Roland Dürre
Tuesday October 26th, 2010

HITPC, the Manikin and the Rail Car

Today, I will give you a short insight into the past of InterFace!

At InterFace, there are always plenty of small items embellished with the IF logo. I believe it helps with creating identity – and I know that many enterprises highly esteemed by me do the same. Moreover, we, too, give our employees a nice Christmas present each year – of course one which also displays the IF LOGO.

As the years go by, quite a few items have been added to the list: the box of peppermint pills and the InterFace jacket, various kinds of mugs and dinnerware, even a pan for cooking Bavarian veal sausage, sports bags and clasp knives.

At one time, we had a small figurine. We called it the
“HITPC Manikin”

Our text system is not only available for UNIX, but also for PCs. Mind you, we are not just talking the German version, but also, for instance, the Russian (Cyrillic) one!

And as an extension to the UNIX-HIT-CLOU work benches, the HITPC was quite widely used, even with DOS. We designed the HIT-PC manikin especially for the DOS users. It always cut a fine figure on the then rather clumsy-looking PCs.

The beautiful advertising character made of plasticine (Plastilin) was designed by Hildegard Heidecker. She gave face and shape to our service idea.

In those days, we also had an (original) “Märklin” rail car for InterFace Connection. It also showed the HIT PC manikin. The number of vehicles ordered was very limited (I seem to remember it was 200, but I am not quite sure) and we gave them to our customers and employees as a Christmas present.

The rail car also made it into the Koll-Catalogue (Koll-Katalog) for Märklin advertising characters and (is said to have) achieved a rather high collector’s value.

It all happened more than twenty years back.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
On the second floor of our building at Unterhaching – directly next to the reception area – you can admire a gold-plated HITPC manikin. Frau Heidecker gave it to us on our 25th anniversary! And, of course, you can also see one of the Märklin railway cars in my office.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Dienstag, der 26. Oktober 2010

HITPC, das Männchen und der Wagen

Heute mal ein kurzer Blick in die Vergangenheit von InterFace

Bei InterFace gibt es immer viele Kleinigkeiten mit IF-Logo. Ich glaube, dass auch das ein wenig mit hilft, Identität zu stiften – und weiß, dass viele Unternehmen, die ich schätze, es ähnlich machen. Zudem gibt es bei uns jedes Jahr ein schönes Weihnachtsgeschenk für die Mitarbeiter – natürlich auch immer mit unserem IF-LOGO.

Über die Jahre kommt da viel zusammen. Von der Schachtel mit den Pfefferminztabletten bis hin zur InterFace-Jacke, von den vielen verschiedenen Tassen bis zum Geschirr inklusive Weißwursttopf, von der Sporttasche bis zum kleinen Taschenmesser.

Und so entstand auch mal eine kleine Figur. Die nannten wir
„HITPC-Männchen“

Unser Textsystem gab es nicht nur für Unix, sondern auch für PCs. Und zwar nicht nur in Deutsch sondern z.B. auch in Russisch (kyrillisch)!

Und als Verlängerung der UNIX-HIT-CLOU Werkbanken war der HITPC auch auf DOS ganz schön verbreitet. Und besonders für die DOS-Nutzer haben wir das HIT-PC-Männchen entworfen. Das hat immer eine gute Figur auf den damals noch recht plumpen PCs gemacht.

Die hübsche Werbefigur aus Plastilin wurde von Hildegard Heidecker entworfen. Sie hat unseren Service-Gedanken in Gestalt gebracht.

Damals gab es auch einen (original) Märklin-Wagen von der InterFace Connection, auf dem auch unser HIT-PC-Männchen abgebildet war.

Der Wagen wurde in der kleinstmöglichen Limitierung (ich meine 200 Stück, bin mir da aber nicht mehr so sicher) aufgelegt und unseren Kunden und Mitarbeitern zu Weihnachten geschenkt.

Dieser Wagen hat es dann auch in den Koll-Katalog für Märklin-Werbemodelle geschafft und einen (angeblich) ziemlich hohen Sammlerwert erreicht.

Das ganze ist jetzt schon über zwanzig Jahre her.

RMD

P.S.
In Unterhaching im 2. Stock – gleich neben dem Empfang – kann man ein vergoldetes HITPC-Männchen bewundern. Das hat uns Frau Heidecker zum 25. Jubiläum geschenkt! Und natürlich auch noch einen der Märklin-Wagen bei mir im Zimmer.

Kommentar verfassen

*