This is how I would list What I Need in Life:

  1. Primary Needs: 
That is air to breathe, water to drink and enough to eat.
  2. Social Needs: 
In order to live, I also need family and friends, the “Social Other” on many levels.
  3. Extended Needs:
For me, that is mobility and free access to information.

If all three needs are met, I am a happy person.

Failure to meet the primary needs will result in death. As soon as the air I breathe does not contain enough oxygen, there is a quick end. If I do not get enough water, it may take a few days, and without food, I might survive for a few weeks.

Whenever my social needs are not sufficiently fulfilled, I will be lonely. That might easily kill me psychologically, i.e. my soul would die.

Mobility and free access to information are certainly not crucial for survival. Rather, they can be called my personal luxury. I have these needs because of my personal “state of civilization”.

Extensive mobility, however, is a danger to the livelihood of man. That is not what I want, because I believe that it is my basic task in life to preserve and pass on the life I have been given. I cannot do that if I ruin our planet.

Mobility is of great value and not self-evident. You do not get it for free, even if it seems so to us. Consequently, I should utilize mobility in a very responsible way and always decide on the basis of priorities if I go abroad and how I go abroad. Is there a slower way? Does it always have to be individualized transport, just because it is allegedly faster?

Transporting information is not as expensive as transporting materials. In the future, information access will partly replace mobility.

I believe we will have to undergo a massive change of mind and modification of our behaviour if we want to meet the so very necessary climate goals.

RMD

P.S.
Not long ago, I went from Munich to Budapest by train (with my bike in the luggage compartment). The trip was 12 hours from door to door. Then I went from Budapest to Constanta by bike. The trip was 13 days. On the way back, I had to take the plane (again with my bike in the luggage compartment). The trip was 9 hours from door to door, including a change of planes in Timitoara (twice Saab Turboprop). Basically, this kind of trip is so precious that you could take a little longer, but unfortunately there was no acceptable way to go back by train with the bikes in the luggage compartment. Now the question is: do we really need all these fast connections as available today? Or would it quite suffice in this world of international networks to get to places a little slower?

(translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “My Private Concept of What I Need – Will I Have to Change My Life?”

  1. Chris Wood (Monday June 15th, 2009)

    1. Roland you seem to have a secondary need that prevents you leaving the world in a mess. Is this just friends and family? Or do you have a wider ethic?
    2. I believe I read once that the PC’s in the world use 10% of all electric power. If one adds the energy costs (plus trees) of other computers, television, newspapers, etc., the damage done by news-media is also huge.

Kommentar verfassen

*

So würde ich meine Bedürfnisse gliedern:

  1. Die Primären
    Das sind Luft zum Atmen, Wasser zum Trinken und ausreichend Nahrungsmittel.
  2. Die Sozialen
    Zum Leben brauche ich Familie und Freunde, das „soziale Du“ auf vielen Ebenen.
  3. Die Erweiterten:
    Das sind für mich Mobilität und der freie Zugriff auf Informationen.

Wenn ich alle drei erfüllt bekomme, bin ich ein glücklicher Mensch.

Kann ich meine primären Bedürfnisse nicht ausreichend erfüllen, so muss ich sterben. Hat die Luft, die ich atme, zu wenig Sauerstoff, dann geht es ganz schnell. Bekomme ich kein Wasser, dann kann es ein paar Tage dauern. Ohne Essen lebe ich vielleicht noch ein paar Wochen.

Wenn meine sozialen Bedürfnisse nicht ausreichend befriedigt werden, dann werde ich einsam. Das könnte mich psychisch töten, sprich meine Seele könnte sterben.

Mobilität und Informationen sind sicher nicht lebensnotwendig, sondern mein Lebensluxus. Sie sind Bedürfnisse, die ich aufgrund meines „Zivilisationstandes“ habe.

Extensive Mobilität bedroht aber die Lebensgrundlagen des Menschen. Die will ich nicht vernichten, denn ich glaube, dass es meine Uraufgabe ist, das Leben, dass ich erhalten habe, weiterzugeben. Das geht nicht, wenn ich den Planeten ruiniere.

Mobilität ist ein großer Wert und keine Selbstverständlichkeit, die es zum Nulltarif geben kann. Auch wenn uns das heute so scheint. Deshalb muss ich Mobilität sehr verantwortungsbewusst nutzen und immer eine Güterabwägung machen, ob ich reise und wie reise. Geht es nicht auch langsamer? Muss es immer individuell sein, wegen eines vermeintlichen Zeitvorteils?

Der Transport von Informationen ist nicht so teuer wie von Materie. Informations-Mobilität wird einen Teil der Mobilität ablösen.

Ich glaube, dass wir gewaltig umdenken und unser Handeln ändern müssen, um die so bitter notwendigen Klimaziele zu erreichen.

RMD

P.S.
Vor kurzem bin ich von München nach Budapest mit dem Zug (Fahrrad als Gepäck dabei) gefahren. Hat von Tür zu Tür 12 Stunden gedauert. Dann bin ich mit dem Rad von Budapest nach Constanta gefahren. Hat 13 Tage gedauert. Zurück musste ich fliegen (wieder mit dem Fahrrad im Gepäck), hat mit Umsteigen in Timisoara (zwei mal Saab Turboprop) auch wieder Tür zu Tür inklusive Umstiegszeiten 9 Stunden gedauert. Eigentlich ist so eine Reise etwas so wertvolles, dass man auch ein wenig länger zurück reisen könnte, leider gab es aber keine vernünftige Zugverbindung für Radler). Die Frage ist, ob solche schnellen Verbindungen wirklich in diesem Maße zur Verfügung stehen müssen, wie das heute der Fall ist. Oder ob ein wenig langsamer und weniger Mobilität in einer weltweit vernetzten Welt nicht auch ausreichend wäre.

1 Kommentar zu “Das Modell meiner Bedürfnisse – muss ich mein Leben ändern?”

  1. Chris Wood (Montag, der 15. Juni 2009)

    1. Roland you seem to have a secondary need that prevents you leaving the world in a mess. Is this just friends and family? Or do you have a wider ethic?
    2. I believe I read once that the PC’s in the world use 10% of all electric power. If one adds the energy costs (plus trees) of other computers, television, newspapers, etc., the damage done by news-media is also huge.

Kommentar verfassen

*