Klaus Hnilica
Tuesday December 5th, 2017

The Second Darkness

Carl and Gerlinde (Instalment # 55)

When Carl woke up and found back to something that vaguely resembled human existence excruciatingly slowly, the first rudimentary things his not yet quite ready body noticed seemed to be the fact that his eyes were absolutely unwilling to open!

In fact, the synchronously beating rain showers even postponed the usual procedure of starting the day until later for the n-th time. Regardless of his only partially active cerebral cortex, he actually seemed to have a foreboding that told him that the state of affairs his open eyes would convey to him would not at all be a pleasant one. Instead, he felt that the darkness caused by his closed eyes would only be replaced by the second darkness of the closed rolling shutters while the root of his ’eye-lid immobility’, namely the unnerving patter of the rain and the noise of the rolling shutters would not be ending or suppressed. Which meant that there was not the slightest bit of a chance for him to look forward to a friendly daybreak with sunshine.

So what to do with a Sunday like this one in the pre-Christmas time where he had almost miraculously been freed of all obligations, since he did neither have to visit an old aunt nor friends who lived anywhere closer than a hundred kilometres away. And Gerlinde, lying next to him, too, did not seem to be anywhere near waking up. Instead, judging by the noise she made, she was still deep in slumber and dreaming of SCUBA-diving in the Red Sea or the Dead Sea?

At such conditions, no normal person – let alone Carl – could be expected to unwrap himself from his beautifully warm bed: after all, the sum of all the threatening evil of this probably dawning morning had the sole purpose of making his already – due to low blood pressure – bad morning mood even worse.

Who could and would take responsibility for that? , thought Carl with still heroically closed eyes while he rolled from left to right on his bed with rather little elegance and accompanied by plenty of moaning. However, this last motion was immediately corrected because his snoring Gerlindy, to his total surprise, also turned towards him, blowing a gust the strength of six to eight directly into his face in the process. It really sounded like she actually needed to free her mouth of the salty sea water.

After having returned to his original position, Carl rested irresolutely for quite a while, strictly sticking to his self-chosen darkness. He was wondering if it might be a good idea to go back to sleep or if it was perhaps already time to prepare breakfast.

In fact, there was a tricky idea trying to find its way into his already neurally activated brain cells: should he maybe, now that we were in the middle of advent time, just for once and for the first time ever, prepare Sunday breakfast? This would mean he could present the surprise of the century to a still industriously snoring Gerlinde at the very moment she would be surfacing both from slumber and from the warm floods of the Red Sea. Said surprise being a beautifully laid breakfast table by yours truly that contained all the morning delicacies she liked every morning, including her beloved strong coffee…

What a great inspiration and fantastic display of his love towards his always hard-working Gerlinde who had started going back to work half a year ago and appreciated every help at home so much more. Yes – even regardless of his still reduced operating mode, he recognized a sudden growth of a tiny plant of enthusiasm. It was accompanied by a touching warmth that not only spread in his head but also started to tentatively envelop all his extremities…
It was a beautiful feeling!

In fact, it was an extremely beautiful feeling! It was inspiring and stimulating – but also just a little worrying – found Carl if he was totally honest with himself and also if he did not close his eyes before the fact that, with all this enthusiasm, he found it rather hard to keep his eyes closed!

And this was not all!

All of a sudden, he also had the alarming feeling that something unknown and alien started growing inside him. It pushed and pulled him. It felt like an ugly parasite draining him of his strength and drinking it all up.
That was not nice! It was not nice at all!

Carl felt with immediate precision: if he now were to give in to these unsettling powers, then the night would be over and the perhaps already dawning morning with it. That was something he could not at all allow to happen, thought Carl. And above all, it was not advisable for him to now open his eyes and at long last fall into this second darkness that always was such a problem for him and that always left him extremely depressed …

The only thing that promised help in this situation was his second pillow! As always, his snoring Gerlinde had assumed possession of it. So he grabbed it back quite unceremoniously. And even while he, as so often, wrapped it around his head, he started counting tonelessly to himself – and when he reached number three-thousand-eight-hundred-and-seventy, he was actually asleep!

The only thing that eventually woke a Carl who felt reborn were Gerlinde’s energetic twice uttered summons from the kitchen: “Breakfast is waiting”.

Comfortable yawning and stretching in all directions, he was visibly content about having manfully resisted this more than alarming breakfast threat with all its foreseeable consequences for the future.

Now Carl felt he could actually face the second darkness and opened his eyes with a smile …

KH
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Klaus Hnilica
Dienstag, der 5. Dezember 2017

Die zweite Finsternis

Carl und Gerlinde (Folge 55)

Als Carl aufwachte und quälend langsam zu sich fand, schienen die ersten rudimentären Wahrnehmungen seines noch nicht gänzlich betriebsbereiten Körpers das Öffnen der Augen weiterhin hartnäckig zu unterbinden!

Ja, die synchron mit den herangepeitschten Regenschauer scheppernden Rollläden schoben sogar den üblichen Vorgang der Tagwache bereits zum x-ten Mal auf einen späteren Zeitpunkt, da er trotz seiner nur partiell aktivierten Großhirnrinde zu ahnen schien, dass sich beim Öffnen seiner Augen keinesfalls ein erfreulicher Zustand darbot, sondern lediglich die durch geschlossene Augen hergestellte Finsternis in die zweite Finsternis der herabgelassenen Rollläden übergeführt würde, während die eigentliche Ursache seiner ‚Lidstarre’, nämlich das enervierende Regengeklatsche und Geschepper des Rollladens, in keiner Weise abgestellt oder unterdrückt wurde und für ihn somit nicht die geringste Chance bestand, mit einem freundlichen Tagesbeginn bei Sonnenschein rechnen zu können.

