Roland Dürre
Sunday October 17th, 2010

Anxiety III – Modern Loneliness.

In Anxiety II, I described our fear of losing material security. But people in my age-group have another kind of fear, too. I also detect it among very successful and prosperous singles.

Some of the people I know drive really big cars. Always the latest model. Some of them are very successful, in economy and politics. They glide from vacation to vacation. One trip is followed by the next. They go by guided tour or individually planned to South America or Thailand, and then they rent a camper for vacationing at the Greek coast. In between, they spend some time in Austria and Switzerland in order to enjoy the beautiful country. Or else on a small sailing yacht in Italy or France.

They enjoy life at the fullest and leave a high CO2 footprint. If they are ever burdened by a bad conscience, they pacify it by donating to charity. Children or nephews are non-existent. If at all, relationships follow the pattern “living single together”, or else do not work out. But the hairline goes south, more and more of the teeth are artificial ones, the body weakens and the loneliness gets more and more obvious each year.

I also know the “poor old mother”. She never had much and has no reason to be afraid to lose much. The only thing she might be worried about is her grandchildren and she is delighted to have them visiting.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.

🙂 I do, however, not believe that the poor singles (they were not mentioned in this article) are any happier than the rich.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 17. Oktober 2010

Angst III – moderne Einsamkeit.

In Angst II habe ich die Angst um unsere materielle Sicherheit beschrieben. Aber in meiner Altersgruppe gibt es noch andere Ängste. Die nehme ich bei auch sehr erfolgreichen und wohlhabenden „Singles“ wahr.

Ich kenne da welche, die fahren die ganz großen Autos. Immer das neue Modell. Sie gleiten von Urlaub zu Urlaub. Eine Reise löst die nächste ab. Mal geht es pauschal oder individuell nach Südamerika oder Thailand, dann mit dem gemieteten Wohnmobil an die Küsten Griechenlands. Zwischendurch ein wenig nach Österreich und in die Schweiz, um die schöne Heimat zu genießen. Oder auf die kleine Segelyacht in Italien oder Frankreich.

Sie genießen das Leben in vollen Zügen und hinterlassen einen kräftigen CO2-Fußabdruck. Falls sie ein schlechtes Gewissen haben, besänftigen sie dieses mit Spenden für Charity. In Wirtschaft wie in der Politik sind sie oft recht erfolgreich. Kinder oder Neffen sind Fehlanzeige. Beziehungen funktionieren bestenfalls nach dem Muster „living single together“ oder gar nicht mehr. Aber die Haare werden weniger, die Zähne künstlich, der Körper schwächer und die Einsamkeit Jahr für Jahr realer.

Ich kenne auch das „arme alte Muttchen“. Sie hat nie viel gehabt und muss sich keine Sorgen machen, viel zu verlieren. Sie bangt höchstens Sorgen um ihre Enkel und freut sich, wenn diese sie besuchen.

RMD

P.S.
😉 Glaube aber nicht, dass die armen Singles (in diesem Artikel nicht erwähnt) glücklicher sind als die reichen.

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*