Roland Dürre
Monday April 11th, 2011

Diesel

After they had reported about the nuclear, the Libya and the Euro catastrophes, the Süddeutschen finally wrote about the Diesel catastrophe this weekend.

What happened? For a change, the EU saw something that is correct. They now actually know that one litre of Diesel has a higher energy potential than one litre of petrol. With total logic, they decided that it is therefore basically wrong to calculate energy tax per litre (well, it is rather hard to measure gas or electricity in litres, anyway, isn’t it?).

At the same time, the EU discovered that petrol and Diesel are related and used for the same purpose. Consequently, what the EU now wants to do is put an equal tax rate on petrol and Diesel (which, incidentally, is something they should also do with kerosene for airplanes).

As a consequence of this, the price of Diesel per litre will probably increase by 28 cent by the year 2020, at least that is what both the EU and car industry predict. By the way, if kerosene were taxed in the same way, we would have totally different numbers to deal with!

And, of course, the lobbyists and politicians (Ramsauer categorically counted it out) immediately start protesting. They predict that a higher price for Diesel will mean a catastrophe. Among other things, they say, the production of cars with compression-ignition engine would suffer dramatically! What a terrible scenario!

They do not mention that then the Diesel car, as a reasonable alternative, might only need 2 to 3 instead of 5 to 10 litres and that then going by car would still (among other things) be less expensive, regardless of the higher price.

Only – as the SZ writes:

“But if you – justifiably – call for a change in energy policy, you must not afterwards lament about having to pay the price.”

And a change in energy policy is really necessary. After all, we cannot continue as we have been doing in the past.

Maybe we even have a chance with Diesel. Because today, Monday, theVan-Gaal catastrophe will feature broadly in the SZ. And reading it, everybody will quite quickly forget all about the Diesel. Until the next “catastrophe” will replace the Van-Gaal catastrophe (Van-Gaal-Katastrophe). And if the price for Diesel will climb from 3.00 Euros to 3.30 Euros in 2020, nobody will remember it for very long.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
Another item on the front pages of the Saturday SZ was about how beautifully Russia destroys the environment – and that even the Russian government, who are usually extremely good at ignoring these kinds of things, are getting somewhat nervous.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Montag, der 11. April 2011

Diesel

Nach der Nuklear-, Lybien- und EURO-Katastrophe stand am Wochenende die Diesel-Katastophe in der Süddeutschen.

Was ist passiert: Die EU hat diesmal etwas Richtiges erkannt: Sie weiß jetzt auch, dass ein Liter Diesel ein höheres energetisches Potential hat als ein Liter Benzin. Völlig folgerichtig hat sie geschlossen, dass es eigentlich falsch ist, die Energiesteuer auf die Einheit Liter zu beziehen (Gas und Strom kann man ja auch nur schlecht in Litern messen).

Gleichzeitig hat die EU erkannt, dass Benzin und Diesel artverwandt sind und für denselben Zweck genutzt werden. Also möchte die EU ganz folgerichtig Benzin und Diesel vergleichbar besteuern (das sollte sie mit dem Kerosin für die Flieger übrigens auch tun).

Als Folge würde beim Diesel der Preis für einen Liter  im Jahre 2020 um 28 Cent steigen, wie EU und Autoindustrie kalkulieren. Wenn Kerosin übrigens analog besteuert werden würde, ginge es um ganz andere Zahlen!

Und natürlich waren die Lobbyisten und Politiker (Ramsauer hat es ausgeschlossen) sofort wieder zur Stelle und beschwören, welche Katastrophe eine Erhöhung des Dieselpreises mit sich bringen würden. Nicht zuletzt würde die Herstellung von Pkws mit Selbstzündern drastisch einbrechen! Oh schreck!

Dass das Dieselauto aber als vernünftiges Fahrzeug nur 2 – 3 Liter anstelle von 5 – 10 Liter brauchen könnte und dass dann das PKW-Fahren dann (nicht nur) die Treibstoffkosten betreffend trotz der Preissteigerung eher billiger werden würde, das verschweigt sie.

Nur – wie die SZ schreibt:

„Aber wer – zu Recht – nach der Energiewende ruft, darf hinterher nicht über die Rechnung klagen“.

Und die Energiewende ist wirklich notwendig. So kann es ja nicht weitergehen.

Aber das ist ja alles Schnee von gestern. Denn heute am Montag wird die Van-Gaal-Katastrophe in der SZ stehen, und über die wird man das mit dem Diesel ganz schnell wieder vergessen. Bis die nächste „Katastrophe“ dann die Van-Gaal-Katastrophe verdrängt. Und wenn der Dieselpreis im Jahr 2020 an der Tankstelle von angenommenen 3,00 EURO auf 3,30 steigt, wird das auch ganz schnell wieder vergessen sein.

RMD

P.S.
Auch in der SZ vom Samstag gleich ganz vorne wird beschrieben, wie trefflich Russland seine Umwelt zerstört und dass da sogar die normalerweise so etwas total ignorierende russische Regierung nervös wird.

Wenn es 2020 die EU in der heutigen Form überhaupt noch gibt, ist auch nicht sicher. Hat nicht Berlusconi erst gestern gedroht, dass er die EU verlassen würde (Lampedusa). Und Italien geht ja aller Wahrscheinlichkeit als übernächstes Land pleite … (GIPSI)

 

 

 

 

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*