“It is humans that make projects a success. For the InterFace AG, this is a paradigm that goes without saying and it is essential for our continued success. For the esc Solution, it means that projects have to be viewed as entities. In addition, we have to make people working in the project a success through IT project coaching. While the project coaches of esc Solutions explicitly contribute quality, the InterFace does so through its projects.”

This is how Dr. Marcus Raitner describes what combines the esc Solutions and InterFace. Both enterprises cooperate in organizing the technological IF Forum 2011.

The IF Forum 2011 will deal with Humans&Management. It is scheduled to start at 2 p.m. on avril, 11st, 2011 in the Unterhaching InterFace building. All friends, customers and partners of both enterprises concerned are cordially invited. Please contact Claudia Toth for details.

Here is the agenda:

14:15 Introduction by Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein

Block 1: People in an enterprise

14:30 – 15:15 Thomas Vallon: The enterprise as a place where you can unfold?

15:15 – 16:00 Kornelia Hietmann: Profiling: Simplify your personnel decision?

16:00 – 16:30 Coffee break

Block 2: Leadership and Strategy

16:30 – 17:15 Dr. Marcus Raitner/Helmut Kiermeier: Are you still doing administration, or are you already into leadership?

17:15 – 18:00 Roland Dürre: Entrepreneurial strategy – bad goals – poor strategy

18:00 – 20:00 Discussions, refreshments, beverages

We are happy to inform you that Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein agreed to do the moderation.

Here are the abstracts to the papers (as in their current form):

The enterprise as a place where you can unfold?

Thomas Vallon (InterFace AG)

Basic value orientations and assessments of the stakeholders underlie the image of an enterprise as it is made publicly visible and lived. Where they touch the management of its “human potential” – more often in actual fact than reflected -, anthropological assumptions, beliefs about the human “nature”, human potential and competence, along with controllability, are often part of the concept. The entrepreneurial organization often follows this “idea of man” to a huge extent. Depending on the individual belief, concepts of control, order or economy dominate.

With my presentation, on the other hand, I wish to outline the systemic importance of an open enterprise where the unfolding of individual potential is encouraged in the context of an “entrepreneurial anthropology”. Seen under this perspective, the enterprise as a place where you can unfold becomes a critical success factor for entrepreneurial reality. After all, we all face a future where the readiness to accept risks, the speed of change and the insecurity of decisions will increase.

Profiling: Simplify your personnel decision?

Kornelia Hietmann (esc Solutions)

It is only too natural for us to wish the individual person were easy to categorize according to a pre-set pattern in order to come to terms with the complexity of human existence. “Simplify your life!” is our motto for the personnel department. Where would we end up if we had to consider all special characteristics of a person? On the other hand, the psychologist Prof. Peter Kruse warns us: “A complicated system can be simplified by turning it trivial through sub-categorization. A complex system will be destroyed if you turn it trivial”. Using profiling instruments always means you have to do a tightrope walk along the borderline to forbidden reduction of human diversity.

Let two examples show you how profiling instruments can be used and where they clearly have their limits. The first personal experience report shows profiling as a tool for giving people new orientation after they have lost their job. In the second example, you will hear about the reactions by employees after a career model has been introduced. The self-image and the external perception do not always go together. It is the responsibility of and a challenge for the person in charge of personnel to deal with these reactions. Profiling instruments must be seen as no more than a tool. First and foremost, leadership and employee development has to happen in good conversations.

Are you still doing administration, or are you already into leadership?

Dr. Marcus Raitner and Helmut Kiermeier (esc Solutions)

Are IT projects “over-managed” and “under-led”? The popularity of Scrum and Co might well indicate: the project leader, “downgraded” to take the role of scrum master, only determines the general framework and puts obstacles out of harm’s way; then the team organizes itself. No matter if you are agile or not: project management means leadership for highly qualified personnel under difficult circumstances. You will be confronted with time and cost pressure, instability of the team and project requirements, shortage of resources, new technologies and surroundings, etc. Consequently, the focus of project management will always be on managing change.

The classic management of stability, as well as the optimization of processes, only play a minor role. What you need is leadership, not administration. Indispensable as it is in projects, the aspect of management as a leaders offering assistance gets more and more important if you are concerned with brain workers. Gone are the times of the heroic manager who had all under control; what we need now are true leaders who provide a meaningful feeling and a productive environment and who trust in their employees. Leaders who accept mistakes and learn from them. I plead for more leadership and less administration.

