A short time ago, I found the „Eleven Secrets of Leadership“ as formulated by Napoleon Hill (1883 to 1970) on the internet:

  1. Unshakeable self-confidence
    It is based on objective self-estimation and precise knowledge of your own professional expertise. Nobody will be prepared to follow orders given by someone who lacks self-confidence and courage.
  2. Self-discipline
    If you have no discipline over yourself, you cannot expect discipline from others. Self-control and self-discipline create trust and motivate the clever employee to imitate the boss.
  3. Sense of justice
    No leader will be able to gain and maintain  the respect of his subordinates unless he has a strong sense of fairness and justice.
  4. Consistency
    If you doubt your own decisions and keep changing your mind, you just show that you are not sure of yourself. Consequently, you cannot lead others toward success.
  5. Thoughtful behaviour
    A successful leader plans before acting and acts according to his plans. Someone who just blindly leaves everything to chance and his „intuition“, acting without thoroughly thought-through plans is like a ship without a rudder.
  6. Being used to always surpassing expectations
    A true leader always demands more from himself than from others.
  7. Reliability
    People who are slovenly, careless, forgetful or otherwise unreliable will never be successful leaders. After all, the aforementioned characteristics will make it impossible for others to admire  them  and follow their orders.
  8. Sensitivity and understanding
    Being able to imagine how your own employees feel is very important. You should always understand their point of view, their wishes and their fears. A good leader always has to show he understands the people he is superior to, along with  their problems.
  9. An eye for detail
    If you want to be a success as a leader, you also have to be knowledgable on all the seemingly unimportant details of the work process – and you have to notice them.
  10. Being prepared to take responsibility
    A good leader does not only – as a matter of course – take responsibility for his own decisions. He will also always be prepared to accept the consequences of mistakes and forgetfulness among his own employees. The superior person is reaponsible if  people he is in charge of have not done their job well.
  11. Co-operation
    Successful leaders have to know and nurture co-operation. That means they must be able to motivate their team. After all, leadership is based on power, and power is based on the full support of the “people”.

Source: Napoleon Hill: Think Hard and Become Rich. The 13 Rule You Want to Follow in Order to be a Success. Ariston Verlag, 1966/2010.

Some way or other, it seems that, at first sight, nothing wrong is written in this list. In fact, it seems like a lot of it goes without saying. It makes sense and sounds plausible. Personally, I find it very nice to read something like an eye for detail (thesis number 9) on the list.

However, after taking a closer look, I suddenly start getting thoughtful.

I cannot think of a single leader who even comes close to what Napoleon Hill requires of a leader. Well, that makes sense, too, doesn’t it? After all, even the first item on the list wants something superhuman. Who among us can honestly say he is full of self-confidence based on objective self-evaluation? You would probably have to suffer from psychological disorder or distorted awareness. I conclude that the human being portrayed by Hill cannot really exist.

And then my thoughtfulness turns into real scepticism. Didn’t we and our fathers love and literally swollow whole the entire “hero literature” of the 19th and 20th century? Entire generations found their way out of depressions when reading about Winnetou and Old Shatterhand, who were the protagonists portraying ideal heroism invented by Karl May.

They were creatures without fear and evil, full of endless loyalty, with an absolutely infallible sense of justice, always on the move as humane helpers. Where it was necessary, however, they could also show ruthless steeliness. And, of course, they looked absolutely noble with ideal physical characteristics and enormous competence. They spoke any number of languages and dialects, had extremely well-trained senses and an astute mind.

Their technological perfection was surpreme in all martial arts. They could do without sleep or food for a long time and were prepared to endure any pain and torture imaginable without even blinking an eye. And once in a while, they also had super-natural abilities. But they also had a soft spot and a good sentimentality. Above all, they would normally escape from even the most desperate situation. They were superior, competent and noble.

In literature, Winnetou and Old Shatterhand were no exceptions. An entire genre of war, adventur and freedom literature seduced humans with this kind of nonsense. The superhuman as messianic comforter. National socialism in Germany probably had such an easy time gaining power because of this cultural imprint.

Do we in the 21st century really still fall victim to these ideals

I am afraid the answer is probably yes! Why else would we pay homage to all these athletes and athletic teams, car racers, show stars, musicians, but also entrepreneurs, managing directors and managers, declaring them our idols? It is the only way to understand why we find it acceptable that they earn the kind of money that is otherwise only sufferable if you think in terms of logarithm.

