Sometimes, I really come up with strange ideas.

For instance, one evening, I start wondering which of the many electronic devices in our household is the most useful. And I try to determine which of them I actually really need.
Well, the ironing machine seems to make some sense. But then, I could also let my shirts be cleaned by a professional service. The shoe-shine machine, the electric tin opener, the electric coffee mill and the huge beer tin cooling/dispensing head cannot be among the number. After all, those were the devices that – along with some others and the electric Christmas candles – were thrown away when we moved.

The fridge certainly makes more sense when it comes to cooling beer. But then, I could also drink my beer in one of the numerous pubs situated around our house – where I would have company at all times.

On the other hand, there is still a small cool box. However, it is no longer as full as it used to be, because I prefer eating fresh food. And I try to make a general rule of eating less. Besides, the children are almost all out of the house. Consequently, I do not find it a good idea to store food. It constantly puts me under the obligation to control how long they can be kept and then I need to eat what will soon be past its “best before” date.

This is where our integrated water shaker and cooler comes in. It is a great thing and was the pride of the entire family for a long time. But now it has been out of working order for more than two weeks – because the “Grohe” company no longer replies as fast as they used to – and what do we notice? – You can do without. Because you can actually also drink your water directly from the tub.

Let us remain in the kitchen. We have the cooktop (induction with virtual cooking field) and the stove, the steamer with water supply, the dishwasher and the bread cutting machine, the ESGE miracle rod, the food processor(s), the electric lemon and orange squeezer, the grain mill, the cream whipping machine – they are all electric. And in our basement, we also have a microwave.

Back to soft drinks. The electric coffee machine is used a lot. I really enjoy my coffee and (probably) too much of it, too. But still, I cannot say I really need this machine badly. After all, you can easily cook Arabian coffee in the pan, can’t you? I still have a filter for the coffee pot, a coffee stamp and a small Italian espresso machine which, like the two old coffee mills, actually work totally without electricity.

The yoghurt device is sitting among the flea market things. I really do not need it. I do not like using the vacuum cleaner, because it is rather noisy. I prefer disposing of the dirt on the ground with my broom and shovel. In our household, wall-to-wall carpeting is a “no-go” and carpets belong in the fresh air, where they need whipping, rather than vacuuming. The electric razor is just for emergencies, because I prefer shaving wet. To make up for it, I rather appreciate the electric toothbrush. But do I really need it?

Suddenly, I remember something very important – my laptops, tablets, the router and the printer! And not to forget: the small electronic device that produces the “Tans” for bank transfers. All these things seem to be absolutely essential for life, regardless of the fact that once there was a time when we lived without. In those days, we had telephones, radios and TV sets – all of which we still have, but in several rooms at the same time. Apart from the fact that, today, they are more like huge tablets which can also be used for watching TV. And basically, I no longer watch a lot of TV. In fact, I prefer listening to the radio. Or else I use the sound system, which I really enjoy.

We also have another beautifully exotic device: the electric ice machine. Barbara sometimes uses it in order to make particularly tasty ice cream (cinnamon or mango, because our son brings those fruits back from India). But this, too, happens far from often. In fact, it happens almost as seldom as me setting up and letting run my electric toy railway in the basement (never). But then, this is something I keep for my grandchildren (despite modern children having no inclination at all to play railway – after all, they have computers).

There is also an electric drill in the basement. We actually used it when we moved. Even though I once learned that the average time of usage for a German drill can be counted in minutes. Diverse electric saws, glue-pistol and more similar do-it-yourself equipment can also be found in my basement. It makes me think of “shared economy”. And immediately, I think of the house technology (heating, solar energy for heating water, and photovoltaic), all of which are, naturally, also electric devices. Mind you, it is quite reasonable to use “solar” energy.

But then, what is truly the most important electric device in our household? The electric clocks cannot be the solution, because the problem might easily be solved mechanically. Perhaps the lawn mower, because it keeps me from having to perspire. But then, this, too, is something they solved differently in former times – just look at the scythe, which is a word you hardly even know today. And then, is it not “out” to be kept from perspiring.

The electric gate could just as easily be worked manually. Electric bikes – so-called e-bikes – are something I, luckily, do not yet have. Otherwise I would be burdened with all the maintenance and uploading. To make up for it, I have several bike computers (one per bike) and two GPS systems – well, they, too, are electric systems, aren’t they? And I also have a video supported supervision system in order to discourage bike theft. This is in order to have the evil thief filmed while he does his robbing.

Lamps, too, are electric – and quite basic – devices. Especially in the evening, it is rather nice to have light.

