Roland Dürre
Tuesday August 31st, 2010

Environmental Damage and Utopia ♫

Here are some more of the ideas I typically get while on vacation…

The United Nations accuse the world’s leading concerns of having failed at a huge scale in the area of environment protection: “The natural capital of this world is destroyed on a large scale” – said UN environment chief Achim Steiner in an interview by the „Süddeutsche Zeitung“.

According to the United Nations, environmental damage done alone by the 3,000 biggest enterprises through the abuse of natural resources, the pollution of air and waters and by being responsible for the extinction of species equals the value of 1.7 billion Euros (source SZ).

To be sure, I find it absurd to calculate this kind of damage in money. Currency is virtual and volatile. Basically, the number would have to increase on a daily basis, because of inflation and the continuing destruction.

But at least a number is something you can base an argument on. The article as published in July 2010 motivated me to do some calculations myself in order to find out what they mean in terms of “per capito”.

After all, the enterprises do not damage the environment as an end in itself or because that is what they want to do. Instead, they do it by our order. We expect them to supply us with products and services at minimum cost to us. If they also maximize their profits in doing so is something you have to accept in a system we ourselves are responsible for. And as shareholders, we again profit from this profit of theirs.

Consequently, those who make the real profits are not the concerns, but we. To be sure, we get upset about the damage, but we certainly accept it tacitly.

So here is my calculation:

Let us assume that there are 6 billion people living on this planet. Of course, I know the number is higher. But 6 billion is a good number to do calculations with and the result is a per capito damage of 300 Euros. Doesn’t that sound harmless enough? Let us just all pay 300 Euros and all is well again.

Of course, it cannot be done, because the damage cannot be repaired. It is nowhere near as easy as it sounds. But let us just assume (even though it is nonsense) that the damage could be repaired with 300 Euros per capito.
Most of the people – I assume around three quarters of the population (that is more than 4.5 billion) – have to survive on a small one-digit number of Euros per day. They cannot pay 300 Euros.

Probably one quarter of the people, about 1.5 billion, live without misery. I guess the number is too high, but after all this is only a calculation. The number of relevant consumers responsible for the majority of all the damage is probably half of those, that is 750 million people. Now we are talking a damage of 2,000 Euros per capito.

All that remains to be said is:

We cannot continue in that manner! So here is what we should do:

  • Stop wasting food and fossil energy,
  • get back to a sensible mobility,
  • change false structures and
  • install a new business order.

We badly need a new basis for calculating the gross national product, for instance like proposed by the “Club of Rome”. And we need a new business structure other than communism, state and late capitalism. Change and reforms on all social levels is both appropriate and necessary.

Above all, we need a global readiness to relinquish unnecessarily high standards of living and a mutual wish for change. And we need to fight economical and religious imperialism and put an end to irrational wars.
These concepts should become the utopia of a new, world-wide, enlightened movement.

Incidentally, the time has come for this kind of utopia. Probably, the time is ripe, too. At least I, as a hopefully enlightened person of the internet age believe it is.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

So:

Starting Over …

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 31. August 2010

Umweltschäden und Utopie ♫

Wieder so ein paar Gedanken, wie sie mir im Urlaub durch den Kopf gehen …

Die Vereinten Nationen werfen den großen Konzernen der Welt beim Umweltschutz schwere Versäumnisse vor. „Das natürliche Kapital der Welt wird im großen Stil vernichtet“, warnte UN-Umweltchef Achim Steiner im Gespräch mit der „Süddeutschen Zeitung“.

Die Vereinten Nationen beziffern die Umweltschäden, die allein die 3000 größten Unternehmen der Welt durch den Missbrauch natürlicher Ressourcen, durch Verschmutzung von Luft oder Gewässern sowie das Aussterben von Arten verantworten, dem Bericht zufolge auf 1,7 Billionen Euro (Quelle SZ)

Zwar finde ich es absurd, solche Schäden in Geld zu rechnen. Währungen sind virtuell und volatil. Die Zahl müsste ja ganz von allein jeden Tag höher werden, aus Gründen der Inflation wie auch aufgrund der permanenten Fortsetzung der Zerstörung.

Aber zumindest ist so eine Zahl mal eine Basis. Der Artikel vom Juli 2010 hat mich angeregt, ein wenig herum zu rechnen, was uns da pro Kopf so treffen könnte.

Denn die Unternehmen schädigen die Umwelt ja nicht aus Selbstzweck oder purer Lust und Laune, sondern in unserem Auftrag. Wir erwarten, dass sie uns möglichst preiswert mit Produkten und Dienstleistungen versorgen. Das die Konzerne dabei ihren Profit maximieren, muss man ihnen in dem von uns verantworteten System zugestehen. Und von diesem Profit profitieren letzten Endes auch wieder wir als Shareholder.

Die wahren Profiteure sind also nicht die Konzerne, sondern wir. Über den Schaden schimpfen wir zwar, nehmen ihn aber zumindest billigend in Kauf.

Aber jetzt zur Rechnung:

Ich gehe mal davon aus, dass es 6 Milliarden Menschen auf unserem Planeten gibt. Es sind natürlich mehr. Mit 6 Milliarden kann ich aber einfach rechnen und komme auf einen Schaden pro Kopf von um die 300 Euro. Das klingt harmlos. Dann zahlen wir alle doch alle schnell mal 300,- Euro ein, und alles wird wieder gut.

Geht natürlich nicht, die Schäden sind ja gar nicht mehr reparabel. So einfach ist es eben nicht. Aber nehmen wir an (obwohl es Blödsinn ist), dass mit 300 EURO pro Kopf der Schaden zu beheben wäre.

Die meisten Menschen – ich schätze mal drei Viertel, also mehr als 4,5 Milliarden – müssen von einer kleinen einstelligen Zahl Euro am Tag leben. Die können keine 300 EURO aufbringen.

Ohne Not dürfte nur ein knappes Viertel der Menschen, also 1,5 Milliarden leben. Die Zahl dürfte zu hoch sein, aber es ist ja nur eine Rechnung. Die Anzahl der relevanten Konsumenten, die wesentlich für den Schaden verantwortlich sind, dürfte bei der Hälfte liegen, also bei 750 Millionen Menschen. Jetzt sind wir schon bei einem Schaden von  2.000 EURO pro Kopf.

Da kann man eigentlich nur noch sagen:

So darf es nicht weiter gehen! Also

  • Stopp mit Verschwendung von Nahrungsmitteln und fossiler Energie,
  • Zurück zu einer angemessenen Mobilität,
  • Verändern von falschen Strukturen und
  • Durchsetzen einer neuen Wirtschaftsordnung.

Wir brauchen dringend eine neue Basis für die Berechnung des Bruttosozialprodukts, wie sie z.B. der Club of Rome vorschlägt. Und eine neue Wirtschaftsordnung jenseits von Kommunismus, Staats- oder Spätkapitalismus. Umbau und Reformen auf allen gesellschaftlichen Ebenen sind angesagt und zwingend notwendig.

Vor allem brauchen wir die globale Bereitschaft zum Verzicht auf unnötigen Wohlstand und den gemeinsamen Willen zur Veränderung. Und den Kampf gegen wirtschaftlichen oder religiösen Imperialismus und das Ende der sinnlosen Kriege.

Das sollte zur Utopie einer neuen weltweiten aufklärerischen Bewegung werden.

Es wird übrigens Zeit für eine solche Utopie. Und vielleicht ist die Zeit auch reif. Denke zumindest ich als hoffentlich aufgeklärter Mensch des Internet-Zeitalters.

RMD

Also:

Starting Over …

Danke – John!

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*