Even if we all wish to be a little like Winnetou and Old Shatterhand or the other stars – I strongly recommend we throw this way of thinking like Napoleon Hill and company in the rubbish bin. We are all just human beings who should try to deliver a good job as far as our potential allows it.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
There are actually still personality trainers and management councellors who ensnare their customers with Napoleon Hill.

2 Kommentare zu “New Find: Eleven Characteristics of a Successful Leader (Napoleon Hill) – or – Where is He, the Super-Human!”

  1. Felix Lange (Wednesday May 11th, 2011)

    Super Artikel!

  2. Chris Wood (Saturday May 21st, 2011)

    Yes, I like it too. I remember a character called Wilson in an old “comic” who could run a mile in 3 minutes. This was soon after the mile was first run in 4 minutes (unfortunately by an Oxford man).
    Sometimes, these heroes were touched with a little humour, for instance a native hero in the Himalayas who defended the British Empire against terrorists, swinging an old cricket bat.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Vor kurzem habe ich die von Napoleon Hill (1883 bis 1970) formulierten “Elf Geheimnisse des Führens” im Internet gefunden:

1. Unerschütterliches Selbstvertrauen
Es beruht auf objektiver Selbsteinschätzung und genauer Kenntnis des eigenen Berufes. Niemand lässt sich von jemandem führen, dem es an Selbstvertrauen und Mut mangelt.

2. Selbstbeherrschung
Wer nicht im Stande ist, sich selbst zu beherrschen, der kann auch nicht über andere “herrschen”. Selbstkontrolle und Selbstdisziplin flößen Vertrauen ein und fordern den klugen Untergebenen zur Nachahmung auf.

3. Gerechtigkeitssinn
Ohne ein ausgeprägtes Gefühl für Fairness und Gerechtigkeit kann sich kein Vorgesetzter die Achtung seiner Untergebenen verschaffen und bewahren.

4. Unbeirrbarkeit
Wer häufig an seinen Entscheidungen zweifelt, und immer wieder seine Meinung ändert, beweist, dass er seiner selbst nicht sicher ist und deshalb andere auch nicht zum Erfolg führen kann.

5. Überlegtes Vorgehen
Die erfolgreiche Führungskraft plant, bevor sie handelt, und handelt entsprechend ihren Plänen. Wer blindlings alles dem Zufall oder seiner ‘Intuition’ überlässt und ohne wohldurchdachte, feste Pläne handelt, ist wie ein Schiff ohne Ruder.

6. Die Gewohnheit, alle Erwartungen zu übertreffen
Die wirkliche Führungskraft fordert von sich selbst stets mehr als von anderen.

7. Zuverlässigkeit
Schlampige, nachlässige, vergessliche oder sonst wie unzuverlässige Menschen werden niemals erfolgreiche Führungskräfte sein, weil solche Eigenschaften es ihnen unmöglich machen, die Achtung derer zu erringen, denen sie Anweisungen erteilen.

8. Einfühlungsvermögen und Verständnis
Sehr wichtig ist die Fähigkeit, sich in seine Mitarbeiter hineinzuversetzen, also deren Standpunkt, deren Wünsche und deren Sorgen nachzuvollziehen. Ein guter Vorgesetzter muss immer Verständnis für seine Untergebenen und ihre Nöte zeigen.

9. Ein Auge fürs Detail
Wer als Führungskraft Erfolg haben will, muss auch die scheinbar unbedeutenden Details des Arbeitsprozesses beherrschen – und bemerken.

10. Bereitschaft, Verantwortung zu übernehmen
Die erfolgreiche Führungskraft akzeptiert nicht nur – selbstverständlich – die Verantwortung für ihre eigenen Entscheidungen, sondern ist auch stets bereit, für die Fehler und Versäumnisse ihrer Untergebenen einzustehen. Für die mangelhaften Leistungen der Mitarbeiter ist der Vorgesetzte verantwortlich.

11. Fähigkeit der Zusammenarbeit
Die erfolgreiche Führungskraft muss die Fähigkeit der Zusammenarbeit beherrschen und pflegen. Das heißt, sie muss ihre Untergebenen zur Mitarbeit motivieren können, denn Führung beruht auf Macht, und Macht beruht auf tatkräftiger Unterstützung vonseiten des “Volkes”.

Quelle: Napoleon Hill: Denke nach und werde reich. Die 13 Gesetze des Erfolgs. Ariston Verlag, 1966/2010.

