Klaus Hnilica
Tuesday March 27th, 2018

Saving Money with WHISKY

Carl and Gerlinde (# 58)

No, Carl did not wish to explain yet another time why he and Gerlinde had originally planned going to Tenerife but had then yet again ended up in Lanzarote, from where they had returned home yesterday night!

Gerlinde did not want to say anything on the matter, either: why had Hannelore and Kurt chosen this early Sunday morning during breakfast to invade their privacy, just because Hannelore, again, found it impossible to wait for the fantastic vacation report from Gerlinde? After all, she was eager to convince her Kurt that the Canaries were where they needed to go.

Carl was a little irritated when he asked them if they would like a cup of coffee or if they would prefer the champagne and the salmon appetizers he and Gerlinde had eaten at the “Iberostar Lanzarote Park Hotel“ each morning around this time as their brunch.

Oh – you stayed in the same hotel as last year? Hannelore piped. Gerlinde confirmed it with a tired nod while looking for the champagne glasses, because Carl was actually already on his way to fetch the champagne in the basement. Yes, when Hannelore wanted something he was always eager to please!

Come, Gerlinde, tell us how you liked Lanzarote? What was the weather like? Were the people nice and what about the general atmosphere? We want to know everything in detail, don’t we, Kurt?

Kurt gave a short nod and Gerlinde said: Well – yes – on the whole, it was quite nice!

Well – that does not sound too enthusiastic, does it, grumbled Kurt.

But it was – Carl interrupted while he let the champagne corks pop.

Unfortunately, as soon as the first week was over, I started coming down with this terrible cold. I am still not over it, Gerlinde moaned and, to prove her point, she filled two tissues with what had accumulated in her nose.

And I was cold all the time, Carl grinned while pouring the champagne for everyone.
Are you telling me that it was not as warm and spring-like as you had hoped?, asked Hannelore with her raised champagne glass in her hand.

For the many overweight people, it was certainly warm enough, Carl replied. But for the few normal weight humans, like us, it was not! But now cheers. Here is a toast to you and the fact that we are back home safe.

The constantly blowing cold north wind was really a nuisance this time. Gerlinde moaned with a grand suffering expression that Hannelore obstinately chose to ignore.

Great! – This is why you fly 4,000 kilometres in the direction of Africa, was Kurt’s smug comment. He finished his glass in one go and immediately and provocatively placed it again next to the champagne bottle that still contained a few sips.

There was not a single day when it was possible for her to lie in the sun for more than half an hour, because this stupid wind was always blowing. And she only swam in the pool three times in all these two weeks. Her cold, too, was probably because of this, Gerlinde continued lamenting. After all, now she was in lamenting mode and she noticed how this negative report made Hannelore more and more uncomfortable. But, naturally, she had not been the only one suffering from a cold: even early in the morning when everybody came to eat their breakfast, almost the entire room was filled with coughing and sneezing in all musical pitches when they arrived. And the flight back to Frankfurt, too, had been a single load of running and coughing noses.…

Since Carl, to the pleasure of Hannelore, had refilled the glasses with champagne and was now invitingly lifting his glass, Gerlinde had to interrupt her sneezing report for a short time. This gave Hannelore, after she had swallowed a few hasty sips, the chance to quickly ask the question if they had at least enjoyed nice day trips.

Yes, definitely, said Gerlinde after a long pause during which she, who was still wearing her bathrobe, had been swaying her upper body in both directions and taking small sips from her glass!

Immediately after arrival, they had booked this much-recommended and grandiose trip to the fantastic small fisher island ’La Graziosa’ in the north of Lanzarote for Wednesday: it was only 60€ per person and included lunch, the bus transfer from the hotel, the ride to the romantic harbour of Órzola and from there, with a catamaran, through the so-called Rio to the island of La Graziosa!

Unfortunately, however, it rained on this wonderful Wednesday, which scarcely ever happened, moaned Gerlinde. She asked Carl for a refill and also pointed out that the otherwise normal wind had grown into a veritable storm on this day, which meant that they could not stay on deck and that an extra glass bottom boat had to be commissioned to accommodate all the tourists who wanted to stay dry. After the meal on La Graziosa, they decided against another sightseeing tour of the island in the rain and instead cruised around the island with both ships through this deathly swell – after all, there are 6,000 kilometres of Atlantic Ocean directly behind Graziosa. As a result, she had to throw up all the time and even Carl was only just able to walk upright by the end of the tour.

