Roland Dürre
Sunday February 12th, 2017

The Unavoidable Unpredictability of the Future!

Many thanks to Jan Fischbach, master of agility and my photographer.

On February, 10th, I gave a presentation for the FAV (Forum agile administration) at the Stuttgart Hochschule der Medien. The audience was terrific and I would like to take this opportunity to express my special gratitude. The twitter tag was #fav17 – it is a convenient way to find more information about the workshop.

My presentation was about the “unavoidable unpredictability of the future”. The title is not originally from me – and the same is true for the following sub-title. Nonetheless, I tried to stick to the pre-defined ideas:

Agile methods are especially useful if the uncertainty about the desired goal is huge. In private businesses, uncertainties increase. Is that also true for public administration? Do agile methods really make sense in this sector?

As a service for those who watched and those who were not there: a summary of my presentation. It is a little shortened and sometimes just in catch-phrases.

I started the presentation with an outlook and by explaining terms that seemed important to me. So the first thing I did was pin a cross with five words to the white-board: in its centre stood “agile“, flanked by  “digital“, “social“, “newwork“ and “network/community“. I defined the terms and explained how, in my understanding, they belong together.


Note:
When I give a presentation, I am always a little nervous initially. In Stuttgart, I forgot the important terms lean and open. The next time I talk about “agile“ I will start with the central “smart“ cube “agile“, “digital“, “lean“  and “open“. And I will add “social“ to build a pentagram.


For instance, in #newwork I collect all the efforts we make towards giving work a more humane appearance that help us “not to suffer from burnout” even in our modern working world. It is all about consideration, cooperation, appreciation and participation. These are all values that movements such as “Augenhöhe“ (the Film), common good economy, intrinsify.me, “democratic enterprise”, “EnjoyWork“ and others demand. For me, “smart” includes the combination of “digital“ and “social“, with digital being the basis for “network/community“ and “agility“ doubtless only having been re-invented in the “digital world“.

However, the digital change (digital) is only the logic continuation of the Industrial Revolution and consequently the ever more accelerating technological progress. The acceleration of the development is no surprise, because thanks to digitalization, we have more and more powerful tools; what follows is that digitalization is the basic cause for the very fast drastic social change.

I supplemented this image by adding the two terms “courage“ and “joy“ – as a prerequisite for a successful (work) life –, along with the two terms “give impulse“ and “inspire“ as the two central agile means of leading (see below). And then I evened it all out by adding “trust“ (left) and “change“ (right). Finally, I wrote “happiness“ and “success“. After all, it is my goal to make other people – be it audience or mentees – at least a little happier and more successful

After that, my presentation had six steps. Here is a description in catch-words.

  • AGILITY
    I introduced the “Agile Manifesto” as it has been written by software developers and talked about the influence of IT on technology and our society. It was important that it became very clear how agility is not just a method, but a “philosophy” or “way of living”.
    There is no ideological discourse about, for instance, whether “scrum” or “the waterfall method” (V model) are better. Agility is such a natural, basic and so very human concept that both methods can be useful, depending on the individual task.

