Roland Dürre
Wednesday January 9th, 2019

“Business Theatre“ (Entrepreneur’s Diary #128)

On this picture, the person in uniform does not look happy at all.

I spent 18 months serving the country (in the army) and in these 18 months, I learned to drink and chill. To be sure, I also learned how to survive in a sick system.

However, these 18 months also showed me how enterprises should not be yet how they mostly are (perhaps because enterprises often follow army patterns when it comes to their organisation).

They drafted me on April, 1st, 1970 and assigned me to the air force at Lagerlechfeld. After a stop at Landsberg, my army career as “Flyer Dürre” started in Ulm on April, 5th. I ended up in a battalion that had its small barracks area at the Lower Kuhberg not far from the Centre of Ulm. The barracks had been named after the war-hero Boelcke (see Militär in Ulm).  It was an old barracks venue, some people actually believed they could still see the (removed) swastika over the entrance.

The barracks I landed in after Landsberg belonged to the training regiment of the air force. The air force was one of the three weapons categories they had in the German Armed Forces: they also had the navy and the army.


 

The organization was quite simple:
The battalion (Bataillon) consisted of three companies and a few staff positions, for instance the medical group, the vehicle service group and the supply group. The battalion commander was only a major. That indicated that our battalion did not have much military significance.

Each company had three platoons. Each company had a company commander (usually a corporal) and the master sergeant, usually in the rank of sergeant major. He was the boss of the administration, including the typists’ office and he had the operative task of organizing order, which also consisted of drawing up the guard service list.

Each platoon had a platoon commander and three units. Usually, the platoon commanders were non-commissioned officers, once in a while an ensign was among them. Each unit had its unit commander who led ten learners for three months of basic training. The unit commanders were generally rank and file.

In summary, you can say that about a hundred recruits (about 3 x 3 x 11) were facing a small group of thirteen (9 + 3 + 1) coaches. Since, basically, recruits are difficult soldiers, the group had to stick together and was often a tight-knit community.

The business model was part of the compulsory service model and also very simple:

Whenever a new quarter year began (on the first of January, April, July and October), the German conscripts had to go under weapons in hordes – they were drafted. They were put into barracks distributed all over the country. Whenever a unit had problems with one of the recruits they had been assigned (regardless of the reason), then said recruit was sent to us in Ulm. That is how I, too, ended up in Ulm.

One of the problems was that the people who came a few days later were totally different from me. In July, most of the new recruits were successful high-school graduates who had been taken out of their units because of insubordinate behaviour or because they had other problems (such as drugs). At all other times, we always had many people with social disadvantages, often they had not finished any school education. Every three months, the mixture was totally new.

Our task at Ulm was to make proper soldiers of these problem cases. They were to be turned into air-force soldiers with simple tasks such as object protection (sentry) or in typing offices (today, you would probably call it back office).

During my first home visit in my parents’ sitting room.

Three of the recruits always had to be upgraded to become future commanders of each teaching regiment. I was selected because I was the only one in my regiment who had successfully graduated from high school (most of the others had not finished school at all). They needed someone who could actually teach (civics, military ranks and structures, learning to use a weapon). This is how, after no more than three months of basic training, I became unit commander with special tasks such as teaching the regimental recruits.

Our staff unit:
The staff units were responsible for the entire battalion.

  • Medical unit
    The medical unit consisted of two doctors and a few paramedics. Besides the general health care, they were responsible for giving out sick passes and, especially problematic, for giving someone the status of “unfit for service“. Many wanted this certificate, but the ratio allowed for each battalion was rather low. Besides, everyone who had been declared unfit by our doctors had to get a second opinion. And if one of the recruits actually managed to get both documents, he was the happiest person on earth or at least on the barracks.
  • Vehicle service group
    This unit consisted of the mechanics and the drivers who serviced our vehicles (regardless of being part of the air force, we had no airplanes). They also moved the vehicles. 
The fleet had a few lorries with which the recruits were driven to the manoeuver or to shooting practice, a few accompanying vehicles, a kitchen truck and a few limousines that were used by the driving service to take the officers where they needed to go. I think we also had a bus, but it mostly sat around. As far as I know, the entire drivers’ service of the German Armed Forces (including tanks) is now outsourced.
  • Supplies
    The supply department was responsible for everything the company needed: clothes, weapons, office hardware, toilet paper. After all, a hundred new soldiers had to get their uniforms every three months. Food, however, was only organized by the supply unit (planning, procurement). The cooking was done by civil servants, of which the German Armed Forces had plenty on top of their 500,000 soldiers.

