InterFace_Icon_30Jahre_01-94At InterFace AG, 2014 is dedicated to Galileo Galilei.

The three IF Forum presentations all have the motto:
“Cosmos, Humans and The Turn of an Era”.
We will invite Galilei Galileo to “visit us in the present”.

In the first IF Forum, on February, 27th, Jörg Schindler told us about the “Third Turn of an Era”.  On July, 17th, we welcomed Dr. Stefan Gillessen as our guest. He talked about the cosmos with “Big, Bigger, Sharpest”, where we also heard how he and his colleagues do research in this field. Incidentally, many of the presentations are available on the InterFace AG youtube channel.

On October, 23rd, we will have Thomas De Padova with us. His topic is

ThomasdePadova“The Secret of the World”.

Four hundred years ago, two totally different scientists cross the borders of the then known world. Galileo Galilei takes a good look through his telescope in Venice and discovers the Jupiter moons.

He publishes his spectacular findings in »Der Sternenbote«. In Prague, Johannes Kepler cannot stop reading about Galilei’s observations until the end of the small book, because the observations therein fit perfectly with his theory of planetary laws. An exchange of letters between Kepler and Galilei about the new cosmos develops. This is an exciting expedition of human intellectual ideas – and simultaneously it is the Turn Towards Modern Times.


Thomas de Padova
 (* 1965 in Neuwied on the river Rhine) is a German scientific publicist.

De Padova studied physics and astronomy in Bonn and Bologna. Between 1997 and 2005, he was a scientific writer for the “Tagesspiegel”. After 2005, he started working as a freelance scientific author. De Padova lives in Berlin and has been a member of the “Kuratorium of the Magnus-Haus of the Germany Physicists Association” and a member of the program the Program Committee of Urania since 2006. In January and February 2014, he was the “Journalist in Residence” at the Berlin Max-Planck-Institute for Science History. [Text: from Wikipedia]

Thomas De Padova is also the author of the science book of the year “The Secret of the World – Kepler, Galilei and How the Heavens were Measured”, which was selected best science book in the category natural sciences/technology by 20,000 readers in 2010.

The presentation will be on Thursday, October, 23rd, 2014 at 6.30 p.m. – we will welcome guests from 6 p.m. in the seminar zone of our Unterhaching InterFace AG building.

As usual, you can register by sending an E-Mail. As always, we already look forward to exciting discussions and nice conversation!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

InterFace_Icon_30Jahre_01-942014 ist bei der InterFace AG das Jahr des Galileo Galilei.

Die drei Vorträge im IF-Forum stehen in diesem Jahr unter dem Motto
„Kosmos, Mensch und Zeitenwende“.

Wir lassen Galilei Galileo bei uns „einen Besuch in der Gegenwart“ machen.

Im ersten IF-Forum am 27. Februar hat uns Jörg Schindler von der „dritten Zeitenwende“ berichtet. Am 17. Juli hatten wir Dr. Stefan Gillessen zu Gast. Er hat uns mit „Groß, größer, am schärfsten“ über den Kosmos gesprochen und uns erläutert, wie er mit seinen Kollegen diesen erforscht. Beide Vorträge können übrigens im Youtube-Channel der InterFace AG angeschaut werden.

Am 23. Oktober haben wir Thomas De Padova zu Gast. Sein Thema ist

ThomasdePadova„Das Weltgeheimnis“

Vor 400 Jahren durchbrechen zwei grundverschiedene Forscher die Grenzen der bekannten Welt. Galileo Galilei blickt in Venedig durch sein Fernrohr und entdeckt die Jupitermonde.

Seine aufsehenerregenden Erkenntnisse veröffentlicht er in »Der Sternenbote«. In Prag verschlingt Johannes Kepler das Büchlein, denn Galileis Beobachtungen passen zu seiner Theorie der Planetengesetze. Zwischen Kepler und Galilei entwickelt sich ein Briefwechsel über den neuen Kosmos. Eine spannende Expedition menschlichen Denkens beginnt – und mit ihr die Wende zur Moderne.

Thomas de Padova
(* 1965 in Neuwied am Rhein) ist ein deutscher Wissenschaftspublizist.

De Padova studierte Physik und Astronomie in Bonn und Bologna. Von 1997 bis 2005 war er als Wissenschaftsredakteur beim Tagesspiegel tätig. Seit 2005 arbeitet er als freier Wissenschaftspublizist. De Padova lebt in Berlin und ist dort seit 2006 Mitglied im Kuratorium des Magnus-Hauses der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft und Mitglied im Programmbeirat der Urania. Im Januar und Februar 2014 war er „Journalist in Residence“ am Berlin Max-Planck-Institut für Wissenschaftsgeschichte. [Text aus Wikipedia]

Thomas De Padova ist auch der Autor des Wissenschaftsbuchs des Jahres „Weltgeheimnis – Kepler, Galilei und die Vermessung des Himmels“, das in 2010 unter 20.000 Lesern zum besten Wissenschaftsbuch in der Kategorie Naturwissenschaft/Technik gewählt wurde.

Vortrag findet statt am Donnerstag, den 23. Oktober 2014 um 18:30, der Empfang ist ab 18 Uhr in der Seminarzone der InterFace AG in Unterhaching.

Die Anmeldung auch zu diesem IF-Forum geht wie immer ganz einfach per E-Mail. Wir freuen uns schon auf wie immer spannende Diskussionen und schöne Gespräche!

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*