Klaus Hnilica
Thursday October 20th, 2011

Home-Made Tastes Better …

Carl and Gerlinde (XV)

No – when Carl did some cooking, there was not a dry eye in the house!

Let alone Gerlinde’s eyes! Because nobody could make so many small pieces out of an onion in less time than Carl. For Gerlinde, this was a ritual full of agony: and pain as she asphyxiated, shed rivers of tears and fled! And Carl was left alone in the kitchen!

But this was easy to put up with. After all, he certainly had the knack of cooking his well-loved “baked chicken á la Tuscany”. Had he not been praised for it by many people? And not just by himself …

To be sure, the shrew of an animal first had to be washed and dabbed dry, before it could be subjected to all that butchery with the poultry scissors and the special knives at a distance of three cutting boards. In fact, all the dead hen could counter with was that it boldly lolled there as an eight-part object – next to a hill of dripping fat and piles of bloody kitchen roll and the rubber gloves that had unfortunately suffered some collateral damage…

Then, at long last, the ghastly red chicken parts are sprinkled with salt and pepper, before being thoroughly immersed in flour on a low soup plate – after which procedure they glitter as lily-white as Carl’s floury lower arms.…

Stupid! Each time you have the same problem!


Now it is high time for the olive oil to be poured into the pan – God what a sputtering that was – and find a safe place for the water cooker, before it would turn into an example for Beuys Fat Sculpture. The coffee machine was already looked after, since he had covered it with the usual three kitchen towels in the manner of ‚Christo Camouflage’!

To be sure, it would have been better if he had used a plastic cover for the kitchen floor, but the paper towels he had spread were doing the job just as well! Two rolls of paper towels had made short shrift of the oil orgy on the floor!

But careful – this was slippery!

Being an excellent ice-skater, Carl certainly had no problem with that. Had he actually slipped, it would have been easy for him to perform some figure-scating while at the same time elegantly positioning the pasta pan onto the stove. After all, the home-made pasta nests made from eggs laid by free-running hens were absolutely obligatory when Carl cooked stewed dishes. And his supra-terrestrial sauces were the free-style element. Both taken together – absolutely fit to take part in the Olympic Games!

Incidentally, Hannelore agreed with this judgement – and she adored more about him than just his cooking …

The slightly tanned parts of the ill-treated hen’s upper legs, breast and side were now allowed to rest in another pan inside the oven. In the meantime, Carl fried the onions until they turned glassy in the remaining oil of the old pan, poured minced rosemary over them and packed four well-pressed anchovy filet pieces in between – since there was nothing else classy enough to be found in the fridge! The freshly pressed garlic and the two spoons of custard and creme were also absolutely essential. Finally, Carl sacrificially also added the last tiny drop from the freshly opened bottle of Soave  to the roasting tray into which he had, by way of precaution, transferred the entire dish for cooking …

Yet the dastardy pasta water, again, caused a problem. Just as last time, this extremely bold pot of water chose to overboil so often that the stupid pasta waters preferred meandering across the kitchen floor, instead of nicely boiling inside the pasta pot. For the fraction of a second, Carl – in his misery – actually considered fetching the not currently available rubber boat, before he gave his usual help signal to Gerlinde without false shame. When she came with bucket and washcloth, she not only dried the kitchen floor, but also saved her master cook’s life.…

But it really tasted delicious! Extremely delicious!  Even though the black olives still looked a bit lonely among all the kitchen chaos and the pasta cube in the water pot solidified rather quickly…

Carl was fascinated by the distinctly hot sauce and the truly individual taste! He was in a very good mood as he drank the second bottle of Soave and tried to again remember exactly how much of which ingredient he had used. He never noticed that Gerlinde, totally against her usual habit, cautiously peeled the sauce from her chicken leg before actually heroically letting a few bites disappear in her beautifully made-up mouth …

“Strange – today she did not feel hungry at all“, she was sorry to say. Instead of eating more, she started attacking the totally normal devastation of her kitchen with that all-too-familiar suffering expression of hers. After all, it was not all that easy to stow the 4 pots, 1 roasting tray, 2 frying pans and the pasta sieve, along with 4 plastic containers for waste, one plate with flour, 5 cutting boards of various sizes, the chicken scissors, one garlic presser, two measuring cups, 3 water glasses and one wine glass in the dishwasher. But she managed. There was even room left for the 2 knives, 5 spoons, 3 forks, 3 ladles and 2 stirring spoons.  Well, and the 3 great lumps of wet kitchen paper and pasta made from eggs laid by ecologically kept hens ended up in the biological bin, discreetly thrown in by himself. Except the rubber gloves. And less than an hour later, the kitchen furniture, including the upper part of the cupboard, was again resplendent as ever.…

But six weeks later, when Carl again started talking about his famous “baked chicken á la Tuscany”, his Gerlinde simply tricked him. Incidentally, she had not the slightest inclination to treat her kitchen to another total cleaning. Before he could so much as turn around, she actually put a baked chicken she had made herself onto the table. And it was prepared exactly according to his recipe, this time really with black olives and deliciously buttered pasta!
“Still, it all tastes a liitle shallow, doesn’t it?“, Carl thought to himself after having devoured both legs and one part of the breast.…

Well – and it would probably remain an unsolved riddle even a hundred years from now why an otherwise not lazy Gerlinde had smuggled those strange anchovies into his recipe?