And it all worked quite well. The teachers (Ausbilder) in the three companies mostly managed to keep all the recruits alive (regardless of recurring suicide attempts). They even made tame soldiers out of them in three months. As a general rule, we delivered the soldiers to their new companies, where they then patently served their time (usually fifteen or twelve months) as sentries or office service persons for German barracks.

We always were within the limit when it came to the number of recruits who were declared unfit. Once in a while, we even discovered a talent who later went to serve at the musical unit of the air force, and the same is true for some top players that we found for the company and battalion sports teams.

We also never starved. To be sure, the quality of the food that was served to the recruits was abominable, but we of the staff were luckier than that. That was definitely something the procurement units managed very well.

So what exactly was the task of the top management?
The company commanders had a fine life and were able to focus on the important things. They often changed (as I said, the battalion had a very good reputation). The only one who stayed long was the commander, the major. He waited for his retirement money.

We occasionally saw the decorated officers when big events were scheduled (solemn oaths, final manoeuvres, celebrations). Other than that, they were not much of a hindrance to us.
But the officers were also quite industrious and diligent. The company bosses and the battalion commander often had long meetings in the battalion mess. They worked late into the night. Once in a while, higher officers from the regiment and from higher up were also among the participants. Occasionally, even a general came, which always caused a disruption in the normal barracks procedures.

And our highest bosses were often on business trips. That was when they had to leave the barracks and the officer’s mess and travel to important Armed Forces or NATO meetings. In military life, international contacts are extremely important. And since they were leaders, they had to attend numerous courses, because, as we all know, leading is not at all easy. And when they wanted to relax, they sometimes flew. After all, the airplanes of the air force had to be moved around.

There are many questions our officers had to answer:

  • How can we make sure the world remains at peace?
    Again and again, they tried to find a good reason for the existence of the German Armed Forces (and, basically, to this day, they never found one).
  • What can we do to promote the reputation of the German Armed Forces?
    That was particularly difficult in our case. Among the teaching persons – especially if they were non-commissioned – we had quite a few tough fellows. Again and again, some of them made the local news because of misconduct. But mostly, they were only mentioned anonymously. However, since we were so important when it came to taming the recruits, we had nothing to fear. 
When the German Armed Forces had huge events, the community of Ulm also was very interested.
  • How can we create a feeling of corporate identity with other units?
    I remember a visit of the Bavarian Mountain Soldiers (Gebirgsjäger) from Mittenwald. It ended quite badly. What I mean is: “some of the equipment was lost, but luckily, with the exception of a few injuries, none of the soldiers became casualties.“
  • How can we become friendly with the other NATO states?
    To me, this seemed to be a particularly important task.
  • Once in a while, they had to approve our decisions.
    Mostly, they did that without reservations. However, it always took time, which caused emotional disputes among the parties concerned.
  • Special attention was given to the athletic activities in and beyond the air force.
    For instance, every company had a soccer team and a handball team. We specifically chose and kept recruits that were a precious gain to the teams. And whenever you have one of these athletic competitions, you have reason to celebrate.

I remember a soccer match against the US Army. At the time, no American was able to play soccer, so we won by 21:1. It was the highest win I ever actively witnessed in field soccer. In fact, it turned out that the biggest challenge was how to get them to score their one counter goal. Imagine all the things you do in the name of peace among nations and brothers in arms.


 

Why do I tell you these things? Because, with the German Armed Forces, I experienced a huge stage where big military theatre was playing. However, it was no more than what I would have expected from the German Armed Forces.

After my service time, when I continued studying and working at Siemens, I also experienced business theatre. It increased all the time and that really did surprise me.

These days, I am also perplexed when I see that many small enterprises are no longer there for the people (employees and customers). With all the business theatre, there is no time left for anything else.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Only two pictures of me were taken during the entire time I served (April, 1, 1970 until September, 30, 1971). Both of them were taken during my first visit home; the first in front of the parents’ house and the second at the dinner table.

P.S.1
For more articles in my entrepreneur’s diary, click here: Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 9. Januar 2019

„Business Theater“ (Unternehmertagebuch #128)

Da schau ich gar nicht glücklich aus der Uniform.

Ich habe 18 Monate als Wehrpflichtiger „gedient“ und in diesen 18 Monaten „Saufen“ und „Chillen“ gelernt. Allerdings auch das Überleben in einem kranken System.

