Roland Dürre
Thursday November 12th, 2015

The World’s Biggest Project?

Today (November, 12th, 2015), there was an SZ article about a mega project in the “knowledge” category. It was titled: “India links its rivers” and written by Robert Gast. Let me cite:

India links its rivers

In order to distribute the water reserves of the country more evenly, they plan to build 30 channels and 3,000 water reservoirs. It would necessitate moving half a million people.

As early as December, the Indian Government wants to promote the realization of a gigantic infra structure project. Over the next years, they plan to build 3,000 water reservoirs and 30 channels with a total length of 15,000 kilometres. For instance, they want to connect 37 rivers on the sub-continent. The project, which is assumed to cost more than 150 billion Euros, is a reaction to the fact that there is extremely much rain in some regions of India while other regions have extreme aridity. The west and north of the country regularly fight against floods, while the districts in the east and south of the sub-continent again and again suffer under the drought.

KrishnaRiverConsequently, India started as early as ten years ago making plans to connect the great rivers of the country. Also, they want to pond rivers, especially in the Himalaya region. This is how engineers want to store excess water and then transfer it to dry parts of the country. They plan to re-route 174 billion litres of water each year. Farmers could then work their fields in times of drought, as well, says the Indian Authority for Water Development – who promote the channel building project. On top of this, they also plan to install water-driven power stations with a total capacity of 34 gigawatts.

However, the project meets resistance among the citizens. According to a study done by Upali Amarasinghe of the International Water Management Institute of 2008, more than half a million persons would probably have to be relocated. Environmentalists think the project intervenes too strongly with nature. For instance in the tiger reservation of Panna. After all, they plan to pool the river Ken and re-route it to merge with the Betwa river through a 230 kilometre channel as part of the channel project. Yet this would cause the flooding of parts of the national park and 1,600 families would have to move. Additionally, the 32 tigers living in the reservation would become totally isolated from other preserved areas. Regardless, the Indian government is determined to run the project. In September, they already inaugurated a new waterway between the rivers Krishna and Godavari in the south-west of India.

For me, this article was interesting for several reasons. Firstly, this project might well be the world’s biggest project. Secondly, there are many similar projects all over the world. They all want to facilitate access to water, initiating huge geographical changes. Because water gets more and more dear. And perhaps India does not really have a choice if they want to cope with the expected climate changes like long droughts and extreme amounts of rain.

Except that, to me, this all does not really sound sustainable in terms of our planet. Perhaps India and all these many other countries planning similar projects can postpone their collapse by a few decades. But in the end, it reminds me a little of the “thinking in terms of the next three months” as practiced by the concerns. Except that, in politics, the three months are a little longer and perhaps closer to a five-year period.

Perhaps we should, along with these projects that might well be necessary, try to heal the worst destructions we subjected our planet to during the last hundred years?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
About the author:
Robert Gast, born in 1984, is editor in the science sector of the Süddeutsche Zeitung. He studied physics and wrote his diploma thesis about Gamma Radiation in Space. Afterwards, he worked on a nine-months grant of the „Initiative Scientific Journalism “. This initiative gave scientists a journalistic training. Before signing up with SZ, he had worked for some time editing the “Zeit”, as well as the “Frankfurter Allgemeinen Sonntagszeitung”, the “Stuttgarter Zeitung”, the “Deutschen Presse-Agentur dpa” and the “Spektrum der Wissenschaft”. In 2013, he was awarded the Georg von Holtzbrinck Preis für Wissenschaftsjournalismus (category: young academics).

About the photo:
Krishna River Gorge by Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh, India, 13 January 2008, own work of Zeman, the file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 12. November 2015

Das größte Projekt der Welt?

Heute (12.11.2015) in der SZ finden wir im Bereich „Wissen“ einen Artikel zu einem Megaprojekt mit der Überschrift „Indien verknüpft seine Flüsse“ von Robert Gast. Ich zitiere ihn mal hier:

Indien verknüpft seine Flüsse

Um die Wasserreserven des Landes gleichmäßiger zu verteilen, sollen in Indien 30 Kanäle und 3000 Wasserspeicher entstehen. Dazu müssten einen halbe Million Menschen umziehen.

