Roland Dürre
Monday January 6th, 2014

The Deutsche Bahn and the Döner in Lindau

I spent Friday night and Saturday in Switzerland, staying with my partner Wolf. He lives in Goldach on the lake Bodensee. As usual, I went by train.

My favourite route is through Lindau. You go from Munich via Buchloe, Kaufbeuern, Kempten, Immenstadt, Oberstaufen and see the entire beautiful Allgäu. I always enjoy it very much. And while I travel, I can read a little bit and prepare for various topics.

Unfortunately, it is not possible for me to buy a ticket all the way to Goldach in Munich. You can neither do it on the internet, nor at the counter. To be sure, you can buy a ticket to St. Margrethen, but not to the small villages such Rorschach or – well – Goldach. The same was again true last week.

Mind your, I can easily print the time schedule to Goldach via Lindau in Germany. First, you take the Alex to Lindau. Consequently, I buy a “Bayern Ticket”. It is valid as far as Lindau, where I have to change anyway.

Normally, the change of trains to the Bregenz S-Bahn or even directly to St. Margrethen takes a little more than 20 minutes. That means I usually have enough time to purchase my ticket for the way from Lindau to Goldach in Lindau.

This time, however, my schedule says I only have five minutes. And since a German train is never on time, this will be tight. Of course, I was right. Although my Alex was on time all the rest of the way, it had to sit in front of a red signal for five minutes just before Lindau Central Station.

And (of course) we arrive late in Lindau. The connecting train to Bregenz/St. Magrethen is waiting, but the voice coming through the loudspeaker advises us to hurry. However, I have no ticket for continuing my travel. Nor can you buy a ticket in Austrian trains.

Consequently, I must make up my mind real quick.

Alternative 1: board without valid ticket.
The risk of being caught is not very high. The train ticket is about 10 Euros, as far as I know, the penalty is 40 Euros. The risk of getting caught is actually even lower than 10 %. Following game theory, a lot can be said in favour of riding without a valid ticket.

Alternative 2: buy ticket.
If I buy a ticket, I will arrive forty minutes later. And additional inconveniences will follow: I have to inform my friend about my delayed arrival, because he told me he is going to meet me. Also, I have to change more often. And the stay in Lindau is rather long.

Decision: Döner-Man
.
I remember the Döner Man at Lindau Railway Station. The Döner he sells is really tasty. Consequently, what I do is not go towards the Bregenz S-Bahn to St. Margrethen. Instead, I turn towards the Lindau Station concourse.

The first thing I do is buy my ticket to Goldach. I have to use an Austrian ticket machine. Because the German ticket machine cannot deliver. I pay 10.50 Euros for the short way from Lindau to Goldach.
For those of you who never go by train: Lindau, just like Salzburg used to be (Germany/Austria) or St. Margrethen (Austria/Switzerland) is a Border Station ; you will find the ticket machines for two railway companies.
Afterwards, I go to the Döner Man, wishing to buy a Döner. Since I now have plenty of time, I take a closer look at the prices. In Lindau, you get the “normal” Döner for 4 Euros. The tasty one with cheese is 4.50 Euros and the Dürüm Döner is five Euros!

Some way or other, I seem to remember totally different Döner prices. Even without thinking way back to times when we paid with the Deutsche Mark.

Now I offer a bet: five years from now, the normal Döner at Lindau Central Station will be 7.50 Euros or more. And the ticket from Lindau to Goldach will be at least twice the price of the Döner.

Who wants to bet against me?

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
In the evening, we meet Barbara in St. Margarethen. All the Swiss trains on the display are on time. Only one train – the EC from Germany – is expected to be late. The loudspeaker just says: “Due to something that happened abroad, the train will be 10 minutes late”.

On the way back, something similar happened. We departed Switzerland and Lindau (!) on time, then had to wait for the second part of the train in Immenstadt. We changed trains in Buchloe – fortunately, the connection to Munich was also late. …

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 6. Januar 2014

Die Deutsche Bahn und der Döner in Lindau

Freitag auf Samstag war ich in der Schweiz. Bei meinem Freund und Partner Wolf. Er wohnt in Goldach am Bodensee. Ich fuhr wie immer mit dem Zug.

Am liebsten fahre ich über Lindau. Die Strecke von München über Buchloe, Kaufbeuern, Kempten, Immenstadt, Oberstaufen führt durchs schöne Allgäu. Ich genieße sie immer sehr. Und kann auf der Fahrt auch ein wenig lesen und diverse Themen vorbereiten.

