After the presentation by Franz-Josef Bierbrauer (who used to work for OSRAM) during the EAA-Kolloquium at “Universität der Bundeswehr” a few weeks ago, I dined with the host and his orator. Since the presentation had been about “light”, I told them a story out of the 1970ies:

Flagge DDR Around 1975, I went from Munich to Berlin via Probstzella in the GDR on the “inter zone train” to attend a mathematical conference on combinatorics, which was what I wrote about in my diploma thesis.

The inter zone train rode through the dark night and, as usual, often stopped in the middle of nowhere. On one of those stops, it was light as day as I looked out of the window. A field was illuminated with enormous light intensity. On the field, you could see a typical GDR notice board with hammer and sickle saying: “plants grow faster for socialism”. Underneath, they had written the name of the combinate, but I no longer remember that.

EdisonsgluehlampeWith this story, I wanted to show my dinner companions how absurdly the GDR used up energy – after all, they had the world’s highest per-capito electricity consumption and with (more than just) their brown coal power stations were one of the biggest environmental sinners of the world.

So much the more I was astonished to hear what Franz-Josef Bierbrauer replied:
Yes, garden centres are, indeed, the best customers of OSRAM. Besides, in order to have plants grow faster, you need about 20 times as much lux as people working in an office with the lights turned on.

A week later, I told this story to a retired manager on my way to Frankfurt by train. During his work-life, he had been active in a world-wide steel wholesale trade. All he could do was shake his head and say: “We humans will never really learn from past mistakes!”
RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
For me, that also clarified something I had been wondering about during our Norwegian Journey in June. The brightly illuminated huge buildings on the hills along the fjords had been greenhouses. And I guess you should only eat cucumber and tomatoes from your own vegetable garden and limit your consumption of vegetables in winter to diverse cabbage types and winter salad (ice salad). Like in my childhood. By the way, in those days salad tasted rather nice.

The picture showing Edison’s light bulb is from the wikipedia article.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Vor kurzem war ich nach einem Vortrag von Dr. Franz-Josef Bierbrauer (ehemals OSRAM) im EAA-Kolloquium an der Universität der Bundeswehr mit dem Referenten und dem Gastgeber beim Abendessen. Da der Vortrag über „Licht“ ging, erzählte ich eine Geschichte aus den 70iger Jahren:

Flagge DDRUm 1975 fuhr ich mit dem „Interzonenzug“ von München via Probstzella durch die „DDR“ nach Berlin West zu einer mathematischen Tagung über Kombinatorik, dem Thema meiner Diplomarbeit.

Der Interzonenzug fuhr durch die dunkle Nacht und hielt wie üblich des öfteren auf freier Strecke. Bei einem dieser Halts war es draußen taghell. Ein Feld wurde mit enormer Lichtstärke beleuchtet. Vor dem Feld stand ein typisches DDR-Schild mit Hammer und Sichel und der Botschaft „Planzen wachsen schneller für den Sozialismus“. Darunter stand der Name eines Kombinats, den ich leider vergessen habe.

EdisonsgluehlampeMit dieser Geschichte wollte ich meinen Gesprächspartnern zeigen, wie absurd die DDR, die ja pro Kopf den höchsten Stromverbrauch der Welt hatte und (nicht nur) mit ihren Braunkohlekraftwerken einer der größten Umweltsünder der Welt war, mit Energie umging.

Umso mehr überraschte mich die Antwort von Dr. Franz-Josef Bierbrauer, dass das Beleuchten von Pflanzen absolut üblich wäre.

Ja, die Gärtnereien wären sehr gute Kunden von OSRAM. Im übrigen bräuchte man, damit die Pflanzen schneller wachsen würden, den 20-fachen Wert an Lux als für die Menschen im Büro.

Die Geschichte habe ich dann eine Woche später im Zug nach Frankfurt einem pensionierten Manager erzählt, der im weltweiten Großhandel für Stahl tätig war. Dieser schüttelte nur den Kopf und meinte: „Wir Menschen lernen wirklich nie dazu!“

RMD

P.S.

So hat sich auch ein Rätsel gelöst, das uns auf unserer Norwegenreise im Juni begleitet hat. Die in der sanften Sommernachtssonne hell leuchtenden großflächigen Gebäude auf den Hängen der Fjorde waren Gewächshäuser. Und wahrscheinlich darf man Gurken und Tomaten nur noch aus dem eigenen Garten essen und sollte sich im Winter mit diversen Kohlsorten und Wintersalat (Eissalat) begnügen. So wie in meiner Kindheit. Der Salat hat damals übrigens verdammt gut geschmeckt.

Das Bild von Edisons Glühlampe habe ich aus dem entsprechenden Wikipedia Artikel genutzt.

Kommentar verfassen

*