everybody going crazy day and night. No matter what you plan to do, there is always someone who is against it! And if someone supports a plan, like that former ice-skater from Eastern Germany, then they are beaten down and called ‚Eastern Outcrop”.

“My dear Gerlinde, that is what I am talking, not your small-minded concepts! This is about principles and about athletes not getting bad-mouthed and defamed. Even if what they do and say might not always be what you would like best…”

„Now, Carl, isn’t that an interesting statement of yours?“

„Indeed. This is about principles, Gerlinde. This is not about if I actually perspire like crazy every evening when jogging through the forest! But you women were never too keen on principles, were you? You always prefer to make a fuss about unimportant issues …“

„Okay- okay, Carl, now let us not get upset about it. Otherwise this Sunday will really go down the drains”, Gerlinde said while giving her principle-oriented Carl a sugar-sweet smile. In fact, it motivated him to get up and press a conciliatory kiss onto her forehead, taking the opportunity to push the chocolate spread back towards his own place…

When he offered to celebrate the re-conciliation with two cups of Espresso, Gerlinde did not want to prevent him. Yet she also wanted to know if it would not be a good idea to take advantage of this wonderful weather and go for a nice stroll with her after breakfast.

„Now, Gerlinde, that would be my true delight” said he. Any time! Except that today of all days, it cannot happen. They are broadcasting a really very, very important sports event which he definitely had to see! The magic word is “ski-flying on the big jump at O.’!” It is an absolute “must”. After all, at long last there is again a real chance that a German might win, instead of one of those “East-Mark-Blokes” who are always carried beyond the hundred-metres by nothing but the wind, yet who always stick their noses high up in the air after having won!

Insisting he was sure she understood, Carl pushed the chocolate spread glass far away with a huge gesture, even though he had opened it already …

KH
(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Why Would Anybody Exercise?”

  1. Chris Wood (Thursday February 24th, 2011)

    Köstlich!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Klaus Hnilica
Donnerstag, der 24. Februar 2011

Wozu denn noch Sport?

Carl und Gerlinde (IV)

„Lass doch die Mundwinkel nicht so hängen, Carl, du bist nicht die Kanzlerin“, sagte Gerlinde schon zum dritten Mal an diesem Sonntagmorgen. Schließlich schien endlich wieder einmal die Sonne und sie hatte sich solche Mühe mit dem Frühstückstisch gegeben…

Aber Carls Laune war, trotz aller Sonne, in den Keller marschiert! Ein Blick in die Sonntagszeitung hatte genügt. Was die in Garmisch wegen der Olympischen Winterspiele in 2018 aufführten, war’ einfach zum Heulen! Wie verrottet war dieses Land eigentlich? Diese ganze ‚Leckt’s mi’ – Einstellung zogen Carl nicht nur die Mundwinkel nach unten sondern vermasselte ihm selbst auch jede Lust auf Sport.

Wozu sollte er sich in dieser Gesellschaft noch bewegen? Konnte ihm das jemand sagen? Da schmierte er sich doch lieber noch eine zusätzliche Schicht Schokocreme auf seinen Frühstücktoast und auf die Unterseite auch noch! Das war zwar nicht gesund, aber so köstlich tröstlich…

„Was heißt vermasselt dir die Lust auf Sport…? “ fragte Gerlinde spitz, „du bewegst dich doch eh schon lange nicht mehr“, sagte sie und wühlte sich maulwurfartig durch den Regionalteil… „Du schaffst es ja morgens nicht einmal mehr bis zum Briefkasten, um die Zeitung zu holen…“

Ha – ha, als wenn das eine relevante Bewegung wär’! Viel wichtiger und heroischer sei doch, dass er sich in seinem selbst auferlegten Sportprogramm an jedem Tag Joggen verordnet hat! Und zwar ganzjährig, bitte! Und bei jedem Wetter! Vom Hanteltraining, das er immer am Samstag auf dem Plan hat, während er Bundesliga schaute, rede er gar nicht. Und von den wöchentlichen Sonntagsspaziergängen mit ihr und den Freunden auch nicht…

Der Kurt sei jedenfalls platt, wenn er ihm bei einem Glas Bier sein Trainingsprogramm auseinandersetze, weil der ja wirklich nichts tue! Sogar weniger als nichts, sagt seine Hannelore …

