Roland Dürre
Friday January 16th, 2015

Golden Barbed Wire

Currently, it seems like both institutions and enterprises are in a state of inertia. And humans always seem to suffer. At least that is what diverse polls tell us. Also, I hear many laments during direct conversations. Frustration at work increases, more and more persons succumb to inner resignation.

I can easily understand that. The collective life in enterprises is increasingly subjected to being moulded into processes. This development has been going on for several years, step by step and consequently not really easy to make out. Yet it keeps getting stronger. Nobody can escape it. More and more regulations and written rules of behaviour are generated. There is a simple answer for every question.

Those who are still capable of feeling it feel dependent and incapacitated. A feeling of powerlessness spreads, dissatisfaction grows, you are frustrated and often do not even know why. At the same time, the systems protect you as never before. Security is all, risks are undesired. The total care through the system is the slogan of the hour.

Actually, the care is something those who enjoy it gladly accept. After all, it provides a comfort zone and promises security. Because you are in a protected area and basically there is nothing you need to worry about. Because you are part of a big “community” – one of many.

This is how the concern employee will feel comfortable. Yet this is often quite treacherous. But then, how does this situation arise? Both as a student and later as a regular employee, I spent almost ten years working for Siemens, where I personally made the experience of gliding into the world of security.

For me, the “lulling process” started with eating in the cafeteria. Usually, that was where I got good food at fixed times and for a reasonable price. And, like most people, I found “my” company cafeteria quite good. Also because it made my life easier.

Well, it means the cafeteria was the central point of the work day. It decided what we were going to eat. There were two standardized meals. At Siemens, we had one “simple” meal (green voucher, 1.20 DM) and a “higher-quality” meal (red voucher, 1.50 DM). The vouchers looked like those coins you can use instead of EURO coins when you need a trolley in the supermarket.

The vouchers were available from a very basic machine. If you paid 6 DM, you could choose between getting five green vouchers and four red vouchers. The same vouchers were available in yellow – for dessert. The price was 0.30 DM. For 1.50 DM, the machine gave you five of them. In those days, even dinner was available in the cafeteria – very comfortable.

The daily choice between green (basic) and red (better) meal became the most important part of daily life. The question “what’s to eat today” certainly gives diversity to the day. It suggests decisiveness and some last vestiges of freedom. Besides, going to the cafeteria at noon provided a break in the work routine.

This is what you get with big companies and institutions – all is provided for. You get food and warmth. The cafeteria as the tip of the iceberg consisting of a complete all-out provision by “Mama Siemens” or similar. “Mama Siemens” (as a metaphor for huge concerns) gives their people a place to work, a good income, warmth and light, and nice offices. At the gate, the security guards keep a watchful eye. The boss will select the courses his employees might find useful. And if an employee had a health problem, he or she could feel free to consult the company doctor. What more do you need?

This is what I experienced as part of the working population during my first years. I sat in a golden cage. We were domesticated and mollycoddled, like tamed pets. Until all this care – and if I am honest, there were other reasons, too – made me leave.

Many of my friends and colleagues did not manage to escape. They became prisoners inside the “golden barbed wire”. Initially, it was the company retirement money that attracted them. Then the dismissal protection. Without noticing it, they became zombies of the system that provided everything. Everything was pre-conceived and pre-arranged. No problems, no challenges.

Today, we also have set processes for everything: vacations, appraisal interviews, the hours you work, business trips, meetings, employments or notices, personnel-related issues, social media: everything is ready-made and served conveniently.

As soon as they reached their 50th birthday, if not sooner, they started looking towards the end with anxiety. And many were permitted to leave before they were sixty – well provided for, but basically too young to stop doing something meaningful.

And as systems always work: 
As soon as the regulations have started, they will never stop. Be it communication, creativity, development, marketing, sales: everything is standardized. „Best practice“ gives way to processes, bureaucracy will flourish endlessly, lateral ideas are not welcome.