Entrepreneurial strategy: bad goals – poor strategy!

Roland Dürre (InterFace AG)

Can you see an enterprise as a determined machine where added value is created by “transforming input mechanically into output”? Or are enterprises rather similar to biological, mortal beings that need to be nurtured, pampered and given room to develop? Can you optimize success by introducing rational changes to entrepreneurial parameters? Or are there some other, often forgotten values?

What does an enterprise need in order to be a success? Is it really the ambitious goals, the development of a precise strategy, the minutely planned concept and the tough realization of same by a professional management that determine whether or not you are a success? Or is it more the individual story of an enterprise, its transparency and clarity, the responsible persons, the reflexive leadership, the entrepreneurial culture and the acceptance of change that shape a sustainable enterprise?

The question is: is it more important for an enterprise to think about “products and markets” or about “culture and leadership”? With this understanding, what are good goals and good strategies?

RMD
(Translated by EG)


Kommentar verfassen

*

Am nächsten Montag ist es soweit

Achtung: Neuer Termin 11. April 2011

„Menschen machen Projekte erfolgreich. Für die InterFace ein selbstverständliches Paradigma und entscheidend für den Erfolg ihrer Projekte. Für die esc Solutions bedeutet dies, Projekte ganzheitlich zu betrachten und durch IT-Projektcoaching die Menschen im Projekt erfolgreich zu machen. Die Qualität, die InterFace implizit in allen Projekten auszeichnet, bringen die Projekt-Coaches der esc Solutions also explizit in Projekte und Unternehmen ein.

So beschreibt Dr. Marcus Raitner das Verbindende von esc Solutions und InterFace. Beide Unternehmen bestreiten gemeinsam das Fachliche IF-Forum 2011.

Das IF-Forum 2011 wird das Thema Mensch&Management behandeln. Es findet am 11. April 2011 um 14:00 bei InterFace in Unterhaching statt. Eingeladen sind Freunde, Kunden und Partner der veranstaltenden Unternehmen. Nachfragen richten Sie bitte an Claudia Toth.

Die Agenda:

14:15 Hinführung durch Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein

Block 1: Menschen im Unternehmen
14:30 – 15:15  Thomas Vallon: Das Unternehmen als Stätte der Entfaltung?
15:15 – 16:00  Kornelia Hietmann: Profiling: Simplify your Personalentscheidung?

16:00 – 16:30  Pause mit Kaffee und Kuchen

Block 2: Führung und Strategie

16:30 – 17:15  Dr. Marcus Raitner/Helmut Kiermeier: Verwalten Sie noch oder führen Sie schon?
17:15 – 18:00  Roland Dürre: Unternehmensstrategie – Schlechte Ziele – schlechte Strategie

18:00 – 20:00  Gespräche, Umtrunk, Imbiss

Die Moderation erfolgt durch Prof. Dr. Kathrin M. Möslein.

Hier die (vorläufigen) Kurzfassungen der Vorträge:

Das Unternehmen als Stätte der Entfaltung?
Thomas Vallon (InterFace AG)

Hinter dem veröffentlichten wie dem gelebten Unternehmensbild stehen grundlegende Weltorientierungen und Wertentscheidungen der Stakeholder dieses Unternehmens. Wo diese das Management des „Humanpotenzials“ berühren, gehen hier – öfters faktisch als reflektiert – anthropologische Annahmen, Überzeugungen vom „Wesen“ des Menschen, dessen Anlagen und Vermögen, dessen Antriebsstrukturen und deren Steuerbarkeit ein. Die Unternehmensorganisation folgt in wesentlichen Teilen diesem „Menschenbild“. Je nach Überzeugung dominieren so Konzepte des Kontrollbedarfs, der Ordnungspolitik oder der Wettbewerbsökonomie.

Der Beitrag will dagegen die systemische Bedeutung einer offenen, auf Entfaltung der individuellen Potenziale ausgerichteten Unternehmensorganisation im Kontext einer „unternehmerischen Anthropologie“ darstellen. Das Unternehmen als Stätte der Entfaltung wird aus dieser Perspektive zum kritischen Erfolgsfaktor einer unternehmerischen Wirklichkeit, in der Risikogeneigtheit, Veränderungstempo und Entscheidungsunsicherheit auch in Zukunft weiter zunehmen werden.