    • The medieval cathedrals, as well as the Rome Colosseum were built in an “agile” way: 
Builder, master and craftsmen met (networking).
    • Not agile: Daimler Museum 
(only new computer speed made it possible to build it, otherwise the static could not have been calculated. But then fire regulations intervened).
    • How agility got lost: 
The industrial revolution changed our view of the world. After having seen the Chicago slaughterhouse, Henry Ford got the idea to produce cars, too, in the assembly line. His huge plants had a great need of workers that were not available. At the same time, many farm workers lost their jobs due to more machines in farming. However, they were “stupid”, not even familiar with the concept of “time”. Consequently, the caste of engineers had to regulate everything. This is how the “caste of engineers” developed. They had to do the mental work for their slaves in all respects. A hierarchical system, paired with extreme division of work (Taylorism) became the formative organizational structure for enterprises.
    • Example: Werner von Siemens, born 1817: he organized his enterprise (Siemens) following the model of the German Army.
    • Another factor: time is a special commodity. As soon as it is over, it is gone. Now, all of a sudden, it is measured. In units, like kilograms! 
Note: sailors knew no schedules. They were only introduced for postal coaches. Only steam ships and the railway made schedules possible. This is how people came up with requiring “shared time” in common areas.
    • Before the industrial revolution, clocks were mostly used for navigation on the ocean. Now begins the time when they dominate (rule over) life.
    • In the plants, there was a common time. To make sure the rhythm was not interfered with, you had to leave your watch at the gate. If someone retired, his farewell present was a watch. “They returned the time to the people”.
    • Before the industrial revolution, nobody had a feeling for time. As early as 1900, there were only few countries with a shared time. For planning, the parameter “time” is extremely important.
    • In an agile world, communities take the place of organizations
Example: movements such as #newwork versus unions.
    • In an agile world, the needs of the customers have priority over the contract:
Example S21 – the plebiscite was positive because the people had understood that facts had been set – simply because contractual obligations had been caused by those who had signed the commissioning.
    • Fake agility 
A good example for this is the car as master of all individualized traffic. Having a car without a driver will not make you free. What happens if all automobile drivers realize this and want to become “agile”? They say that, if that happens, the economy will collapse. However, this is nonsense, because innovation is creative destruction.
  • AGILE LIFE
    As a general rule, agile persons are less fearful. Because fear happens between your ears. Usually, agile persons know the moment when they have to stop weighing arguments and instead should start and try things. Agile persons know that all they have is certainties, rather than truths. They are prepared to first give trust (“first give, then take”).
    Agile persons enjoy their work more and are more modest and happier. Perhaps they are also more humble and grateful. There is a rule: the more fear, the less agility and vice versa. A superior serenity is the pre-requirement for agility. It grows if you live an agile life. Consequently, agile persons are usually happier and more successful.
  • FUTURE
    In the last two decades of the last century, people and managers believed you could predict the future. All you have to have is enough information and then process it in a precise way. That would make it possible to develop valid scenarios for the future, too (for instance through think-tanks).
    And then you could come up with the right solutions and decisions in a totally rational way. 
This is how they believed an enterprise (and a public office) could become a determining system that gets input and gives output – and how the management could be controlled optimally through simply adjusting the right screws.
    What an antiquated point of view! 
The future cannot be predicted. But then, how are you supposed to plan and control the future if you cannot see it?

    • In his 1982 “Theses on Change in Management”, Hans Ulrich (the founder of the St. Gallener Management Model) states in his first thesis: “The future cannot be predicted!“
    • In St. Gallen, business scientists ask themselves how managers can ever make the right decisions à priori if it is often not possible to determine à posterio if a decision was right or wrong 
(Definition of decision: its consequences are serious and it is made under uncertainty).
    • Vuca (volatility, uncertainty, complexity, ambiguity) 
All of a sudden these terms appear as abbreviations for the “real world”. But has the world not always been like this?
    • Futurology: 
I, too, am guilty of having believed analysts (Diebold, Gardner), especially when they confirmed my own assumptions (prejudices). Almost in all cases, the predictions were wrong: 
Here are two examples that were detrimental for me, as well: 
Bildschirmtext (BTX) and Print on Demand (PoD). In those days, the market predictions were totally wrong. Entrepreneurs who believed in them made the wrong investments.
    • There are two personal friends of mine who are worth listening to: 
Klaus Burmester (@foresight_lab) and Lars Thomsen (future-matters.com/lars-thomsen/). They are both probably among the world leaders in research about the future. Klaus is a twitter recommendation. (#FF). 
Matthias Horx (www.horx.com/) is rather famous, but I do not personally know him.
    • On Lars and predictions about electro mobility: 
Several years ago, during a bike meeting in Sylt with entrepreneurs, managers, counsellors. It was about innovation and change, also e-mobility. 
Lars fascinates us all with his presentation on e-mobility. Two years later, almost 20 % of all the participants are proud owners of a Tesla, but all his prognoses were totally wrong.
    • Incidentally, the definition of futurology, according to Lars, is the extension of trend research. Based on this, futurology becomes the search for the Tipping Point (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tipping-Point) in technologies.
    • My conclusion is: futurologists are not much help when it comes to predicting the future.
    • The innovation as advertised by everybody can best be described as “creative destruction”.
    • The reform that is so often called for is nothing other than “non-violent change“.
    • And more and more buzz words are making their rounds:
      Transition, Transformation, Revolution, Disruptive Changes, Anti-Fragility, VUCA …
However, none of those are really new and agility is the only concept that can help.
  • The DIFFERENCE between ENTERPRISES and ADMINISTRATION
    Enterprises will die if they cannot cope with change. Especially in IT, there are many examples. Some enterprises “only” go bankrupt. Others leave behind them – even if for many years they privatized their profits very successfully – huge damage that will then elegantly be socialized (see EVUs – for many years they had been the DAX heroes – now they try to move the remaining problems, such as nuclear plants, to the public sector).
    Public office and administration cannot melt away either after having failed to adapt to change. After all, life in the community will continue. Consequently, the public offices – also due to their political and social mandate – have to cope with all change.
    But then, how is the survival of public administration supposed to work without an agile concept as its underlying idea? A concept that has an agile philosophy as its value orientation and that develops and lives an agile culture…
  • DRIVERS of CHANGE
    The understanding that future and change are not predictable grows. Even today, planning fails more and more often, in surprising dimensions. (many big IT projects, S21, BER). You are probably correct if you assume that change will be more frequent and more intense in the future. The trend seems to confirm it. In many areas, we see an enormous acceleration, the speed increases all the time and will continue to do so.
    Some drivers of change could be:

    • What is demanded of politics/society; 
Trump, “laws” that have to be immediately put into action …;
    • Economic Change; 
Car industry, export downfall, excise tax …;
    • Infrastructure & our habits; 
Mobility consumer behaviour, …;
    • Determining factors; 
Rising interest rates, more poverty, …;
    • Disruptive events; 
Refugees, the climate (warming and cold, water and droughts,…) epidemics, war (terror)???
    • Technology;
smart solutions, virtualization, electrification, passports as app;
    • And much more.
  • DIGITAL and CHANGE
    Digitalization as the high-speed continuation of the “technological progress” has only just begun – and the same is true for the social change caused by it. Cultural technologies, such as “being able to do calculations (by heart or on paper)” disappear. 
Machines are now “intelligent”.
    Using “intelligent machines”, we can build machines that otherwise could not be built – and they can themselves build yet more intelligent machines. Thus, the technological acceleration caused by digital progress will continue to grow. 
“Pandora’s box” is probably a nice metaphor for digital technology. The box is on the table. The table starts vibrating, the box begins to wobble. Before you know it, the lid will be askance and something crawls out of the box. Because there is plenty brewing inside the box. 
Soon, the lid will fall from the box and the box will topple over. Its content will spill all over the table. We do not yet know if all the things that spill out are caterpillars that will become beautiful butterflies. Or if they are evil worms that Medusa sent us?
    Well, my hopes are on beautiful butterflies.

That was my presentation. Since the audience seemed to like it, I will probably give the same presentation a few more times, perhaps a little modified with the focal points “agile mobility” or “agile enterprise”.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

2 Kommentare zu “The Unavoidable Unpredictability of the Future!”

  1. Chris Wood (Monday February 13th, 2017)

    Planning is replacing uncertainty by error.

    (Perhaps this posting already said that).

  2. Chris Wood (Monday February 13th, 2017)

    You are right Roland. Today, I read in your blog from the time of the Brexit vote. It predicted that the result would have no real effect, because the government would effectively ignore it. I don’t know the effect now, but the pound immediately lost about 15% against the dollar. The result seems to be taken very seriously. Companies are planning to leave England, and various other countries are sinking into nationalism.
    It was also predicted that the details would be decided in secret. This seems probably correct.
    So the future is really unpredictable. One cannot even assume that all predictions will be false.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 12. Februar 2017

Die unumgehbare Unvorhersehbarkeit der Zukunft!

Großen Dank an Jan Fischbach, Meister der Agilität und hier mein Fotograf.

Am 10. Februar habe ich für FAV (Forum agile Verwaltung) in der Hochschule der Medien in Stuttgart einen Vortrag gehalten. Ich hatte eine wunderbare Zuhörerschaft, bei der ich mich an dieser Stelle noch mal ganz besonders bedanken möchte. Der Twitter-Tag war #fav17 – hier kann man auf angenehme Art mehr Informationen zur Tagung finden.

Es ging in meinem Vortrag um die „Unumgehbare Unvorhersehbarkeit der Zukunft“. Der Titel war – wie auch der folgende Untertitel – nicht von mir. Ich habe mich aber bemüht, den vorgegebenen Gedanken zu folgen:
Agile Methoden sind besonders dann von Nutzen, wenn die Unsicherheit in Bezug auf das zu erzielende Ergebnis groß ist. In der Privatwirtschaft nehmen Unsicherheiten zu. Gilt das auch für die Verwaltung? Haben agile Methoden hier wirklich eine Daseinsberechtigung?