Instead of “common sense” you get “this is how we are going to do it”. Creativity is replaced by planning. Transparency becomes an unwelcome threat. Everything must be measurable, even the suggestions for improvement. Customers’ wishes and the needs of your providers will fall victim to the Shareholder Value.

The system overshadows everything. Only what is useful for the system can ever be good – even if this is only allegedly so.

Consequently, the enterprises wear a mask that gets stronger and stronger. It is a fir tree they used to call structure organization – with mistletoes of structural concepts hanging from it.

To be sure, from the inside, those enterprises look different, because the industrious colleagues will ignore the fir tree with its mistletoes where necessary (which is quite frequently) and instead directly communicate with each other. This is how they see to it that the enterprise will be a success, after all – in violation of the rules.

Many enterprises remind me of the image of a city where the pulsating life starts to be structured by the construction of signs and barbed wire fences. Yet they leave enough – basically unlawful – holes for everything to still function.

It is called bureacracy!

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Freitag, der 16. Januar 2015

Goldener Stacheldraht

Zurzeit scheinen Institutionen und Unternehmen erstarren. Und die Menschen immer zu leiden. Zumindest sind das die Ergebnisse von diversen Umfragen, die man so liest. Und ich höre viele Klagen in direkten Gesprächen. Der Frust am Arbeitsplatz nimmt zu, immer mehr Menschen gehen in die „innere Kündigung“.

Ich kann das nachvollziehen. Das kollektive Leben in Unternehmen wird immer mehr in Prozesse gegossen. Diese Entwicklung findet schon seit Jahren statt, scheibchenweise und deshalb kaum merklich. Aber sich immer verstärkend, so dass keiner entkommt. Immer mehr wird geregelt und beschrieben. Für jede Frage gibt es eine einfache Antwort.

Wer es noch merkt, fühlt sich abhängig und entmündigt. Das Gefühl der Machtlosigkeit macht sich breit, die Unzufriedenheit wächst, man ist frustriert und weiß oft gar nicht warum. Gleichzeitig beschützen die Systeme einen wie nie zuvor. Sicherheit ist alles, Risiko ist unerwünscht. Die totale Fürsorge des Systems ist angesagt.

Und tatsächlich, die Fürsorge wird von den Umsorgten ganz gerne entgegen genommen. Weil sie eine Komfortzone bereit stellt und Sicherheit verspricht. Weil man sich in einem geschützten Bereich befindet und eigentlich um nichts mehr sorgen muss. Weil man bei einer großen „community“ ist, einer von vielen.

So entsteht das Wohlgefühl des Konzernangestellten. Das allerdings oft sehr trügerisch ist. Aber wie kommt es dazu? Ich war bei als Student wie als Festangestellter fast 10 bei Siemens und habe es dort persönlich erlebt, wie man in die Welt der Sicherheit rein rutscht.

Das „Einlullen“ begann bei mir mit der Fütterung in der Kantine. Dort bekam ich in der Regel gutes Essen zu festen Zeiten und zu einem vernünftigen Preis. Und fand – wie die meisten Menschen – „meine“ Betriebskantine eigentlich gut. Auch weil sie mein Leben einfach machte.

Die Kantine als der zentrale Punkt des Arbeitstages. Sie bestimmte, was gegessen wird. Es gab zwei Standardessen. Bei Siemens gab es ein „einfaches“ Essen (die grüne Marke für 1,20 DM) und das „bessere“ Essen (die rote Marke zu 1,50 DM). Die Marken sahen aus wie die Scheiben, die man beim Einkaufswagen im Supermarkt heute an Stelle einer EURO-Münze benutzen kann.

Die Marken gab es an einem ganz schlichtem Automaten. Für 6 DM gab es entweder fünf grüne oder vier rote. Es gab die selben Marken auch in gelb – für den Nachtisch. Die kosteten 30 Pfennige, für 1,50 Mark spuckte der Automat fünf davon aus. Damals gab des sogar Abendessen in der Kantine- sehr bequem.

