Roland Dürre
Saturday May 19th, 2012

Data and Money – Clouds and Cloud

Clouds are obscuring the sky or we are all inside the cloud.

Clouds are mystical objects. Regardless of the fact that they provide us with rain and thus water, they are commonly regarded more negatively than positively. Dark clouds obscure the sun of life. Well, that does not sound nice, does it?

There was a book and a film about the cloud. The title was just The Cloud. In it, you could read about an apocalypse that was not at all nice.

Now we have the huge cloud alarm. IT goes Cloud! And along with it, our data. And that is where matters get controversial. They use cyphering and hurrah data security.

Then I remember that there are also totally different kinds of Clouds. For example the “money cloud”. If I deposit my money in the stocking or even pack it into the pillow, people will give me benign smiles. I have to take it to the bank. Banks are also some kind of cloud, aren’t they?

Except – they use my money for something or other. They might be financing something very evil somewhere in the global world with my money. And, of course, I get less interest because the money is worth less. And once in a while, but definitely at some time, all the money will be gone. At least that is the lesson history teaches us.

But even when I went to school, I learned that I have to carry the change from my piggybank to the bank. They introduced the “world savings day” in order to make me less afraid of the “money cloud”. And on world savings day, the bank gave small Roland a small piggybank. It was locked with a key only the bank had access to!

I have now come to that stage where I prefer delivering my data at the Cloud, rather than keeping my money there.

Now you are going to say: but our data are a totally different affair from our money. They are personal – that is much more important.

Well, then how about we swap: you get my data and I get your money! In fact, I am happy to give you all my data for half of your money! Provided that your bank account is not negative!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 19. Mai 2012

Daten und Geld – Cloud und Wolke

Wolken verfinstern den Himmel oder Wir alle sind in der Cloud.

Wolken sind mystische Teile. Obwohl sie uns Regen und damit Wasser bringen, sind sie im Sprachgebrauch eher negativ belastet. Düstere Wolken schieben sich vor die Sonne des Lebens. Klingt doch nicht erfreulich.

Es gab es ein Buch und einen Film zur Wolke. Der hieß ganz einfach Die Wolke. Das war dann eine überhaupt nicht erfreulich Apokalypse.

Jetzt haben wir den großen Cloud-Alarm. Die IT geht in die Cloud! Und unsere Daten mit. Und da wird gekämpft. Mit Verschlüsselung und einem Hurra für den Datenschutz.

Dann fällt mir ein, dass es ja auch ganz andere Clouds gibt. Z.B. die „money cloud“. Wenn ich mein Geld im Sparstrumpf unter das Sofa lege oder gar in mein Kopfkissen einpacke, werde ich belächelt. Ich muss es zur Bank bringen. Die Banken bilden doch auch so eine Cloud.

Nur – die machen dann irgendetwas mit meinem Geld. Finanzieren irgendwo in dieser globalen Welt etwas unter Umständen sehr Übles. Und natürlich bekomme ich weniger Zins als das Geld weniger wert wird. Und ab und zu aber immer wieder ist dann das ganze Geld weg. Zumindest lehrt das die Geschichte.

Aber schon in der Schule habe ich gelernt, dass ich das Kleingeld aus meinem Sparschwein zur Bank tragen muss. Der „Weltspartag“ wurde erfunden, um mir die Angst vor der „money cloud“ zu nehmen. Und am Weltspartag hat die liebe Sparkasse dem kleinen Roland ein bunte Spardose geschenkt. Mit einem Schlüssel, den nur die Bank hatte!

Mittlerweile gebe ich lieber meine Daten als mein Geld in die Cloud.

🙂 Jetzt sagen Sie:
Aber unsere Daten sind doch etwas ganz anderes als unser Geld. Das betrifft uns doch persönlich, das ist doch viel wichtiger als das Geld.

Dann biete ich Ihnen einen Tausch an. Ich gebe Ihnen meine Daten gegen Ihr Geld. Und zwar gebe ich Ihnen alle meine Daten gegen die Hälfte Ihres Geldes! Vorausgesetzt natürlich, dass Ihr Geldkonto ein positives Vorzeichen hat!

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*