After this short report, Gerlinde needed another glass of champagne and then sank down on her chair in a state of exhaustion. Carl finally took advantage of this opportunity to say something and added that, after this adventure, each of them had stood under the showers for half an hour in order to get a little warm again. Later, thank God, the unexpected happened – which saved the vacation …

And what unexpected event are you talking about? Hannelore eagerly asked with new hope in her eyes.

Well – I am not sure if I should tell? What do you think Gerlinde?
She did not care, muttered Gerlinde, all she wanted was another glass of champagne.

This is the fourth already, Carl noticed with some worry.

So – what?

Well, I was only mentioning it, he said while refilling the glass.

Incidentally, after the successful trip, their general state had been rather similar to the state Gerlinde was now in, Carl said to Hannelore and Kurt. And without further thought, they had then drunk all the four small bottles of Whisky from the mini-bar in order to sink into their beds with a minimum degree of content.…

However, the rude awakening came on the next morning when they discovered that the price for every one of those minuscule 5cl bottles of Whisky was 9.90€. This means that those four ridiculous bottles of Whisky – none contained more than what you could swallow with four mouthfuls – cost – 39.60 €! Well, this was certainly something you needed to give time to sink in, he moaned.

This is certainly not a bad profit for the hotel, Kurt – suddenly wide awake – commented!
And Gerlinde also moaned in her chair. However, her renewed call for champagne was no longer satisfied.

Instead, Carl told Hannelore that, naturally, nobody was going to treat him to such fraudulent rip-off. A short visit to the supermarket clarified the Whisky situation: the 75cl bottle of exactly the same brand was 15.85 €.

Even Kurt knew immediately what needed to be done. Consequently, he nodded when Carl, not without a certain degree of pathos, declared that he and Gerlinde spent the remaining 10 days of their vacation consuming 10 bottles of Whisky. Which meant that, after deduction of the acquisition costs, they had actually generated a plus of no less than 1,325.- € – as you could easily calculate yourself!

Ahhhh – Hannelore suddenly giggled, now it dawned on her: so that is what Gerlinde meant when she said that, all in all, you had been quite satisfied with your vacation!
Yes, that was probably what she meant, Carl confirmed since Gerlinde by then had gone to sleep in her chair. Apparently, the champagne had done its job!

And maybe the champagne had also helped Kurt who, without sounding any louder at all and with an air of self-evidence, suddenly said that, if such a potential for economizing was apparent, he could easily imagine spending a vacation on the Canary Islands.…

KH
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Klaus Hnilica
Dienstag, der 27. März 2018

Sparmodell WHISKY

Carl und Gerlinde (Folge 58)

Nein Carl beabsichtigte nicht jetzt noch einmal zu erklären, warum er und Gerlinde zwar ursprünglich nach Teneriffa wollten, dann aber doch wieder in Lanzarote gelandet waren und von da erst gestern Nacht heim kamen!

Gerlinde wollte dazu auch nichts sagen: warum mussten Hannelore und Kurt sie auch schon am frühen Sonntagmorgen während des Frühstücks überfallen, nur weil Hannelore wieder einmal nicht erwarten konnte, einen weiteren fantastischen Urlaubsbericht von Gerlinde zu hören, um ihren Kurt endlich auf die Kanarischen Inseln zu bringen.

Leicht genervt fragte Carl, ob sie eine Tasse Kaffe möchten oder gleich den Sekt und die Lachshäppchen, die er und Gerlinde im „Iberostar Lanzarote Park Hotel“ jeden Morgen um diese Zeit als kleinen Brunch einzunehmen pflegten.

Oh – ihr ward wieder im gleichen Hotel wie letztes Jahr? flötete Hannelore, was Gerlinde nur mit einem müden Nicken bestätigte, während sie sich um die Sektgläser kümmerte, da Carl tatsächlich schon in den Keller nach dem Sekt gesprintet war. Ja – wenn’s um Hannelore ging, war er flott!