Hier als Service für die Zuhörer und für die, dich nicht dabei waren, eine Zusammenfassung meines Vortrages. Ein wenig gerafft und zum Teil in Stichworten.

Ich begann den Vortrag mit einer Vorschau und begann mit Begriffen, die mir wichtig sind. So „pinnte“ ich zuerst ein Kreuz bestehend aus fünf Worten ans White Board. Im Zentrum stand „agil“, umringt von „digital“, „social“, „newwork“ und „network/community“. Ich habe diese Begriffe definiert und erläutert, wie sie in meinem Verständnis zusammen hängen.


Einschub: Am Anfang meines Vortrages bin ich immer ein wenig aufgeregt. So habe ich in Stuttgart die wichtigen Begriffe lean und open vergessen. Wenn ich wieder über „agile“ rede, werde ich mit dem zentralen „smarten“ Quadrat „agile“, „digital“, „lean“  und „open“ starten. Und das mit „social“ zum Pentagramm verknüpfen.


Unter #newwork zum Beispiel fasse ich all die Bestrebungen und Bemühungen zusammen, die Arbeit menschlich machen und uns so helfen, auch in modernen Arbeitswelten “keinen Burnout zu kriegen”. Es geht um Achtsamkeit, Kooperation, Wertschätzung, Teilhabe. Alles Werte, die Bewegungen wie „Augenhöhe“ (der Film), Gemeinwohlökonomie, intrinsify.me, „demokratisches Unternehmen“, „EnjoyWork“ und weitere einfordern. Unter „smart“ verstehe ich zum Beispiel die Kombination von „digital“ und „sozial“, digital ist die Basis von „network/community“ und die „Agilität“ wurde zweifelsfrei erst in der „digitalen Welt“ wieder entdeckt.

Der Digitale Wandel (digital) ist allerdings nur die logische Fortsetzung der Industriellen Revolution und so ganz einfach ein Teil des sich immer mehr beschleunigenden technischen Fortschritts. Die hohe Beschleunigungüberrascht nicht, denn wir haben dank der Digitalisierung immer mächtigere Werkzeuge in der Hand, so ist die Digitalisierung sicher die wesentliche Ursache für die so schnell vor sich gehende drastische Veränderung unserer Gesellschaft.

Ergänzt habe ich dieses Bild durch die zwei Begriffe  „Mut“ und „Freude“ – als Voraussetzung für ein gelingendes (Arbeit-)Leben (oben) – und durch zwei Begriffe „Impuls geben“ und „Inspirieren“ als die beiden zentralen agilen Führungsmittel (unten). Und dies abgerundet mit „Vertrauen“ (links) und „Wandel“ rechts. Und am Schluss mit „Glück“ und „Erfolg“. Denn mein Ziel ist, Mitmenschen – ob Zuhörer oder Mentées – zumindest ein klein wenig glücklicher und erfolgreicher zu machen

Dann ging es mit dem Vortrag in die folgenden sechs Etappen. Die beschreibe ich jetzt nur stichwortartig.

  • AGILITÄT
    Ich habe das ja von Software-Entwicklern erarbeitete “Agile Manifesto” vorgestellt und den Einfluss der IT auf Technologie und Gesellschaft besprochen.
    Wichtig war mir, herauszuarbeiten, dass Agilität keine Methode sondern eine Einstellung ist, die man auch „Philosophie“ oder „Lebensweise“ nennen könnte. Es geht nicht um einen ideologischen Streit darum, ob zum Beispiel „Scrum“ oder „Wasserfall-Methode“ (V-Modell) besser sind.  Agil ist eine natürliche, ursprüngliche und so sehr menschliche Vorgehensweise, in dem beide Methoden abhängig von der Anforderung nutzbringend sein können.

