Roland Dürre
Sunday November 30th, 2008

Thus Spoke Dr. Zetsche (at TUM on Nov, 26th )

“The Second Carreer of the Automobile” is the topic Dieter Zetsche, managing director of Daimler AG will talk about on November, 26, at 4.30 p.m. at Munich Technical University. Organised by “Handelsblatt Junge Karriere” and TUM under the motto “economic leaders live”, this presentation of one of the most dynamic and well-known representatives of German economy will take place at the Audimax of TU München at 4.30 p.m.. After his talk, Dieter Zetsche will gladly answer students’ questions.

The text is taken from the Portal der TUM (Munich Technical University). It is well worth taking a look at it once in a while. You will find truly interesting announcements and presentations on that homepage. My mentee Michael of Manage&More (unternehmerTUM) made me aware of this announcement, so both of us went to hear the presentation by Dr. Zetsche after our mentee/mentor session. After a short report, I will add some comment of my own:

Following a short and humorous introduction by the president of TUM, the presentation started. I seldom heard a famous economic leader or politician speak as precise and clear as Dr. Zetsche. I liked his presentation very much. In the following paragraphs, I will give a short and simplified version of what he said and include some personal remarks of mine.

In his presentation, Dr. Zetsche gave reasons why he absolutely believes in “The Second Carreer of the Automobile”. He focussed on three words:

  • Emancipation: A car contributes significantly to the emancipation process of a person. It gives independence and mobility, personal freedom is hugely extended through using a car and thus having more mobility. Many people only grow up to be adults through owning their own car. For some of us, personal freedom only started with the VW Beetle. People still living in not-as-emancipated societies as we Middle Europeans therefore strongly desire to own a car as the main step towards progress in their lives. The social and economic rise of Germany can be best described through the metaphor “from the Isetta to the VW Beetle, from the VW Beetle to the Mercedes”. Our society, so Dr. Zetsche, is a model for people in economically less developed countries such as China, India or South America. Even though the market in Europe and the USA is satiated, there is still enormous potential in China, India and South American. The following statistics can serve to prove this assumption: in the USA, every 1,000 people own 700 cars, in China, the same number of people own only 14 cars, and in India only 7. Thus, these countries have a huge potential for catching up. In a few years, there will probably be twice as many cars “populating” the world as there are now.
  • Emotion: Cars are also key products for people attempting to make a public show of their life-style and identity. There is no other consumer good which makes it possible for the owner to define and demonstrate his or her true self and personality in the same way as does the automobile. Cars cause personal identity. This high emotional significance of cars for people will guarantee a future demand for individualized cars in the future. This is why compromises with respect to technical details or differentiation must not be made with future cars.
  • Innovation: To be sure, says Dr. Zetsche, the planet earth cannot cope with twice as many cars with current technology. This problem, however, must and will be solved with innovative technical progress. In the near future, modern automobile designers will supply us with cars that emit less and less. Eventually, the innovation will result in cars totally without emission. Cars will run on hydrogen or electricity, totally emission-free or with vaporized water as their only by-product.

Hoping that I succeeded in repeating Dr. Zetsche’s ideas more or less correctly, I will now start with my own comment:

