Klaus Hnilica
Thursday August 29th, 2013

What a Nuisance – This D..ed Trolley?

Carl and Gerlinde (XXXIII)

Well –  Dr. Osterkorn refused to let Carl take his vacation, even though he had already officially countersigned the application!

No –  in August, leading personnel had never been able to go on vacation: Carl himself knew well enough that TRIGA always came up with their new spring collection during those weeks. And this time, it was even going to be the entire underwear collection – not just the ladies lingerie and dessous, said Dr. Osterkorn.

ZEimg085Since Miriam Braun was still away on maternity leave, he, Carl, was, of course, doubly and triply in demand! The formerly countersigned application had been a misunderstanding and was void as of now, said Dr. Osterkorn, alias Bernie, Carl might as well stick it on his head, or wherever he wished!

”Why don’t you send your Gerlinde by herself, or with a girl-friend keeping a watchful eye over her”, he added with a wink when he saw the disappointment in Carl’s face.

”But you certainly cannot go anywhere right now, I need you!“, he whispered in Carl’s ear before sending him on his way with a hard yet friendly gaze into his blue eyes and a handshake during which Carl never showed any emotion on his face. After all, he knew that the numbness he would soon feel in his right hand would, as usual, disappear within the next two days all by itself…

And in fact, Carl was actually lucky! Hannelore agreed immediately to take over for him. Without a single second of hesitation, she hopped about with joy for having to sacrifice herself and fly to Mallorca with Gerlinde, there to stay in the comfortable Finca near Cala Mayor which Carl had secretly booked weeks ago as a surprise for Gerlinde. So this had not been a problem at all – which meant that Bernie actually had been correct in a dodgy way!

And this evening, they would both return! Carl was waiting for them at the Central Station, platform 1: arrival time 20 hours 05 minutes!

What a pleasant surprise – the S-Bahn train from the airport was only 22 minutes late! Apparently, the railway was now on the right path: just a year ago, he and Gerlinde had come in almost an hour late when returning from Mallorca.

God – but weren’t you glad if, during the summer months, there were any trains at all left to run through Central Station? And standing around waiting for between half an hour and 45 minutes was, after all, absolutely acceptable, wasn’t it? Basically, there was no huge difference between wasting time navigating between the potholes on the streets and getting lost on the draughty platform, was there?

Indeed, it was also quite interesting – when the railway planning team designed the glass-topped seats at the end of platform 1, they had actually done some useful thinking – that you were within visual reach of the video cameras if you were subjected to an attack in the evening! What a positive approach for a change!

Currently, a coloured person was sitting in the glass housing. He was reading a book! His black trolley was also standing next to the glass wall. Quite visible!

Other than that, hardly anyone was to be seen on the platform at this time of day: a young guy laboured with pushing his bike up the stairs from the underpass, and on the bank not far from where Carl stood, a pretty blonde with long, deliciously brown legs ate a hamburger which actually stood no chance against her energetic personality.

Carl aimlessly strolled along the platform. When he turned, he saw the coloured man get up and walk towards the stairs while still reading his book and continuing to read during his hurried descent of the stairs towards the underpass. He left the black trolley sitting there all by itself!

Well – what trust was this? – thought Carl and walked towards the trolley. Suddenly, he stopped! He looked round – but there was no longer any trace of the coloured owner; he had actually gone missing from his luggage!

Down in the underpass, there was no trace of him either, at least as far as Carl could see from the top of the steps. But then, maybe the luggage had not belonged to him at all, thought Carl. The trolley might well already have been sitting there when he came reading his book and sitting down under the glass protection. Now Carl was two metres from the trolley.

This was definitely some strange situation, wasn’t it?

He was wondering if he should tell some official about this unattended piece of luggage? But where? And whom?

In this particular case, it was nowhere near as easy as it looked.

After all, these days there were no railway employees you could talk to at the station: they might even have made fun of him? The other passengers, too, did not seem to be worried at all by the deserted trolley. Mind you, now the platform got more and more crowded: even a few families with children came up the stairs. …

Carl decided to wait!

As a precaution, he not only increased the distance between himself and the black trolley, but also tried to get more protective mass between himself and this potential explosive. But all the mass to be found on the platform were a few display boards, banks and some beams holding the roof. That was all the mass you could get!

The way down the steps, however, was massive. You could reasonably look for protection there! But then, what if the trolley was going to explode at the very moment Gerlinde and Hannelore were arriving on their S-Bahn train?