Was also tun an einem Sonntag wie diesen im Advent, der ihn wie durch ein Wunder von sämtlichen Verpflichtungen befreit hatte, da weder im Umkreis von hundert Kilometern eine alte Tante oder Freunde besucht werden mussten, noch Gerlinde neben ihm aufzuwachen gedachte, sondern nach der Geräuschkulisse zu schließen, im Tiefschlaf weiter in ihren verträumten Tauchgängen im Roten oder Toten Meer vor sich hin schnorchelte?

Unter derartigen Umständen konnte sich kein normaler Mensch – und schon gar nicht Carl – freiwillig aus seinem herrlich warmen Bettchen schälen: verfolgten doch alle sich abzeichnenden Widrigkeiten eines möglicher Weise schon heraufziehenden Morgens einzig und allein das Ziel, die durch niedrigen Blutdruck bedingte ohnehin beschissene morgendliche Laune noch beschissener zu gestalten.

Wer konnte und wollte das denn verantworten?, dachte Carl mit immer noch heroisch geschlossenen Augen, während er sich unelegant stöhnend in seinem Bette von links nach rechts wälzte, dies aber gleich korrigierte, da sein schnorchelndes Gerlindchen völlig unerwartet sich ebenfalls ihm zudrehte und ihm eine Böe der Stärke sechs bis acht ins Gesicht prustete, gerade so, als müsste sie ihren Mund tatsächlich vom salzigen Meerwasser befreien.

Wieder in der ursprünglichen Ausgangslage zurück, verweilte Carl, unter Aufrechterhaltung seiner selbst gewählten Finsternis, eine ganze Weile unentschlossen bei dem Gedanken, ob er versuchen sollte noch einmal einzuschlafen, oder ob es schon an der Zeit sein könnte das Frühstück zuzubereiten.

Ja es schlich sich sogar der vermaledeite Gedanke in eine seiner bereits neuronal aktivierten Gehirnwindungen, ob er ausnahmsweise jetzt in der Adventszeit es erstmalig wagen sollte, sich an die sonntägliche Frühstückszubereitung zu machen, um so seiner nach wie vor emsig schnorchelnden Gerlinde bei erwachendem Auftauchen aus den warmen Fluten des Roten Meeres die Überraschung des Jahrhunderts präsentieren zu können, nämlich einen von ihm höchst persönlich arrangierten, prächtig gedeckten Frühstücktisch mit allen von ihr gewünschten morgendlichen Leckereien einschließlich ihres geliebten kräftigen Kaffees…

Was für eine großartige Eingebung und herrlicher Liebesbeweis gegenüber seiner tatkräftigen Gerlinde, die nun schon seit einem halben Jahr auch wieder berufstätig war und jede Art von Entlastung zuhause umso mehr schätzte. Ja – Carl entdeckte sogar trotz seiner immer noch reduzierten Betriebsbereitschaft, dass plötzlich in ihm ein zartes Pflänzchen von Begeisterung aufzukeimen begann, begleitet von einer anrührenden Wärme, die sich nicht nur in seinem Kopf ausbreitete sondern zaghaft auch all seine Gliedmaßen erfasste…

Schön war das!

Sehr schön sogar! Inspirierend und aufbauend – aber auch eine Spur besorgniserregend – fand Carl, wenn er ganz ehrlich mit sich war und auch vor der Tatsache nicht die Augen verschloss, dass er vor Begeisterung zunehmend Schwierigkeiten hatte seine Augen geschlossen zu halten!

Und nicht nur das!

Mit einem Mal hatte er auch das beängstigende Gefühl, dass da etwas Unbekanntes, Fremdes in ihm zu wuchern begann und an ihm zerrte und zog, ja wie ein hässlicher Parasit an seinen Kräften saugte und sich labte.

Das war nicht schön! Gar nicht schön!

Carl spürte präzise und unmittelbar: wenn er jetzt diesen verstörenden Mächten nachgab, war die Nacht gelaufen und der vielleicht schon aufkeimende Morgen auch. Das durfte auf keinen Fall passieren, dachte er. Und schon gar nicht durfte er jetzt die Augen öffnen und doch noch in diese zweite Finsternis fallen, die ihm immer so zusetzte und zu tiefst deprimiert hinterließ…

Das Einzige was da half, war sein zweites Kopfkissen! Wie immer von seiner schnorchelnden Gerlinde in Besitz genommen entzog er es ihr aber jetzt unsanft!  Und noch während er es sich wie schon so oft, gekonnt um den Kopf wickelte, begann er bereits tonlos vor sich hin zu zählen – und war bei Dreitausendachthundertzweiundsiebzig tatsächlich wieder eingeschlafen!

Erst durch Gerlindes energisches zweimaliges Rufen aus der Küche, „Frühstück ist fertig“, wachte Carl wie neugeboren auf. Sich wohlig rekelnd und streckend war er sichtlich zufrieden mit sich, dass er dieser mehr als  verhängnisvollen Frühstücksversuchung mit ihren unabsehbaren Folgen in der Zukunft, mannhaft widerstanden hatte.

Nun fühlte Carl sich auch der zweiten Finsternis gewachsen und öffnete  lächelnd seine Augen…

KH

Kommentar verfassen

*