Roland Dürre
Tuesday January 10th, 2017

BICYCLE Culture – an Interview with Roland Dürre

I basically know Franziska Köppe from the EnjoyWorkCamp. It is a very nice barcamp promoting a new understanding of work that is held annually in Stuttgart. Franziska interviewed me about my bicycle enthusiasm. The result is something that is very important in my life – which is why I revised it a little bit and then saved it in my IF blog, as well. However, I tried to leave those parts that came from Franziska as they were in the original version.


 

Active Mobility – Promotion and Request

January, 3rd, 2017 – Are car drivers the coachman of our times? Mobility is undergoing change. Since the 1950ies, the automobile industry has been strongly promoted – especially by politicians. The sector is said to be “system relevant’”. It is closely linked to many providers, as well as with traffic planning and lobbyism. But is that “system relevant”? Start-ups and the crowd economy, as well as cultural changes with respect to the behaviour of not only our young generation threaten conventional business models. I talked about bicycle culture and his own contribution towards our future mobility with the entrepreneur and mobility activist Roland Dürre.
(introduction by Franziska)


 

The Interview

Franziska: Hallo Roland, please introduce yourself to our readers. Who are you and what exactly do you do?

Roland: I do not know who I am. It feels to me like I am a human being, an activist, a blogger, a coach, a maker, an entrepreneur. I love life and my family. I try to be courageous and to very much enjoy what I do. After my retirement from the InterFace AG, it is – even more than before – my task to hand down experience and, if possible, to help others – especially younger persons – to become happy and successful. I am grateful for all the beautiful things I experienced in my life and will be happy if this gratefulness will further increase during my remaining years.

Franziska: One of your passions is riding your bicycle. What is the meaning of the word BICYCLE culture for you? What connotations does it have in your life?

Roland: Both culture and RIDING my BICYCLE are beautiful things. They go together well!
But let us look at what car culture brought us. Driving a car, I am totally isolated from everything that is outside my car. Other people become anonymous objects in other cars. I actually know people who, conscious of their own isolation when sitting behind the wheel of their car, use swear words they would never use in their normal environment. That is something I can easily understand.

Riding my bicycle, I am used to greeting cyclists I encounter. When standing at a red traffic light, I often start a conversation with persons riding on the bike next to me. I try to be considerate. As I see it, pedestrians should always have right of way before cyclists. But then, cyclists should also have right of way before cars.

Riding my bike, I see more that is happening around me. That is true both if I am on a bike journey in foreign countries and in Germany. Social contacts are quickly established. Riding my bicycle, however, I also see how many animals, such as toads, cats and dogs are killed by cars. It always makes my heart bleed.

Consequently, I see a correlation between driving a car and being ruthless and inconsiderate. Whatever is in the way of a car will be killed. Carbon dioxide is emitted, fine dust produced – and it all happens just because people want to be comfortable. It is normal to have 1.400,000 million fatalities world-wide, because you cannot do without a car. But the truth is: you can! I experienced it in a self-experiment. And you definitely feel better without a car.

Here is a cultural provocation: Car drivers are the coachmen of our times. Coachmen were not very well-liked, because whenever any of the common citizens were in their way as they drove through the narrow streets of the cities, they used their whips to beat them out of the way. In those days, coachmen were considered “scum and riff-raff?!

BICYCLE culture – a quiet and clean world with happier and healthier people.

Franziska: It is probably true that most of us – especially those living in big cities – consider mobility as something that has to be connected with a car. Mind you, not too long ago, it was a matter of course that people went by bicycle whenever they had to go somewhere that was more than five kilometre away. Let us return to bicycles. What kind of world would come to mind if you were permitted to dream BICYCLE culture?

Roland: A quiet and clean world with happier and healthier people. From a change in mobility concepts, progress in other areas of life would automatically develop. One of the things I like to say is: If someone cannot even get a grip on his or her mobility, how are they supposed to get a grip on their entire lives? After all, you cannot get anywhere without the “desire and ability to live a responsible life”.

Roland Dürre on his way from Salerno to Pisciotta

Franziska: So far so good. Except that the reality in everyday life does not look quite so blue and rosy. You already said it: That is one of the reasons why you are actively promoting “active motility”– AktMob, as you call it  ..

Roland: That is true. I know many streets in Munich where it is no fun at all to ride a bicycle. And on my big tours, it also happens time and again that I have to struggle through a street where I am really afraid I might die.

Mind you, AktMob is not just about riding a bicycle. It is about any sort of mobility that is not horse-drawn carriages, combustion motors or electronic cars. All that matters is that you are moving under your own steam. Be it with roller-blades, skate boards, hiking or using the

Franziska: In the traffic sector, cars as individual means of transportation have been promoted since the 1950ies. It was based on the political concept of the economic boom in Germany. Unfortunately, even this short time was enough to make our cities inhuman. Strange as it may seem, pedestrians and cyclist no longer belong to traffic in the cultural sense. Especially a look at kindergardens and schools every morning shows how absurd this sometimes is: children are driven by car because, due to all that traffic, it would be too dangerous for them to walk. How grotesque is that?

