Roland Dürre
Thursday May 9th, 2013

Central Virtues of the Future

😉 Please forgive me for writing this article on Ascension Day – nowadays better known as “All Father’s Day”. I just experience, once again, how people have been traumatized because other persons (and their social systems) think they own the absolute “truth”. That hurts. Consequently, here I am again, trying to make a statement about virtues and vices. Even at the risk of talking beyond my own competence.

I doubt if such as thing as “the truth” even exists. We with the all the limits of our human existence only have certainties. They have nothing to do with the radical term “truth”.

Yet it is those certainties of ours we torture each other and ourselves only too often with. Consequently, I hope that the time for these truth claims will someday be a thing of the past. Just as I believe that words like guilt, morals or even revenge should become something we no longer need.

Unfortunately, it still happens that so-called truth is used for dogmatic purposes and then demanded of as many persons as possible, often using psychological force. And the subsequent moralizing makes us suffer and causes unhappiness and illness in many of us. That is bad!

The important virtues for a life lived with responsibility and social conscience are tolerance, ethical behaviour in the sense of humane decisions made according to shared and ethically responsible values, transparency and civil courage!

For instance, I believe humans basically wish to live autonomously and yet socially acceptable in communities. And that human happiness is nothing other than succeeding in making the opposing ends individuality and collectiveness meet in a healthy way. And the rest should be manageable autonomously with respect, ratio and common sense!

If we can do that, we will also re-discover our courage and joy in life.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Donnerstag, der 9. Mai 2013

Die Tugenden der Zukunft

😉 Man verzeihe mir diesen Artikel zu Christi Himmelfahrt – mittlerweile besser bekannt als „Vatertag“. Ich habe aber gerade wieder mal erlebt, wie Menschen traumatisiert werden, weil andere Menschen (und deren soziale Systeme) meinen, dass sie im Besitze der absoluten „Wahrheit“ wären. Das tut mir weh. Deshalb schreibe ich wieder mal einen Appell zu Tugenden und Untugenden. Auf die Gefahr dass ich mich über meine eigene Kompetenz erhebe.

Ich zweifle, ob es „die Wahrheit“ überhaupt geben kann. In unserer menschlichen Beschränktheit verfügen wir nur über Gewissheiten, die mit dem radikalen Begriff der Wahrheit überhaupt nichts zu tun haben.

Aber unsere Gewissheiten sind es, mit denen wir Menschen uns nur zu oft gegenseitig quälen. So hoffe ich, dass die Zeit von solchen Wahrheitsansprüchen irgendwann mal vorbei sein wird. Genauso wie ich meine, dass Begriffe wie Schuld, Moral oder gar Rache auch langsam ausgedient haben sollten.

Leider wird immer noch vermeintliche Wahrheit in Dogmen gegossen und dann von möglichst allen Mitmenschen oft mit psychischer Gewalt eingefordert. Und die daraus folgende Moralisierei schafft Leiden und macht viele von uns unglücklich bis krank. Das ist schlecht!

Die wichtigen Tugenden für ein in Sozialität verantwortetes Leben sind Toleranz, ethisches Handeln im Sinne von humanem Entscheiden abgeleitet von gemeinsam und sittlich verantwortet übernommenen Werten, Transparenz und dies alles gepaart mit Zivilcourage (Bürgermut)!

So glaube ich, dass Menschen eigentlich nur autonom und trotzdem sozialverträglich in Gemeinschaften leben wollen. Und menschliches Glück eigentlich nur heißt, dass der Spagat zwischen Individualität und Kollektivem gesund gelingt. Und den Rest sollte man autonom mit Respekt, Vernunft und gesundem Menschenverstand erledigen!

Dann kommt auch der Mut und die Freude am Leben wieder.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*