    • Die Kathedralen des Mittelalters und auch das Colloseum in Rom wurden „agil“ gebaut
      Bauherr, Meister und Gesellen kamen zusammen (Vernetzung)
    • Nicht Agil: Daimler Museum
      (Bau erst möglich durch neue Rechnergeschwindigkeiten, um die Statik des Gebäudes zu berechnen. Aber dann kam der Brandschutz dazwischen.)
    • Wie die Agilität verloren ging:
      Die industrielle Revolution hat das Weltbild verändert. Henry Ford kam bei einer Besichtigung des Schlachthofes in Chicago auf die Idee, auch Autos am Fließband herzustellen. Seine mächtigen Fabriken hatten einen großen Bedarf an Arbeitern, die es aber nicht gab. Zeitgleich wurden in der Landwirtschaft auf Grunde des verstärkten Einsatzes von Maschinen viele Bauern arbeitslos. Die waren aber “ dumm”, nicht einmal mit  “Zeit” waren sie vertraut. So musste die Kaste der Ingenieure alles regeln. So entstand die „Kaste der Ingenieure“, die „alles“ für ihre Untergebenen vor denken mussten. Hierarchie gepaart mit extremer Arbeitsteiligkeit (Taylorismus) wurde zur wegweisenden Organisationsform für Unternehmen.
    • Beispiel Werner von Siemens, geboren 1817: Er organisiert sein Unternehmen (Siemens) nach dem Muster der Deutschen Reichswehr.
    • Dazu kommt: Zeit ist ein besonderes Gut. Wenn sie weg ist, dann ist sie weg. Jetzt wird sie auf einmal vermessen. In Einheiten wie Kilogramm!
      Anmerkung: Die Segelschifffahrt kannte keinen Fahrplan. Das gab es nur für Postkutschen. Erst die Dampfschifffahrt und die Eisenbahn ermöglichten Fahrpläne. So entstand die Forderung nach einer „gemeinsamen Zeit“ in zusammenhängenden Räumen.
    • Uhren waren vor der industriellen Revolution vor allem notwendig für die Navigation auf hoher See. Jetzt beginnt die Zeit, das Leben zu dominieren (beherrschen).
    • In den Fabriken gab es eine gemeinsame Zeit. Um den Takt nicht zu gefährden, mussten Uhren am Werkstor abgegeben werden. Das Abschiedsgeschenk zur Pensionierung war dann eine eigene Uhr. “Der Mensch bekam die Zeit zurück”.
    • Vor der industriellen Revolution gab es kein Gefühl für Zeit. Noch um 1900 gab es nur in ganz wenigen Ländern eine gemeinsame Zeit. Für Planung ist der Parameter Zeit von höchster Bedeutung.
    • In einer agilen Welt treten Communities an die Stelle von Organisationen
      Beispiel: Bewegungen wie für #newwork versus Gewerkschaft.
    • In einer agilen Welt gehen die Bedürfnisse der Kunden vor den im Pflichtenheft vertraglich festgelegten Funktionen.
      Beispiel S21 – Volksentscheid war zustimmend, weil die Menschen verstanden hatten, dass schon vollendete Tatsachen allein schon aufgrund der vertraglicher Verpflichtungen geschaffen worden durch Auftragsvergabe.
    • Schein-Agilität
      Ein gutes Beispiel ist das Auto als Träger des individuellen Verkehrs. Ein PKW ohne Fahrer macht nicht frei. Was passiert, wenn alle Automobilisten das bemerken und “agil” werden möchten? Angeblich bricht dann die Wirtschaft zusammen. Das ist aber Blödsinn, weil “Innovation kreative Zerstörung ist.
  • AGIL LEBEN
    Agile Menschen haben in der Regel weniger Angst. Denn Angst findet im Kopf statt. Agile Menschen erkennen in der Regel den Punkt, an dem man aufhören muss, weiter Argumente abzuwägen sondern mit dem Ausprobieren beginnen muss. Agile Menschen wissen, dass sie nur über Gewissheiten aber nicht über Wahrheiten verfügen. Sie sind bereit zuerst mal Vertrauen zu geben (“erst geben dann nehmen”).
    Agile Menschen haben mehr Spaß und Freude an der Arbeit und sind bescheidener und glücklicher. Vielleicht auch demütiger und dankbarer. Faustregeln sind: Je mehr Angst desto weniger Agilität und versus vice. Die Voraussetzung für Agilität ist eine souveräne Gelassenheit. Diese wächst durch agiles Leben. So sind agile Menschen in der Regel glücklicher und erfolgreicher.
  • ZUKUNFT
    In den beiden letzten Jahrhunderten des letzten Jahrhunderts haben Menschen und Manager geglaubt, dass man die Zukunft vorhersehen kann. Man müsse nur über ausreichend Informationen verfügen und diese präzise auswerten. Dann wäre es möglich gültige Szenarios auch für die Zukunft zu entwickeln (mit Hilfe z.B. von Thinktanks) und könne dann ganz rational die richtigen  Lösungen und Entscheidungen fällen
    So würde ein Unternehmen (wie eine Behörde) zu einem determinierten System, das Input bekommt und Output liefert  –  und welches vom Management durch das Drehen an den richtigen Stellschrauben optimal gesteuert werden kann.
    Welch ein überholter Standpunkt!
    Zukunft ist nicht vorhersagbar. Aber wie will man die Zukunft planen und steuern, wenn man in sie nicht hineinschauen kann?

