Now I returned home from Dornbirn and it is the weekend. It was a truly strong week. First, I spent two nights in Nuremberg with a long day on the #DOAG2015 and then, between Thursday and Saturday, I enjoyed a very intense PM-Camp in Dornbirn #PMCampDOR. Incidentally, the two hashtags will link you to the tweets for the two events. It is well worth taking a look.

Last Wednesday, on the DOAG 2015, I was again permitted to speak. I talked about:

“Creative Room – Healthy Room!“

Here are the picture by Christian I used and the short outline of my presentation.

"created by Christian Botta"

“created by Christian Botta“

Today: More often than not, the work situation in enterprises seems to be insufferable. There are (many) employees who mentally already have given notice. The salary is considered compensation for personal suffering. But then, they have neither the courage nor the strength to say: “Love it, change it, or leave it“.
Useless meetings, feeling powerless and the burnout syndrome are the consequences. Now they want to do something about it, see also: BGM (company health management).
Consequently, we find change all around us. Conferences are replaced by anti-conferences. I prefer attending barcamps…

And I will now present the story of my presentation. I had to hand in a short version. Then the documents for the presentation. Also the transparencies. But I had none. Because I always speak without.

Christian Botta of VisualBraindump made a picture protocol of my presentation. Thanks a lot!

Today, I give my presentation. Perhaps I will call it “Complexity, Innovation and Burnout in Enterprises”. In fact, that would have been a better title than the one in the proceedings. Or perhaps “How to Keep Humans Species-Appropriate”. Because, basically, I was talking about the same principle as the “key speaker” Gunter Dueck.

I started with the impressions for the presentation from early this year. That was when Dietmar Neugebauer (President of the DOAG) asked me if I would again like to speak in November on his conference. I certainly gladly accepted. Then there were the thought-provoking impulses. One of them was OpenInnovation at InterFace AG , realized with the Nuremberg FAU, chair of Prof. Möslein. During the final event of this project, there was a presentation by Dora on “creative rooms”. After this, it became pretty clear to me how rooms (and organisations) should “look” if you want them to provide innovative inspiration – both physically and virtually.

Apparently, they have something to do with participation, respect, eye-level, culture, breaking patterns, joy and happiness.

A few weeks ago, I heard an interview with Dr. Marius Poersch. Marius is a psychologist, head doctor in a hospital with many patents who have suffered from burnout. He wants to be more than just a “repair shop”, so he also does some scientific research on what humans and organisations can do in order to minimize the burnout risks. After his presentation, I have a good idea what a “burnout-free” room should look like.

Surprisingly, but basically also logically, the result is: the rooms are exactly the same. The “room” as described by Dora for promoting innovation looks exactly like the one presented by Marius for keeping us healthy.

So what are the reasons for all this frustration we suffer from? We assume it is the complexity that gives us fear and the bureaucracy that is generated in our society as its consequence, trying to give us some dubious sense of security.

Insertion:

As an example: my own frustration as an entrepreneur (because at oracle in Nuremberg), the story of DocuMaker and the Federal Agency for Employment.

Failure due to stupid rules, the Oracle middleware product manager does not know the product, prediction about the future of Oracle by Larry Ellision … lots of frustration, immense loss for all. Thank God no Distress for us, because the success would have been Oystress.

Assumption:
A complex world with quick change gives us problems. And then there are the processes, rules, protocols, processes that are supposed to help with the complexity but all they do is make life harder for us.

Insertion:
About the Berlin PM Camp (complex versus complicated).

There were also many abstract discussions about the difference between complex and complicated. According to Niels Pflaeging, it is quite simple: as long as it is just complicated, the classic methods of project management and problem solving can help us. But this is no longer true when it gets complex.
I think it is not as easy as that. I did a session with Maik Pfingsten (Blogger, PoD-Cast) and rather enjoyed Maik’s definition of complexity (from the perspective of the system engineer)
x – axis: degree of complicatedness; 
y – axis: speed of change;
The more you get of both, the more “complex” it is;
I extended this to also include the 
z – axis: “human factor” degree in the project.
This means: the more complicated and dynamic and the more of a human factor you have, the more complex it is …

But:
Seneca said: Philosophy does not mean talking, it means acting.

