Roland Dürre
Wednesday March 24th, 2010

Green IT 2

Some of the feedback I received suggests to me that my article Green IT probably contained a little too much technological gibberish, after all.

So let me try to tell you the same again in very simple terms. Today, IT can be exemplified and explained in a simple architecture using four levels:

  • Storage
    When talking about storage, we mean powerful NAS or SAN systems used by the servers in the computer centres. By now, huge computer centres have storage room with the capacity of terabytes, some people even talk of petabytes.
  • Server
    Nowadays, we use the term “server farms”. In these farms, any number of computers performs in a gigantic calculating and processing dimension. In such a physically large system, you mostly simulate many virtual servers later used for all imaginable ends.
  • Network
    The internet is based on a gigantic network. Mostly, the feeders of the internet are separate connected networks.
  • Client
    Clients are the personal PCs, Laptops, SmartPhones and whatever else we have. They are connected to the internet either through networks (VPNs, LAN, WLAN …) or through providers (FIBRE, UMTS …).

Now what I postulate is that a gigantic wastage takes place on every one of these levels.

  • Storage
Of course, storage causes an infinite amount of data rubbish. The best example is emails. Many of them (not even considering SPAMs) are saved several times on several systems, including their attachments. The storage, too, is often done on active systems these days. Storage solutions that put hard discs to sleep (like for instance Copan) were not able to establish themselves on the market.
  • Server
Every single processing server means a number of servers needed for the sole purpose of encrypting, looking for viruses, simulating proxys or generating DMZs. Or else they store useless data on a permanent basis. Everything gets a double bottom and triple security, partly because people fear imagined threats.
  • Netzworks
The best example for the waste of networks is the uncontrolled growth of private and business WLANs. Just step into any office building, apartment house or even detached house. Almost always, your laptop will receive a signal for more than one WLAN; often the number will even be a two-digit one. And most of them are just idle, there is no traffic.
  • Client
How often is your home PC turned on while you are in the office? How often is your office PC turned on while you are at home? The Smart Phone is active all the time, and when you are travelling, you use your laptop. What is worst, however, is that you have to replace the entire thing if you want to have a state-of-the-art system. The systems I know sadly lack a suitable upgrade concept. If it existed, it would probably not be profitable. Throwing it away is just cheaper. On most of our clients, we have a majority of insecure operating systems with very sensitive browsers, which is one reason why the security costs are so high.

As a sum total, we get a gigantic wastefulness. If we were more considerate and showed more collective good-will (for instance by switching off the Spams), it would be easy to relinquish 90 % of all IT technology.  As a consequence, the energy we need could, for example, be reduced from the prevailing 10 % to a level of 1 %.

If abbreviations such as SAN, NAS, DMZ, PROXY …, services such as TWITTER …, applications such as WORDPRESS … sound strange to you, you can easily find the explanations in wikipedia. It is no surprise that all IT topics enjoy a particularly wide presence in wikipedia. And besides, IT is mostly easier to understand than “hard technology”, such as how an internal gear hub (Nabenschaltung) works (also something you can find in wikipedia).

If old IT cracks say it is all too specialized and they find it hard to understand the new IT world with all its abbreviations and applications, then this is just due to their laziness. There has never been another time in IT history when the technology was as beautifully described and as easily accessible as today.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 24. März 2010

Green IT 2

Eine Reihe von Rückmeldungen zeigen mir, dass ich mich in meinem Artikel Green IT doch ein wenig zu technisch ausgedrückt habe.