Never mind – it probably was another one of those typical instances where ‚wife thought she can do it just as well’!

How charming…

KH
(Translated by EG)

2 Kommentare zu “Home-Made Tastes Better …”

  1. KH (Thursday October 27th, 2011)

    Thank you Evelyn! This is again a very lively translation! Carl, Gerlinde and me are really under a deep obligation to you.If you agree Carl would like to cook this marvellous baked chicken á la Tuscany just for recompense also for you in your kitchen…

  2. rd (Saturday October 29th, 2011)

    Vielen Dank an Klaus,

    dass er die Übersetzungleistung von Eveyln hier mal explizit würdigt. Evelyn ist phantastisch, wir sind alle sehr glücklich, dass sie dabei ist. Und dank Evelyn haben wir erstaunlich viele Leser aus USA, GB und weiteren Ländern.

    Also – einen ganz großen Dank an Evelyn (EG)!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Klaus Hnilica
Donnerstag, der 20. Oktober 2011

Selbstgekochtes schmeckt besser…

Carl und Gerlinde (XV)

Nein – wenn Carl kochte blieb kein Auge trocken!

Und Gerlindes Augen schon gar nicht! Denn niemand konnte eine Gemüsezwiebel in kürzerer Zeit so kleinteilig zerlegen, wie Carl. Für Gerlinde eine ritualisierte Qual: ein erstickter Aufschrei, bächeweise Tränen, Flucht! Und Carl alleine in der Küche!

Das war aber zu verkraften, da bei seinem heiß geliebten „Schmorhuhn aus der Toscana“ ohnehin jeder Handgriff saß. Schließlich war er schon oft dafür belobigt worden; auch von anderen nicht nur von sich selbst…

Natürlich musste das widerspenstige Vieh erst gewaschen und trocken getupft werden vor dem Gemetzel mit der Geflügelschere und den Spezialmessern über drei Küchenbretter hinweg, dem das tote Huhn nichts anderes entgegenzusetzen hatte, als sich  8-teilig portioniert frech hinzufläzen – neben dem fetttriefenden Hautberg gespickt mit blutigem Küchenpapier und dem unglücklicherweise angeschnittenen Gummihandschuh…

Dann endlich Salz und Pfeffer auf die grausig roten Hühnerteile, bevor sie im tiefen Suppenteller gründlich in Mehl gewendet wurden und lilienweiß strahlten, wie Carls mehlschwere Unterarme…

Blöd! Jedes Mal dasselbe!

Rasch das Olivenöl in die heiße Bratpfanne – Gott  wie das spritzte – und den  Wasserkocher in Sicherheit gebracht, bevor er sich in eine Beuys’sche Fettskulptur verwandeln konnte. Die Kaffeemaschine mit den üblichen drei Geschirrtüchern nach ‚Christomanier verhüllt’, war schon versorgt!

Für den Küchenboden wär eine Plastikfolie effektiver gewesen, aber das großflächig ausgelegte Küchenpapier tat es auch! Mit zwei Rollen war die Ölorgie am Boden ruckzuck gebannt!

Doch Vorsicht – Rutschgefahr!

Carl als ausgezeichneten Eisläufer focht das nicht an. Jeden Ausrutscher im Olivenöl hätte er geschickt mit einem Doppelaxel abgefangen und dabei immer noch elegant den Nudelwassertopf auf die Herdplatte gezaubert, denn die Hausmacher Nudelnester mit Eiern aus der Freilaufbodenhaltung gehörten bei Carl zur Pflicht bei seinen Schmorgerichten und seine überirdischen Soßen waren die Kür; beides zusammen – reif für Olympia!