Noch im Dezember will die indische Regierung die Umsetzung eines gigantischen Infrastruktur-Projekts vorantreiben. In den kommenden Jahren ist der Bau von 3000 Wasserspeichern und 30 Kanälen auf einer Länge von insgesamt 15 000 Kilometern geplant. So sollen 37 Flüsse auf dem Subkontinent miteinander verbunden werden. Das gut 150 Milliarden Euro teure Vorhaben ist eine Reaktion darauf, dass es in einigen Regionen Indiens extrem viel regnet, während es in anderen oft extrem trocken ist. Der Westen und Norden des Landes kämpfen regelmäßig mit Überflutungen. Bundesstaaten im Osten und Süden des Subkontinents leiden hingegen immer wieder unter Dürre.

KrishnaRiverSeit mehr als zehn Jahren verfolgt Indien daher den Plan, die großen Flussbecken des Landes miteinander zu verbinden. Auch sollen vor allem im Himalaja Flüsse gestaut werden. So wollen Ingenieure überschüssiges Wasser speichern und bei Bedarf in trockene Landesteile leiten. 174 Billionen Liter sollen pro Jahr umgeleitet werden. Bauern könnten dann ihre Äcker auch in trockenen Zeiten bearbeiten, argumentiert die indische Behörde für Wasserentwicklung, die den Kanalbau vorantreibt. Daneben ist geplant, Wasserkraftanlagen mit einer Gesamtkapazität von 34 Gigawatt zu installieren.

Das Projekt stößt allerdings auf Widerstand in der Bevölkerung. Mehr als eine halbe Million Menschen müsste vermutlich umgesiedelt werden, schätzte Upali Amarasinghe vom International Water Management Institute 2008 in einer Studie. Umweltschützer finden, das Projekt greife zu stark in die Natur ein. Zum Beispiel im Tigerreservat Panna. Im Rahmen des Kanal-Projekts ist nämlich geplant, den Fluss Ken zu stauen, und ihn über einen 230 Kilometer langen Kanal in den Betwa-Fluss zu leiten. Dadurch aber würden Teile des Nationalparks geflutet und 1600 Familien müssten weichen. Zudem würden die 32 Tiger des Reservats von anderen Schutzgebieten abgeschnitten. Die indische Regierung ist dennoch entschlossen, das Projekt zu verwirklichen. Im September wurde bereits eine neue Wasserstraße zwischen den Flüssen Krishna und Godavari im Südwesten Indiens eingeweiht.

Dieser Artikel hat mich aus vielen Gründen interessiert. Zum einen könnte dieses Vorhaben das größte Projekt der Welt sein. Zum anderen gibt es weltweit viele solche Projekte, die Wasser besser nutzbar machen wollen und gewaltige geographische Veränderungen. Denn Wasser wird immer wertvoller. Und vielleicht hat Indien gar keine andere Wahl, denn dieses Projekt bietet ja auch eine Chance, besser mit den zu erwartenden klimatischen Veränderungen wie langen Dürre-Perioden und Extrem-Niederschlägen fertig zu werden.

Nur klingt das für mich den Planeten betreffend alles nicht so nachhaltig. Vielleicht können Indien und die vielen anderen Staaten, die ähnliche Projekte planen, dadurch ihr Kollabieren um ein paar Jahrzehnte aufschieben. Aber letzten Endes erinnert mich das so ein wenig an die „Quartalsdenke“ der Konzerne. Nur dass die Quartale in der Politik ein wenig länger sind als drei Monate und vielleicht dort einem 5-Jahres-Zeitraum entsprechen.

Zumindest sollten wir parallel zu solchen Projekten, die vielleicht sein müssen, wieder versuchen, die schlimmsten Zerstörungen, die wir unserem Planeten in den letzten 100 Jahren zugefügt haben, wieder zu heilen.

RMD

P.S.
Zum Autor:
Robert Gast, Jahrgang 1984, ist Redakteur im Wissensressort der Süddeutschen Zeitung. Er hat Physik studiert und eine Diplomarbeit über Gammastrahlung aus dem Weltall geschrieben. Anschließend hat er ein neunmonatiges Stipendium der „Initiative Wissenschaftsjournalismus“ durchlaufen, die Naturwissenschaftler zu Journalisten ausgebildet hat. Ehe er zur SZ kam, hat er in der Redaktion der Zeit Station gemacht, sowie bei der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Sonntagszeitung, der Stuttgarter Zeitung, der Deutschen Presse-Agentur dpa und bei Spektrum der Wissenschaft. 2013 erhielt er den Georg von Holtzbrinck Preis für Wissenschaftsjournalismus (Kategorie Nachwuchs).

Das Bild: Krishna River Gorge by Srisailam, Andhra Pradesh, India, 13 January 2008, own work of Zeman, the file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Kommentar verfassen

*