  • Emancipation: I believe new generations and new countries learn from the mistakes of their predecessors. Although I know that this view of mine is optimistic and that the development up to now in countries like China and India seems to contradict my hope, I still see that more and more people understand that consuming goods is not the equivalent of happiness. And they change their ways, some of their own accord, some because they must. On foot, I am less mobile than by bike, the motorbike has more potential than the bike, by car I can easily travel 250 km per day. Using a private airplane, I can even manage 2,500 km per day. Does my freedom depend on my mobility? Mobility and freedom have nothing in common.
  • Emotion: I, too, am subject to the temptation of defining my personality through the choice of my car (or bike). There was a time when, as a matter of principle, I drove nothing but the latest BMW model (always red) with the strongest motor available (it was only a “3” series car). Once, another BMW driver gave me the approving thumb in front of the Bavarian Staatskanzlei as he saw me in my brand-new, red 325i. That was a really nice feeling. However, I also remember almost getting killed with the same car on the motorway bridge in Holledau when I drove back to InerFace rather fast from a visit to the Federal Employment Agency in Nürnberg. A Mercedes (as it happens it was the business car of one of the then leading database producers) suddenly swerved to the left for taking over directly in front of me and thus pushed me aside. The driver had not seen me and not even given a signal. My red BMW turned around several times, touched the crash-barriers on both sides and then came to a standstill on just about the highest point of the bridge. I got out of the car and looked down. That was quite a shocking experience for me. Barbara, too, looked rather pale when she saw the indentations on the crash-barriers and the damaged car. I was not injured. There were not even marks on my skin from the safety belt.
  • Innovation: Technology has advanced considerably. This, however, does not really show, because simultaneously cars have become bigger, heavier and faster all the time. As far as environment-friendliness is concerned, we could easily have achieved a lot more by now if the cars had gone back to being more sensible. And that is where the customers would have to vote through their money. Still, I do not believe the ZERO emission will ever come. Even if everything is moved by electricity or hydrogen, there is still the question where electricity and hydrogen should be generated. And then the washing-machine will most likely be given preference before the car, because it is a lot more inconvenient to go back to washing in a tub, rinsing the laundry and then hanging it up than going places by bike. Also, producing a car costs a lot of energy, and when there are twice as many cars being driven, you will also need twice (?) as many streets, parking lots, garages, service stations, etc. I will then be glad that those will be built in China and India, rather than here. And then the term “low-noise traffic” gets more and more relevant in social discussions. Even though the motors have been getting softer, it is still rather noisy in a zone with a speed-limit of 30 if a “housewife-truck” (copyright with Herrn Schindler) takes you over and the winter-proof tyres can be heard from afar. After all, noise can also be regarded as emission.

On my way to the presentation by underground train, I found a copy of the “WELT KOMPAKT” of the same day. What a coincidence that an article on page one had the title:

The Internet is the Most-Beloved Child of the Germans

and the sub-title:

Poll: the Web is More Important than the Car

Being a computer scientist, this filled me with hope for our profession. The article also said that “the usage of computers among Germans has changed significantly and laptops get more and more important. Also, for 76 % of the men, a running power of the batteries as long as possible is the key criterion when they buy a notebook. For women, however, the design gets more and more important”.

The article appealed to me, because it looked like another symbol to me that my thesis might, after all, be correct: We are on the move from an auto-mobile to an information-mobile society!

At an aside, Dr. Zetsche spent all his professionally active years at Daimler (Mercedes-Chrysler-Daimler). It was clearly visible, too, that he was a “Mercedes-Person” to the bone, and I find that just great. Personally, I always get nervous if I hear of a managing director suddenly changing from, say, pharmacy to machine construction.

Something Dr. Zetsche said during the hour of question-answering gave me pause. When someone asked if he foresaw that the number of global players in the automobile industry will change due to fusions or the emission of participants on the market, Dr. Zetsche answered that probably some producers will disappear but be replaced by new producers already standing ready to take over. And these new global players will then come from India or China! In the past, we witnessed several times what this could mean for our national technology producers.

And, as I see it, the fact that Chrysler has been all but a success story in the past is certainly not due to Dr. Z (”Ask Dr. Z”), as they call him in the USA (for an American, ”Zetsche” is not easy on the ear). I believe that, even if you are a managing director, you have not much of a chance against developments that will take place anyway. Either you adapt to where the wind blows and use it, or you will sooner or later cease to exist.

RMD

At an aside, here is an anectode: Dr. Zetsche told us that Daimler and Merrcedes probably feature in more than 150 pop songs. BMW in less than 10. So here comes a short song or a nice advert little for the nice Mercedes brand.