Irgendwo scheint da auf dem ersten Blick nichts falsches drin zu stehen, eher viel Selbstverständliches. Das leuchtet ein und klingt plausibel. Persönlich finde ich auch sehr gut, dass ein Punkt wie das Auge fürs Detail (These 9) dabei ist.

Wenn ich allerdings ein klein wenig weiter denke, dann komme ich schnell und stark ins Grübeln.

Mir fällt keine einzige Führungskraft ein, die auch nur annähernd den Anforderungen von Napoleon Hill gerecht wird. Ist ja auch klar. Denn schon in Punkt 1) wird Übermenschliches gefordert. Wer kann denn ernsthaft von sich behaupten, über ein unerschütterliches Selbstvertrauen zu verfügen, das auf objektiver Selbsteinschätzung beruht? Muss man dazu nicht psychisch krank sein oder unter Wahrnehmungsstörungen leiden? Ich komme zum Entschluss, dass es von Hill skizzierten Menschen gar nicht geben kann.

Dann wird aus meinem Grübeln ernstes Bedenken. Da war doch die „Heldenliteratur“ des 20. und 19. Jahrhunderts, die wir und unsere Väter so geliebt und verschlungen haben. Ganze Generationen haben sich an Übermenschen aufgerichtet wie Winnetou und Old Shatterhand, den von Karl May erfundenen Protagonisten idealtypischen Heldentums.

Das waren Wesen ohne Furcht und Tadel, von unendlicher Treue erfüllt, mit absolutem Gerechtigkeitssinn ausgestattet, immer als menschenfreundliche Helfer unterwegs. Wenn notwendig aber auch von unerbittlicher Härte. Und natürlich von edelem Aussehen mit idealen körperlichen Eigenschaften und enormen Fähigkeiten. Sie beherrschten beliebig viele Sprachen und Dialekte, verfügten über extrem geschulte Sinne und einen scharfsinnigen Verstand.

Ihre technischer Perfektion war in allen Disziplinen des Kampfes perfekt. Sie waren in der Lage längere Zeit ohne Schlaf und Nahrungsmittel aus zu kommen und bereit, beliebig Schmerz und Folter über sich ergehen zu lassen, ohne auch nur eine Miene zu verziehen. Und gelegentlich verfügten sie auch über übersinnliche Fähigkeiten. Aber auch über ein weiches Herz und eine gesunde Sentimentalität. Und vor allem, im Normalfall retten sie sich auch aus den ausweglosesten Situtationen. Souverän, überlegen und edel.

In der Literatur waren Winnetou und Old Shatterhand keine Einzelfälle. Ein ganzes Genre an Kriegs-, Abenteurer- und Freiheitsliteratur hat Menschen mit solchem Unsinn verführt. Der Übermensch als tröstender Messias. Auch der Nationalsozialismus in Deutschland dürfte es aufgrund dieser Prägung so leicht gehabt haben, die Macht zu ergreifen.

Fallen wir wirklich im 21. Jahrhundert auf solche Zielbilder noch herein?

Die Antwort heißt wohl leider ja! Würden wir sonst so viele Einzel- oder Teamsportler, Autorennfahrer, Showstars, Schauspieler, Musiker aber auch Unternehmer, Vorstände und Manager hofieren und ihnen als unsere Idole nur noch im logarithmischen Maßstab erträgliche Einkommen zugestehen?

Auch wenn wir alle uns wünschen, ein bisschen zu sein wie Winnetou und Old Shatterhand oder die anderen Stars – ab in die Mottenkiste mit dem Denken von Napoleon Hill und Co. Wir sind alle nur Menschen, die entsprechend ihrer Möglichkeiten einen möglichst guten Job machen sollten.

RMD

P.S.
Es gibt tatsächlich noch heute Persönlichkeitstrainer und Managementberater, die mit Napoleon Hill auf Kundenfang gehen.

Be Sociable, Share!

2 Kommentare zu “Fundstück: 11 Merkmale einer erfolgreichen Führungskraft (Napoleon Hill) – oder – Wo ist er, der Übermensch!”

  1. Felix Lange (Mittwoch, der 11. Mai 2011)

    Super Artikel!

  2. Chris Wood (Samstag, der 21. Mai 2011)

    Yes, I like it too. I remember a character called Wilson in an old „comic“ who could run a mile in 3 minutes. This was soon after the mile was first run in 4 minutes (unfortunately by an Oxford man).
    Sometimes, these heroes were touched with a little humour, for instance a native hero in the Himalayas who defended the British Empire against terrorists, swinging an old cricket bat.

Kommentar verfassen

*