Profiling: Simplify your Personalentscheidung?
Kornelia Hietmann (Unternehmensberaterin, München)

Allzu verständlich ist der Wunsch, das Individuum in ein Raster zu pressen, um der Komplexität der menschlichen Existenz Herr zu werden. „Simplify your life!“ für die Personalabteilung. Wo kämen wir hin, wenn wir alle Eigenheiten eines Menschen betrachten müssten? Andererseits warnt der Psychologe Prof. Peter Kruse: „Ein kompliziertes System kann man vereinfachen durch Trivialisierung, indem man es unterteilt. Ein komplexes System zerstören Sie, wenn Sie trivialisieren.“ Profiling-Instrumente einzusetzen bedeutet immer eine Gratwanderung an der Grenze zur unzulässigen Reduktion menschlicher Vielfalt.

Zwei Beispiele aus der Praxis zeigen, wie Profiling-Instrumente einsetzbar sind und wo sie ihre klaren Grenzen haben. Der erste Erfahrungsbericht zeigt Profiling als Hilfsmittel in der Neuorientierung von Menschen nach dem Verlust ihres Arbeitsplatzes. Im zweiten Beispiel geht es um die Reaktionen von Mitarbeitern bei der Einführung eines Karriere- und Laufbahnenmodells. Eigenbild und Fremdbild passen dabei nicht immer zusammen.  Auf diese Reaktionen einzugehen, ist die Herausforderung für einen Personalverantwortlichen. Profiling-Instrumente können nur als Hilfsmittel verstanden werden, Mitarbeiterführung und -entwicklung findet in erster Linie in guten Gesprächen statt.

Verwalten Sie noch oder führen Sie schon?
Dr. Marcus Raitner und Helmut Kiermeier (esc Solutions)

Sind IT-Projekte „overmanaged“ und „underled“? Die Popularität von Scrum und Co. könnte darauf hindeuten: Der Projektleiter, „degradiert“ zum Scrummaster, gestaltet nur noch Rahmenbedingungen und beseitigt Hindernisse; das Team organisiert sich selbst. Agil oder nicht, Projektmanagement heißt Führung von hochqualifizierten Wissensarbeitern unter schwersten Bedingungen: Termin- und Kostendruck, Instabilität von Team und Anforderungen, Ressourcenknappheit, Neuartigkeit von Technologie und Umfeld, u.v.m. Der Schwerpunkt von Projektmanagement liegt also immer auf dem Management von Veränderung.

Das klassische Management von Stabilität, die Optimierung von Prozessen, spielt nur eine Nebenrolle. Gefragt ist Führung, nicht Verwaltung. In Projekten unerlässlich, gewinnt dieser Aspekt von Management als dienende Führung immer stärkere Bedeutung in der Führung von Wissensarbeitern. Vorbei sind die Zeiten des heroischen alles kontrollierenden Managers; gefragt sind echte Führungskräfte, die Sinn stiften, ein förderliches Umfeld schaffen, Vertrauen in die Mitarbeiter haben, Fehler zulassen und daraus lernen. Ein Plädoyer für mehr Führung und weniger Verwaltung.

Unternehmensstrategie: Schlechte Ziele – schlechte Strategie!
Roland Dürre (InterFace AG)

Kann man Unternehmen mit determinierten Maschinen vergleichen, die „durch mechanische Transformation“ aus zugeführtem Input Output mit Mehrwert generieren? Oder ähneln Unternehmen eher biologischen und sterblichen Wesen, die achtsam gehegt, gepflegt und entwickelt werden müssen? Kann Erfolg durch rationales Verändern von Unternehmensparametern optimiert werden? Oder gibt es  alternative, oft vergessene Werte?

Was braucht ein Unternehmen, um erfolgreich zu sein? Sind die erfolgsrelevanten Kriterien das Festlegen ehrgeiziger Ziele, die Entwicklung einer ausgefeilten Strategie, die präzise Planung und dann die „taffe“ Umsetzung durch ein professionelles Management ? Oder sind viel mehr die Story des Unternehmens, Transparenz und Klarheit, verantwortliche Menschen, reflektierte Führung, Unternehmenskultur, Bereitschaft zur Veränderung von Bedeutung für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung eines Unternehmens?

Ist also für ein Unternehmen das Nachdenken über „Produkte und Märkte“ oder „Kultur und Führung“ wichtiger? Was sind in diesem Sinne gute Ziele und eine gute Strategie?

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*