Cars as status symbols in the economic boom world.

Roland: What a good example! Cars were, indeed, not just an object that took you from A to B – especially for men. As soon as you had a driver’s licence and a car, you were at long last grown-up. It is certainly not totally wrong to call a car a phallic symbol. And sitting behind the steering wheel of a vehicle, men in particular feel omnipotent. Can you imagine anybody not liking that feeling?

But even more than that, the car was a status symbol in the economic boom world for Germany and the world where everybody was recuperating. The car is perhaps the best metaphor for bought happiness as a substitute for needs not being met.

When we were still young men and had no cars, we always got the impression that the beautiful young girls clearly preferred the men who owned cars – while they looked down their noses upon us non-car owners.

But the car was also a symbol for freedom – like the cigarette. And it was also a new private space – in the US, for instance, they say that there were several years during which more than half of the children were made on the backseats of cars. Even the Kinsey report said so. And these motorized vehicles certainly also were a nice thing when it came to our laziness. Well, and that such a god-like vehicle – especially when its marketing was also optimal and emotional – won over everything else is rather clear, isn’t it?

The critical mass – riding bicycles together

Franziska: With activities “We Are Traffic”, there are so-called Critical Masses on a monthly basis, both in Germany and world-wide. Cyclists make use of §27 of the StVO, which says that, as soon as they are more than 15 (critical mass), they may drive together. I am quite happy that this movement gets more and more popular in D-A-CH. For instance, it was a peaceful and joyful event for 3,290 cyclists last November in Germany. This year in July, the number had even increased to 13,371 [source: Daniel via itstartedwithafight]. Everybody can join – even if they only want to ride a short part of the way.

© Radlhauptstadt München – cyclists’ night 2016 [picture taken by Andreas Schebesta

Roland: I rather like Critical Mass! In particular, I appreciate the movement because it seems to be truly grass-root. And I am convinced that the only way to cause change is “from the bottom”. Politics and administration are paralyzed by lobbyists and their own rules and have neither a chance nor the desire to try anything. But – without someone trying something, nothing will happen!

Franziska: And yet you can find some bicycle enthusiast among the politicians, too. For instance look at your hometown. The city of Munich aspires to being called bicycle capital. This is also due to the commitment of Wigand von Sassen, who has now been responsible for the city bicycle campaign project since March 2009. Since they started with intense bicycle promotion, there has been a considerable increase in the relative number of cyclists among the total traffic. For instance, there are regular bike checks where you can have small repairs for free. In October, you had the cyclists’ night, in September the RadCouture… This is a lot of commitment in favour of BICYCLE culture. It shows a lot of courage and stamina.

But let us think in more modest terms. What can every one of us do? You do not always need grand gestures.

Driving a car – nothing but a bad habit?

Roland: It is definitely time for something to happen. However, I do not think the higher percentage of bicycles is due to an “intense” promotion of bicycles. In fact, I think that more and more persons discover that there are better ways of being mobile than using a car and also that a car eats up a lot of money. I see all those many cars as a prosperity reserve for the future where many of us will feel more “tightness”.

Driving a car is nothing but a bad habit. Basically, it is necessary for us to be willing and able to change our habits. Smoking is a good metaphor for the process. It is not easy and for many smokers unthinkable to become a non-smoker. And then you can do it against all the odds – and you will quickly feel a lot better.

Currently, I myself am a good example for how hard it is to change patterns you were used to and actually liked. On regional trips up to thirty kilometres, I only go by bike. But unfortunately also for short distances. So my personal mobility program is now “get off your bike and back to walking”. I want to do more hiking. And it is very hard for me to give up the old habit and not automatically mount my bicycle, even if I only have to go a short distance.

Franziska: It is certainly not easy to change behavioural patterns. When I was still an employee, I found it easy to mount my bicycle every morning and ride to the firm. To this day, it is not a problem for me to take the bike when I have business meetings (except if they are too far away, then I use public transportation).

It was easy for me because I knew I had to be there no matter what. But ever since I work in my home office, I find it very hard to mount the bicycle every day – just because I want the exercise. The requirement of having to go from A to B is missing. That makes it more natural for me to do my hiking round through the vineyards in the evening. It gives me peace to ponder and structure the day’s ideas.

Now I integrate this exercise into my working day. On the one hand, I offer public network meetings. We call it Walk to Talk. We meet at a green place and see what topics everybody brought. And then we run through urban greenery for 90 to 120 minutes.

I particularly delight in the fact that the people I coach, my mentees and my supervision partners appreciate this way of talking just like I do. That means that I can enjoy this exciting discourse surrounded by greenery (“Gehsprächs” im Grünen) between four and six times each month. But I would not object to it becoming more.

Incidentally, I would recommend this format to everybody – especially as a welcome deviation from meetings that far too often happen in closed rooms and sitting down. Which brings us to the topic work world = life world.