    • Hans Ulrich (der Erfinder des St. Gallener Management Modells stellt 1982 in seinen „Thesen zum Wandel im Management als erste These fest: „Zukunft ist nicht vorhersagbar!“
    • In St. Gallen stellen BWL-Wissenschaftler die Frage, wie es denn sein könne, dass Manager à priori richtige Entscheidungen fällen können, wenn es à posterio oft nicht möglich ist, zu bewerten, ob eine Entscheidung richtig oder falsch war
      (Definition für Entscheidung: Sie ist betreffend der Folgen wesentlich und findet unter Unsicherheit statt).
    • Vuca (volatility, uncertainty, complexity, ambiguity)
      Plötzlich tauchen solche Begriffe als Abkürzung für die „reale Welt“ auf. Aber war die Welt nicht immer schon so?
    • Zukunfts-Forschung:
      Ich habe selbst Analysten geglaubt (Diebold, Gardner), besonders wenn sie meine eigenen Annahmen (Vorurteile) bestätigt haben. Die Vorhersagen waren fast immer falsch:
      Zwei Beispiele, die auch mich geschädigt haben:
      Bildschirmtext (BTX) und Print on Demand (PoD). Damals waren die Marktvorhersagen völlig falsch. Die Unternehmer, die diese geglaubt haben, haben falsch investiert.
    • Zwei persönlichen Freunden aus dem Kreis der Zukunftsforscher lohnt es zu folgen:
      Klaus Burmester (@foresight_lab) und Lars Thomsen (future-matters.com/lars-thomsen/). Beide gehören wohl zu den weltweit führenden SZukunftsforschern. Klaus ist eine Twitterempfehlung. (#FF).
      Matthias Horx (www.horx.com/) ist recht bekannt, persönlich kenne ich ihn nicht.
    • Einschub zu Lars und Vorhersagen zur Elektro-Mobilität:
      Vortrag auf Biike-Treffen in Sylt vor mehreren Jahren von Unternehmern, Managern, Beratern. Thema ist Innovation & Wandel, auch E-Mobilität.
      Lars begeistert uns mit seinem Vortrag zu E-Mobilität. Zwei Jahre später sind fast 20 % der Teilnehmer stolzer Besitzer eines Teslas, aber alle Prognosen von Lars waren total daneben.
    • Definition von Zukunftsforschung ist übrigens Lars folgend die Verlängerung von Trendforschung. Aufbauend auf dieser wird Zukunftsforschung zur Suche nach dem Tipping Point (https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tipping-Point) von Technologien definiert.
    • Mein Schluss: Zukunftsforscher helfen uns nicht, in die Zukunft zu schauen.
    • Die von allen so gerne beschworene Innovation kann man am besten als “kreative Zerstörung” beschreiben.
    • Die so oft geforderte Reform bedeutet nur „gewaltfreie Veränderung“.
    • Und immer mehr Buzzwords sind im Umlauf:
      Transition, Transformation, Revolution, disruptive Veränderungen, Anti-Fragilität, VUCA …
      Das ist aber alles nichts neues und „Agilität“ ist das einzige, was helfen kann.
  • UNTERSCHIED von UNTERNEHMEN und VERWALTUNG
    Unternehmen sterben, wenn sie mit Veränderung und Wandel nicht zurecht kommen. Da gibt es gerade in der IT so viele Beispiele. Manche Unternehmen melden „nur“ Insolvenz an, andere hinterlassen – auch wenn sie jahrelang sehr erfolgreich Profite privatisiert haben – gelegentlich hohe Schäden, die sie dann elegant sozialisieren (siehe EVUs – jahrelang waren sie die betreffend Dividendenausschüttung die Helden im DAX. Jetzt versuchen sie die Altlasten wie Kernkraftwerke in den öffentlichen Bereich zu verschieben.
    Behörde und Verwaltung kann sich aber nicht davon stehlen, wenn sie den Wandel verschlafen hat. Denn das Leben in der Kommune geht weiter. So müssen die Behörden – auch aufgrund  des politischen und gesellschaftlichen Auftrags – mit jedem Wandel zurecht kommen.
    Wie soll das Überleben der Verwaltung aber gelingen, wenn nicht mit einer agilen Denke als Grundeinstellung? Die eine agile Philosophie als handlungsleitenden Wert hat und eine agile Kultur entwickelt und lebt …
  • TREIBER von VERÄNDERUNG
    Das Bewusstsein wächst, dass Zukunft und der kommende Wandel nicht vorhersagbar sind. Planung versagt schon heute immer häufiger und zwar in erstaunlichem Ausmaß  (Zahlreiche IT-Großprojekte, S21, BER). Die Annahme, dass in Zukunft Veränderung häufiger und heftiger werden, ist wohl korrekt. Der Trend scheint das zu Bestätigten. Wir nehmen in vielen Bereichen eine ungeheure Beschleunigung wahr, das Tempo nimmt weiter zu.
    Treiber von Veränderung könnten beispielsweise sein:

    • Anforderungen von Politik / Gesetzgeber
      Trump, „Gesetze“ die sofort umgesetzt werden müssen …
    • Wirtschaftliche Veränderungen
      Autoindustrie, Exporteinbruch, Gewerbesteuer …
    • Infrastruktur & Gewohnheiten
      Mobilität, Konsumverhalten …
    • Rahmenbedingungen
      Zins steigt, Verarmung …
    • Disruptive Ereignisse
      Flüchtlinge, Klima (Erwärmung & Kälte, Wasser&Trockenheit …), Epidemien, Krieg (Terror) ???
    • Technologie
      smart solutions, Virtualisierung, Elektrifizierung, Personalausweis als App
    • und manches mehr.
  • DIGITALER und WANDEL
    Die Digitalisierung als rasante Fortsetzung des „technologischen Fortschritts“ hat gerade erst begonnen – wie auch der davon verursachte gesellschaftliche Wandel. Kulturtechnologien wie „Rechnen können“ (ob im Kopf oder auf Papier) verschwinden.
    Maschinen werden „intelligent“. Mit „intelligenten Maschinen“ können wir Maschinen bauen, die anders nicht gebaut werden könnten und die wieder noch „intelligentere Maschinen“ bauen. Die technologische Beschleunigung durch den digitalen Fortschritt nimmt so weiter zu.
    Die „Büchse der Pandora“ ist vielleicht eine schöne Metapher für Digitale Technologie. Die Büchse steht auf eine Tisch. Der Tisch vibriert immer heftiger, die Büchse beginnt zu wackeln. Schon liegt der Deckel schief auf der Büchse und es beginnt heraus zu kriechen. Denn in der Dose rumort es.
    Bald wird der Deckel von der Dose fallen, dann wird die Dose umkippen. Ihr Inhalt wird sich auf dem Tisch ausbreiten. Noch wissen wir nicht, ob das, was da alles raus krabbeln wird, Raupen sind, die zu schönen Schmetterlingen mutieren werden. Oder sind es bösartige Würmer, die uns Medusa gesandt hat?Ich hoffe mal auf viele schöne Schmetterlinge.

Das war der Vortrag. Da er den Zuhörern gut gefallen hat, werde ich ihn sicher ein paar mal wiederholen, wahrscheinlich umgebaut mit den Schwerpunkten „agile Mobilität“ oder „agiles Unternehmen“.

RMD

2 Kommentare zu “Die unumgehbare Unvorhersehbarkeit der Zukunft!”

  1. Chris Wood (Montag, der 13. Februar 2017)

    Planning is replacing uncertainty by error.

    (Perhaps this posting already said that).

  2. Chris Wood (Montag, der 13. Februar 2017)

    You are right Roland. Today, I read in your blog from the time of the Brexit vote. It predicted that the result would have no real effect, because the government would effectively ignore it. I don’t know the effect now, but the pound immediately lost about 15% against the dollar. The result seems to be taken very seriously. Companies are planning to leave England, and various other countries are sinking into nationalism.
    It was also predicted that the details would be decided in secret. This seems probably correct.
    So the future is really unpredictable. One cannot even assume that all predictions will be false.

Kommentar verfassen

*