Roland Dürre
Sunday January 1st, 2012

A Happy New Year 2012

Bread Instead of Fireworks?

Now that was some noise tonight, when all those fireworks went up in the air, wasn’t it? This time, we welcomed the New Year with more fireworks than ever before. At least, that was my impression. And the streets seem even more devastated than on other New Year’s Days.

Well, I would not be surprised to hear that I am correct with my feeling. In the last ALDI advertising folder, fireworks articles took up exactly one dozen (12!) pages.

The articles ranged between the “China – Racket Collection Hanan with about 50 individual parts, sorted in groups of 6 with 10 particularly loud “Reibknopfknaller” for a ridiculous 1.99 € to the “Manchester – the fireworks innovation of the year with an effect power as common composite firework powered by effective and high-calibre XXL500 batteries“.

For the top model, you had to pay the negligible sum of 59.99 €. That is the same price in Euros as the Kindle costs in the USA (79 $). What you get is a “System firework with 144 shots and a fireworks combination with up to 500 effective grams” (note the clever formulation ‘up to’). These are all quotes from the ALDI advertising folder! And if you light them once, you get a burning capacity of 90 seconds and a height of around 40 m.

There was a time when sixty Euros was really some money. Perhaps it is still real money for some people. But in the ALDI advertising folder, you will find everything between 1.99 € and 59.99 € – so everyone will find what he can afford!

Consequently, nobody is denied the pleasure of carrying his remaining pennies to the discount store at the year’s end.

Yes, that is how you do it. The economy needs growth and has to meet the required numbers. So you have to approach the market with creativity. You have to choose the right time to hit. Make use of super-ego compulsions and be innovative when trying to get the people to bring you their money. Well, you can certainly learn something here …

But is that our future?


I get a little nostalgic, remembering my childhood. In those days, Sylvester was still written with a “y” (in German language) and the firework was a pack of magic candles.

The wax candles at the Christmas tree were lighted on New Year’s Eve and the electric light was switched off. Then we lighted our “miraculous candles”. We children were happy if we were permitted to hold the small rod that threw out sparks in our hands.

Once in a while, the tablecloth had a few burn marks. Mother got angry about that. If a spark happened to land in our eyes, she got really worried. But it was not a terrible thing to happen. After all, cornea heals fast.

When we reached the scallywag age (today, I often wonder if we ever were scallywags), the fireworks were important instruments for pre-virile courage tests. You had to hold the Kuba-Knaller (a cube looking like a ball wrapped in cords) in your flat hand when it was lighted.

To be sure, you protected your hands with several pairs of mittens. And when there was a hole in the good mittens, mother also got angry. And we were happy that our hands had remained undamaged.

When we were grown-up ourselves and had small children, we also had fireworks for New Year’s Eve.

At the time, it was nowhere near as easy as today. The expensive rockets had to be put into bottles. If the process of lighting them failed, my attempts at saving the defunct firework were quite adventurous. Whenever a firework did not explode, we could read sadness in the eyes of our children.

On New Year’s Eve, the fingers were bitterly cold. Secretly, I cursed the fireworks. But that did not matter. All that mattered was that the children were happy. That made my day.

Today, it is all much easier. Using “Manchester”, all the New Year’s Eve hero has to do is light it once. And then the spectacle can start. All you have to worry about is how to get your beer belly out of harm’s way.

Well, something went wrong along the way, didn’t it? To be sure, the fireworks as such are a nice thing. But do we really need these individualized mass orgies to start the New Year? Just to show that we are a cosmopolitan city? Is it really necessary to pollute the environment in such a gigantic way? Is it really such fun to light fireworks, or is it just the pressure to join in? How about lighting one great, beautiful firework for all and sharing the pleasure – and then being content?

I seem to remember that there was a movement: “Bread instead of fireworks”. But in the age of biological fuel, this is no longer important. I am sure you all know the cynical sentence:

“E10 – meals on wheels”

Regardless of all these critical remarks and of quite a few misgivings about the future, I am optimistic and believe in the future. I actually mean this quite seriously and honestly!

I wish you all a successful and healthy year 2012! May it be full of mutual respect, dignity and love.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Sonntag, der 1. Januar 2012

Ein gutes 2012

Brot an Stelle der Böller?

Heissa, war das wieder ein Geknalle heute Nacht. Das neue Jahr wurde mit mehr Raketen als je zuvor begrüßt. So war zumindest mein Eindruck. Und die Straßen scheinen heute morgen noch verwüsteter als sonst zum 1. Januar.

Würde mich nicht wundern, wenn es tatsächlich so wäre. Im letzten Aldi-Prospekt wurden auf genau einem Dutzend (12!) Seiten Böller und Feuerwerksartikel aller Art angepriesen.