You have been an entrepreneur for a long time. What can a boss do in order to promote a BICYCLE culture? What are the important factors?

BICYCLE culture in the mobility and health management of enterprises – not an easy task for the boss

Roland (laughs): That is not at all easy. I am sure the most important factor is that you do not offer business cars as an allegedly attractive part of the salary. Unfortunately, I did it up from 1984. The InterFace AG has far too many so-called “business cars”. And it is not at all easy to take away acquired rights.

Services such as bicycle racks with roofs and/or showers in the basement are to be recommended. And you have to be a good example yourself. You have to infect people with your own enthusiasm for bicycles and for riding bikes.

Franziska: Riding bicycles is, indeed, catching. The last time I made that experience was when, in the company I last worked for, we founded an everyday cycling group. It worked like a bus line. The experienced cyclists offered to ride alongside the beginners. In no time, we had an ad-hoc bicycle repair shop and organized (after work) bike tours. Through joining in, I learned about shortcuts and secure routes to work, as well as all kinds of bike tricks.

It filled me with pride to notice how much I already knew after some time and how I could advise others. That was a huge motivation boost towards also surviving the wet-cold rain days with temperatures around the freezing point. There are considerably more dry days than rainy days. And as soon as you are on your way and have ample rain protective gear – the rain does not matter anyway. That is also something I only found out through riding my bike on a daily basis. Mind you, this is still not considering all the many natural panoramas and the intense experience of the seasons of the year.

In your experience, what is it that makes active mobility in everyday life hard or impossible? What – perhaps small – helpful advice can you give to overcome those obstacles?

Roland: Many things come to mind. There is, for instance, the wrong belief that children and heavy objects can only be transported by car. That is not true. Children are happier on the bicycle than in a car. Shopping is a lot easier if you take a bike trailer or a cargo bike instead of a car. Even two bike panniers will go quite some way.

Regularly taking a look at your mirror and your weight, perhaps even at your blood pressure, will soon convince you that it makes sense to exercise more often.

Franziska (laughs): Correct!

Let us get back to entrepreneurial thinking. Since many employees are determined by numbers, data and facts, I am often expected to ask about it. What advantages do you see for the boss to consider “active mobility”?

Roland: Well – it has been proved that persons who exercise regularly in fresh air have considerably fewer sick days. Isn’t that something to convince you? They will also arrive at work in a better mood and more emotionally balanced. And riding a bike also gives them an enormous amount of creativity.

Strong together – AktMob promotes active mobility in everyday life.

Franziska: Early in 2016, you had the AktMobCmp in Unterhaching in order to bring active persons around “active mobility in everyday life” together. In 2017, you will organize evening events and the next AktMobCmp is also currently being organized. What are the topics you will discuss there? Who were – and who are – the participants?

Roland: The invitation addresses everyone who thinks in terms of taking responsibility for our future. The way we think about mobility directly reflects on our way of life. AktMobCmp is a BarCamp – which means we do not know the topics and sessions in advance. This openness, however, makes it possible to get many nice and tangible results on the personal level.
AktMobCmp 2016 — BarCamp for active mobility in everyday life.

Franziska: In other words, you organize and moderate the ActMobCmp as a BarCamp in order to provide space for everybody’s topics. What is special about this particular event format?
Roland: The Barcamp format is characterized by the persons who come organizing their meeting and their sessions according to their individual needs. There are no invited presentations that have been selected by a committee. Everyone is allowed and supposed to contribute. The organizing team only has the role of host who makes it possible to meet at all. The social control is with the participants. I already experienced several times how a session that was abused for marketing purposes was empty in no time.

Franziska: And then there are sessions where humans are made to work intensely and productively in order to solve a shared problem. That is what I like about BarCamps. Especially if the organizers believe in the self-organization and self-control of the participants practiced in those anti-conferences.

For you, this belief grew over the last few years because you experienced it yourself. Because this AktMobCmp is not the first BarCamp you have organized. You are one of the fathers of the PM Camp movement that brings together people all over Europe who exchange ideas on project work. What fascinates you about the BarCamp idea?

Roland: The great thing about BarCamps is that you discover many new things. After all, all the participants are willing to open up and share their knowledge. As a general rule, all participants will go home happy and richer. What you experience will continue to have an effect on you. You have made new friends with whom you remain in contact. This is how, on BarCamps, humans and movements are linked and thus gaining more and more strength.

Franziska: I know exactly what you mean! Since some of my readers are BarCamp newcomers, can you give a few examples?

Roland: Well, there are movements such as eye-level (Augenhöhe),  intrinsify.meEnjoyWork with EnjoyWorkCamp, entrepreneurial democrats (Unternehmensdemokraten), common good economists (Gemeinwohlökonomie) and many more, all of whom I met at BarCamps. Along with those who support and promote them. This is how I made new friends at BarCamps, for instance  Nadja Petranovskaja, Dr. Andreas Zeuch, Dr. Eberhard Huber, Gebhard Borck, Dr. Jens Hoffmann, Maik Pfingsten, Dr. Marcus Rainer, Dr. Niels Pflaeging, Roger Dannenhauer, Dr. Stefan Hagen and many, many more.