1 Kommentar zu “Thus Spoke Dr. Zetsche (at TUM on Nov, 26th )”

  1. Chris Wood (Monday December 1st, 2008)

    The nicest reference I know comes in “Hotel California”.
    “Her mind is definately twisted; she’s got the Mercedes Bends”.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 30. November 2008

Also sprach Dr. Zetsche (an der TUM am 26. November)

So wurde der Vortrag von Herrn Dr. Zetsche angekündigt:

Über „Die Zweite Karriere des Automobils“ spricht der Vorstandschef der Daimler AG Dieter Zetsche am 26. November, 16.30 Uhr an der Technischen Universität München. Die Veranstaltung, die das „Handelsblatt Junge Karriere“ zusammen mit der TUM organisiert und die unter dem Motto „Wirtschaftlenker live“ ab 16.30 Uhr im Audimax der TU München stattfindet, präsentiert einen der dynamischsten und prominentesten Wirtschaftsvertreter Deutschlands. Dieter Zetsche wird nach seinem Vortrag den Studierenden für Fragen zur Verfügung stehen.

Den Text habe ich übernommen vom Portal der TUM (Technischen Universität München). Es lohnt sich, öfters mal auf dieses zu gehen, da sind wirklich interessante Veranstaltungen und Vorträge zu finden. Mein Mentee Michael von Manage&More (unternehmerTUM) hat mich auf dieses Ereignis aufmerksam gemacht, so gingen wir nach unserer Mentee/Mentoren-Sitzung gemeinsam zum Vortrag von Dr. Zetsche. Hier zuerst ein kurzer Bericht und dann ein paar Anmerkungen:

Nach einer kurzen und humorvollen Einführung des Präsidenten der TUM ging es los. Selten habe ich einen prominenten Wirtschaftsführer oder Politiker so präzise und klar sprechen gehört wie Dr. Zetsche. Mir hat der Vortrag ausgezeichnet gefallen. Kurz und stark vereinfacht berichte ich im folgenden den Inhalt der Rede und ergänze ihn mit ein paar persönlichen Anmerkungen.

Dr. Zetsche begründete in seinem Vortrag, warum er absolut an „Die Zweite Karriere des Automobils“ glaubt. Sein Vortrag drehte sich um drei zentrale Begriffe: Emanzipation, Emotion und Innovation.

  • Emanzipation: Das Auto würde wesentlich die Emanzipation eines Menschen unterstützen. Es schaffe Unabhängigkeit und Mobilität, die persönliche Freiheit würde durch die Nutzung eines Autos und der so entstehenden Mobilität deutlich erweitert. Viele Menschen würden erst mit und durch das eigene Auto erwachsen werden. Mit dem Käfer begann für manchen von uns erst die Freiheit. Menschen in noch nicht so emanzipierten Gesellschaften wie in Mitteleuropa würden sich deshalb nach dem Besitz eines Autos als dem wesentlichen Fortschritt ihres Lebens sehnen. Der gesellschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Aufstieg Deutschlands könne am besten durch die Metapher „von der Isetta zum Käfer, vom Käfer zum Mercedes“ beschrieben werden. Unsere Gesellschaft wäre Vorbild für die Menschen in wirtschaftlich nicht so weit entwickelten Ländern wie China, Indien oder Südamerika. Der Markt in Europa und USA sei zwar gesättigt, es bestehe aber in China, Indien und Südamerika wesentlicher Nachholbedarf. Folgende Zahlen würden diese Annahme belegen: Statistisch kommen in den USA auf 1000 Menschen 700 Autos, in China dagegen nur 14 und Indien gar nur 7. Der Nachholbedarf in diesen Ländern wäre riesengroß. Deshalb ist es wahrscheinlich, dass in einigen Jahren doppelt so viel Autos die Welt „bevölkern“ würden wie heute.
  • Emotion: Das Auto wäre das Schlüsselprodukt für Menschen, die danach streben, ihre Lebensart und Identität auch äußerlich zu zeigen. Kein anderes Konsumgut ermögliche es dem Besitzer, sein Wesen und seine Persönlichkeit so zu definieren und demonstrieren wie das Produkt Personenkraftwagen. Auto bewirken persönliche Identität. Diese hohe emotionale Bedeutung des Autos für die Menschen würde die Nachfrage nach individuellen Autos auch in Zukunft sicher stellen. Deshalb dürfe man bei zukünftigen Autos keine Kompromisse betreffend Technik oder Differenzierung eingehen.
  • Innovation: Freilich räumte Dr. Zetsche ein, dass der Planet Erde nicht doppelt soviel Fahrzeuge mit heutiger Technologie verkraften würde. Dieses Problem müsse und könne durch innovative Technik gelöst werden. Moderne Automobil-Hersteller würden in naher Zukunft Autos bereit stellen, die immer weniger Emissionen ausstoßen. Schließlich würde die Innovation zu Fahrzeugen ganz ohne Emissionen führen. Am Ende der Entwicklung würden die Fahrzeuge durch Wasserstoff oder Elektrizität betrieben werden, völlig ohne Abgase bzw. mit Wasserdampf als einzigen Ausstoß.

