This is also one of the things I read during my vacation as I browsed through an old newspaper:

Now the German Ethics Council has been asked to come up with a proposal about how to solve the problem of circumcision of male Jewish toddlers in Germany. During the last few days, I had also read a number of statements on early circumcision by various German medical experts. Among the experts, there was a pediatrician, a pain and anesthesia expert, a medicine professor, a hospital director and a psychologist.

To me, it did not sound very encouraging. Besides, it gave me pause. It seems that an early circumcision is far from a nice ritual. And it is also by no means trivial or free from consequences.

Then I read that an allegedly relevant Jewish Rabbi is against all anaesthetics during the circumcision procedure. And that Turkey also already commented with the “Turkish Minister for European Affairs seeing free religion jeopardized in Germany”.

Now this motivated me to do some research in the internet. Among other things, I found a rather lengthy comment (Stellungnahme) – it sounded rather absurd to me – by the “Central Council of Jews in Germany”.

However, there is one group I never hear anything from on the subject. For me, however, this group would be particularly relevant. I am talking the women. How do the Jewish mothers feel if they have to witness their toddlers being painfully mutilated by strange men shortly after their birth?

How does that go with a mother’s love? Do the mothers really want this for their babies? Or do they just sacrifice their children because they are weak and fearful? Because they lack the courage to resist an inhuman tradition in their cage of a millennia-old bourgeois suppression?

Or is it, maybe, a lot more complicated? Maybe there is a secret sort of “anarchical sexual understanding”, including a “special form of penis envy“ behind all this? Maybe women basically look kindly upon circumcisions for this reason? As some sort of punishment for men and in order to make sure men are and remain clean?

Well, I would welcome some counter-arguments by women!

RMD

(Translated by EG)

1 Kommentar zu “Read During My Vacation #2: The Ethics Council is Supposed to Make All Well Again …”

  1. rd (Thursday August 30th, 2012)

    Meine wirklich, dass mehr “FRAU” der Welt sehr gut tun würde.

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Mittwoch, der 29. August 2012

Im Urlaub gelesen 2: Der Ethik-Rat soll’s richten …

Auch das lese ich so im Urlaub in meinen älteren Zeitungen:

Jetzt soll der Deutsche Ethik-Rat einen Vorschlag machen, wie man aus dem Problem mit der Beschneidung der männlichen jüdischen Säuglinge in Deutschland herauskommt. Die Tage davor hatte ich auch eine Reihe von Stellungnahmen diverser deutscher medizinischer Experten zur frühen Beschneidung gelesen. Da war ein Kinderarzt, ein Schmerzens- und Anästhesie-Experte, ein Medizinprofessor, ein Klinikchef und ein Psychologe dabei.

Das klang für mich alles nicht sehr aufmunternd und hat mich bestürzt gemacht. So eine frühe Beschneidung ist wohl alles anderes als eine schönes Ritual. Und auch kein trivialer und von Folgen freier Eingriff.

Dann habe ich auch gelesen, dass ein wohl relevanter jüdischer Rabbi gegen jede Art von Narkose während der Beschneidungs-Prozedur ist. Und dass die Türkei sich auch schon geäußert hat und „der türkische Europaminister Bagis die Religionsfreiheit in Deutschland gefährdet sieht“.

Das hat mich dazu gebracht, im Internet zu recherchieren. Gefunden habe ich unter anderem eine ausführliche (und für mich ziemlich absurd klingende) Stellungnahme des „Zentralrats der Juden in Deutschland“.

Es gibt aber eine Instanz, von der höre ich nie etwas. Die aber für mich besonders relevant wäre. Es sind die Frauen. Was denken denn die jüdischen Mütter, wenn ihre Säuglinge wenige Tage nach der Geburt schmerzhaft von fremden Männern verstümmelt werden?

Wie geht das zusammen mit der Mutterliebe? Wollen die Mütter das wirklich? Oder opfern sie ihre Kinder nur aus Schwäche und Angst, weil sie im Käfig einer jahrtausende Jahre bürgerlichen Unterdrückung nicht den Mut haben, einer unmenschlichen Tradition zu wider stehen?

Oder ist es viel komplizierter und spielt hier insgeheim so eine Art „anarchisches Sexualverständnis“ inklusive einer „besonderen Form von Penisneid“ eine Rolle? Sieht „Frau“ deshalb Beschneidung eigentlich ganz gerne? Als Bestrafung für „Mann“ und damit „Mann“ sauber ist und bleibt?

Über weiblichen Widerspruch würde ich mich freuen.

RMD

Be Sociable, Share!

1 Kommentar zu “Im Urlaub gelesen 2: Der Ethik-Rat soll’s richten …”

  1. rd (Donnerstag, der 30. August 2012)

    Meine wirklich, dass mehr „FRAU“ der Welt sehr gut tun würde.

Kommentar verfassen

*