🙂 Suddenly, I remember the shoe horn. It is a truly wonderful device and I used it every morning – but then, it is not an electric device. Maybe we have an idea for a start-up here?
Isn’t it just scary how many electric motors work – or rather do not work – in our homes? As I think back, I seem to remember that, in the year 1950, when I was born, we had “ZERO” electric motors in our household. And speaking of electric devices, the only ones that come to mind in those days are the lamps and the radio.

🙂 But then, you have to take into account that I am a leftover from the last millennium.

So here comes the quintessence: do we really need all those things? I will soon take a closer look at all the pairs of shoes I own and for what purpose I use them. Or even better: all the things I buy although I do not really need them…

RMD
P.S.
Barbara is looking over my shoulder and she has a spontaneous idea: the washing machine! Accepted with gratitude.

2 Kommentare zu “What Electric Device is the Most Reasonable one in My Household?”

  1. Eberhard (Sunday June 8th, 2014)

    Recht hat sie, die Barbara.

  2. Alex (Sunday October 11th, 2015)

    Da fällt mir eine Zeile eines Liedes ein … sinngemäß …

    …wie viel Zeit wir hatten, als es di ganzen Werkzeuge zur Zeitersparnis noch nicht hatten …

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 14. Mai 2014

Das sinnvollste elektrische Gerät in meinem Haushalt ?

Oft habe ich schon komische Ideen.

So fange ich eines Abends an, darüber nachzudenken, welches unserer vielen elektrischen Geräte im und um den Haushalt herum eigentlich das nützlichste ist. Und überlege mir, was ich davon eigentlich so wirklich brauche.

Das Bügeleisen erscheint mir eingeschränkt sinnvoll. Ich könnte die Hemden ja zur Reinigung bringen. Die Schuhputzmaschine, den elektrischen Dosenöffner, die elektrische Kaffeemühle und die große Bierdosen kühlende Heimzapfanlage können es nicht sein, habe ich doch diese Geräte und noch ein paar mehr gemeinsam mit den elektrischen Weihnachtskerzen beim Umzug abgeschafft.

Da macht der Kühlschrank zum Bier kühlen schon mehr Sinn. Allerdings könnte ich Bier auch in den zahlreichen Kneipen rings um unser Haus trinken – und hätte dann immer Gesellschaft.

Eine kleine Kühltruhe dagegen gibt es noch. Die ist aber nicht mehr so voll, esse ich doch die Nahrungsmittel lieber frisch. Und versuche ich doch auch generell eher weniger zu essen. Die Kinder sind ja auch fast alle außer Haus. So finde ich Lebensmittel zu horten nicht richtig, weil ich dann immer unter dem Zwang stehe, die Haltbarkeit des Lagers zu prüfen und die Sachen aufessen zu müssen.

Da fällt mir unser in die Wasserleitung integrierter Wassersprudler und -kühler ein. Eine tolle Sache, er war lange Zeit der Stolz der Familie. Aber jetzt ist er schon seit über zwei Wochen kaputt – weil die Firma Grohe auch nicht mehr so fix wie früher ist – und siehe da, es geht auch ohne. Weil man Wasser auch so vom Wasserhahn trinken kann.

Bleiben wir in der Küche. Da gibt es die Herdplatte (Induktion mit virtuellem Kochfeld) und den Herd, den Dampfgarer mit Wasseranschluss, die Spülmaschine und die Brotschneidemaschine, den ESGE-Zauberstab, den Eierkocher, die Küchenmaschine(n), die elektrische Zitronen- und Apfelsinenpresse, die Getreidemühle, das Gerät zum Sahne schlagen, das Gerät zum ein Folie einschweißen – alles elektrisch. Und im Keller steht auch noch eine Micro-Welle.

Zurück zum Trinken. Die elektrische Kaffeemaschine wird viel benutzt. Und Kaffee trinke ich wirklich sehr gerne und (wahrscheinlich) zu viel. Notwendig brauchen tu ich diese Maschine aber auch nicht, kann ich doch lecker arabischen Kaffee im Topf kochen. Habe ja auch noch einen Filter für die Kaffeekanne, einen Kaffeestempel und die kleine italienische Espressomaschine, die alle wie meine beiden guten alten Kaffeemühlen ganz ohne Elektrik funktionieren.

Der Joghurt-Zubereiter steht beim Flohmarktzeug, ihn brauche ich wirklich nicht. Den Staubsauger nutze ich nicht so gerne, weil er Lärm macht. Lieber beseitige ich die Reste am Boden mit dem Besen und der Kehrschaufel. Teppichboden ist bei uns ein „nogo“ und Teppiche gehören an der frischen Luft ausgeklopft und nicht besaugt. Den elektrischen Rasierer nutze ich nur im Notfall, weil ich mich lieber nass rasiere. Dafür schätze ich die elektrische Zahnbürste sehr – aber brauche ich sie wirklich?

