Roland Dürre
Thursday November 22nd, 2018

At the DOAG

IOnce more, I was the speaker.

For many years (that felt more like decades), my friend Dietmar (Neugebauer) was president of the DOAG. DOAG is an acronym for Deutsche Oracle Anwender Gruppe. Every year in November, the DOAG has its big and legendary yearly conference and exhibition in Nuremberg.

Thanks to Dietmar, I was there many times and gave presentations. Last year, I wanted to create something different and, together with Christian and Knud, showed everybody how modern communication could work (there is also a video recording: Video).

With the 2017 success, I was going to terminate my DOAG career (after all, you should end when you feel at the top). But then, Dietmar kept pestering me. Consequently, we did something together in 2018 (on November, 21st) – this time it was about “functional communication”. And we invited people to join “our fishbowl”. And, again, it was really nice.

A fishbowl is organized as follows:

Choice of Topic

If you communicate “functionally“, it might help if you have a topic. But how to find a topic? Our first idea was to establish a topic finding commission for coming up with something. But that is nonsense.

The rules and the intention of our fishbowl were described shortly before the event in my  communication article. We simply checked the newspapers and listened to the radio in the morning to see and hear what were the most important events of the day. After all, the paywall – sorry, the media – are assigned the task of providing the news that concern us every day. Which means they should be a good source. Then Dietmar and yours truly, along with Dr. Marius Poersch and Wolfgang Taschner, took a close look at those topics and selected four of them.

Selection of Topics

Here are the four topics we found in the radio and press of November 21st:

  • How does #newwork fit into our lives
    (work-life-balance, motivation, experiences, how does it actually work)
  • #diesel ban control
    (protection of the environment, data protection, total control, human dignity)
  • The youth is #scared of the internet
    (mobbing, addiction, data and the ownership of your own data getting out of control)
  • Copyright
    (upload filter due to new EU legislation, access to youtube as commonly experienced reality, reaction of the youtube management because they feel threatened.)

Selection of a Topic by Vote

We had prepared four flipcharts and added an important idea to the four topics before announcing the vote. Dietmar gave a short explanation on what the topics were about – and then everybody voted.

Everyone in the room had a round red sticker that he/she could attach to one of the posters. Since my topic was “copyright protection”, that is where I put my red sticker. In the end, unfortunately, (for me), there were only a few red stickers on my topic, while the #newwork poster was overflowing with round red stickers.

Consequently, now we had a topic – a topic which the absolute majority of the people gathered at this place was in favour of on this day. That is a good start for a fishbowl. It was done in no time and totally self-organized.

The Fishbowl

To begin with, the four “experts“ (Dietmar, Marius – who actually was the only real expert – Roland und Wolfgang) took their seats on one of the six chairs (we had spontaneously decided to add a chair because so many people had come). Everybody made his/her statement and then we left things to flow.

And there was a nice flow. In 45 minutes, including preparation time, many wise things were said. We had great results, the participants stuck to the rules (be concise, let everyone else also finish with what they want to say and take up the idea of the person who spoke before you).

The exchange went very well in both directions and the coordination was excellent. My personal conclusion as a “normal participant” was that I rarely had been at the receiving end of so many ideas, impulses and food for thought as during this fishbowl.

Feedback Round

The feedback round confirmed that most of the other participants felt like I felt. Dietmar wrote to me saying that he had received plenty of praise throughout the entire evening (when I had already left).

At an Aside

Directly after us, there is always the central keynote. Yesterday, Lars Vollmer was scheduled as the next DOAG conference speaker. I had never met Lars before and only knew him from his publications. In his presentation, he described the business theatre that you often get today. And I mentally filtered quite a few ideas of his that actually blended quite well with the ideas we had generated during our fishbowl.

And that made me wonder: Why don’t enterprises more frequently organize a fishbowl with their employees in order to get an awareness of what stupid nonsense they sometimes talk?

RMD
Translated by EG

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 22. November 2018

Auf der DOAG

Ich war mal wieder Referent.

Mein Freund Dietmar (Neugebauer) war viele Jahre (gefühlt Jahrzehnte) der Präsident der DOAG. DOAG ist die Abkürzung für Deutsche Oracle Anwender Gruppe. Jedes Jahr im November macht die DOAG in Nürnberg ihre große und legendäre Jahres Konferenz und Ausstellung.

Dank Dietmar war ich viele Jahre dort mit einem Vortrag vertreten. Vor einem Jahr wollte ich mal etwas anderes machen und habe gemeinsam mit Christian und Knud gezeigt, wie moderne Kommunikation gehen könnte (davon gibt es auch ein Video).

Mit dem Erfolg in 2017 wollte ich mein Engagement bei der DOAG beenden (man soll ja aufhören, wenn es am schönsten ist). Dietmar liess aber nicht locker, so haben wir beide auch 2018 (am 21. November) wieder etwas gemacht – diesmal zum Thema „funktionale Kommunikation“. Und haben zu „unserer fishbowl eingeladen“. Und es war wieder schön.