It would arrive in ten minutes! What a pity that time flew so fast! They had never announced anything about another delay. Typical for the railway! Now of all times, they were on time! They always chose the wrong moment.

To be sure, Carl felt quite safe standing behind the descent building. But his worries increased as he saw how the platform filled up with more and more people.

This was definitely not the sort of protective mass he had been wishing for!

Why on earth did nobody steal this stupid trolley?

Where were the hordes of luggage thieves you always had to be afraid of? This here was definitely a place where they could have made themselves useful.

What about the video screening?

Why was there no reaction from the railway supervision?

There were true deficits in those anonymous public spaces of today – manifesting themselves quite distinctly, thought Carl. And time went by mercilessly: in no more than four minutes, the delayed S-Bahn train would be arriving – and then catastrophe would hit …

Carl grew more and more nervous. He chewed his lower lip and had to wipe the saliva from the corners of his mouth several times. Beads of perspiration were building up on his forehead and his hands grew sticky.

Maybe he should call Gerlinde on her cell phone and advise her to continue on her way, under no circumstances to exit at this station?

But how to give a reason without looking totally stupid? Apparently, nobody else on the entire platform shared his suspicions. Was he really the only far-sighted person here?
The only one foreseeing the catastrophe?

Two more minutes, and the S-Bahn train would arrive!

Carl quickly ran down the stairs. Since there was nothing he could do anyway, he wanted at least to bring himself to safety. The underpass provided excellent protection. That was certainly why the coloured Djhadist had run down here with his Koran. Naturally!

All of a sudden, the scales fell from Carl’s eyes! Within seconds, everything fell into place and Carl was in the middle of the infernal events: in fact, he already tripped over numerous mutilated dead and injured persons, he took notice of the bodies, so torn you could no longer identify them; they were thrown through the air like catapults. He ducked away from this grizzly hill of broken arms and legs that wriggled about like greedy fish in an ocean of blood, snatching after severed heads which bounced back from colliding concrete lumps like cracking tennis balls. – And only afterwards – when an eternity had gone by – the ear-splitting detonation of the all-triggering explosion shattered his ears. What followed was an eerily resonating clang of breaking iron beams, along with a ghostly white dust cloud which covered everything, transforming it into a beautiful white winter scenery…

Carl ran the last metres towards the exit of the railway station – after all, he was in shape, wasn’t he? From the outside, it was also far easier for him to give sensible assistance in this chaos when it came to disposing of the corpses and injured bodies. That would give him the opportunity to devote all his strength to helping with the cleaning work that would soon begin …

At this very moment, the S-Bahn train must be arriving!  God, what an eloquent silence!

Motionless, Carl stood near the exit! He was incapable of even the slightest movement. Pale as a corpse, he stared at the concourse, fearing to be sick at any moment.…

Apparently, the first passengers from the S-Bahn train, too, were already reaching the exit area! Then, suntanned and giggling, Gerlinde and Hannelore came with their black trolleys. …

Carl felt something explode in his chest! Totally exulted and breathless, he flew towards them, embracing them, kissing them and pressing them to him among thousands of apologies for the terrible traffic jam he had been in …

KH
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Klaus Hnilica
Donnerstag, der 29. August 2013

Verdammt – dieser Trolley?

Carl und Gerlinde (XXXIII)

Ja – Dr. Osterkorn verweigerte Carl den bereits genehmigten Urlaub!

Nein – im August gab es für Führungskräfte noch nie Urlaub: Carl wüsste doch selbst nur zu gut, dass TRIGA um diese Zeit immer die neue Frühjahrskollektion verabschiedet! Und dieses Mal sogar die gesamte Wäschekollektion – nicht nur Damenunterwäsche und Dessous, sagte Dr. Osterkorn.

ZEimg085Da Miriam Braun noch immer Karenzurlaub hatte, war er, Carl, natürlich doppelt und dreifach gefragt! Die versehentlich ausgesprochene Urlaubsbewilligung wär’ wirkungslos, sagte Dr. Osterkorn, alias Bernie, die könne Carl sich an den Hut oder sonst wohin stecken!

„Schick doch deine Gerlinde alleine los, oder mit einer Freundin, die auf sie aufpasst“, ergänzte er augenzwinkernd, als er in Carls enttäuschtes Gesicht schaute.