Komm erzähl doch Gerlinde, wie war’s denn in Lanzarote? Wie war das Wetter? Wie die Leute und die Stimmung? Wir wollen alles haarklein wissen, gell Kurt?

Kurt nickte knapp und Gerlinde sagte, Gott – ja –  alles in allem war’s schon schön!

Na – das klingt ja nicht grad begeistert, brummte Kurt.

Oh – doch ging Carl dazwischen und ließ die Sektkorken knallen.

Leider hatte ich halt gleich nach der ersten Woche diese blöde Erkältung an der ich immer noch herumlaboriere, stöhnte Gerlinde und rotzte zur Bestätigung gleich zwei Tempotaschentücher voll.

Und ich hab’ dauernd gefroren! grinste Carl, während er reihum Sekt einschenkte.

Heißt das, dass es nicht so warm und frühlingshaft war, wie ihr das erwartet habt? fragte Hannelore schon mit dem Sektglas in der Hand.

Für die vielen Dicken schon, feixte Carl, aber für die wenigen Normalgewichtigen wie wir, nicht! Aber jetzt Prost ihr Lieben, auf Euch und uns und dass wir wieder heil zuhause sind.

Der ständige kalte Nordwind war echt blöd dieses Mal, stöhnte Gerlinde mit grandioser Leidensmiene, die Hannelore hartnäckig ignorierte.

Na toll! – deswegen fliegt man 4000 km Richtung Afrika, meinte Kurt süffisant. Er trank sein Glas in einem Zug leer und platzierte es auffordernd gleich wieder neben die Sektflasche, in der noch ein paar Schluckchen drinnen waren.

Länger als eine halbe Stunde habe sie keinen Tag in der Sonne liegen können, wegen dieses blöden Windes. Und nur drei Mal sei sie im Pool geschwommen in den zwei Wochen. Wahrscheinlich habe sie sich da auch die Erkältung geholt, jammerte Gerlinde weiter, da sie schon einmal am Jammern war und sie merkte wie Hannelore dieser Negativbericht immer mehr zusetzte. Aber natürlich war sie mit ihrer Erkältung nicht alleine: schon morgens im Frühstücksraum hustete und schnupfte fast der gesamte Saal in allen Tonlagen, wie ein fein abgestimmter Kirchenchor, wenn sie ankamen, und auch das Flugzeug zurück nach Frankfurt war eine einzige Ladung triefender und hustender Rotznasen gewesen…

Da Carl zu Hannelores Glück wieder frischen Sekt nachgeschenkt hatte und animierend sein Glas hob, musste Gerlinde ihren ‚Rotzreport’ kurz unterbrechen, was Hannelore die Gelegenheit gab, nach ein paar hastigen Schlückchen schnell die Frage einzuwerfen, ob sie wenigstens schöne Ausflüge gemacht hätten.

Ja das schon, meinte Gerlinde nach einer längeren Pause, in der sie, immer noch im Morgenrock, bedächtig ihren Oberkörper hin und her wiegte und an ihrem Glas nippte!

Gleich zu Beginn hätten sie für Mittwoch diesen mehrfach empfohlenen grandiosen Ausflug zu der traumhaften kleinen Fischerinsel ‚La Graziosa’ im Norden von Lanzarote gebucht: 60€ pro Person, mit Mittagessen, Busabholung vom Hotel, Fahrt zum romantischen Hafen Órzola und von da mit einem Katamaran durch den so genannten Rio zur Insel La Graziosa!

Leider regnete es an diesem wunderbaren Mittwoch aber, was selten genug vorkommt, stöhnte Gerlinde und bat Carl, ihr nochmals nachzuschenken, und der sonst übliche Wind hatte sich an diesem Tag auch zu einem veritablen Stürmchen ausgewachsen, so dass man sich überhaupt nicht an Deck aufhalten konnte und deshalb noch ein Glasbodenboot dazu genommen werden musste, um alle Ausflügler trocken unterzubringen. Nach dem Essen auf La Graziosa wurde im Regen aber auf eine weitere Besichtigung der Insel verzichtet und statt  dessen bei wahnwitzigem Seegang – da hinter Graziosa ja 6000 km Atlantischer Ozean liegen – die Insel mit beiden Schiffen umfahren. Dies mit dem Ergebnis, dass sie ununterbrochen kotzen musste und selbst Carl am Ende der Umschiffung sich auch kaum mehr auf den Beinen halten konnte.

