Roland Dürre
Saturday January 16th, 2016

ASK AN ANSWER.

Jolly Kunjappu

Is a good friend of mine. We first met during a charity event organized by the Munich Chess Foundation. The Munich Chess Foundation (Münchner Schachstiftung) is concerned with the poorest children of Munich. In cooperation with several schools, they try to teach chess to those lost children. An experienced street-worker told me that some children who have been deprived of mental stimulation and therefore live at the fringes of society are best approachable through chess.

jolly-kunjappu-A19

Jolly gave a wonderful presentation for the foundation – or rather for the children supported by the foundation. I was invited, listened to him and afterwards made his personal acquaintance. Immediately, it became clear to me that we are like-minded mentally, spiritually and with respect to our activities. Consequently, we also became friends.

Ask-an-Answer_1m-185x300Now he wrote a book. It is bi-lingual (German and English) and the title is ASK AN ANSWER. Shortly before Christmas, it was sitting in my post box, with best wishes from the author. In the book you can read about the ideas Jolly has had over many years, sometimes concisely, sometimes he elaborates a little more.

And, similar to when I read Seneca, I find all his ideas very interesting. Thus, ASK AN ANSWER is a very fine-tuned message in favour of a better world where Jolly writes with a lot of respect yet rather clearly.
It was a wonderful Christmas present. I enjoyed reading and browsing through it during the “quiet days”. Also, it gave me courage and joy.

And I am particularly happy that, next spring, we will cooperate when it comes to introducing ASK AN ANSWER at InterFace. Jolly will be the centrepiece and I hope to create a suitable background.

And if you cannot wait until April and instead wish to read the book as soon as possible, feel free to send me an E-Mail.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
It is quite possible that the book can also be bought at the Indian Mango. That is the Munich Zweibrückenstrasse restaurant owned by Jolly. You can eat quite well there and at the same time do a little reading. Well, if that is not double the pleasure, then what is?

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 16. Januar 2016

ASK AN ANSWER.

Jolly Kunjappu

ist ein guter Freund. Kennengelernt haben wir uns auf einer Veranstaltung zugunsten der Münchner Schachstiftung. Die Münchner Schachstiftung kümmert sich um die ärmsten Kinder Münchens. Gemeinsam mit Schulen versucht sie diesen verlorenen Kindern das Schachspiel zu lehren. Ein erfahrener Münchner Streetworker hat mir berichtet, dass man an manche Kinder, die geistig verwahrlost sind und außerhalb jeder Gesellschaft leben, mit Schach noch am besten ran kommt.

jolly-kunjappu-A19

Jolly hat einen wunderbaren Vortrag für die Stiftung oder besser gesagt für die von der Stiftung betreuten Kinder gehalten. Ich war eingeladen, durfte ihn hören und anschließend kennenlernen. Mir war sofort klar, dass wir Verbündete im Denken, Geist und auch im Handeln sind. So sind wir Freude geworden.

Ask-an-Answer_1m-185x300Jetzt hat er ein Buch geschrieben. Es ist zweisprachig (in Deutsch und Englisch) und heißt ASK AN ANSWER. Kurz vor Weihnachten lag es mit lieben Grüßen des Autors bei mir im Briefkasten. Im Buch sind Jolly’s Gedanken aus vielen Jahren, mal kürzer und mal ein wenig länger.

Und ähnlich wie bei Seneca finde ich alle Gedanken sehr bemerkenswert. So ist ASK AN ANSWER eine ganz feine Botschaft für eine bessere Welt, in der sich Jolly mit viel Respekt und doch recht  klar äußert.

Es war ein wunderbares Weihnachtsgeschenk, in dem ich über die „ruhigen Tage“ gerne geblättert und gelesen habe. Und das mir Mut und Freude beschert hat.

Und besonders freut mich, dass wir gemeinsam im kommenden Frühling ASK AN ANSWER bei InterFace vorstellen werden. Jolly wird im Mittelpunkt stehen und ich hoffe, für einen würdigen Rahmen sorgen zu können.

Und wer den April nicht erwarten kann und das Buch schon jetzt lesen möchte, darf sich gerne per E-Mail an mich wenden.

RMD

P.S.
Kann gut sein, dass man das Buch auch im Indian Mango erwerben kann. Das ist Jolly’s indisches Restaurant in München in der Zweibrückenstraße. Dort kann man sehr lecker speisen und gleich dabei ein wenig quer lesen. Das ist dann doppelter Genuss!

Kommentar verfassen

*