„Du fährst mir jedenfalls jetzt nicht fort, dich brauche ich!“ raunte er Carl noch zu, bevor er ihn mit einem festen, freundschaftlichen Blick in dessen blauen Augen entließ und mit einem Händedruck verabschiedete, bei dem Carl keine Miene verzog, weil er wusste, dass das gleich einsetzende Taubheitsgefühl in der rechten Hand nach zwei Tagen üblicherweise von selbst abklang…

Und Carl hatte sogar Glück! Hannelore war sofort bereit für ihn einzuspringen. Ohne auch nur einen Augenblick zu zögern nahm sie freudig hüpfend das Opfer auf sich, mit Gerlinde nach Mallorca in die gemütliche Finca bei Cala Mayor zu fliegen, die Carl schon vor Wochen heimlich gebucht hatte, um Gerlinde zu überraschen. Das war also überhaupt kein Problem gewesen, da hatte Bernie auf eine vertrackte Weise Recht gehabt!

Und heute Abend kamen beide zurück! Carl erwartete sie am Hauptbahnhof, Gleis 1: Ankunftszeit 20 Uhr 05!

Welch freudige Überraschung – die S-Bahn vom Flughafen hatte nur 22 Minuten Verspätung! Die Bahn befand sich offensichtlich auf dem richtigen Kurs: noch vor einem Jahr hatten er und Gerlinde fast eine Stunde Verspätung als sie aus Mallorca zurückkamen.

Gott – man war ja schon zufrieden, wenn während der Sommermonate überhaupt noch ein paar Züge über den Hauptbahnhof geleitet wurden! Und eine halbe oder dreiviertel Stunde herumzustehen, war wirklich zumutbar. Ob man zwischen den Schlaglöchern auf den Straßen die Zeit vertrödelte oder auf dem zugigen Bahnsteig herumirrte, war letztlich egal, oder?

Wie interessant auch – bei dem gläsernen Unterstand über den Sitzbänken am Bahnsteigende von Gleis 1 hatte das Planungsteam der Bahn sogar mitgedacht – da konnte man tatsächlich von der Videoüberwachung erfasst werden, wenn man abends niedergetreten wurde! Das war wirklich einmal ein positiver Aspekt!

Momentan saß ein Farbiger in dem Glasgehäuse, er las in einem Buch! Sein schwarzer Trolley stand an der Glaswand. Auch gut zu sehen!

Sonst war kaum jemand am Bahnsteig um diese Zeit: ein junger Bursche ächzte mit seinem Fahrrad aus der Unterführung die Stiege hoch, und auf der Bank unweit von Carl verschlang eine hübsche Blondine mit langen knusprig braunen Beinen einen riesigen Hamburger, der bei ihrer zupackenden Art keine Chance hatte.

Carl schlenderte ziellos den Bahnsteig entlang. Als er umdrehte, sah er, wie der Farbige im gläsernen Unterstand lesend aufstand, lesend zur Stiege ging und auch weiter las als er zügig über die Treppe nach unten in die Unterführung eilte. Den schwarzen Trolley ließ er mutterseelenallein zurück!

Na – der hat ein Gottvertrauen, dachte Carl und ging auf den Trolley zu. Dann stoppte er plötzlich! Er schaute sich um – aber von dem farbigen Besitzer, war nichts mehr zu sehen; der war tatsächlich seinem Gepäck abhanden gekommen!

Auch unten in der Unterführung keine Spur von ihm, soweit Carl das von der Treppe aus beobachten konnte. Aber vielleicht war das ja auch gar nicht sein Gepäckstück gewesen, dachte Carl. Vielleicht war der Trolley schon dagestanden als er sich lesend in den gläsernen Unterstand gesetzt hatte. Carl stand jetzt zwei Meter vor dem Trolley.

Komisch war das schon!

Er überlegte, ob er das unbeaufsichtigte Gepäckstück melden sollte? Aber wo? Und wem?

So einfach war das im konkreten Fall gar nicht.

Es gab ja nirgends mehr Bahnpersonal, das man ansprechen konnte: vielleicht hätten die ihn sogar ausgelacht? Die anderen Fahrgäste schien der vereinsamte Trolley ja auch nicht zu beunruhigen. Und der Bahnsteig bevölkerte sich jetzt zusehends: auch etliche Familien mit Kindern kamen die Treppe hoch…

Carl beschloss abzuwarten!

Vorsorglich vergrößerte er nicht nur die Entfernung zu dem schwarzen Trolley, sondern versuchte auch mehr schützende Masse zwischen sich und dem potentiellen Explosivkörper zu bringen. Aber auf dem Bahnsteig waren nur Anzeigetafeln, Sitzbänke und ein paar Träger, die das Dach hielten. Mehr Masse war da nicht!