Gerlinde brauchte nach diesem Kurzbericht ein weiteres Glas Sekt und sank erschöpft in ihrem Stuhl in sich zusammen, während Carl endlich  auch das Wort ergreifen konnte und ergänzte, dass jeder von ihnen beiden nach diesem Abenteuer eine halbe Stunde unter der heißen Dusche gestanden habe, um einigermaßen wieder warm zu werden. Danach sei aber Gott sei’s gedankt, das Unerwartete passiert, was diesen Urlaub noch rettete…

Und was war das für ein unerwartetes Ereignis? fragte Hannelore neugierig mit neuer Hoffnung in den Augen.

Tja  – ich weiß nicht, ob ich das verraten soll? Was meinst du Gerlinde?

Ihr wäre das egal brummelte Gerlinde, sie möchte nur ein weiteres Glas Sekt.

Das Vierte! stellte Carl leicht besorgt fest.

Na  – und?

Ich sag’s ja nur, hauchte er und schenkte nach.

In einem ähnlichen Zustand, wie jetzt Gerlinde wären sie beide nämlich nach dem gelungen Ausflug auch gewesen, sagte Carl dann zu Hannelore und Kurt. Und ohne nachzudenken hätten sie damals in einem Rutsch hintereinander alle vier kleinen Fläschchen Whisky aus der Minibar weggeschluckt, um einigermaßen zufrieden in ihre Bettchen zu sinken…

Das böse Erwachen kam allerdings am nächsten Morgen, als sie entdeckten, dass eines dieser winzigen 5cl-Fläschen Whisky mit 9.90€  berechnet wurde, was bedeutete, dass sie für diese läppischen vier Fläschchen Whisky – die nicht mehr als vier große Schluck waren – 39.60 € löhnen mussten! Das müsse man sich einmal auf der Zunge zergehen lassen, stöhnte er.

Keine schlechte Rendite für das Hotel stellte – plötzlich hellwach –  der gute Kurt fest!

Und Gerlinde stöhnte in ihrem Stuhl auch auf! Ihr neuerlicher Wunsch nach Sekt wurde allerdings nicht mehr erfüllt.

Stattdessen sagte Carl zu Hannelore, dass man so eine Abzocke natürlich mit ihm nicht machen könnte. Eine kurze Überprüfung der Whisky– Situation im nahen Supermarkt zeigte ihm nämlich, dass dort ein 75cl Fläschchen der gleichen Marke gerade einmal 15.85 € kostete.

Selbst Kurt war mit einem Mal klar, was da zu tun war! Und so nickte er bei jedem Wort bestätigend mit dem Kopf, als Carl, nicht ohne einem gewissen Pathos, verkündete, dass er und Gerlinde daraufhin im Laufe der restlichen 10 Urlaubstage schlicht und ergreifend einfach 10 Flaschen Whisky zusammen weg geschluckt hätten und dadurch nach Abzug der Beschaffungskosten sage und schreibe 1325.- € erwirtschafteten, wie jedermann leicht nachrechnen könne!

Ahhhh – kicherte Hannelore plötzlich, jetzt gehe ihr ein Licht auf: das meinte also Gerlinde, als sie sagte, ihr seid alles in allem doch zufrieden gewesen mit euerem Urlaub!

Ja das meinte sie wohl, bestätigte Carl, da Gerlinde inzwischen auf ihrem Stuhl sanft entschlummert war. Der Sekt tat wohl seine Wirkung!

Und vielleicht half bei Kurt auch der Sekt nach, als er ohne seine Stimme anzuheben mit größter Selbstverständlichkeit plötzlich sagte, dass er sich bei einem derartigen Sparpotential einen Urlaub auf den Kanaren auch gut vorstellen könnte…

KH

Kommentar verfassen

*