Die fishbowl wir wie folgt organisiert:

Themenauswahl

Wenn man „funktional“ kommuniziert, ist es hilfreich ein Thema zu haben. Aber wie findet man ein Thema? Unser erster Gedanke war eine „Thema-Findungs-Kommision“ ins Leben zu rufen, die die Themenauswahl durchführt. Aber das ist natürlich Blödsinn.

Die Regeln und die Intension unserer fish bowl habe ich kurz vor der Veranstaltung in meinem Kommunikationsartikel beschrieben. Wir haben uns einfach angeschaut, was denn am Morgen der fishbowl so in der Zeitung ganz oben stand bzw. im Radio als erstes berichtet wurde. Denn die Paywall – Verzeihung die Medien – haben die Aufgabe, die Nachrichten, die uns aktuell betreffen, zu liefern und sollten so eine gute Quelle sein. Dietmar und ich haben dann gemeinsam mit Dr. Marius Poersch und Wolfgang Taschner zu viert diese Themen betrachtet und vier davon ausgewählt.

Auswahl der Themen

Hier die vier Themen am 21. November, die wir in Funk und Presse gefunden hatten:

  • Wie passt #newwork in unser Leben
    (Work-Life-Balance, Motivation, Erfahrungen, wie geht’s konkret)
  • #dieselverbote Überwachung
    (Umweltschutz, Datenschutz, Überwachungsstaat, Menschenwürde)
  • Die Jugend hat #Angst vor dem Internet
    (Mobbing, süchtig werden, Verlust der Datenhoheit und des Eigentums an seinen Daten)
  • Urheberrecht
    (upload-Filter aufgrund neuer EU-Gesetze, Zugang zu Youtube als gewohnte Realitiät, Reaktion von Youtube-Management aufgrund von Bedrohung)

Wahl des Themas durch Abstimmung

Wir hatten vier Flipcharts vorbereitet mit diesen vier Themen ergänzt durch einen wichtigen Gedanken zur Abstimmung vorbereitet. Dietmar hat die Themen kurz erläutert – dann ging es auch schon zur Abstimmung über die Themen.

Jeder im Raum hatte einen roten Punkt, den er auf eines der „Plakate“ kleben durfte. Mein Thema war „Urheberschutz“, so habe ich meinen roten Punkt dorthin geklebt. Dort waren am Schluss leider (für mich) nur ganz wenige, während das #newwork-Plaket fast rot war von den vielen roten Punkten.

So hatten wir ein Thema – das die absolute Mehrzahl der an diesem Tag und an diesem Ort teilnehmenden Menschen favorisierte. Eine gute Voraussetzung für die fishbowl. Blitzschnell und durchaus selbst organisiert.

Die fishbowl

Zum Start haben die vier „Experten“ (Dietmar, Marius – der einzige wirkliche Experte, Roland und Wolfgang) auf den 6 Stühlen (aufgrund des guten Besuchs hatten wir im inneren Kreis einen Stuhle mehr als geplant aufgebaut) Platz genommen. Wir haben alle unser Statement abgegeben und dann den Dingen ihren Lauf gelassen.

Und es wurde in guter Lauf. In 45 Minuten wurde inklusive der Vorbereitung viel Kluges gesagt. Es gab wertvolle Ergebnisse, die Teilnehmer hielten sich wunderbar an die Regeln (sich kurz fassen, ausreden lassen und auf die Gedanken des Vorredners eingehen).

Das Wechseln klappte in beide Richtungen prächtig, die Abstimmung war herausragend gut. Mein Resumée auch als „normaler Teilnehmer und -geber“. war, dass ich selten in so kurzer Zeit soviel neue Gedanken, Impulse und Denkanstösse bekommen habe wie in dieser Fishbowl.

Feedback-Runde

Die  Feedback-Runde zeigte dann, dass die meisten Teilnehmer die Veranstaltung ähnlich empfunden hatten. Dietmar hat mir geschrieben, dass er noch den ganzen Abend viel Lob bekommen hätte (ich war schon wieder weiter).

Nebengedanken

Zeitlich war direkt nach uns die bei der DOAG Konferenz immer gute zentrale Keynote dran – gestern mit Lars Vollmer. Lars hatte ich noch nie persönlich getroffen und kannte ihn nur über seine Veröffentlichungen. In seiner Ansprache hat er das „Business-Theater“ beschrieben, das vielerorts statt findet. Und ich habe bei ihm viele Gedanken heraus gefiltert, die mit den Gedanken aus unserer fishbowl recht gut zusammen gepasst haben.

Und ich stelle mir die Frage: Warum machen Unternehmen nicht öfters eine fish-bowl mit ihren Mitarbeitern, um sich ihres eigenem blödsinnigem Business-Gekasperl bewußt zu werden?

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*