Consequently:
What can we do? Whenever it gets more and more complicated, when matters change ever faster and when the human factor becomes more and more apparent?

There are no cooking recipes or Best Practice, neither are there any methods or technologies. All I can offer are a few ideas to think about.

As an engineer, software person and technologist.
Let me refer you to the: Agile Manifesto (2001)As an entrepreneur, manager and leader:
Hans Ulrich – Eight Theses on Change in Management (1982)Insertion:
Here are his “Eight Theses on Change in Management” in a nutshell with a few additional notes:

  1. Accept not knowing and not being able to predict the future as a normal state of affairs!
    Well, you simply cannot predict the future …
  2. Broader horizons for your thinking!
    Oppose “You cannot do this” or “This is how we always did it”. Do not suppress the freedom of ideas. Share knowledge.
  3. Move in the category “both”, instead of “either-or”!
    Black-and-white is out, colourful is in.
  4. Think multi-dimensionally! 
Your balancing of values must be ethically responsible. Basically, humans can only deal with three ideas at one time.
  5. Use self-organization and self- control as your basic formative model for your enterprise!
    Responsibility, subsidiarity
  6. Consider management as a function that gives and promotes meaning!
    
New management image.
  7. Focus on what is really important!
    Work economy.
  8. Make use of group dynamics!
    Cultures, symbols, rites, rituals …

As a human being:
John Izzo – five things you should consider before you die!
I strongly recommend the Review  of the book.

Or the experiences made by Bonnie Ware:
Here are the five things he found out people wanted:

  1. “I wish I had had the courage to live my own life“
  2. “I wish I had not worked so much”
  3. “I wish I had had the courage to show my emotions“
  4. “I wish I had remained in contact with my friends“
  5. “I wish I had permitted myself more happiness“

Those are the five insights Bonnie Ware collected when he accompanied dying persons. As I see it, there is a lot to be learned for life from these statements …

Yet none of all these things will help you if you are not prepared to actually live. Something is still missing.

Insertion:

One of my mentees works for Osram: They are already in a permanent crisis, anyway. Additionally, their move from near the 1860 stadium to Garching looked a little stupid to me. My mentee lives in Unterhaching. His daily way to work is now four times as long as it used to be. He feels how his mood gets worse and worse. .
He arrives at work in a bad mood and returns home in a bad mood. Dialogue: How is your boss? – He is in a good mood! – What is he doing differently from you? – He rides his bike every morning from Trudering to Garching! – So why don’t you, too ride your bike! – Cannot! – Cannot is not defined! 
He then bought an e-bike and went to work riding it every day. And ever since then, he arrives at the office in a good mood, and the same is true for when he arrives at home. And he feels so much better …

In simple terms:
Our body needs exercise and fresh air. And time with nature. And you can have it so easily – with active mobility in everyday life. See also AktMobCmp.

Seneca, too, taught us: 
Follow the laws of nature.
(Seneca was a teacher who wanted to make his students successful and happy. Unfortunately, this has never been the first goal of my teachers).

How is anybody supposed to come to terms with his own life if he cannot even come to terms with his own mobility? And driving a car is definitely not something that makes you free, nor will it bring you fulfilment in life … (Even if that is what a seemingly overpowering industry tells us in a gigantic brainwashing process).

So: what we need is nice and regular exercise!

But not the kind of exercise I experienced after the Eldorado cinema in the Sonnenstrasse. I had tears in my eyes when I exited after having watched the great “Die Kinder der Mme Ann“. And just imagine, right across the street, there is a fitness studio on the first floor. It has huge windows … And you can see in the light of the windows how the persons do their “work-out”. According to the motto Work Hard, Play Hard, WORK OUT …

For me, this is a horror vision. Planning fitness like an entire life. So why not change your life! You will see it can be done. Because, as Seneca said:

The reason why we do not start doing something is not that it is hard. Instead: Things are hard because we do not do them.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.:
During my presentation, I made two more insertions: about terrorism and about the asylum seeker situation. And I gave a short summary of what caused both. But most importantly, I described why I am not at all happy with how we react to both problems. However, I will write two separate articles about how I feel about these issues in the near future.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Jetzt bin ich wieder zu Hause aus Dornbirn und im Wochenende angekommen. Es war eine starke Woche. Zuerst zwei Nächte in Nürnberg mit einem langen Tag auf der #DOAG2015 und dann Donnerstag bis Samstag ein ganz starkes PM-Camp in Dornbirn #PMCampDOR. Die beiden Hashtags verlinken übrigens auf die Tweets zu den beiden Veranstaltungen, es lohnt sich das anzusehen.

Auf der DOAG 2015 durfte ich ja letzten Mitwoch wieder einen Vortrag halten:

„Kreativer Raum – gesunder Raum!“

Hier das Bild vom Christian und meine Kurz-Skizze zum Vortrag.

"created by Christian Botta"

„created by Christian Botta“

Heute: Arbeitssituation in Unternehmen scheint oft unerfreulich, es gibt (viele) Mitarbeiter, die innerlich gekündigt haben, Gehalt wird nur noch als Schmerzensgeld empfunden. Aber zum „Love it, change it or leave ist“ reichen Mut und Kraft halt nicht mehr.

Sinnlose Besprechungen, Gefühl der Machtlosigkeit, Burnout sind das Ergebnis. Dagegen will man etwas tun, siehe auch BGM (Betriebsgesundheitsmanagement).

So ist Wandel ist allerorten, Konferenzen werden von Unkonferenzen abgelöst, ich gehe lieber auf Barcamps…

Und ich präsentiere hier die Geschichte meines Vortrages. Eine Kurzfassung musste eingereicht werden. Dann die Präsentationsunterlagen. Auch Folien sollte ich einreichen. Hatte aber kein. Weil ich immer frei spreche.

Der Christian Botta von VisualBraindump hat von meinem Vortrag ein Bildprotokoll gemacht. Danke!

Heute hätte ich den Vortrag vielleicht „Komplexität, Innovation und Burnout in Unternehmen“ benannt. Wäre ein schönerer Titel gewesen als der in den Unterlagen. Oder auch „Über das artgerechte Halten von Menschen“. Weil es im Prinzip um das selbe ging wie beim „key speaker“ Gunter Dueck.

Los ging es mit den Eindrücken für den Vortrag zu Anfang des Jahres. Da hat Dietmar Neugebauer (Präsident der DOAG) hat mich angefragt, ob ich im November wieder einen Vortrag halten auf seiner Konferenz halten würden. Das habe ich gerne gemacht. Dann kamen die Denkanstöße. Das eine war OpenInnovation bei der InterFace AG gemeinsam mit FAU Nürnberg, Lehrstuhl Prof. Möslein. Bei der Abschlussveranstaltung des Projektes ein Vortrag von Dora zu „kreativen Räumen. Anschließend konnte ich mir ein gutes Bild machen, wie Räume (und Organisationen) „aussehen“ müssen, die Innovation möglich machen – physisch wie virtuell. Sie haben wohl etwas mit Partizipation, Respekt, Augenhöhe, Kultur, Muster brechen, Freude und Glück zu tun.

Ein paar Wochen hatte ich ein Interview mit Dr. Marius Poersch. Marius ist als Psychologe leitender Arzt in einer Klinik, die auch  viele Burnout-Fälle versorgt. Er möchte nicht nur „Reparaturbetrieb“ sein, sondern erforscht auch, was Menschen und Organisationen machen können, damit burn-outs minimiert werden können. Nach seinem Vortrag konnte ich mir gut vorstellen, wie so ein „burnout-freier“ Raum aussehen müsste.

Verblüffend, aber eigentlich logisch ist das Ergebnis: Die Räume sind genau die selben. Der von Dora beschriebene „Raum“, der Innovation ermöglicht, ist genau derselbe wie der von Marius, der uns gesund erhält.