Der Stiegenabgang, der war massiv, dahinter konnte er sinnvoll Schutz suchen! Aber was war, wenn der Trolley gerade explodierte, wenn die S-Bahn mit Gerlinde und Hannelore einfuhr?

In zehn Minuten war es so weit! Schlimm, wie rasend schnell die Zeit verging! Eine weitere Verspätung war nicht mehr angekündigt worden. Typisch Bahn! Jetzt war sie auf einmal pünktlich! Immer zum falschen Zeitpunkt.

Carl fühlte sich zwar hinter dem Abgangsgebäude sicher, sah aber mit immer größerer Sorge, wie sich der Bahnsteig weiter mit Menschen füllte.

Diese Art von schützender Masse hatte er sich nicht gewünscht!

Warum klaute denn niemand diesen blöden Trolley?

Wo waren die Horden von Gepäckdieben, die sonst alles verunsicherten? Endlich hätten sie sich nützlich machen können.

Was war mit der Videoüberwachung?

Warum reagierte von der Bahnaufsicht niemand?

Das waren echt Defizite in diesen anonymisierten öffentlichen Räumen in der heutigen Zeit, dachte Carl. Und die Zeit lief unerbittlich ab: spätestens in 4 Minuten fuhr die verspätete S- Bahn pünktlich ein – und die Katastrophe war da…

Carl wurde immer zappeliger. Er kaute an seiner Unterlippe und wischte sich mehrmals den Speichel aus den Mundwinkeln. Aus seiner Stirn traten Schweißperlen und seine Hände wurden klebrig.

Sollte er nicht

Aber wie sollte er das begründen, ohne sich zur Lachnummer zu machen? Es gab ja offensichtlich niemand auf dem Bahnsteig, der seine Sorge teilte. War er wirklich der einzige Hellsichtige?

Der Einzige der die Katastrophe kommen sah?

Zwei Minuten noch, dann fuhr die S-Bahn ein!

Carl lief rasch die Treppe hinunter. Da er nichts mehr tun konnte, wollte er wenigstens sich in Sicherheit bringen. Die Unterführung bot optimalen Schutz! Drum war der farbige Dschihadist da auch hinuntergeeilt mit seinem Koran. Klaro!

Carl fiel es plötzlich wie Schuppen von den Augen! In Sekundenschnelle fügte sich alles zusammen und Carl war mitten drin im infernalischen Geschehen: stolperte tatsächlich bereits über unzählige  verstümmelte Tote und Verletzte, registrierte die bis zur Unkenntlichkeit zerfetzten Leiber, die wie Geschoße durch die Luft katapultiert wurden, duckte sich weg vor dieser grauenhaften Anhäufung abgerissener Arme und Beine, die gleich gierigen Fischen in einem Meer von Blut herumzappelten und nach den abgetrennten Köpfen schnappten, die wie Tennisbälle knallend von kollidierenden Betonbrocken abprallten – und dann erst – eine Ewigkeit später – dröhnte der ohrenbetäubende Knall der alles auslösenden Explosion in Carls Ohren, begleitet von einem gewaltigen Beben und orkanartigen Getöse, dem ein unheimlich nachhallendes Geschepper berstender Eisenträger folgte, eingebettet in eine gespenstisch helle Staubwolke, die alles Geschehen zudeckte und in eine wundersam weiße Winterlandschaft verwandelte…

Die letzten Meter zum Bahnhof-Ausgang, legte Carl im Laufschritt zurück – er war ja fit! Von außen her konnte er in dem angerichteten Chaos auch viel sinnvoller bei der Bergung der Leichen und der Verwundeten helfen und seine ganze Kraft bei den gleich einsetzenden Aufräumungsarbeiten einbringen..

Die S-Bahn musste in diesem Augenblick einfahren!Gott, was für eine brüllende Stille!

Carl stand regungslos vor dem Ausgang! Unfähig auch nur die kleinste Bewegung auszuführen. Leichenblass starrte er in die Bahnhofshalle und fürchtete jeden Moment sich übergeben zu müssen…

Offensichtlich erreichten auch schon die ersten Fahrgäste aus der S-Bahn den Ausgangsbereich! Dann braungebrannt und kichernd Gerlinde und Hannelore mit ihren schwarzen Trolleys…

Carl spürte, wie irgendetwas in seiner Brust explodierte! Völlig losgelöst flog er atemlos auf die beiden zu, umarmte, küsste und drückte sie und entschuldigte sich tausendmal für den entsetzlichen Stau in dem er gesteckt war…

KH

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*