"Mein Leben nach InterFace ?"

“My life after InterFace?“

On my way to Berlin, I was inspired by the book K-Working by Bernd Fiedler. As Bernd sees it, enterprises, too, are a community. He describes how the “flow”, which is so important for success, can be generated.

Now, on my way back to Munich, I have time to think about the things I read.

Humans need and will create communities. Either willingly or unwillingly. An enterprise, too, is a community (a social system). However, it has an economic purpose, i.e. producing goods or providing service. Part of it is that the employees must be provided for by an income that makes it possible to live on. Another part of it is to work towards a common goal.

Not all communities are the same. A world community differs from a community with shared interests or a common goal. In critical situations, you will get communities of destiny. For instance when it comes to survival.

Just to make you ponder: when is a marriage a community of values, of goals, of interests or destiny?

In his book, Bernd assumes that an enterprise the teams of which form a community of values will need but few rules, a minimum or organizational framework and also no complicated corporate form. And that, in these kinds of enterprises, the desired “flow” will quasi generate itself, getting stronger all the time. And that such an enterprise being a success feels almost like playing a game. This is an idea I wholeheartedly agree with.

With a community of destiny, matters are totally different. After all, in such a community, the individual team members are forced to work towards a shared goal (perhaps even survival). Consequently, they cannot give their own interests priority. You will need a hierarchy, strict rules must be introduce and forced with sanctions. And not much will remain of the game-like “flow”.

In an enterprise, the community of values seems to be the exception. It will only occasionally work during the first few years after foundation, then matters will change for the worse. The reasons might well be growth and size.

More often than not, the reason for this change is also mistrust and negative thinking. Persons in leadership positions, especially, are often infected by it. The “fear-free” room becomes smaller and smaller, trust loses against mistrust. In other words: the harsh reality catches up on everybody. This is how the “flow” is destroyed and – if you are lucky – you will get a community of interests or of destiny.

If negative thinking leads towards negative behaviour, then you often get the final exodus. The community of values will quickly turn into a community of destiny. The “flow” is gone, the enterprise culture and its values dwindle down and the leaders will find it rather problematic to cope with the new problems.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For all articles of my entrepreneurial diary, click here: Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 22. Januar 2016

Unternehmertagebuch #113 – Vom Flow und der Wertegemeinschaft

"Mein Leben nach InterFace ?"

„Mein Leben nach InterFace ?“

Auf der Hinfahrt nach Berlin hat mich das Buch K-Working von Bernd Fiedler inspiriert. Bernd betrachtet auch Unternehmen als eine Gemeinschaft und beschreibt, wie der für den Erfolg so wichtige „Flow“ entstehen kann.

Jetzt auf der Rückfahrt nach München habe ich Zeit, über das Gelesene nachzudenken.

Menschen brauchen und bilden Gemeinschaften. Freiwillig und unfreiwillig. Auch ein Unternehmen ist eine Gemeinschaft (ein soziales System), das jedoch einen ökonomischen Zweck hat, sprich die Herstellung von Waren oder die Bereitstellung von Dienstleistungen. Dazu gehört auch die Versorgung der Mitarbeiter mit einem Existenz sicherndem Einkommen und das Erwirtschaften eines angemessenen Ergebnisses.

Gemeinschaft ist nicht gleich Gemeinschaft. Eine Wertegemeinschaft ist etwas anders als eine Interessens- oder Zweckgemeinschaft. In kritischen Situationen entstehen Schicksalsgemeinschaften. Wenn es z.B. ums Überleben geht.

Nur zum Nachdenken: Auch Ehen sind Gemeinschaften. Wann ist eine Ehe eine Werte-, Zweck-, Interessens- oder Schicksalsgemeinschaft?

Bernd geht in seinem Buch jetzt davon aus, dass ein Unternehmen, dessen Teams eine Wertegemeinschaft bilden, vergleichsweise wenig Regeln, einen minimalen organisatorischen Rahmen und auch keine aufwändige Gesellschaftsform braucht. Und das in solchen Unternehmen der gewünschte „Flow“ sich quasi ganz von selbst bildet und immer stärker wird. Und das so ein Unternehmen nahezu spielerisch erfolgreich werden kann. Ein Gedankengang, dem ich nur zu gerne zustimme.

Bei einer „Schicksalsgemeinschaft“ dagegen sieht es anders aus. Sind dort doch die Mitglieder der Teams einem gemeinsamen Ziel (vielleicht sogar dem des Überlebens) unterworfen und müssen so zwangsläufig die eigenen Interessen hinten an stellen. So braucht es Hierarchie, strenge Regeln müssen eingeführt und durch Sanktionen abgestützt werden. Und vom spielerischen „Flow“ bleibt nicht mehr viel.

Im Unternehmen erscheint die Wertegemeinschaft als Sonderfall. Nur die ersten Jahre nach der Gründung klappt das ab und zu, dann straucheln sie. Die Ursachen mögen Wachstum und Größe sein.

Oft ist der Grund für die Veränderung Misstrauen und negatives Denken. Gerade Führungskräfte werden leicht davon befallen. Der „angstfreie“ Raum wird schmäler, Vertrauen zieht gegen Misstrauen den kürzeren, sprich die hässliche Realität holt das Unternehmen ein. So wird der „Flow“ zerstört und im besten Fall entsteht eine Interessens- oder Schicksalsgemeinschaft.

Führt das negative Denken zum negativen Handeln ist es dann oft „aus mit der Maus“. Schnell wird aus der Wertegemeinschaft eine Schicksalsgemeinschaft. Der „Flow“ ist futsch, die Unternehmenskultur und ihre Werte gehen „hopps“ und die Führung hat ein Problem, die neuen Probleme zu beherrschen.

RMD

P.S.
Alle Artikel meines Unternehmertagebuchs findet man in der Drehscheibe!

Kommentar verfassen

*