We, too, first met at a BarCamp (EnjoyWorkCamp?) didn’t we? You will find posts, podcasts and videos of all these persons online. Reading those will automatically make you understand why you need to connect yourself with others and do things together.

Franziska: I think the first time we met was at the Dornbirn PM Camp. But our first really intense discussion was during the “EnjoyWork” initiative. Consequently, I find it even more exciting to have gone into more detail about a few topics we share. Many thanks, Roland, for the exchange of experience.

I wish you well and for your ACtMob to be a huge success – and a good bike-chain at all times.

Roland: Many thanks – it was a true pleasure!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Some more links:

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 10. Januar 2017

FAHRRADkultur – Interview mit Roland Dürre

Franziska Köppe ist mir vor allem bekannt vom EnjoyWorkCamp. Das ist ein sehr schönes Barcamp für ein neues Verständnis von Arbeit, das einmal im Jahr in Stuttgart stattfindet. Franziska hat mich zu meiner Begeisterung fürs Fahrrad interviewt. Da kam ein Ergebnis heraus, dass mir sehr wichtig ist – deshalb habe ich es sprachlich jetzt noch mal leicht überarbeitet und auch bei mir in IF-Blog.de abgespeichert. Ich habe aber versucht, alles was von Franziska kommt, möglichst so original wie möglich zu lassen.


 

Aktive Mobilität – Fördern und Fordern

 

03.01.2017 – Sind Autofahrer die Kutscher der Neuzeit? Mobilität ist im Umbruch. Seit den 1950ern wurde die Automobil-Industrie stark – vor allem politisch – gefördert. Die Branche gilt als „system-relevant“. Eng verkettet ist sie mit vielen Zulieferern, Verkehrsplanung und Lobbyarbeit. Doch ist sie das „system-relevant“? An den konventionellen Geschäftsmodellen rütteln Start-ups und die Crowd-Economy wie kulturelle Änderungen im Verhalten nicht nur der jungen Generation. Ich sprach mit Unternehmer und Mobilitäts-Aktivist Roland Dürre über Fahrrad-Kultur und den eigenen Beitrag zu Mobilität mit Zukunft.
(Vorwort zum Interview von Franziska)


 

Das Interview

Franziska: Hallo Roland, bitte stelle Dich unseren Lesern kurz vor. Wer bist Du? Was machst Du?

Roland: Wer ich bin, weiß ich nicht. Ich fühle mich als Mensch, Aktivist, Blogger, Coach, Macher, Unternehmer. Ich liebe das Leben und meine Familie. Ich versuche, mutig zu sein und viel Freude bei meinem Tun zu haben. Meine Aufgabe ist nach meiner Zeit bei der InterFace AG noch mehr als früher, Erfahrungen weiter zu geben und wenn möglich anderen – besonders jüngeren – zu helfen, glücklich und erfolgreich zu werden. Für das Schöne, das ich erlebt habe, bin ich dankbar und freue mich, wenn sich diese Dankbarkeit in den verbleibenden Lebensjahren noch mehrt. 🙂

Franziska: Eine Deiner Leidenschaften ist das Radfahren. Was bedeutet für Dich FAHRRADkultur? Was verbindest Du mit diesem Wort?

FAHRRADkultur versus Auto-Kultur – Die Folgen konventioneller Verkehrspolitik

Roland: Kultur und FAHRRAD-Fahren sind beides etwas schönes. Das passt gut zusammen!

Aber sehen wir uns mal an, was uns die Auto-Kultur gebracht hat. Als Autofahrer bin ich im Fahrzeug sozial isoliert. Meine Mitmenschen werden zu anonymen Objekten in anderen Autos. So kenne ich viele Menschen, die sich am Steuer ihres Autos ihrer zwischenmenschlichen Einsamkeit bewusst Schimpfworte benutzen, die sie im normalen Umfeld nie nutzen würden. Und kann das gut nachvollziehen.

Als Radler habe ich mir angewöhnt, mir entgegen kommende Fahrradfahrer zu grüßen. An der Ampel nehme ich häufig Kontakt mit dem Menschen auf dem Nachbar-Rad auf. Ich versuche, Rücksicht zu üben. Und meine, dass die Fußgänger immer Vorfahrt vor Radfahrern haben sollten. Aber auch die Radler vor Autos.

Als Radler sehe und nehme ich mehr wahr. Das gilt auf Radreisen in fremden Ländern genauso wie in Deutschland. Es entwickeln sich schnell soziale Kontakte. Als Fahrradfahrer sehe ich aber auch, wie viel Tiere wie Kröten, Katzen und Hunde von Autos getötet werden. Dann gibt es mir einen Stich ins Herz.