Die tägliche Auswahl an der Theke zwischen grüner (einfacher) und roter (bessere) Mahlzeit wurde zum wichtigsten Teil des täglichen Lebens. Die Frage „Was gibt es heute“ bringt Abwechslung in den Tag. Es Entscheidung und letzter Rest gefühlter Freiheit. Und der mitt-tägliche Gang zur Kantine als die Zäsur im Arbeitstag.

So ist das bei großen Firmen und Insitutionen – es ist für alles gesorgt. Man bekommt Essen und Wärme. Die Kantine ist die Spitze des Eisberges einer kompletten Rundumversorgung von „Mama Siemens“ und ähnlichen. „Mama Siemens“ (als Metapher für die großen Konzerne) gibt ihren Menschen den Arbeitsplatz, ein gutes Gehalt, die Wärme und das Licht, ein schönes Büros. Am Tor wacht der Werkschutz. Der Chef überlegt sich, welche Kurse für seine sinnvoll sind. Und wenn ein Mitarbeiter ein gesundheitliches Problem hatte, konnte er zum Betriebsarzt gehen. Was will man mehr?

So ging es mir als arbeitender Mensch in den ersten Berufsjahren. Ich saß in einem goldenen Käfig. Wir wurden gezähmt und verwöhnt, wie verwöhnte Haustiere. Bis ich vor lauter Fürsorge – und ehrlicherweise nicht nur aus diesem Grunde – ausgebrochen bin.

Viele meiner Freunde und Kollegen konnten nicht ausbrechen. Sie wurden zu Gefangenen im „goldenen Stacheldraht“. Zuerst war es die Betriebsrente, die sie fesselte. Dann der erworbene Kündigungsschutz. Unmerklich wurden sie zu Zombies des Systems, einem System, das für alles gesorgt hat. Alles war vor gedacht, alles geregelt. Keine Probleme, keine Herausforderungen.

Auch heute sind für alles Prozesse festgelegt: Ob es der Urlaub ist, das Mitarbeitergespräch, die Arbeitszeiten, die Dienstreisen, Meetings, Einstellungen oder Kündigungen, Personalthemen, social Media, alles ist konfektioniert und wird „convenient“ serviert.

Spätestens ab dem fünzigsten Geburtstag haben sie dann bange aufs Ende geschaut. Und viele durften zum Teil weit vor dem sechzigsten gehen, gut versorgt aber eigentlich zu jung, um nichts mehr zu schaffen.

Und wie das bei Systemen so ist:
Wenn die Regulation mal begonnen hat, dann geht sie immer weiter. Ob Kommunikation, Kreativität, Produktion, Entwicklung, Marketing, Vertrieb, alles wird normiert. „Best practice“ erstarrt in Prozessen, die Bürocracy treibt ihre Triebe und Blüten, nebenläufiges Denken ist unerwünscht.

Vom „gesunden Menschenverstand“ geht es hin zum „so wird das gemacht“. Kreativität wird durch Planung ersetzt, Transparenz wird zur unerwünschten Bedrohung. Alles muss messbar sein, auch die Verbesserungsvorschläge. Kundenwünsche und Lieferantenbedürfnisse werden dem eigenen Shareholder Value untergeordnet.

Das System steht über allem. Gut ist nur noch, was dem System nutzt – auch wenn dies nur vermeintlich ist.

So tragen die Unternehmen eine immer stärker werdende Maske vor sich her. Es ist ein Tannenbaum, der früher Aufbauorganisation genannt wurde, behängt mit dem Lametta der Ablauf-Organisation.

Innen ticken diese Unternehmen zwar anders, weil die tüchtigen Kollegen wenn nötig (und das ist häufig) den Tannenbaum und sein Lametta ignorieren und direkt miteinander sprechen. Und so dafür sorgen, gegen die Regeln, dass das Unternehmen doch noch Erfolg hat.

Viele Unternehmen erinnern mich an das Bild einer City, die beginnt ihr pulsierendes Leben durch den Aufbau von Wegweisungen mit Zäunen aus goldenem Stacheldraht zu ordnen. Aber mit genug eigentlich unzulässlichen Lücken, damit das ganze noch funktioniert.

Bürocrazy lässt grüßen!

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*