Roland Dürre
Wednesday August 17th, 2016

Gratitude

Currently, you do not get to read much in the IF Blog. That is because I am taking a time out at the world’s best location. Along with Barbara and accompanied by Anna (daughter #2), Sophie (daughter #3), Caroline (granddaughter #1) Nicolas (grandson #2) and Patrick (son-in-law #1).
🙂 What is written in brackets tells you the sequence in which they all arrived in my life.

Blick vom Zelt nach Norden in Richtung Gythio.

Looking south from the tent.

Four nights and days ago, we arrived at Porto Ageranos on the Peloponnese, around ten kilometres south of the old harbour of Sparta at Gythio. We sleep in our tent, directly on the beach of the Aegean ocean, less than 25 metres away from the water. We live in the wilderness. The ocean whooshes, singing us its song. At night, the full moon allows the stars to celebrate her. The campsite is not very crowded, and getting less so each day.

I have now found my personal rhythm. In the morning, I first and foremost swim to the other end of the bay, sometimes half an hour, sometimes an hour, just as I desire. I hike the way back along the beach. Then I get a wonderful breakfast: fresh white bread with homemade marmalade, Greek cheese and eggs prepared in various ways. I particularly like scrambled eggs with fresh tomatoes and paprika.

The morning is soon over as we are just enjoying our leisure time. Our two small ones keep us busy.- We are going on some short trips along the beach with our kayak and on some bike tours through the mountains of Mani that are sometimes a little longer and sometimes very long. Once in a while, we go to Gythio, where the local life takes possession of us. There is hardly a trip to Ghythio during which we do not take a break in the Touristik – the biggest coffee shop with a view of the harbour.

For lunch, we have tomato salad and fruit. Once in a while, this gets supplemented by fresh egg fruits, fried with plenty of garlic and olive oil, or else with roasted garlic bread. And in the evening, there are so many taverns to choose from that it is really hard to decide where to have dinner.

The world is far removed from me. To be sure, I regularly load the Süddeutsche onto my cell-phone and follow the Haching live ticker. I also connect with all my chats. But that is about it. In other words: I am currently a little out of touch and focused on myself.

On the way from Ancona to Patria, I read the small book “Gratitude” by Oliver Sacks. It was handed over to me by Rolf after I had given the presentation at the “Lion’s Club Opera” in Munich. Rolf Hüttmann does many great things and, among other things, he holds the presidency of the club. He gave the year of his presidency the motto “consideration” and invited me to give a presentation on digital transformation.

I have only known Rolf for a few weeks. He is a very prudent and wise person, which means that, even given the few meetings we had so far, I could learn an awful lot from him. First he introduced the work of Oliver Sacks to me and then he wrote a wonderful dedication, telling me how much lies behind us to be grateful for and how much lies before us to potentially make that feeling even more profound.

It is only due to Rolf that I understand what a high degree of gratitude I feel and how happy this makes me.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Blick vom Zelt nach Norden in Richtung Gythio.

Looking north from the tent in direction of Gythio.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 17. August 2016

Dankbarkeit.

Zurzeit gibt es in IF-Blog nicht so viel zu lesen. Das liegt daran, dass ich gerade eine Auszeit am schönsten Platz der Welt nehme. Gemeinsam mit Barbara und in Begleitung von Anna (Tochter #2), Sophie (Tochter #3), Caroline (Enkelin #1) Nicolas (Enkel #2) und Patrick (Schwiegersohn #1).
🙂  Die Angaben in Klammern betreffen die zeitliche Reihenfolge.

Blick vom Zelt nach Norden in Richtung Gythio.

Blick vom Zelt nach Süden.

Seit vier Nächten und Tagen sind wir in Porto Ageranos auf dem Peloponnes, zirka 10 km südlich von Gythio, dem alten Hafen von Sparta. Wir schlafen im Zelt, direkt am Strand des Ägäischen Meeres,keine 25 Meter von den Wellen entfernt. Wir leben in der Natur. Das Meer rauscht und singt uns sein Lied. Nachts läßt sich der Vollmond von den Sternen am Himmel feiern. Der Zeltplatz ist nicht sehr voll und wird täglich leerer.

Mein Rhythmus hat sich eingeschwungen. Am Morgen schwimme ich zuerst mal je nach Lust und Laune eine halbe bis ganze Stunde ans andere Ende unserer Bucht. Zurück geht es zu Fuß am Strand. Dann gibt es ein wunderbares Frühstück, frisches Weißbrot mit selbstgemachten Marmeladen, griechischem Käse und Ei er in verschiedenster Zubereitung. Besonders mag ich das Rührei mit frischen Tomaten und Paprika.

Der Vormittag vergeht schnell im Nichtstun. Die beiden kleinen halten uns auf Trab. Wir machen mit unserem Kajak kleinere Ausflüge dem Strand entlang und mit den Rädern mittlere und längere Toruren durch die Berge von Mani. Ab und zu geht es nach Gythio, wo das lokale Leben uns vereinnahmt. Und dies selten ohne Pause im Touristik – dem größten Café mit Blick auf dem Hafen.

Mittags gibt es Tomatensalat und Früchte. Ab und zu ergänzt von frischen Eierfrüchten gebraten mit viel Knoblauch und Olivenöl oder in der Pfanne geröstetem Knoblauchbrot und Abends haben wir soviel Tavernen zur Auswahl, dass es schwierig ist, sich zu entscheiden.

Von der Welt bin ich weit weg. Zwar lade ich mir regelmäßig die Süddeutsche aufs Handy und verfolge den Live-Ticker von Haching. Und pflege meine Chats. Aber das ist es auch schon. Insofern bin ich zurzeit eher ein wenig zurückgezogen und konzentriere mich auf mich selbst.

Auf der Überfahrt von Ancona nach Patra habe ich das kleine Büchlein „Dankbarkeit“ von Oliver Sacks gelesen. Ich habe es von Rolf geschenkt bekommen anläßlich meines Vortrages beim „Lions Club Opera“ in München. Rolf Hüttmann macht viele tolle Dinge und übt unter anderem die Präsidentschaft des Clubs aus. Das Jahr seiner Präsidentschaft hat er unter das Motto „Achtsamkeit“ gestellt und mich zu meinem Vortrag zur digitalen Transformation eingeladen.

Rolf kenne ich erst ein paar Wochen. Er ist ein sehr kluger und weiser Mensch, so durfte ich in den bisherigen wenigen Begegnungen mit ihm schon so viel lernen. Er hat mich erst mit dem Werk von Oliver Sacks bekannt gemacht und mir eine wunderbare Widmung geschrieben und mich darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass wir soviel hinter uns haben, um Dankbarkeit zu empfinden und hoffentlich noch so viel vor uns haben, um dieses Gefühl steigern zu können.

Erst dank Rolf habe ich verstanden, wie groß das Mass meiner Dankbarkeit ist und wie sehr mich diese glücklich macht.

RMD

Blick vom Zelt nach Norden in Richtung Gythio.

Blick vom Zelt nach Norden in Richtung Gythio.

Kommentar verfassen

*