Diese 18 Monate haben mir aber auch gezeigt, wie Unternehmen nicht sein dürfen, aber leider meistens doch sind (vielleicht weil Unternehmen betreffend der Organisation ja gerne militärischen Mustern folgen).


 

Eingezogen wurde ich am 1. April 1970 zur Luftwaffe nach Lagerlechfeld. Nach einem Zwischenstopp in Landsberg begann die militärische Karriere des „Flieger Dürre“ am 5. April in Ulm. Ich bin in einem Bataillon gelandet, dessen kleine Kaserne am unteren Kuhberg ziemlich nah der Ulmer Innenstadt lag. Die Kaserne war nach dem Kriegsheld Boelcke benannt (siehe Militär in Ulm). Es war eine alte Kaserne, argwöhnische Menschen meinten, noch das (abgeschlagene) Hakenkreuz über dem Eingang zu erkennen.

Die Kaserne, in der ich von Landsberg kommend gelandet war, gehörte zum Ausbildungsregiment der Luftwaffe. Die Luftwaffe war eine der drei Waffengattungen der Bundeswehr; Marine und Heer gab es auch noch.

Die Organisation war ganz simpel:
Das Bataillon bestand aus drei Kompanien und ein paar „Stabsstellen“ wie einer Sanitätsgruppe, der Kraftfahrzeugbereitschaft und dem Nachschub. Der Bataillonskommandeur war bei uns vom Dienstgrad nur Major. Das war wie ein Zeichen, dass unser Bataillon keine große militärische Bedeutung hatte.

Jede Kompanie bestand aus drei Zügen. Jede Kompanie hatte einen Kompaniechef (in der Regel war das ein Hauptmann) und den „Spieß“. Der Spieß war in der Regel ein Hauptfeldwebel. Er war Chef des Innendienstes inklusive der Schreibstube und hatte die operative Aufgabe , die Ordnung zu organisieren und UVDs und Wachdienste einzuteilen.

Jeder Zug hatte einen Zugführer und drei Gruppen. Die Zugführer waren in der Regel Unteroffiziere, gelegentlich war auch mal ein Fahnenjunker bei. Jede Gruppe hatte einen Gruppenführer, der gut 10 Auszubildende für die drei Monate der Grundausbildung führte. Die Gruppenführer waren in der Regel Mannschaftsdienstgrade.

Zusammenfassend kann man sagen, dass ungefähr 100 (einhundert) Rekruten (so in etwa 3 x 3 x 11) in einer Kompanie einem kleinen Stamm von dreizehn (9 + 3 + 1) Ausbildern gegenüber standen. Da Rekruten ja „schwierige Soldaten“ waren, musste der Stamm zusammen halten und war bildete oft eine eingeschworene Gemeinschaft.

Das Geschäftsmodell war Teil des Wehrpflichtmodells und auch ganz einfach:
Immer am 1. eines jeden Quartals (Januar, April, Juli, Oktober) mussten die deutschen Wehrpflichtigen damals in Massen zu den Waffen – also einrücken. Sie kamen in ihre Einheiten und wurden auf Kasernen, die aufs ganz Land auf  verteilt. Wenn die aufnehmenden Einheiten ein Problem  mit dem einen oder anderen Rekruten hatten (ganz gleich aus welcher Ursache), wurde dieser zu uns nach Ulm geschickt. So kam auch ich nach Ulm.

Ein Problem war, dass die Menschen, die dann ein paar Tage später zu uns kamen, sehr verschieden waren. So kamen Anfang Juli immer fast nur Abiturienten, die in ihren Einheiten aussortiert worden waren, weil sie sehr renitent waren oder andere Probleme (Rauschgift !) hatten. Zu den anderen Terminen  kamen immer viele sozial schwache Menschen zu uns, oft ohne Schulabschluß. Die Zusammensetzung war in jedem Quartal eine andere.

Unsere Aufgabe in Ulm war dann, aus diesen Problemfällen ordentliche Soldaten zu machen, die dann innerhalb der Luftwaffe für einfache Aufgaben wie Objektschutz (Wachsoldaten) oder in den Schreibbüros (heute würde man „back office“ sagen) eingesetzt werden konnten.

Beim ersten Ausgang im elterlichen Wohnzimmer.