Blöder Weise kann ich in München keine Fahrkarte nach Goldach kaufen. Geht im Internet und auch am Schalter nicht. Ein Ticket nach St. Margrethen gibt es, aber nicht für die kleinen Orte wie Rorschach oder eben Goldach. So war es auch letzte Woche wieder.

Den Fahrplan nach Goldach via Lindau bekomme ich schon in Deutschland ausgedruckt. Es geht zuerst mal mit dem Alex nach Lindau. Also kaufe ich mir ein „Bayern Ticket“. Das ist bis Lindau gültig, dort muss ich umsteigen.

Normalerweise ist die Umsteigezeit zur S-Bahn nach Bregenz oder sogar direkt nach St. Margrethen gut 20 Minuten. Ich habe also in der Regel ausreichend Zeit, um mir in Lindau das Ticket für die Strecke von Lindau nach Goldach zu kaufen.

Auf meinem Reiseplan ist die Umstiegszeit aber diesmal nur 5 Minuten. Und da ein deutscher Zug nie pünktlich ist, wird es knapp. Auch diesmal ist es so. Mein Alex war zwar die ganze Fahrt pünktlich. Vor Lindau Hbf steht er dann 5 Minuten vor dem Sperrsignal.

Und wir kommen (natürlich) mit Verspätung in Lindau an. Der Anschlusszug nach Bregenz/St. Magrethen wartet, allerdings drängt uns die Stimme aus dem Lautsprecher zur Beeilung. Ich habe aber keine Fahrkarte für die Weiterfahrt. In den Zügen in Österreich kann man auch kein Ticket lösen.

Also muss ich mich ganz schnell entscheiden.

Variante 1: Schwarzfahren.
Das Risiko, erwischt zu werden ist nicht groß. Die Fahrt kostet gut 10,- €, die Strafe meines Wissens 40 €. Die Wahrscheinlichkeit, erwischt zu werden ist wesentlich kleiner als 10 %.  Rein spieltheoretisch spricht also einiges fürs Schwarz-Fahren.

Variante 2: Ticket kaufen.
Wenn ich mir ein Ticket kaufe, komme ich 40 Minuten später an. Und habe weitere Unbequemlichkeiten: Ich muss meinen Freund über meine verspätete Ankunft informieren, weil er mich abholen will. Und muss einmal mehr umsteigen. Und habe in Lindau einen ziemlich langen Aufenthalt vor mir.

Entscheidung: Döner-Mann
Mir fällt der Döner-Mann im Lindauer Bahnhof ein. Der hat einen Döner, der mir besonders gut schmeckt. Also spurte ich nicht zur S-Bahn über Bregenz nach St. Margrethen sondern lenke meine Schritte in Richtung Lindauer Bahnhofshalle.

Zuerst besorge ich mir mein Ticket nach Goldach. Dazu muss ich den österreichischen Fahrkarten-Automaten nutzen. Denn der deutsche kann das nicht. Und zahle 10,50 € für die kurze Strecke von Lindau nach Goldach.
Für die Nicht-Bahnfahrer hier eine Erläuterung: Lindau ist wie früher Salzburg (Deutschland/Österreich) oder St. Margrethen (Österreich/Schweiz) ein Grenzbahnhof, da stehen die Fahrkarten-Automaten zweier Bahngesellschaften.
Dann gehe ich zum Dönermann und will mir einen Döner leisten. Ich habe jetzt Zeit und studiere in Ruhe die Preisliste. In Lindau kostet der „normale“ Döner 4 €. Der gute mit Käse 4,50 €. Und der Dürüm Döner sogar runde 5 €!

Irgendwie habe ich ganz andere Döner-Preise im Kopf. Da will ich gar nicht bis in die DM-Zeit zurückgehen.

Jetzt biete ich eine Wette an. In fünf Jahren wird der normale Döner in Lindau Hbf 7,50 € oder mehr kosten. Und das Ticket von Lindau nach Goldach mindestens das doppelte vom Döner.

Wer wettet dagegen?

RMD

P.S.
Am Abend holen wir in St. Margrethen die Barbara ab. Alle Schweizer Züge auf der Anzeige sind pünktlich. Nur für einen Zug – der EC aus Deutschland – ist eine Verspätung angezeigt. Die Ansage auf dem Bahnsteig ist ganz lakonisch: „Wegen eines Ereignisses im Ausland hat der Zug 10 Minuten Verspätung.

Auf der Rückfahrt war es dann ähnlich. Pünktlich in der Schweiz und in Lindau (!) abgefahren, dann in Immenstadt auf den zweiten Zugteil gewartet. In Buchloe dann umgestiegen – glücklicherweise hatte der Anschlusszug nach München auch eine Verspätung …

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*