Das bestätigte übrigens auch Hannelore, die nicht nur seine Kochkünste anbetete…

Die angebräunten Schenkel – , Brust – und Seitenteile des malträtierten Huhns durften in einer weiteren Bratpfanne im Backrohr ausruhen, während Carl im rauchenden Restöl der alten Pfanne die Zwiebeln glasig briet, gehackten Rosmarin einstreute und vier fein zerdrückte Sardellenfilets dazupackte, da er sonst nichts Originelles im Kühlschrank vorfand! Auch der frisch gepresste Knoblauch musste sein und die zwei Löffel Senf und Sahne. Und den letzten winzigen Rest aus der frisch entkorkten Soave  Flasche träufelte Carl auch noch aufopferungsvoll in den Bräter in den er alles vorsorglich für den Schmorvorgang umgeschichtet hatte…

Das hinterhältige Nudelwasser bereitete ihm allerdings schon wieder Schwierigkeiten. Genau wie beim letzten Mal kochte dieser selten dreiste  Wasserpot derart oft über, dass sich die blöden Nudelgewässer lieber auf dem Küchenboden entlang schlängelten,  als im Nudeltopf brav vor sich hin zu köcheln. Für einen winzigen Moment dachte Carl in seiner Not sogar an das leider nicht einsatzbereite Schlauchboot, bevor er ohne falsche Scham den üblichen Hilferuf an Gerlinde absetzte, die mit Eimer und Lappen nicht nur die Küche trockenlegte, sondern ihrem Meisterkoch auch noch das Leben rettete…

Aber geschmeckt hatte es! Und wie! Wenngleich die schwarzen Oliven immer noch verloren im  Küchenchaos herumstanden und der Nudelklotz im Wassertopf erstaunlich rasch aushärtete…

Carl war begeistert von der diskreten Schärfe der Soße und dem wirklich eigenwilligen Geschmack! Gut gelaunt versuchte er bei der zweiten Flasche Soave sich noch einmal haargenau an die einzelnen Mengen der Zutaten zu erinnern, ohne zu merken, dass Gerlinde, ganz gegen ihre Gewohnheit, mit dem Messer vorsichtig die Soße von ihrem Hühnerschenkel streifte, bevor sie heroisch doch ein paar Bissen in ihrem hübsch geschminkten Mäulchen verschwinden ließ…

„Komisch – sie habe heute überhaupt keinen Appetit“, klagte sie entschuldigend und machte sich stattdessen mit der nur allzu bekannten Leidensmiene, wortlos über die ganz gewöhnliche Verwüstung ihrer Küche her: schließlich waren 4 Töpfe, 1 Bräter, 2 Bratpfannen und das große Nudelsieb keine Kleinigkeit, und die 4 Plastikgefäße für Abfälle, ein Teller mit Mehl, 5 Küchenbretter unterschiedlicher Größe, die Geflügelschere, eine Knoblauchpresse, zwei Messbecher, 3 Gläser und ein Weinglas auch gar nicht mehr so leicht in der Spülmaschine unterzubringen, aber es ging, selbst die 2 Messer, 5 Löffel, 3 Gabeln, 2 Schöpfer und  2 Kochlöffeln fanden noch Platz; na ja und die 3 großen Klumpen nasses Küchenpapier, Hühnerhaut und Nudeln aus bodennaher Haltung versenkte sie lautlos wie üblich in der Biotonne, allerdings ohne die zerfledderten Gummihandschuhe. Und die Küchenmöbel, einschließlich der oberen Schrankpartie, strahlten in einer knappen Stunde auch schon wieder in altem Glanz…

Aber als Carl nach sechs Wochen aufs Neue mit seinem gefürchteten „Schmorhuhn aus der Toskana“ anfing, wurde er von Gerlinde schlicht ausgetrickst, da diese keinerlei Lust verspürte ihre Küche schon wieder einer Totalreinigung zu unterziehen: ehe er sich versah, stellte sie ihm nämlich ein von ihr zubereitetes Schmorhuhn auf den Tisch und zwar exakt nach seiner Rezeptur und diesmal wirklich mit schwarzen Oliven und köstlich gebutterten Nudeln!

„Trotzdem schmeckt alles irgendwie fad“, dachte Carl als er bereits die beide Schenkel und ein Brustteil intus hatte…

Tja – und warum seine sonst nicht untüchtige Gerlinde diese eigenartigen Sardellen in seine Rezeptur geschwindelt hatte, blieb wohl noch in Hundert Jahren ein ungelöstes Geheimnis?

Na ja –  war halt wieder einmal so ein typischer Fall von:  ‚Frau meint sie kann’ s auch’!

Eigentlich goldig…

KH

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Kommentare zu “Selbstgekochtes schmeckt besser…”

  1. KH (Donnerstag, der 27. Oktober 2011)

    Thank you Evelyn! This is again a very lively translation! Carl, Gerlinde and me are really under a deep obligation to you.If you agree Carl would like to cook this marvellous baked chicken á la Tuscany just for recompense also for you in your kitchen…

  2. rd (Samstag, der 29. Oktober 2011)

    Vielen Dank an Klaus,

    dass er die Übersetzungleistung von Eveyln hier mal explizit würdigt. Evelyn ist phantastisch, wir sind alle sehr glücklich, dass sie dabei ist. Und dank Evelyn haben wir erstaunlich viele Leser aus USA, GB und weiteren Ländern.

    Also – einen ganz großen Dank an Evelyn (EG)!

Kommentar verfassen

*