So korreliert Autofahren für mich mit Rücksichtslosigkeit und Unachtsamkeit. Was sich dem Auto in den Weg stellt, wird niedergewalzt. Kohlendioxid wird ausgestoßen, Feinstaub produziert und das nur für die eigene Bequemlichkeit. 1,400.000 Millionen Verkehrstote weltweit im Jahr sind normal, weil es ohne das Auto nicht geht. Es geht aber ohne Autos. Das habe ich im Selbstversuch erlebt. Und es geht einem besser ohne Autos.

Vielleicht noch eine kulturelle Provokation: Autofahrer sind die Kutscher der Neuzeit. Kutscher waren keine beliebte Berufsgruppe, weil sie in den engen Gassen der Städte mit der Peitsche das gemeine Volk aus dem Wege prügelten. Kutscher galten damals als „Abschaum und Gesindel“?!

FAHRRADkultur – Eine leise und saubere Welt mit glücklicheren und gesünderen Menschen

Franziska: Es ist wohl wahr, dass für die meisten – vor allem die Großstädter von uns – Mobilität hauptsächlich mit dem Automobil verbunden ist. Dabei ist es noch gar nicht so lange her, dass Fahrradfahren das selbstverständlichste und alltäglichste Verkehrsmittel war, mit dem Menschen Entfernungen von mehr als 5 km zurücklegten. Lass uns also noch einmal zurückkommen auf das Fahrrad. Was wäre das für eine Welt, wenn Du FAHRRADkultur träumen dürftest?

Roland: Eine leise und saubere Welt mit glücklicheren und gesünderen Menschen. In der sich aus veränderter Mobilität heraus viele weitere Fortschritte an Lebensqualität entwickeln. Ich sage immer gerne: Wer seine Mobilität nicht in den Griff bekommt, wie will der sein Leben steuern können? Denn ohne den „Willen und die Fähigkeit sein Leben verantwortlich zu führen“ geht es halt nicht.

Roland Dürre auf dem Weg von Salerno nach Pisciotta

Franziska: So weit so vernünftig. Nun sieht die Realität eines Alltagsradlers nicht ganz so himmelblau und rosig aus. Du sprachst es ja bereits an. Einer der Gründe, weswegen Du Dich für „Aktive Mobilität“ – AktMob, wie Ihr es nennt – einsetzt.

Roland: Stimmt. Ich kenne viele Straßen in München, da macht es keine Freude zu fahren. Und auch auf großen Touren muss man immer wieder auch mal eine Strecke durchleiden, auf der man wirklich um sein Leben fürchtet.

Wobei es bei AktMob nicht nur ums Radeln geht, sondern um jede Form von Fortbewegung jenseits von Pferdekutschen, Benzin- oder Elektroautos – durch eigene Bewegung, aus eigener Kraft. Sei es mit Rollern, Skatebords, zu Fuß, dem Rollator – oder was auch immer. Und ein wenig elektrische Unterstützung darf auch dabei sein.

Franziska: Im Bereich Verkehr wird seit den 50er Jahren des letzten Jahrhunderts das Automobil als individuelles Fortbewegungsmittel gefördert. Dahinter stand die politische Vision eines Wirtschaftswunders. Leider hat diese kurze Zeit bereits ausgereicht, unsere Städte zu entmenschlichen. Fußgänger wie Radfahrer gehören seltsamerweise kulturell nicht mehr zum Verkehr. Wie absurd das teilweise ist, zeigt sich ganz besonders allmorgendlich an Kindergärten und Schulen: Da werden Kinder mit dem Auto gebracht, weil es aufgrund des hohen Verkehrsaufkommens durch PKWs zu gefährlich für sie wäre, zu laufen. Wie schräg ist das denn?

Das Auto als Statussymbol in der Wirtschaftswunderwelt

Roland: Ein gutes Beispiel! In der Tat war das Auto – gerade für die Männerwelt – nicht nur ein Objekt, um von A nach B zu kommen. Wenn man Führerschein und ein Auto hatte, war man endlich erwachsen. Der Spruch vom Auto als „Phallus-Symbol“ ist sicher nicht ganz falsch. Und am Steuer eines starken Kraftwagen überkommt gerade das männliche Geschlecht ein Gefühl der Omnipotenz. Wer mag das nicht?

Noch mehr aber war das Auto das Statussymbol in der Wirtschaftswunderwelt der sich wirtschaftlich erholenden BRD und Welt. Das Auto ist wohl die beste Metapher für gekauftes Glück als Ersatzbefriedigung für unerfüllte Bedürfnisse.

Wie wir noch junge Männer waren und kein Auto hatten, da hatten wir den Eindruck, dass die hübschen jungen Frauen die Männer mit Autos doch klar bevorzugten – und auf uns autolose Wesen eher herab sahen.

Das Auto war aber auch – ähnlich wie die Zigarette – ein Symbol für Freiheit. Und es war auch ein neuer privater Lebensraum – in USA z.B. muss es ein paar Jahre gegeben haben, in denen mehr als die Hälfte aller Kinder auf dem Rücksitz von Autos gezeugt wurden. Das stand wohl schon im Kinsey-Report drin. Und unserer Faulheit ist so ein Kraftfahrzeug doch auch sehr entgegen gekommen. Ja, und dass solch ein götzenhaftes Vehikel – auch noch optimal und emotional vermarktet – alles andere untergebuttert hat, ist doch klar.