Ich hoffe, dass ich die im Vortrag geäußerten Gedanken von Dr. Zetsche halbwegs korrekt wieder gegeben habe und beginne mit meinen Anmerkungen:

  • Emanzipation: Ich glaube, dass neue Generationen und neue Länder aus den Fehlern ihrer Vorgänger lernen. Ich weiß, dass dies optimistisch ist und dass die bisherige Entwicklung in Ländern wie China oder Indien diese Hoffnung zu widerlegen scheint. Nichtsdestotrotz nehme ich wahr, dass immer mehr Menschen verstehen, dass Konsum nicht mit Glück gleichzusetzen ist. Und ihr Verhalten ändern, manche freiwillig, andere erzwungen. Zu Fuß bin ich weniger mobil als mit dem Fahrrad, das Moped hat eine größere Reichweite als das Fahrrad, mit dem Auto kann ich auch 250 km pro Tag zurücklegen. Mit einem Privatjet schaffe ich sogar 2500 km täglich. Hängt meine Freiheit von meiner Mobilität ab? Mobilität hat nichts mit Freiheit zu tun.
  • Emotion: Der Versuchung, meine Persönlichkeit durch die Wahl des richtigen Autos (oder Fahrrades) abzurunden, erliege ich ja auch. Eine Zeit lang bin ich immer das neueste BMW-Modell (immer in rot) mit dem stärksten verfügbaren Triebwerk gefahren (war aber immer nur ein „3-er“). Einmal hat ein anderer BMW-Fahrer vor der Bayerischen Staatskanzlei anerkennend den Daumen gehoben, wie er mich mit meinem nagelneuen roten 325i gesehen hat, ein ganz neues Modell, dass ich gerade vom Händler abgeholt hatte. Das war ein gutes Gefühl. Ich erinnere mich aber auch noch, wie ich in diesem Auto auf der Autobahnbrücke der Holledau auf der recht schnellen Rückfahrt von der BA in Nürnberg zurück nach InterFace fast zu Tode kam. Ein Mercedes (übrigens ein Geschäftsauto eines damals führenden Datenbankhersteller) wechselte beim Überholen direkt vor mir auf meine Spur und drängte mich ab. Der Fahrer hatte mich einfach übersehen und nicht einmal seinen Blinker gesetzt. Mein roter BMW drehte sich ein paarmal, touchierte die Leitplanken auf beiden Seiten und kam dann so ziemlich am höchsten Punkt der Brücke zum Stehen. Ich stieg aus dem Auto und schaute in die Tiefe. War ein ganz schöner Schock für mich. Auch die Barbara war ganz schön bleich, wie sie die Dellen in den Leitplanken und das Autowrack sah. Mir ist allerdings gar nichts passiert, nicht einmal Druckstellen vom Gurt hatte ich.
  • Innovation: Die Technologie hat große Fortschritte gemacht. Dieser kommt aber nicht im notwendigen Maß zur Geltung, da Autos gleichzeitig immer größer, schwerer und schneller geworden sind. Wir könnten im Punkt Umweltverträglichkeit schon viel weiter sein, wenn die Autos wieder vernünftiger werden würden. Und da müssten halt auch die Käufer mit den Geldscheinen abstimmen. An die NULL-Emission glaube ich aber nicht. Selbst wenn alles elektrisch oder mit Wasserstoff funktioniert, dann ist immer noch die Frage, wo Strom oder Wasserstoff herkommen. Und wahrscheinlich ist die Waschmaschine dem Menschen dann doch wichtiger als das Auto, denn Wäsche im Bottich zu waschen, spülen und auf die Wäscheleine zu hängen ist viel unangenehmer als Radfahren. Das Produzieren eines Autos kostet auch ziemlich viel Energie und wenn weltweit doppelt so viele Autos herumfahren braucht man auch doppelt (?) soviel Straßen, Parkplätze, Garagen, Tankstellen etc. Da bin ich dann froh, dass die nicht bei uns, sondern in China und Indien gebaut werden.Ja, und dann wird der Begriff des „leisen Verkehr“ in der gesellschaftlichen Diskussion auch immer relevanter. Die Motoren sind zwar leise geworden, aber wenn mich in der Temo-30-Zone so ein „Hausfrauen-LKW“ (copyright bei Herrn Schindler) überholt, dann dröhnen die Winterreifen schon aus der Entfernung gewaltig. Und Lärm könnte man ja auch als Emission betrachten.