Drei der Rekruten mussten von jeder Ausbildungskompanie als Nachwuchs übernommen wurden. Das passierte mir, weil ich als einziger in meiner Kompanie Abitur hatte (die meisten hatten gar keinen Schulabschluss) und sie jemanden brauchten, der auch unterrichten konnte (Staatsbürgerkunde, militärische Ränge und Strukturen, Ausbildung an der Waffe). So war ich nach drei Monaten Grundausbildung schon gleich Gruppenführer mit Spezialaufgaben wie bestimmte Kompanie-Unterrichte.

Unsere Stabsstellen:

Die Stabsstellen waren für das ganz Bataillon zuständig.

  • Sanitätsgruppe
    Die Sanitätsgruppe bestand aus zwei Ärzten und ein paar Sanitätern. Deren Aufgabe war neben medizinischer Versorgung vor allem das „krank schreiben“ und besonders kritisch das „untauglich schreiben“. Viele wollten untauglich werden, die pro Kompanie erlaubte Quote aber sehr niedrig. Zudem musste für jeden, der von unseren Ärzten als „untauglich“ erklärt wurde, noch ein Zweitgutachten eingeholt werden. Und wenn einer der Rekruten beides geschafft hatte, war er der glücklichste Mensch auf Erden bzw. in der Kaserne.
  • Fahrbereitschaft
    Diese Einheit bestand aus ein Mechanikern und Fahrern, die für unsere Fahrzeug-Flotte sorgten (obwohl bei der Luftwaffe hatten wir keine Flugzeuge) und die Fahrzeuge bewegten.
    Die Flotte bestand aus ein paar Lastern, die die Rekruten ins Manöver oder zu den Schießübungen brachten, ein paar Begleitfahrzeugen, einem Küchenwagen und ein paar Limousinen, mit denen der Fahrdienst für die Offiziere realisiert wurde. Ich glaube einen Bus hatten wir auch noch, der aber nicht so viel bewegt wurde. Nach meinem Wissen ist die Fahrbereitschaft der Bundeswehr (inklusive der Panzer) heute komplett „out gesourct“ (BW-Fuhrpark).
  • Nachschub
    Der Nachschub sorgte für die Ausstattung der Kompanie mit allem, ob Kleidung, Waffen, Büromaterialien oder Klopapier. Es mussten ja jedes Quartal über 100 neue Soldaten eingekleidet werden. Nahrungsmittel wurden vom Nachschub aber nur organisiert (Planung, Einkauf), in der Küche haben Zivilangestellte gekocht, von denen die Bundeswehr neben den damals 500.000 Soldaten auch noch eine riesige Anzahl hatte.

Und das hat alles ganz gut funktioniert. Die Stamm-Ausbilder in den drei Kompanien bekamen es in der Regel so hin, dass die Rekruten alle am Leben blieben (trotz regelmäßiger Selbstmordversuche) und in den drei Monaten zu gezähmten Soldaten wurden.  In der Regel konnten wir dies auch unbeschadet bei ihren neuen Kompanien abliefern, so dass sie dort für die restliche Zeit (in der Regel 15 oder 12 Monate) brav ihren Wach- oder Stubendienst für Deutsche Kasernen ableisteten.

Die Vorgaben für die Anzahl der Untauglichen haben wir eingehalten. Und ab und zu haben wir sogar ein Talent für das Musikkorps der Luftwaffe entdeckt wie auch diverse Spitzenspieler für die Kompanie- und Bataillons-Sport-Mannschaften entdeckt!

Zu Essen gab es auch immer etwas. Natürlich war der „Fraß“ für die Rekruten grauenhaft, dem Stamm gings da besser. Das hat der Nachschub schon gut hinbekommen.

Was war die Aufgabe des Top-Managements?

Die Kompaniechefs hatten ein gutes Leben, und konnten sich um die wichtigen Dinge kümmern. Sie wechselten auch häufig (wie gesagt, das Bataillon hatte kein hohes Ansehen. Der einzige, der lange blieb war unser Kommandeur, der Major. Der hat so auf seine Pension gewartet.

Wir sahen das Lametta ab und zu als Besucher bei den großen Ereignissen (Gelöbnis, Abschlussmanöver, Feiern), ansonsten standen sie uns nicht so sehr im Wege.

Die Offiziere waren aber auch emsig und fleißig. Häufig hielten die Kompanie-Chefs mit dem Bataillonskommandeur im Offiziers-Kasino lange Meetings ab. Bis spät in die Nacht haben sie da gearbeitet. Gelegentlich waren höhere Dienstgrade vom Regiment und weiter oben dabei. Ab und zu war sogar ein General da, was immer den Betrieb in der Kaserne störte.