Was sind jetzt aber die Ursachen für den Frust, den wir erleben? Wir vermuten, es ist die Komplexität, die uns Angst macht und die in der Folge entstehende Bürocracy unserer Gesellschaft, die versucht eine fragwürdige Sicherheit zu geben?

Einschub:
Als Beispiel für eigenen Frust als Unternehmer (Weil bei Oracle und in Nürnberg) die Geschichte von DocuMaker und der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, Misserfolg durch unsinnige Regeln, der Oracle-Middleware-Produkt-Manager kennt das Produkt nicht, Vorhersage zu Oracles Zukunft nach Larry Ellision … Viel Frust, viel Verlust für alle. Gott sei dank für uns nicht Distress, weil der Gewinn Oystress gewesen wäre.

Annahme: Eine komplexe Welt im schnellen Wandel macht uns Schwierigkeiten. Dazu kommen die Prozesse, Regeln, Protokolle, Prozesse, die die Komplexität bewältigen sollen aber vor allem uns das Leben schwer machen.

Einschub:
Bericht vom PM-Camp Berlin (Komplex versus Kompliziert)

Da wurde auch viel abstrakt diskutiert über den Unterschied zwischen komplex und kompliziert. Nach Niels Pflaeging ist es ganz einfach: Solange es nur kompliziert ist, können uns die klassischen Methoden des Projekt Management und Lösens von Problemen helfen. Aber nicht mehr, wenn es komplex wird.

Ich meine, dass es so einfach nicht ist. Habe eine Session mit Maik Pfingsten (Blogger, PoD-Cast) gehalten und mich an der Definition von Maik für Komplexität erfreut (aus Sicht des Systemingenieurs)

x – Achse: Grad an Kompliziertheit
y – Achse: Tempo der Veränderung

Je mehr von beidem, desto „komplexer“.

Ich habe das erweitert um die
z-Achse: Maß in dem es im Projekt menschelt.

Also: Je komplizierter, dynamischer und je mehr es menschelt, desto komplexer …

Aber:
Seneca: Philosophie heißt nicht reden sondern handeln.

Also:
Was können wir tun? Wenn es sehr kompliziert wird, wenn die Dinge sich immer schneller ändern und es immer stärker menschelt?

Hier gibt es keine Kochrezepte oder Best Practice, auch keine Methoden und Techniken, nur ein paar Dinge zum Nachdenken.

Ingenieure, Software-Männer, Techniker
Euch verweise ich auf das: Agile Manifesto (2001)

Unternehmer, Manager, Führungskraft
Hans Ulrich – 8 Thesen zum Wandel im Management (1982)

Einschub:
Hans Ulrich

Hier stichwortartig die „8 Thesen zum Wandel im Management“ von Hans Ulrich mit ebensolchen Anmerkungen:

  1. Ungewissheit und Unvorsehbarkeit der Zukunft als Normalzustand akzeptieren!
    Zukunft ist halt nicht vorsehbar …
  2. Die Grenzen des Denkens weiter stecken!
    Gegen „Das geht doch nicht“ oder “Das haben wir immer schon so gemacht” sein. Die Freiheit der Gedanken nicht unterdrücken. Wissen teilen.
  3. Sich in den Kategorien “Sowohl-Als-auch” an Stelle von “Entweder-Oder” bewegen!
    Schwarz-weiß ist out, Bunt ist in.
  4. Mehrdimensional denken!
    Sittlich verantwortete Güterabwägung, Menschen können eigentlich immer nur drei Gedanken parallel behandeln.
  5. Selbstorganisation und Selbstlenkung als Gestaltungsmodell für die Unternehmung verwenden!
    Verantwortung, Subsidiarität
  6. Managen als Sinn gebende und Sinn vermittelnde Funktion auffassen!
    Neues Managementbild.
  7. Sich auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren!
    Arbeitsökonomie.
  8. Gruppendynamik ausnutzen!
    Kulturen, Symbole, Riten, Rituale …

Als Mensch:
John Izzo – 5 Dinge, die Sie vor Ihrem Tode berücksichtigen sollten

Hier empfehle ich die Lektüre der Rezension des gleichnamigen Buches.

