Roland Dürre
Sunday March 13th, 2016

The Digital Mobility Revolution – CANZLER/KNIE

Can the digital revolution change the prevailing private-car-oriented order?

Titel_Canzler_Revolution_fbThat is the central question asked in the book by WEERT CANZLER and ANDREAS KNIE. And, as I see it, they also answer the question.

But let me start from the beginning. Friends of mine had spoken with enthusiasm about the Oekom publisher and its founder Radloff for a long time. I took those comments seriously, yet had never found time to look a little closer. Until a few emails from friends reached me with actual book recommendations.

After that, I did some really extensive browsing through the Oekom website – and I was truly fascinated, both with the topics/titles and the authors I found. And, without any hesitation, I went ahead and ordered a few books, for instance the one by Anneliese Bunk and Nadine Schubert Besser leben ohne Plastik (The Better Life Without Plastic). 
(ISBN: 978-3-86581-784-6, first published: 22.02.2016)

Late in February 2016, they also published the small book:
Die digitale Mobilitätsrevolution
(The Digital Mobility Revolution)
The visionary sub-title is:
THE END OF TRAFFIC AS WE KNEW IT.

Since the paper version of the book only has 128 pages, it was the ideal reading material during my nostalgic trip to Augsburg on Regional Trains. I went to the beautiful City Market, then to the Inner City (where I also visited Sina Trinkwalder and her Manomama – All made in Germany, from the threat to the seams) on 4, Moritzplatz.

Last not least, I went to the venerable Augsburg Rosenau Stadium, where, even in my earliest childhood days, I spent many important hours. And behold – the FCA II was beaten to the tune of 0 : 6 by the SpVgg Unterhaching (my new soccer home) – which definitely was a good reason to celebrate in the Riegele near Augsburg Central Station with a Kellerbier.

It was nice. And reading the book during the train trip and back was just as nice. Because it says in an understandable way how our mobility has turned into something askance that is both evil and threatening our future. It also says how the “digital transformation” can and will help us to at least avoid the worst of it.

As I see it, the book is absolutely “state of the art”. It describes the current situation in a very rational way and makes short shrift of a number of very popular prejudices. It shows solutions that give you optimism, yet it also shows the absolute necessity for change. This is true both for our administrative, legal and bureaucratic world and our social (collective) and personal (individual) habits.

The authors Weert Canzler and Andreas Knie deserve praise for having written a book that is more exciting than some criminal stories, regardless of the subject matter being so demanding. And I also have a few suggestions when it comes to the content – perhaps for the second edition.

For persons who actually think about our mobile future, the book is certainly a must. This is, for instance, also true for persons who believe they might attend the AktMobCmp. Incidentally, the next one takes place in Augsburg on May, 20th and 21st!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Here is the Link and some information on the book.
Weert Canzler, Andreas Knie
Die digitale Mobilitätsrevolution 

Vom Ende des Verkehrs, wie wir ihn kannten
144 pages, oekom verlag
München, 2016 
ISBN-13: 978-3-86581-754-9
Published: 22.02.2016

The use of mobile devices increases all the time. More and more often, our smartphone will decide how we get from A to B. If you need a taxi, you use your Taxi-App and book online with services like Uber. In the future, the digital presence will be the determining factor: if something is not digitally published or available, it simply does not exist. Through digitalization, the cards in the game of transportation choice are re-shuffled. Since renting systems get more and more attractive and the car is in direct competition for customers with railways, busses and bicycles on shared digital platforms, the power structure within the transportation sector will change drastically. Consequently, the technological characteristics of cars will mean less and less. The authors show ways and chances of this network in post-fossil mobility.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 13. März 2016

Die digitale Mobilitätsrevolution – CANZLER/KNIE

Kann die digitale Revolution das vorhandene Regime einer auf das private Auto fixierten Ordnung ändern?

Titel_Canzler_Revolution_fbDas ist die zentrale Frage, die im Buch von WEERT CANZLER und ANDREAS KNIE gestellt und in meinem Verständnis auch beantwortet wird.

Aber der Reihe nach. Schon seit längerem schwärmten Freunde von mir vom Oekom-Verlag und seinem Gründer Jacob Radloff. Ich nahm das ernst, hatte aber irgendwie nie die Zeit, mir das mal anzugucken. Bis mich dann ein paar E-Mails von Freunden mit konkreten Buchempfehlungen erreichten.