Und unsere Oberchefs waren sehr viel auf Dienstreisen. Dann mussten sie heraus aus der Kaserne und dem Offizierskasino und zu wichtigen Bundeswehr- und Nato-Treffen reisen. Internationale Kontakte sind im militärischen Leben von großer Wichtigkeit. Und als Führungskräfte mussten sie auf zahlreiche Schulungen gehen, denn „Führen“ ist ja bekanntlich alles andere als einfach. Und zur Entspannung wurde auch mal ein wenig geflogen, die Flugzeuge der Luftwaffe mussten ja auch bewegt werden.

Unsere Offiziere hatten viele Fragen zu klären:

  • Wie sichern wir den Weltfrieden?
    Immer wieder versuchten sie die Existenz der Bundeswehr zu begründen (und haben ja bis heute keine valide Erklärung gefunden).
  • Was machen wir für das Ansehen der Bundeswehr in der Öffentlichkeit?
    Das war gerade bei uns besonders schwierig. Bei den Ausbildern – gerade den Zeitsoldaten – gab es auch rechte Haudegen. Immer wieder waren einige davon Fehlverhaltens in der lokalen Zeitung. Aber meistens nur anonym. Da wir aber so wichtig waren, um die Rekruten zu zähmen, konnte man uns nichts anhaben.
    An den Großveranstaltungen der Bundeswehr hatte die Ulmer Öffentlichkeit auch nicht viel Interesse.
  • Wie schaffen wir Verbundenheit zu den anderen Waffengattungen?
    Da erinnere ich mich an einen Besuch von bayerischen Gebirgsjägern aus Mittenwald, der ziemlich katastrophal endete. Katastrophal will in diesem Zusammenhang heißen: „mit Verlusten an Material, aber glücklicherweise ausser Verletzungen keine Verluste bei der Mannschaft“.
  • Wie schaffen wir Völkerfreundschaft mit den in der Nato beteiligten Staaten?
    Die schien mir eine besonders wichtige Aufgabe zu sein.
  • Ab und zu mussten sie von uns vorgeschlagene Entscheidungen genehmigen.
    Das haben sie auch meistens brav gemacht. allerdings hat das immer ein wenig gedauert und führte ab und zu emotionalen Auseinandersetzungen innerhalb der Runde.
  • Besondere Priorität lag auf den sportlichen Aktivitäten inner- und außerhalb der Luftwaffe.
    Jede Kompanie hatte z.B. eine Fußball- und Handball-Mannschaft. Wir haben extra Rekruten ausgewählt und behalten, die wertvolle Verstärkungen waren. Und anläßlich von so sportlichen Wettbewerben kann man ja wunderbar feiern.
    Ich erinnere mich mal an eine Spiel gegen die US Army. Die Amis konnten damals noch gar nicht Fussball spielen, so haben wir 21:1 gewonnen. Das war der höchste Sieg, den ich jemals beim Feldfussball aktiv erlebt habe. Die größte Herausforderung war allerdings, den Amis das Gegentor schießen zu lassen! Aber was tut man nicht alles für die Völkerverständigung mit dem Waffenbruder.

 


Warum erzähle ich das? Weil ich bei der Bundeswehr eine weite Bühne erlebt habe, auf der viel und großes militärisches Theater gegeben wurde. Bei der Bundeswehr habe ich das aber auch nicht anderes erwartet.

Wie ich nach meiner Entlassung wieder studierte und bei Siemens arbeitete, habe ich auch Business-Theater erlebt. Das nahm immer zu und hat mich dann schon sehr überrascht.

Verblüfft bin ich mittlerweile, dass ich auch viele kleine Unternehmen sehe, bei denen die Führung nicht mehr für die Menschen (Mitarbeiter und Kunden) da ist. Vor lauter Business Theater kommen sie gar nicht mehr dazu.

RMD

P.S.
Aus den eineinhalb Jahren meiner Wehrzeit (1. April 1970 bis 30. September 1971) gibt es tatsächlich nur zwei Fotos von mir. Beide wurden anläßlich meines ersten Freigangs (Heimatausflug) aufgenommen; das erste zu Hause vom elterlichen Wohnhaus und das zweite dann am Esstisch im heimischen Wohnzimmer.

P.S.1
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet Ihr in der Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*