Die kritische Masse – Radfahren im Verband

Franziska: Mit Aktionen „Wir sind Verkehr“ finden in Deutschland und auf der ganzen Welt monatlich sogenannte Critical Mass statt. Dabei nutzen Radfahrer §27 der StVO aus, der es ihnen ermöglicht, ab 15 Velofahrern (= kritische Masse) im Verband zu fahren. Ich freue mich sehr, dass diese Bewegung in D-A-CH immer mehr Anhänger findet. Ein friedlich-fröhliches Treiben im vergangenen November in Deutschland beispielsweise mit 3.290 Mitradlern. Im Juli dieses Jahres waren es sogar 13.371 FahrradfahrerInnen [Quelle: Daniel via itstartedwithafight]. Jeder kann sich anschließen – und sei es auch nur für ein kurzes Stück des Weges.

© Radlhauptstadt München – Radlnacht 2016 [Foto Andreas Schebesta]

Roland: Critical Mass ist gut! Ich schätze sie vor allem, weil es mir eine echte Graswurzel-Bewegung zu sein scheint. Und ich überzeugt bin, dass Veränderung nur noch von „unten“ angestoßen werden kann. Politik und Administration gelähmt von Lobbyisten und eigenen Regeln hat gar keine Chance und auch keinen Willen mehr, mal etwas auszuprobieren. Nur – ohne Ausprobieren geht nichts!

Franziska: Und doch gibt es da die Fahrrad-Enthusiasten auch unter Politikern. Nehmen wir beispielsweise Deine Heimatstadt. Die Stadt München erhebt den Anspruch, Radlhauptstadt sein zu wollen. Dahinter steht auch das persönliche Engagement von Wigand von Sassen, der seit März 2009 Projektverantwortlicher für diese städtische Fahrrad-Kampagne ist. Seit Beginn der intensiven Fahrrad-Förderung hat sich der Radverkehrsanteil am gesamten Modal-Split deutlich erhöht. So gibt es beispielsweise regelmäßig RadlChecks, bei denen kostenfrei kleinere Reparaturen vorgenommen werden. Erst im Oktober fand die Radl-Nacht statt. Im September die RadCouture… Dahinter steckt viel Engagement in Sachen FAHRRADkultur. Das braucht eine gehörige Portion Mut und Ausdauer.

Doch lass uns gern eine Nummer kleiner denken. Was kann jeder tun? Es braucht ja gar nicht immer die großen Gesten.

Autofahren – nichts anders als eine schlechte Gewohnheit?

Roland: Es wird auch Zeit, dass etwas passiert. Ich glaube aber nicht, dass die Erhöhung des Radverkehrsanteils auf eine „intensive Fahrrad“-Förderung zurückzuführen ist. Ich meine viel mehr, dass immer mehr Menschen entdecken, dass es bessere Möglichkeiten gibt und ein Auto doch sehr viel Geld frisst. Ich sehe die vielen Autos sozusagen als Wohlstandsreserve für die Zukunft, in der es zweifelsfrei für viele von uns „enger“ werden wird.

Autofahren ist nichts anders als eine schlechte Gewohnheit. Wir müssen halt auch bereit und fähig sein, unsere Gewohnheiten zu verändern. Rauchen, ist eine schöne Metapher. Es ist nicht einfach und für viele Raucher unvorstellbar, zum Nichtraucher werden will. Und dann klappt es doch – und man fühlt sich schnell viel besser.

Wie schwer es ist, liebe Gewohnheiten zu ändern, erlebe ich zurzeit an mir selber. Auf den regionalen Wegen bis um die 30 km fahre ich nur noch Fahrrad. Aber leider auch auf den ganz kurzen Strecken. Mein neues persönliches Mobilitäts-Programm heißt jetzt aber „runter vom Fahrrad und wieder auf die eigenen Füß“. Ich will wieder mehr zu Fuß gehen. Und es ist für mich wahnsinnig schwer, diese Gewohnheit aufzugeben, auch bei kurzen Strecken quasi automatisch aufs Fahrrad zu steigen.

Franziska: Verhaltensweisen umzulernen ist in der Tat nicht einfach. Als Angestellte fiel es mir leicht, mich morgens aufs Rad zu schwingen und in die Firma zu radeln. Auch heute noch ist es für mich kein Thema, Geschäftstermine mit dem Rad zu erledigen (es sei denn, es ist zu weit, dann nehme ich öffentliche Verkehrsmittel).

