Currently, there is a lot of fuzzing about going on. There is the attempt at fighting the World Economic Crisis like a bushfire. Much good money is sent after bad, although we do not really have that money.

A gigantic financial experiment is under way, such as the world economy has never seen before. Basically, the result can only be negative. Executing this experiment, we try to preserve antiquated concepts of life with all our might and to promote them with borrowed money.
Why not see a chance in the crisis? Why not focus our energy on reducing the amount of fossil energy we use up?

Wouldn’t it have been a better idea to give people a special premium for declaring their car a wreck and not buying a new one? A BahnCard100 is 3,650 Euros for a year. That is 1,150 Euros more than the wreckage premium. They could have given a BahnCard100 to everybody who said a final good-bye to their old cars.

But no, we ignore the problem that oil is something that is finite and pretend that burning fossil energy will not have consequences. And we waste water in endless quantities without realizing that there is a limit to this precious commodity.

We have convinced ourselves that there are no alternatives to our doubtless decadent way of living. And the word “renunciation” has become a taboo word. Why do we not have the courage to think in new directions and change our habits? Why not renounce convenience for alternative challenges and new experiences?

Our social prompters do not want us to do that, because thinking in alternatives would threaten the traditional turnout. They forget that – quite to the contrary – alternative thinking and change always pave the way for new value creation and business. This is something we all seem to have forgotten. So we are paralyzed by fear of losing property and cling to our possession.

However, voluntary renunciation also helps us to become freer persons. And freedom is the first requirement for personal happiness. But freedom does not mean to follow some pre-defined consumer compulsions. Instead, we should give a little more autonomy back to our “Super-Ego”. It must not heteronomously follow the concepts of life developed by third parties, but should be in accordance with our basic, human requirement.

Freedom means being prepared and able to live your own life with responsibility.

We have to find out what is good for us, instead of relinquishing our lives to the interests of others.

That is why we should not a-priori condemn any ideas about changing our life-style – even if this change might mean quite massive interference in our lives. We should not consider those ideas taboos and exclude them from all our mental concepts and discussions.

RMD
(translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Zurzeit gibt es viel Aktionismus. Man bekämpft die Weltwirtschaftskrise wie einen Brand. Man versucht mit viel Geld den Brand zu löschen. Und hat das Geld gar nicht hat.

So wird ein gigantisches Finanz-Experiment durchgeführt, wie es in der Weltwirtschaft noch nie da war. Und das eigentlich nur schief gehen kann. Bei diesem Experiment wird versucht, überholte Lebensformen mit Gewalt zu erhalten und auf Pump zu fördern.

Warum nutzt man die Krise nicht als Chance? Und konzentriert sich z.B. darauf, den Verbrauch von fossilen Energien zu reduzieren?

Wäre es nicht besser gewesen, den Menschen eine Prämie zu geben, die ein Auto stilllegen und kein neues Kaufen? Eine Bahncard 100 kostet für ein Jahr „nur“ 3.650,- Euro, das sind 1.150 EURO mehr als die Abwrackprämie. So hätte man Auto-Abwrackern auch eine Bahncard 100 geben können.

Aber nein, wir ignorieren das Problem mit der Endlichkeit des Öls und tun so, als ob das Verbrennen von fossilen Energieträgern keine Folgen hätte. Und verschwenden Wasser in ungeheuren Mengen, ohne an den Wert und die Begrenztheit dieses kostbares Gutes zu denken.

Wir haben uns eingeredet, dass unsere zweifelsfrei oft sehr dekadente Art zu Leben ohne Alternativen ist. Und das Wort Verzicht ist zum Tabu geworden. Warum haben wir nicht den Mut, umzudenken und unsere Gewohnheiten zu verändern? Und auf Bequemlichkeit zu verzichten, dafür aber alternative Herausforderungen zu suchen und Neues zu wagen?

Unsere gesellschaftlichen Einflüsterer wollen dies nicht, denn Umdenken würde die traditionellen Umsätze gefährden.  Dabei führen im Gegenteil Umdenken und Veränderung immer zu ganz neuer Wertschöpfung und wirtschaftlichem Leben. Aber das scheinen wir  kollektiv vergessen zu haben und erstarren so in der Angst vor dem Verlust des Wohlstands und klammern uns an der Wahrung unseres Besitzstandes.

Freiwilliger Verzicht hilft uns aber auch freier zu werden. Und Freiheit ist die Voraussetzung für personales Glück. Freiheit heißt aber nicht, vorgegebenen Konsumzwängen zu folgen. Sondern unserem Überich wieder ein wenig Autonomie zu geben. Es darf nicht heteronom den Lebensvorstellungen dritter  folgen, sondern muss wieder mehr mit unseren eigentlichen menschlichem Bedürfnis konform gehen.

Freiheit heißt, willens und fähig sein, das eigenen Leben eigenverantwortlich zu führen.

Wir müssen herausfinden, was für uns gut ist. Und dürfen uns nicht den Interessen dritter ausliefern.

Und deshalb dürfen wir eine Veränderung unseres Lebensstils – auch wenn auf dem ersten Anschein mit schwer wiegenden Eingriffen verbunden – nicht als undenkbar abtun oder als untastbares Tabu aus unseren Denken und unseren Diskussionen ausklammern.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*