Oder auch die Erfahrungen der Bonnie Ware:

Hier ihre 5 gelernten Dinge aus der Betreuung von Sterbenden:

  1. „Ich wünschte, ich hätte den Mut gehabt, mein eigenes Leben zu leben“
  2. „Ich wünschte, ich hätte nicht so viel gearbeitet“

  3. „Ich wünschte, ich hätte den Mut gehabt, meine Gefühle auszudrücken“

  4. „Ich wünschte mir, ich hätte den Kontakt zu meinen Freunden aufrechterhalten“

  5. „Ich wünschte, ich hätte mir erlaubt, glücklicher zu sein“

Das sind die 5 Einsichten, die Bonnie Ware bei der Begleitung von Sterbenden gesammelt hat. Ich meine, da kann man doch auch einiges Lernen fürs Leben lernen …

Das hilft alles aber nichts, wenn Sie nicht bereit sind, zu leben. Da fehlt noch etwas.

Einschub:
Ein Mentée von mir arbeitet bei Osram: Da kriselt es eh. Ein ziemlich unsinnig anmutender Umzug vom 60igerStadion nach Garching kommt dazu. Mein Mentée lebt in Unterhaching, sein Arbeitsweg vervierfacht sich. Er spürt seine schlechte Laune.
Er kommt schlecht gelaunt zu Arbeit und schlecht gelaunt nach Hause. Dialog: Wie geht es Deinem Chef? – Der ist gut gelaunt! – Was macht er anders als Du? – Der radelt jeden Morgen von Trudering nach Garching! – Radel doch auch! – Geht nicht! – Geht nicht gibts nicht!
Dann hat er sich ein e-Bike gekauft und ist auch jeden Tag geradelt. Und seitdem kommt er gut gelaunt im Büro und wieder zu Hause an. Und fühlt sich wieder soviel besser …

Vereinfacht:

Unser Körper braucht Bewegung und frische Luft. Und Zeit in der Natur. Und das kann man ganz einfach haben – nämlich mit aktiver Mobilität im Alltag. Siehe auch AktMobCmp.

Auch Seneca hat gelehrt:
Lebe im Einklang mit der Natur.
(Seneca war ein Lehrer, der seine Schüler erfolgreich und glücklich machen wollte. Leider war das nie das priore Ziel meiner Lehrer).

Wer will sein Leben in den Griff kriegen, wenn er es nicht mal schafft, seine eigene Mobilität in den Griff zu kriegen? Und Autofahren bringt eben nicht Freiheit noch ist es eine Erfüllung unseres Lebens …. (Auch wenn es uns in einem gigantischen Brainwash von einer scheinbar übermächtigen Industrie so eingeredet wird).

Also: Wir brauchen wir eine regelmäßige und schöne Bewegung!

Aber nicht so, wie ich es nach einem Kinobesuch im Eldorada in der Sonnenstraße erlebt habe. Mit Tränen in den Augen kam ich aus dem wunderschönen Film „Die Kinder der Mme Ann“. Und stellt Euch mal vor, gegenüber im 1. Stock ist ein Fitness-Studio. Mit großen Scheiben … Und man sieht dort hell erleuchtet wie im Schaufenster Menschen, die da ihr „work out“. Nach dem Motto Work Hard, Play Hard, WORK OUT …

Für mich ist das eine grauenhafte Vorstellung. Fitness geplant wie das ganze Leben. Also, auf zum Leben ändern! Und es geht. Denn wie Seneca sagt:

Nicht weil es schwer ist, wagen wir es nicht, sondern weil wir es nicht wagen ist es schwer.

RMD

P.S.:
Im Vortrag habe ich noch zwei Einschübe gebracht – über den Terrorismus und über die Flüchtlingssituation. Und kurz mögliche Ursachen für beides erwähnt, aber vor allem beschrieben, warum ich mit unserer Reaktion auf und unserem Umgang mit beiden Problemen so gar nicht zufrieden bin. Meine Gedanken diesbezüglich werde ich aber in zwei eigenen Artikeln in der nächsten Zeit ablegen.

Kommentar verfassen

*