Deshalb noch mal ganz einfach und modellhaft bzw. in vereinfachter Architektur kann man IT heute in vier Ebenen gliedern:

  • Storage
    Unter Storage verstehen wir mächtige NAS- oder SAN-Systeme, die von den Servern in den Rechenzentren genutzt werden. Mittlerweile haben große Rechenzentrum terabytes an Speicher, man spricht sogar von petabytes.
  • Server
    Mittlerweile sprechen wir von Serverfarmen. Beliebig viele Rechner erbringen in solchen Farmen eine gigantische Rechen- und Verarbeitungsleistung. Meistens werden auf einem solchen physikalischen Großsystem viele virtuelle Server simuliert, die dann für alle möglichen Zwecke eingesetzt werden.
  • Netzwerk
    Das Internet basiert auf einem gigantischen Netzwerk. Die Zubringer zum Internet sind meistens eigene Netze, die wiederum über Leitungen verbunden werden.
  • Client
    Clients sind die persönlichen PC’s, Laptops, SmartPhones und was es noch alles gibt, die entweder aus Netzwerken  (VPNs, LAN, WLAN …) heraus oder über Leitungen zu Providern (FIBRE, UMTS …) am Internet hängen.

Jetzt behaupte ich, dass auf jeder dieser Ebene eine riesenhafte Verschwendung stattfindet.

  • Storage
    Beim Storage gibt es natürlich beliebig viel Datenmüll. Das beste Beispiel sind E-Mails. Viel davon (ganz ohne SPAM) werden inklusive ihrer Anhänge mehrfach auf vielen Systemen gesichert. Auch das Sichern erfolgt heute oft auf aktive Systeme. Storage-Lösungen, die Platten schlafen legen (wie z.B. Copan) haben sich nicht durchgesetzt.
  • Server
    Auf einen Verarbeitungsserver kommt eine ganze Reihe von Servern, die nur Verschlüsseln, nach Viren suchen, Proxys simulieren oder DMZs bilden. Oder sinnlose Daten permanent sichern. Alles mit doppeltem Boden und dreifacher Sicherheit, zum Teil aus Angst vor imaginären Bedrohungen.
  • Netzwerk
    Das beste Beispiel für Verschwendung bei den Netzen ist der Wildwuchs bei privaten oder gewerblichen WLANs. Gehen Sie in irgendein Bürohaus, Wohnhaus oder auch Einfamilienhaus. Fast immer wird Ihnen Ihr Laptop mehr als ein WLAN melden, in vielen Fällen sogar eine zweistellige Zahl. Und die meisten „idlen“ vor sich her, ohne Traffic.
  • Client
    Wie oft läuft der PC zu Hause während man im Büro ist, wie oft der PC im Büro wenn man zu Hause ist. Das Smart Phone läuft immer, und wenn man unterwegs ist nutzt man den Laptop. Am schlimmsten ist aber, dass wenn man ein System haben will, das „state of the art“ ist, man dies nur durch Komplettaustausch bekommen kann. Ein vernünftiges Upgrade-Konzept fehlt bei den mir bekannten Systemen völlig, wenn es so etwas gäbe, dann wäre es wahrscheinlich nicht rentabel. Ex und hopp ist einfach billiger.
    Auf den meisten Clients laufen mehrheitlich unsichere Betriebssysteme mit anfälligen Browsern, ein Grund für die Sicherheitskosten.

Alles zusammen ergibt eine gigantische Verschwendung. Bei mehr Achtsamkeit und mehr kollektivem gutem Willen (z.B. Spam-Sender auszuschalten) könnte man locker 90 % der IT-Technologie einsparen und so auch den Energiebedarf z.B. von den angegebenen 10 % auf 1 % senken.

Wer mit Abkürzungen wie SAN, NAS, DMZ, PROXY … , Diensten wie TWITTER …, Anwendungen wie WORDPRESS … nichts anfangen kann, der kann das einfach in Wikipedia finden. Nicht von ungefähr sind die IT-Themen in Wikipedia besonders gut beschrieben. Und IT ist meistens einfacher zu verstehen als „harte Technologie“ wie z.B. das Funktionieren einer Nabenschaltung (die auch in Wikipedia beschrieben ist).

Wenn alte IT-Cracks sagen, dass das alles zu fachlich wäre und sie die neue IT-Welt mit ihren Abkürzungen und Applikationen nicht verstehen würden, dann liegt es nur an deren Trägheit. Noch nie in der Geschichte der IT war die Technologie so gut beschrieben und einfach zugänglich wie heute.

RMD

Kommentar verfassen

*