Vom großen „China -Knall-Sortiment Hanan mit ca, 50 Einzelteilen, 6-fach sortiert, davon 10 besonders laute Reibknopfknaller“ zu geschenkten 1,99 € bis hin zu „Manchester – der Feuerwerks-Innovation des Jahres mit noch Effekt-Power als herkömmliches Verbund-Feuerwerk durch effektstarke und großkalibrige XXL500 Batterien„.

Das Spitzenmodell kostet schlappe 59,99 €. Genauso viel wie umgerechnet der Kindle in USA (79 $). Dafür bekommt man dann ein „System-Feuerwerk mit 144 Schuss und eine Feuerwerkskombination mit bis zu 500 Gramm Effektmenge“  (man beachte die geschickte Formulierung ‚bis zu‘). Alles Originaltexte aus dem Aldi-Prospekt! Und man muss nur 1x anzünden und bekommt dafür eine Brenndauer von ca. 90 Sek. und eine Effekthöhe von ca. 40 m.

Sechzig EURO, das war mal richtig viel Geld. Ist es wohl für viele Leute immer noch. Aber im Aldi-Prospekt finden wir zwischen 1,99 € und 59,99 € Angebote in allen Preiskategorien für jeden Geldbeutel! So konnte jeder seine verbliebenen Groschen zum Jahresende fürs Feuerwerk zum Discounter tragen.

Ja, so geht das. Die Wirtschaft braucht Wachstum und muss ihre Zahlen schaffen. Da muss man den Markt kreativ angehen. Zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zuschlagen, Über-Ich-Zwänge nutzen und den Menschen innovativ das Geld aus der Tasche ziehen. Da kann man etwas lernen …

Aber ist das unsere Zukunft?

Da denke ich dann ein bisschen wehmütig an meine Kindheit zurück. Da hat man Silvester noch mit „y“ geschrieben und das Feuerwerk bestand aus einer Packung Wunderkerzen.

Die Kerzen am Christbaum wurden an Sylvester angezündet und das elektrische Licht ausgeschaltet. Dann wurden Wunderkerzen gezündet. Wir Kinder waren glücklich, wenn wir das Funken sprühende Stäbchen in der Hand halten durften.

Ab und zu gab es Löcher im Tischtuch. Da war die Mutter böse. Wenn einem von uns ein Funke ins Auge sprang wurde sie sorgenvoll. Das war aber nicht so schlimm, Hornhaut heilt ja schnell.

Wir wir dann Lausbuben wurden (oft frage ich mich, ob wir das wirklich jemals waren) waren die Knallkörper wichtige Instrumente für vormännliche Mutproben. Den berühmten Kuba-Knaller (ein Würfel der aussah wie ein mit Schnüren umwickelter Ballen) wurde auf der flachen Hand gezündet.

Allerdings nicht ohne diese mit ein paar Schichten von Handschuhen zu schützen. Und wenn der gute Handschuh ein Loch hatte, war die Mutter auch wieder böse. Und wir waren froh, dass die Hand heil geblieben war.

Wie wir selber erwachsen wurden und kleine Kinder hatten, haben wir wieder an Silvester Feuerwerk gemacht.

Das war damals nicht so einfach wie heute. Die teuren Raketen mussten in Flaschen gesteckt werden. Wenn das Anzünden misslang, unternahm ich abenteuerliche Rettungsversuche für die defekte Rakete. Misslang die Rettung gab es enttäuschte Kinderaugen.

Die Finger waren klamm an Silvester, das Feuerwerk wurde insgeheim verflucht. Machte aber nichts, Hauptsache die Kinder hatten ihre Freude. Das war schön.

Heute ist das viel einfacher geworden. Mit „Manchester“ muss der Silvester-Held nur noch ein mal anzünden. Und dann geht es ab. Er muss nur noch den Bierbauch aus der Schusslinie bringen.

Da ist doch etwas aus dem Ruder gelaufen. Feuerwerk an sich ist ja schön. Aber brauchen wir diese individuellen Massenorgien zum neuen Jahr wirklich. Als Zeichen, dass wir eine Weltstadt sind? Muss diese gigantische Umweltverschmutzung sein? Macht das Zündeln tatsächlich so viel Spaß oder gibt es nur ein noch einen Mitmachzwang? Könnte man nicht gemeinsam ein schönes Feuerwerk veranstalten, es genießen und damit zufrieden sein?

Da gab es doch auch mal so etwas wie „Brot an Stelle von Böllern“. Aber im Zeitalter des Biosprits spielt das keine Rolle mehr. Wie heißt es so zynisch:

„E10 – Essen auf Rädern“

Trotz dieser kritischen Anmerkungen und mancher Zukunftssorgen schaue ich voller Optimismus in die Zukunft, das meine ich ganz ernst und ehrlich!

Ich wünsche Euch allen ein gelingendes und gesundes neues Jahr 2012! Mit viel gegenseitigen Respekt, Würde und Liebe!

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*