Da habe ich mich mal gründlich auf der Website von Oekom umgeschaut – und war begeistert, von den Themen und Titeln wie den Autoren, die ich dort gefunden habe. Und gleich ein paar Bücher bestellt, wie z.B. von Anneliese Bunk und Nadine Schubert
Besser leben ohne Plastik
(ISBN: 978-3-86581-784-6, Erscheinungsdatum: 22.02.2016)

Ende Februar 2016 ist dort unter anderem das Büchlein
Die digitale Mobilitätsrevolution
erschienen. Mit dem visionären Untertitel
VOM ENDE DES VERKEHRS, WIE WIR IHN KANNTEN.

Da das Buch in der Papierausgabe nur 128 Seiten hat, war es die ideale Regional-Bahn-Lektüre gestern auf meinem nostalgischen Ausflug nach Augsburg. Ich war im schönen Stadtmarkt, dann in der Innenstadt (auch bei Sina’s Trinkwalder Manomama  – Vom Garn bis zur Naht in Deutschland hergestellt) am Moritzplatz 4 und last not least im ehrwürdigen Rosenaustadion in Augsburg, in dem ich schon in meiner ganz frühen Kindheit so viele für mich wichtige Stunden verbracht hatte.

Und siehe da – der FCA II musste sich mit 0 : 6 der SpVgg aus Unterhaching (meiner neuen fußballerischen Heimat) beugen. Was wir dann noch im Riegele am Hauptbahnhof in Augsburg mit einem Kellerbier gefeiert haben.

Das war schön. Mindestens genauso schön war die Lektüre des Buch auf Hin- und Rückfahrt. Denn da steht ganz einfach drin, wie sehr unsere Mobilität in eine schlimme und die Zukunft bedrohende Schieflage geraten ist. Und wie die „Digitale Transformation“ uns helfen kann und wird, zumindest das Schlimmste abzuwehren.

Nach meiner Bewertung ist das Buch absolut „state of the art“. Es beschreibt die Situation sehr sachlich und räumt mit diversen sehr gängigen Vorurteilen auf. Es zeigt auch Lösungen, die optimistisch stimmen, weist aber auch auf die dringliche Notwendigkeit von Veränderung hin. Sowohl betreffend unsere administrative, gesetzliche und bürokratische Welt – aber auch unsere gesellschaftlich (kollektiven) aber auch persönlichen (individuellen) Gewohnheiten.

Sehr loben muss man die beiden Autoren Weert Canzler und Andreas Knie dafür, dass das Buch trotz anspruchsvoller Materie spannender zu lesen ist, als so mancher moderner Krimi. Und ein paar Anregungen zum Inhalt – vielleicht für die zweite Auflage – hätte ich auch noch.

Für Menschen, die sich Gedanken über unsere mobile Zukunft machen, ist das Buch eine Pflichtlektüre. Wie zum Beispiel auch für alle Menschen, die mit dem Gedanken liebäugeln, zum AktMobCmp zu kommen. Das nächste findet übrigens am 20. und 21. Mai 2016 in Augsburg statt!

RMD

P.S.
Hier der Link und Infos zum Buch.
Weert Canzler, Andreas Knie
Die digitale Mobilitätsrevolution
Vom Ende des Verkehrs, wie wir ihn kannten
144 Seiten, oekom verlag München, 2016
ISBN-13: 978-3-86581-754-9
Erscheinungstermin: 22.02.2016

Die Nutzung von Mobilgeräten nimmt stetig zu. Wie wir von A nach B kommen, entscheidet immer häufiger unser Smartphone. Wer ein Taxi braucht, benutzt seine Taxi-App und bucht bei Onlinediensten wie Uber. Was zukünftig zählt, ist die digitale Präsenz: Was digital nicht erscheint oder verfügbar ist, existiert schlichtweg nicht mehr. Mit der Digitalisierung werden die Karten der Verkehrsmittelwahl neu gemischt. Weil Mietsysteme immer attraktiver werden und das Auto mit Bahn, Bus und Rad auf gemeinsamen digitalen Plattformen um Kunden konkurriert, wird sich das Machtgefüge innerhalb der Verkehrsbranche drastisch verändern. Die technischen Eigenschaften von Autos verlieren dadurch an Bedeutung. Die Autoren skizzieren Wege und Chancen dieser vernetzten, postfossilen Mobilität.

Kommentar verfassen

*