Roland Dürre
Wednesday November 9th, 2011

Another One Of Those Fairy Tales …

I heard a lot of stories in my life. Quite often, I was lied to. Sometimes deliberately, sometimes accidentally. Among the people who lied to me were my teachers and my parents. They all believed themselves in the possession of the truth and felt they absolutely had to make me aware of it, as well. Regardless, I started doubting those “truths“ quite early in life.

Today, I kow that there is no such thing as “the truth“. All you can claim to have is “certainty“. And that, too, is also always just imagined.

But when I was younger, I was trustful. I also believed things that were stupid. Here is a rather harmless example for what I believed and what I now think was wrong.

At the economically-oriented Jakob Fugger Grammar School in Augsburg, I learned that free economy and huge economical areas without borders are beneficial for all parties concerned.  According to what I was taught, this concept would cause a specialization in value contributions. Only a free trade zone as big as possible without customs and other borders could make a world-wide flourishing business life possible. It would bring prosperity to the entire world.

Today, we are a lot nearer to this state of affairs. But what good did it do to the world?
Almost one billion people starve. The world is devided into rich and poor as almost unparalleled in history.

The rich drown in luxury. Many people living in the rich countries grow more and more obese. They try to drown the boredom of their lives in consumption habits. The flats get larger and larger. The wardrobe is overflowing with suits and dresses that can never be worn. It is too boring to drive one car, so you drive two. Rich nations wage war against each other, often far from their own borders, just in order to promote their prosperity. People in this part of the world mostly think about preserving their prosperity and security..

The poor live on extremely limited space. For them, it means happiness if they have enough for a good meal at regular intervals. They consider themselves lucky if they have halfway enough to live decently. More often than not, they loose everything they have to natural catastrophes or wars. The few t-shirts they own are cherished and the pride of the entire family. The same is true for the family bike. Because if they can afford that, they belong to the prosperous.

The exploitation of the planet earth has now reached boundless proportions. Banks and concerns occupy the central positions of power and control consumption, just in order to get maximum turnover and profit. The states either look on helplessly or else cooperate.

Now it seems that hard times are up for both the poor and the rich. The rich because they exploited just a little too much. And, on top of that, have spent borrowed money. The poor because their living space has in some cases been destroyed irreparably.

To me, this looks like the consequence of “real market economy in practice, based mostly on uncontrolled markets“. I learned it all quite well. And I believed it at the time.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
I know quite a few more lies of the same kind…

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 9. November 2011

Auch so ein Märchen …

In meinem Leben ist mir viel erzählt worden. Oft bin ich angelogen worden, mal absichtlich, mal unabsichtlich. Zum Teil waren es Lehrer von mir, oder meine Eltern. Alle haben gemeint, dass sie im Besitz der Wahrheit sind, die sie mir unbedingt vermitteln müßten. Habe trotzdem manche dieser „Wahrheiten“ schon ganz früh nicht geglaubt.

Heute weiß ich, dass es keine „Wahrheiten“ gibt. Sondern nur „Gewissheiten“. Und die sind auch immer nur vermeintlich.

Aber damals war ich gutgläubig. Und habe auch Dinge geglaubt, die Unsinn waren. Ich bringe mal ein eher harmloses Beispiel, an das ich geglaubt habe, aber heute meine, dass es ein Irrweg war.

Am wirtschafts-wissenschaftlichen Gymnasium Jakob Fugger in Augsburg habe ich gelernt, dass freie Marktwirtschaft und große Wirtschaftsräume ohne Grenzen für alle Beteiligten von Vorteil wären. Dies würde zu einer Spezialisierung der Wertbeiträge führen. Nur eine möglichst große Freihandelszone ohne Zoll- und andere Grenzen könnte die Voraussetzungen für ein weltweit florierendes Wirtschaftlseben sein und würde der ganzen Welt Wohlstand bringen.

Heute sind wir diesem Zustand ein gutes Stück näher bekommen. Aber was hat das der Welt gebracht?

Fast eine Milliarde Menschen hungert. Die Welt zerfällt wie kaum je zuvor in Reiche und Arme.

Die Reichen versinken im Wohlstand. Viele Menschen in den reichen Ländern werden immer fetter. Sie versuchen ihre Lebenslangeweile im Konsum zu ersaufen. Die Wohnungen werden immer größer. Der Schrank hängt voller Anzüge und Kleider, die gar nicht benutzt werden können. Ein Auto ist zu langweilig, also fährt man zwei. Die Nationen der Reichen führen Kriege, oft weit außerhalb ihrer Grenzen, um ihren Wohlstand zu festigen. Das Denken der Menschen in diesem Teil der Welt dreht sich prior um Besitzstandwahrung und Sicherheit.

Die Armen wohnen auf engstem Raum. Ihr Glück ist es, wenn es regelmäßig zu einer guten Mahlzeit reicht. Sie sind froh, wenn sie genug haben, um ein halbwegs menschenwürdiges Leben führen zu können. Oft verlieren sie ihr Hab und Gut durch Naturkatastrophen oder kriegerische Auseinandersetzungen. Die wenigen T-Shirts werden gepflegt und sind der Stolz der Familie. Wie das Familienrad. Denn dann gehören sie zu den Wohlhabenden.

Die Ausbeutung des Planeten Erde hat sich ins Unermessliche gesteigert. Banken und Konzerne haben die zentralen Machtpositionen besetzt und steuern den Konsum, nur um Umsatz und Profit maximieren. Die Staaten schauen hilflos zu oder kooperieren.

Jetzt scheint es für arm und reich schwierig zu werden. Die Reichen, weil sie zu sehr ausgebeutet haben. Und das auch noch auf Pump. Die Armen, weil ihre Lebensräume zum Teil irreparabel zerstört sind.

Das erscheinen mir die Folgen von „real praktizierter Marktwirtschaft basieren auf weitgehend ungeregelten Märkten“. Habe ich alles ganz anders gelernt. Und ich habe es geglaubt.

RMD

P.S.
Weiß noch eine ganze Reihe solcher Lügen …

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*