Das Leichte daran war für mich, dass ich den Weg in jedem Fall zurück legen musste. Seit ich jedoch im Home-Office arbeite, fällt es mir unsäglich schwer, täglich aufs Rad zu steigen – nur des Radelns und der körperlichen Aktivität wegen. Mir fehlt dafür das A nach B als Bedingung. Da ist es für mich wiederum naturgemäßer, abends (m)eine Runde durch die Weinberge zu drehen und zu Fuß zu gehen. Das entschleunigt und sortiert die Gedanken.

Inzwischen integrierte ich diese Form der Bewegung in meinen Berufsalltag. Zum einen biete ich öffentliche Netzwerktreffen an. Wir nennen es Walk to Talk. Dabei treffen wir uns an einem grünen Ort, schauen, welche Themen die Einzelnen mitgebracht haben. Und laufen dann für zirka 90 bis 120 Minuten zusammen durch urbanes Grün.

Besonders freut mich, dass meine Coachees, Mentees und Supervisions-Partner die Form des „Gehsprächs“ genauso schätzen wie ich. So dass ich doch zumindest 4-6 Mal pro Monat in den Genuss eines spannenden Gehsprächs im Grünen komme. Das darf jedoch sehr gern noch mehr werden. 😉

Ich empfehle diese Formate im übrigen allen – vor allem als willkommene Abwechslung zu Besprechungen, die viel zu häufig in geschlossenen Räumen und noch dazu im Sitzen stattfinden. Wobei wir beim Thema Arbeitswelten = Lebenswelten sind.

Du warst lange Jahre Unternehmer. Was können Chefs tun, um FAHRRADkultur zu fördern? Worauf kommt es dabei an?

FAHRRADkultur im betrieblichen Mobilitäts- und Gesundheitsmanagement – keine einfache Aufgabe für Chefs

Roland (lacht): Das ist gar nicht so einfach. Das Wichtigste ist sicher, keine Geschäftsautos als vermeintlich lohnenden Gehaltsanteil anzubieten. Leider habe ich das ab 1984 gemacht. Die InterFace AG hat viel zu viele sogenannte „Geschäfts-Autos“. Und Besitzstand zu ändern ist alles andere als einfach.

Positiv wirken sich Angebote aus wie überdachte und sichere Fahrrad-Stellplätze und/oder eine Dusche im Keller. Und man muss es vormachen, die Menschen mit der eigenen Begeisterung für Fahrräder und Fahrradfahren anstecken.

Franziska: Fahrrad-Fahren ist in der Tat ansteckend. Das konnte ich daran sehen, als wir in der Firma für die ich zuletzt tätig war eine Alltagsradler-Gruppe bildeten. Das funktionierte wie eine “Bus-Linie”: Die eingefleischten Radler boten Mitfahrgelegenheiten für die Einsteiger. Schnell ergaben sich ad-hoc Radlwerkstatt und Verabredungen zu gemeinsamen (After-Work-)Touren. Durch Mitfahren erfuhr ich Abkürzungen oder sicherere Anfahrtswege und erhaschte allerlei Radel-Tricks.

Nicht ganz ohne Stolz merkte ich dann auch, wie viel ich selbst schon weiß und anderen mitgeben konnte. Das war ein großer Motivationsschub, auch die nass-kalten Nieselregen-Tage um den Gefrierpunkt zu überstehen. Was viele nicht wissen: Es gibt deutlich mehr trockene als verregnete Tage. Und wenn man einmal unterwegs ist und gute Regenkleidung hat – ist das mit dem Regen ohnehin egal. Auch das entdeckte ich erst durch das tägliche Fahrradfahren. Die zahlreichen Naturschauspiele und das intensive Erleben der Jahreszeiten gar nicht mit eingerechnet.

Was erschwert oder verhindert aus Deiner Erfahrung aktive Mobilität im Alltag? Welche – unter Umständen auch kleinen – Hilfestellungen kennst Du, die dafür Abhilfe schaffen?

Roland: Da gibt es vieles. Zum Beispiel der Irrglaube, dass man Kinder und Lasten mit dem Auto transportieren muss. Das stimmt nicht. Kinder sind auf dem Fahrrad glücklicher als im Auto. Einkaufen geht viel besser mit Fahrrad-Anhänger oder Lastenfahrrad als mit dem Auto. Schon mit zwei Fahrrad-Taschen kommt man sehr weit.

Der regelmäßige Blick in den Spiegel und auf die Waage, vielleicht auch auf’s Blutdruck-Messgerät, überzeugt schnell, dass es Sinn macht, sich mehr zu bewegen.

Franziska (lacht): Stimmt! 😉

Noch einmal zurück zum unternehmerischen Denken. Da viele Arbeitgeber durch Zahlen, Daten, Fakten getriggert sind, werde ich immer wieder gebeten, danach zu fragen: Welchen Nutzen siehst Du für Chefs, sich mit dem Thema “aktive Mobilität” zu beschäftigen?

Roland: Na ja – es ist ja belegt, dass Menschen, die regelmäßig Bewegung haben und an der frischen Luft sind, deutlich weniger krank sind. Das ist doch schon etwas. Sie kommen auch besser gelaunt und ausgeglichener zur Arbeit. Und bringen eine ungeheure Kreativität von ihrer Radfahrt mit.