Da fällt mir etwas ganz wichtiges ein – meine Laptops, Tablets, der Router und der Drucker! Und nicht zu vergessen, das kleine elektrische Gerät, das die „Tans“ zum Überweisen produziert. Das scheint ja alles lebensnotwendig zu sein, obwohl es früher ja auch ohne ging. Da gab es ja noch Telefone, Radios und Fernseher – aber die haben wir ja immer noch und dies auch noch in mehreren Räumen. Obwohl die Fernseher mehr so große Tablets sind, mit denen man halt auch Fernsehschauen kann. Und so richtig viel Fernsehen schaue ich wirklich nicht mehr, da höre ich lieber Radio. Oder nutze den Plattenspieler, der so richtig Freude macht.

Einen anderen schönen Exoten haben wir auch noch, die sich mit elektrischem Antrieb drehende Kompressor-Eismaschine. Mit der macht die Barbara ab und zu ein besonders leckeres Eis (Zimt oder Mango, weil unser Sohn diese Früchte immer aus Indien mitbringt). Aber das auch nur (zu) selten. Fast so selten wie ich die elektrische Eisenbahn im Keller aufbaue und fahren lasse (nie). Aber die hebe ich ja auch für die Enkel auf (obwohl die heutigen Kinder Null Bock auf Eisenbahn spielen haben, weil es ja Computer gibt).

Im Keller gibt es noch eine Bohrmaschine. Die wurde sogar beim Umzug benutzt. Obwohl ich mal gelernt habe, dass die durchschnittliche Nutzung einer Bohrmaschine im Deutschen Haushalt im ganz unteren Minutenbereich liegt. Diverse elektrische Sägen, Klebepistole und mehr so elektrischer Heimwerker-Blödsinn findet sich da auch noch. Da muss ich an „shared economy“ denken. Und sofort an die Haustechnik (Heizung, Solar für Brauchwasser und Photovoltaik), die natürlich auch ziemlich elektrisch ist. Wobei „solar“ übrigens sehr sinnvoll ist.

Aber was ist das wichtigste elektrische Gerät im Haushalt? Die elektrischen Uhren können es doch auch nicht sein, könnte man ja alles mechanisch lösen. Eher der Rasenmäher, der spart Schweiß. Aber das hat man früher auch anders gelöst – Stichwort „Sense“, ein fast nicht mehr gebräuchliches Wort. Und ist Schweiß sparen nicht „out“?

Auch das elektrische Tor würde per Handbetrieb seinen Dienst genauso gut leisten. Elektrische Fahrräder – sogenannte e-bikes – habe ich glücklicherweise noch nicht, sonst hätte ich den ganzen Lade- und Wartungsstress. Dafür habe ich mehrere Fahrrad-Computer (Pro Rad einen) und zwei GPS-Systeme – sind ja auch elektrische Geräte. Und eine Video-gestützte Überwachungsanlage, damit die Fahrräder nicht gestohlen werden. Bezuweilen der böse Dieb beim Stehlen gefilmt wird.

Lampen sind ja eigentlich auch elektrische und sehr wichtige Geräte. Licht ist ja besonders am Abend ganz praktisch.

🙂 Plötzlich fällt mir der Schuhlöffel ein, ein geiles Gerät, das mir jeden Morgen gute Dienste leistet – aber der ist ja nicht elektrisch. Vielleicht wäre das eine Idee für einen Start-Up?

Ist das nicht ein Wahnsinn? Wie viel Elektromotoren sich bei uns im Hause so drehen oder besser nicht drehen! Wenn ich so nachdenke meine ich, dass wir bei meiner Geburt im Jahre 1950 „NULL“ Elektromotoren in unserem Haushalt hatten. Und an Elektrik fallen mir nur Lampen und das Radio ein …

🙂 Aber ich bin ja auch noch aus dem letzten Jahrtausend.

Jetzt aber die Quintessenz: Brauchen wir das alles wirklich? Demnächst werde ich mal überprüfen, wie viel Schuhe ich für wie viele Zwecke so habe. Oder noch einfacher, was ich alles so einkaufe, was ich gar nicht brauche …

RMD

P.S.
Die Barbara schaut mir über die Schulter und meint ganz spontan: Die Waschmaschine ist es! Gern genommen.

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Kommentare zu “Das sinnvollste elektrische Gerät in meinem Haushalt ?”

  1. Eberhard (Sonntag, der 8. Juni 2014)

    Recht hat sie, die Barbara.

  2. Alex (Sonntag, der 11. Oktober 2015)

    Da fällt mir eine Zeile eines Liedes ein … sinngemäß …

    …wie viel Zeit wir hatten, als es di ganzen Werkzeuge zur Zeitersparnis noch nicht hatten …

Kommentar verfassen

*