By now, we have also agreed on the day for the 3rd 2012 IF Forum of our series “Living (and Surviving) Sustainably”.

Herr Wilfried Bommert will speak on Tuesday, November, 13th, 2012.

His presentation will be about “How to Feed the World“. For a title, he selected:

Catching Up On Good Soil!

How we might avoid the world food crisis.

Here are a few preliminary ideas by Herrn Bommert:

Ever since 2008, the price for food world-wide only knows one direction: up. The global financial crisis and the dwindling oil reserves further push the price spiral up. Concerns selling energy, raw materials and money reach for the fields of the world. They buy or rent huge areas in Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe and South America, thereby again causing massive price increases for food. Consequently, we get famines, revolts in more and more countries that cause political instability and a collapse of world food affairs.

This vicious wheel would not turn if we did not actively contribute by our consumption habits. Our longing for biological fuel and our hunger for products from industrial farming, our money invested in farm and soil stock, they all support the global hunt for the fields of this world. It is up to us to put a stop to this mania currently prevalent in food and soil markets.

Dr. Wilfried Bommert has been working as a WDR journalist since 1979. He is head of the environmental sector at the WDR-radio station  and also wrote the book: “Kein Brot für die Welt – Die Zukunft der Welternährung”, 352 pages on paper, first edition published on October, 5th, 2009 at Riemann Verlag (QUERDENKEN) .

RMD

(Translated by EG)

Kommentar verfassen

*

Auch der Termin des 3. IF-Forums 2012 “Nachhaltig (über)leben” ist jetzt fest ausgemacht.

Herr Wilfried Bommert ist angefragt. Er soll am Dienstag, der 13. November 2012 einen Vortrag zu “Ernährung der Welt” halten. Das Thema wird sein:

Boden gut machen!
Wie die Krise der Welternährung abgewendet werden kann.

Hier schon mal vorausschauend ein paar Gedanken von Herrn Bommert zu seinem Vortrag:

Seit 2008 kennen die Lebensmittelpreise weltweit nur noch eine Richtung, aufwärts. Die globale Finanzkrise und die schrumpfenden Ölvorräte treiben diese Preisspirale weiter nach oben.  Energie-, Rohstoff- oder Finanzkonzerne greifen nach den Äcker der Welt. Sie kaufen und pachten großflächig Land in Afrika, Asien, Osteuropa und Südamerika, was weltweit zu weiteren massiven Preiserhöhungen bei Nahrungsmitteln führt. Die Folge sind Hungersnöte, Aufstände in immer mehr Ländern, die zu einem Verlust der politischen Stabilität und zum Kollaps der Welternährung führen.

Diese Spirale dreht sich nicht ohne das Zutun der Politik und ohne unser Konsumverhalten. Unser Durst auf Biosprit und unsere Hunger auf die Produkte der industrieller Landwirtschaft, unser Geld in Agrar- und Boden-Fonds, unterstützen die globale Jagd auf die Äcker der Welt. Wir haben es in der Hand, diesem Rausch an den Lebensmittel- und Bodenmärkten ein Ende zu bereiten.

Dr. Wilfried Bommert arbeitet seit 1979  als Journalist im WDR. Er ist Leiter der Umweltredaktion im WDR-Hörfunk und auch Autor des Buches: “Kein Brot für die Welt – Die Zukunft der Welternährung”, 352 Seiten auf Papier, am 5. Oktober 2009 im Riemann Verlag (QUERDENKEN) erschienen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*