In der S-Bahn auf der Hinfahrt zur Veranstaltung lag eine herrenlose „WELT KOMPAKT“ vom selben Tag. Und welch ein Zufall, da war auf der ersten Seite ein Artikel mit dem Titel:

Das Internet ist der Deutschen liebstes Kind

mit dem Untertitel:

Umfrage: Das Web ist wichtiger als ein Auto

🙂 Das lässt mich als Informatiker wieder für unseren Berufsstand hoffen. In dem Artikel stand auch drin, dass „das Computer Nutzungsverhalten der Deutschen sich auffällig geändert hat und Laptops immer wichtiger werden würden. Und dass für 76 % der Männer die möglichst lange Akku-Laufzeit das Schlüsselkriterium beim Kauf eines Notebooks wäre. Sein Aussehen sei dafür für Frauen immer wichtiger“.

Mir hat der Artikel gefallen, weil er wieder so ein kleines Zeichen setzt, dass meine These stimmen könnte: Wir sind auf dem Wege von der automobilen zur informations-mobilen Gesellschaft!

Dr. Zetsche hat übrigens seine ganze Berufstätigkeit bei Daimler (Mercedes-Chrysler-Daimler) verbracht. Das hat man ihm auch angemerkt, dass er durch und durch ein „Mercedes-Mann“ ist und das finde ich toll. Ich habe immer meine Zweifel, wenn ein Vorstand aus der Pharmazie-Branche zum Vorstand eines Maschinenbauunternehmens oder ähnlich mutiert.

Eine Aussage von Dr. Zetsche bei der Fragestunde hat mich nachdenklich gemacht. Die Frage war, ob sich die Zahl der globalen Player im Bereich Automobile aufgrund von Fusionen oder Ausscheiden von Marktteilnehmern ändern würde. Die Antwort von Dr. Zetsche war, dass wahrscheinlich Anbieter verschwinden, aber diese durch neue Anbieter, die schon vor den Markttoren stehen würden, ersetzt werden. Und diese neuen globalen Player kämen dann aus Indien oder China! Was das für einheimische Technologie-Hersteller bedeuten kann, haben wir ja schon ein paar Mal erlebt.

Und dass Chrysler alles andere als eine Erfolgsstory war, lag meiner Meinung gewiss auch nicht an an Dr. Z („Ask Dr. Z“), wie er in USA genannt wurde („Zetsche“ ist für einen Ami nicht ganz einfach auszusprechen). Ich glaube vielmehr, dass man gegen Entwicklungen, die sowieso stattfinden, auch als Vorstandschef keine Chance hat. Entweder passt man sich an und nutzt den drehenden Wind, oder man geht früher oder später unter.

RMD

🙂 Eine Anekdote am Rande: Dr. Zetsche hat berichtet, dass Daimler und Mercedes wohl in mehr als 150 Pop-Liedern eine Rolle spiele, BMW dagegen in weniger als 10. Deswegen hier ein kurzes Lied oder ein wenig mehr schöne Reklame für die schöne Marke Mercedes.

1 Kommentar zu “Also sprach Dr. Zetsche (an der TUM am 26. November)”

  1. Chris Wood (Montag, der 1. Dezember 2008)

    The nicest reference I know comes in „Hotel California“.
    „Her mind is definately twisted; she’s got the Mercedes Bends“.

Kommentar verfassen

*