Gemeinsam stark – AktMob fördert aktive Mobilität im Alltag

Franziska: Um Akteure rund um „Aktive Mobilität im Alltag“ miteinander zu vernetzen, führtet Ihr in Unterhaching Anfang 2016 das AktMobCmp durch. 2017 werdet Ihr Abendveranstaltungen organisieren und auch das nächste AktMobCmp bereitet Ihr aktuell vor. Mit welchen Fragestellungen beschäftigt(et) Ihr Euch dort? Wer war – wer wird dabei sein?

Roland: Eingeladen sind alle, die an ihre Verantwortung für die Zukunft denken. So wie wir mit unserer Mobilität umgehen – so leben wir. AktMobCmp ist ein BarCamp – das heißt, wir kennen die Themen und Sessions nicht vorher. Diese Offenheit ermöglicht jedoch auf der persönlichen Ebene viele schöne und konkrete Ergebnisse.

AktMobCmp 2016 — BarCamp für aktive Mobilität im Alltag

Franziska: Das heißt, um den Menschen den Raum für Ihre Themen zu öffnen, organisiert und moderiert Ihr das ActMobCmp als BarCamp. Was ist das Besondere an diesem Veranstaltungsformat?

Roland: Beim Barcamp-Format organisieren die Menschen, die kommen, ihr Treffen und ihre Sessions ihren Bedürfnissen folgend. Es gibt keine eingereichten Vorträge, die von einem Gremium ausgewählt worden sind. Jeder darf und soll einen Beitrag leisten. Die Organisatoren konzentrieren sich auf die Rolle des Gastgebers, der so das Zusammenkommen ermöglicht. Die soziale Kontrolle liegt bei den Teilnehmern. Ich habe schon ein paar Mal erlebt, wie sich eine Session, die für „Marketing“ missbraucht wurde, sehr schnell geleert hat.

Franziska: Und dann gibt es Sessions, die Menschen in eine intensive, produktive Arbeit an einem gemeinsamen Anliegen verwickeln. Das mag ich an BarCamps. Vor allem, wenn die Veranstalter an die Selbstorganisation und Selbststeuerung der Teilgeber ihrer Unkonferenz glauben.

Diese Sicherheit hast Du in den vergangenen Jahren durch eigenes Erleben gewonnen. Denn das AktMobCamp ist nicht das erste BarCamp, das Du organisierst. Du gehörst zu den Gründervätern der PM Camp-Bewegung, bei der in ganz Europa Menschen zusammen kommen, die sich zu Projektarbeit austauschen. Was macht für Dich die Faszination eines BarCamps aus?

Roland: Das tolle bei BarCamps ist, dass man viel Neues entdeckt. Denn alle Teilnehmer sind bereit, sich zu öffnen und ihr Wissen zu teilen. In der Regel kommen alle Teilnehmer glücklich und reicher nach Hause. Das Erlebte wirkt weiter. Man hat neue Freunde gewonnen, mit denen man in Verbindung bleibt. So vernetzen sich auf BarCamps Menschen und Bewegungen und gewinnen immer mehr an Kraft.

Franziska: Ich weiß, was Du meinst. Für die BarCamp-Newbies unter meinen Lesern nenne uns dennoch bitte ein paar Beispiele.

Roland: Ganz einfach. Bewegungen wie Augenhöhe, intrinsify.me, EnjoyWork mit EnjoyWorkCamp, Unternehmensdemokraten, Gemeinwohlökonomie und viele mehr habe ich auf Barcamps kennengelernt. Wie auch die Menschen, die diese unterstützen und voranbringen. So habe ich auf BarCamps neue Freunde gewonnen wie Nadja Petranovskaja, Dr. Andreas Zeuch, Dr. Eberhard Huber, Gebhard Borck, Dr. Jens Hoffmann, Maik Pfingsten, Dr. Marcus Rainer, Dr. Niels Pflaeging, Roger Dannenhauer, Dr. Stefan Hagen und viele, viele mehr.

Wir beide haben uns ja auch bei einem BarCamp (EnjoyWorkCamp?) kennengelernt! Von allen den genannten Persönlichkeiten findest Du Posts, Podcasts und Videos im Netz, die ganz von selber erklären, warum man sich vernetzen und die Dinge gemeinsam machen muss.

Franziska: Ich glaube, Dir begegnete ich erstmals beim PM Camp in Dornbirn. Intensiv miteinander sprachen wir dann tatsächlich erst im Rahmen meiner Initiative “EnjoyWork”. Um so schöner, mit diesem Austausch ein paar uns verbindender Themen vertieft zu haben. Vielen Dank, Roland, für den Erfahrungsaustausch.

Ich wünsche Dir Alles Gute und Euch mit AktMob viel Erfolg und allzeit gut Kette.

Roland: Vielen Dank – es hat richtig Spaß gemacht!


Links zum Weiterlesen:

 

Kommentar verfassen

*