Roland Dürre
Sunday June 28th, 2009

(Deutsch) Die Überwindung von Zeit und Raum!

How to Conquer Time and Space!
bild0537A short while ago, I took part in a discussion on “The Sense and Benefit of WEB Pages for Radio and Television Stations”.

Some of the people I met who still had their doubts were quite competent and famous. Another participant, who is almost all the time travelling around the globe for an American world trust, was quite happy:

“I can hear Bayern 3 all around the world!”

Heute im Stadion” (“Today in the Stadium”, the Federal League Soccer reports, Saturday at 3 p.m.) is “live” all around the world. German soccer fans listen to the reports from the football stadiums of the federal league no matter where they are and what they do: while they eat breakfast, while they have their laundry washed, during lunch or dinner, or else on their night watch. No matter which continent they are currently living on.
I am currently on a ship near Norway. Even here, I could (if I so desired) listen to current reports of Bayern 2 (and in theory all other radio stations of this world).

The answer to the question if the web makes sense for radio stations is quite simple:

Information starts surpassing the borders of space and time!

To me, that sounds quite sensational. Regardless of place, you can listen to any station you wish to, provided they offer their program on the internet! For quite some time, internet radio stations functioning through WLAN have successfully done their job just like normal radios. Using them, you can receive an “endless” number of radio stations.

And even if a program has been recorded in the past, I can still listen to it as podcast. Whenever and wherever I so desire. That is a little like the stars shining down on us from a long time ago.
When we still had nothing but short, medium, long and ultra-short waves, that was unconceivable. In those days, we recorded programs on our cassettes and later labelled them. How many fruitless attempts we made! How often did malfunctioning cassettes and tapes drive us crazy? Again a jumble of twisted tape! Or else, we got angry because the cassette recorder did, after all, not automatically start recording at the time we had programmed it to.

I once tried to get a few old programs from my past. No way! Even the big German television stations had nothing left in their archives.
Today, everything gets recorded for eternity. The archives of today will provide an excellent portrait of our times to later generations. And everything is centralized and can be loaded at any time! I wonder what influence this will have on historical research.

Personally, I prefer current programs. For me, the element of surprise and the feeling that I am hearing people in a live-program talking into the airwaves are important.

This is also why I am the only person in our family who does not own an MP3 player. As a compensation, I carry a normal, small ultra short wave receiver almost all the time. I am very selective about using it. Constant background music is my idea of hell.
So far, I have not downloaded a single podcast. Whenever I feel I would like to do so, I change my mind quite fast. After all, I know beforehand that there will, again, never be time to listen to it.

🙂 And besides, I prefer being a hunter to being a collector.

Well, and if ever I will change my mind or have more time, then this, too, is not a problem. After all, everything is centrally available at all times and places.

RMD
(translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 28. Juni 2009

Die Überwindung von Zeit und Raum!

bild0537Vor gar nicht langer Zeit habe ich an einer Diskussion teilgenommen. Thema war: Über Sinn und Nutzen von WEB-Seiten für Rundfunk- und Fernsehanstalten?

Da waren auch kompetente und prominente Zweifler dabei. Ein anderer, der für einen amerikanischen Weltkonzern fast immer rund um den Globus auf Achse ist, freute sich:

„Ich höre überall auf der Welt Bayern 3!“

Heute im Stadion“ (Bundesliga-Reportage, Samstag ab 15:00) wird weltweit „live“ gehört. Deutsche Fußball-Fans lauschen den Reportagen aus den Fußballstadien der Bundesliga: Morgens beim Frühstück, Vormittags beim Wäsche waschen, beim Mittag- oder Abendessen oder auch nachts auf der Schicht. Ganz gleich auf welchem Erdteil sie sich gerade befinden.

Ich bin gerade auf einem Schiff vor Norwegen. Selbst hier könnte ich über das Internet aktuelle Beiträge von Bayern 2 (und theoretisch allen anderen Radiosendern der Welt) hören.

Die Antwort nach dem Sinn vom Web für Rundfunkanstalten ist ganz einfach:

Information beginnt die Schwelle von Raum und Zeit zu überwinden!

Das finde ich sensationell. Unabhängig vom Ort kann man jeden Sender hören, der sein Programm im Internet anbietet! Es gibt schon seit längerem eigene Internet-Radios, die im WLAN wie ganz normale Radios funktionieren, aber „unendlich“ viele Sender empfangen können.

Und selbst wenn die Aussendung in der Vergangenheit liegt, kann ich mir den Beitrag als Podcast anhören. Wann und wo es mir beliebt. Das ist ein bisschen wie bei den Sternen, die im Weltall aus langer Vorzeit zu uns leuchten.

Zu den Zeiten von Kurz-, Mittel-, Langwelle und UKW war das unvorstellbar. Was haben wir Sendungen aufgenommen und Cassetten beschriftet. Wie viele Fehlschläge gab es! Wie oft haben uns defekte Bänder und Kassetten in den Wahnsinn getrieben? Bandsalat! Oder wir haben uns geärgert, weil der Kassettenrecorder sich doch nicht automatisch zur eingestellten Zeit eingeschaltet hatte.

Ich habe mal versucht, mir ein paar Sendungen aus meiner Vergangenheit noch mal anzuschauen. Ich hatte keine Chance, nicht einmal mehr in den Archiven der großen deutschen Fernsehanstalten waren sie mehr auffindbar.

Heute wird alles für die Ewigkeit aufbewahrt. Die zeitgenössischen Archive werden späteren Generationen einen exzellenten Einblick in unsere Zeit geben werden. Und alles ist zentral verfügbar und immer abrufbar! Bin gespannt, welchen Einfluss das auf die Geschichtswissenschaft haben wird.

Ich selbst ziehe jedoch die aktuellen Sendungen vor. Das Moment der inhaltlichen Überraschung und das Gefühl, dass ich in einer Live-Sendung Menschen höre, die zeitgleich in den Äther sprechen, sind mir wichtig.

So habe ich auch als einziger in meiner Familie keinen MP-3-Player. Dafür begleitet mich fast immer ein ganz normaler kleiner UKW-Empfänger, den ich ganz selektiv nutze. Dauerberieselung ist mir ein Graus.

Podcast habe ich noch keinen einzigen runtergeladen Wenn ich dazu Lust bekomme, dann lasse ich es schnell wieder sein. Weiß ich doch, dass ich eh nicht dazu kommen werde, ihn mir anzuhören.

🙂 Und ich möchte auch lieber Jäger als Sammler sein.

Ja, und wenn ich mal meine Meinung ändere oder mehr Zeit habe, dann war das auch kein Schaden. Es ist ja alles zentral gespeichert und immer und überall verfügbar.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*