„Also Carl mir tut’s leid, aber wenn du das wirklich meinst, was du da von dir gibst, dann muss ich was mit den Augen haben, denn ich seh’ dich zum Wochenende und unter der Woche, immer nur mit der Bierflasche in der Hand – und das nicht nur bei den Sportsendungen,“ sagte Gerlinde und zog zum Ärger von Carl das Schokocreme- Glas endlich soweit zu sich herüber, dass es total außerhalb seiner Reichweite war…

„Toll Gerlinde! Dir gelingt es wirklich, mir jede Woche den Sonntag zu versauen! Heut’ kriege ich sogar schon im Morgengrauen meine Watschen! Sag, willst du mir wirklich zum Vorwurf machen, dass ich ab und zu ein kleines Bierchen trinke und ausnahmsweise auch einmal eine Sportsendung anschaue, nach einem stressigen Arbeitstag? Wo du dir doch Sonntag für Sonntag ohne jede Rücksicht deine Rosamunde Pilcher reinziehst und ich schon seit Wochen, ja Monaten keinen ‚Tatort‘ mehr zu Gesicht bekommen hab’“?

„Ach Carl darum geht es doch gar nicht“, warf Gerlinde entnervt ein, „ wir haben vom Sport gesprochen – und deinem super tollen Trainingsprogramm. Von dem du immer großspurig erzählst, dass du jeden Abend und trotz Wind und Wetter stundenlang durch die Wälder rennst…“

„Tu ich ja auch wenn’s geht …“

„Aber bei dem du mit Hanteln herumfuchtelst, die komischerweise immer wie Bierflaschen ausschauen!“

„Hör doch auf, Gerlinde“, brummte Carl. „Ich hab mir doch nur erlaubt, mich über die geplante Olympiade in Garmisch aufzuregen, wenn ich dich erinnern darf! Und zwar deswegen, weil man bei uns in Deutschland nichts mehr durchziehen kann, ohne dass sich alle Tag und Nacht aufregen. Immer ist wer dagegen, egal was gemacht wird! Und wenn sich wer für die Sache einsetzt, wie diese ehemalige Eiskunstlaufweltmeisterin aus dem Osten, dann wird sie noch niedergemacht und als  ‚ostdeutsche Wachtl’ beschimpft.

Darum geht’s mir Gerlinde und nicht um deinen Kleinkram! Mir geht es ums Prinzipielle und darum, dass man Sportler nicht beschimpft und diffamiert, auch wenn’s einem nicht in den Kram passt was sie tun und sagen…

„Interessant, Carl, diese Aussage!“

„Jawohl mir geht es ums Prinzipielle, Gerlinde, und nicht darum, ob ich mir jetzt tatsächlich jeden Abend weiß Gott was für Einen abschwitze beim Joggen! Aber mit dem Prinzipiellen habt ihr Frauen es ja noch nie so gehabt, ihr rührt immer lieber im Popelkram herum…“

„Okay- okay, Carl, jetzt ist’s gut, lassen wir das, sonst ist der Sonntag wirklich im Eimer“, sagte Gerlinde und lächelte ihren prinzipienstarken Carl so zuckersüß an, dass der aufstand und ihr einen versöhnlichen Kuss auf die Stirne drückte und bei der Gelegenheit unauffällig die Schokocreme wieder an sich brachte…

Als er sich anbot, zur Versöhnung gleich noch zwei Espressi zu machen, wollte ihn Gerlinde nicht abhalten aber schon noch wissen, ob er bei dem herrlichen Wetter nach dem Essen wenigstens einen schönen Spaziergang mit ihr mache?

„Sehr, sehr gerne, Gerlinde“, sagte er. Und jederzeit! Doch heute ginge es grad wirklich nicht; da sei eine ganz, ganz wichtige Sportübertragung, die er unbedingt sehen müsste! Er sage nur ‚Schifliegen auf der Großschanze in O.’! Das müsse er unbedingt sehen, denn endlich bestünde wieder einmal eine reelle Chance, dass ein Deutscher gewinne und nicht wieder einer von diesen ‚ostmärkischen Zwockeln’, die eh nur der Wind immer über die 100-Meter- Marke blase; die sich aber weiß Gott was drauf einbildeten!

Das müsste sie verstehen, sagte Carl und schob demonstrativ das Schokocreme-Glas weit von sich, obwohl er es schon geöffnet hatte…

KH

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “Wozu denn noch Sport?”

  1. Chris Wood (Donnerstag, der 24. Februar 2011)

    Köstlich!

Kommentar verfassen

*