Roland Dürre
Saturday January 7th, 2012

Bike Thrown Over in Germany.

Who is interested in the fact that a sack of rice collapses in China?

I can remember roughly the last 55 years of history. And in 55 years, you see a lot. I had many crazy ideas and also some good ideas. Above all, I learned that you should not always trust your own impression.

Take, for instance, the childhood memories of always white Christmas and snow piled up high each winter along the paths and streets.

What is true, what is false? What is dominated by the brains, what has simply been forgotten?

But some things are really remarkable. My parents were rather strict with us. They taught me to look after all my belongings with diligence and care. Especially the precious things.

My most cherished belonging was my bike. Whenever my bike collapsed, there were angry words. It was particularly bad when something got damaged from the fall, for example the rear-view mirror. After all, the mirror was something I had specifically written on my wish list.

And whenever it collapsed, I knew that it had been due to me not being diligent enough. Just like I always came up with an excuse, according to which something or someone else was at fault.

My most stupid excuse was the wind. That usually got the reply: “yes, the wind, the wind, the heavenly child”. There were sanctions, also for lying. And I got annoyed about not having come up with a more intelligent excuse.

In fact, I never had a bike that collapsed because of the wind.

Never? Wrong!

Last Wednesday, on the Viktualienmarkt, it happened. After having seen the beautiful exhibition “The German Portraits Around 1500” at the Hypo-Kunsthaus, we were hungry, so we went to the Poseidon on the Viktualienmarkt. And while I contentedly ate the delicious fish soup and looked out of the window at the inclement weather, a gust of wind came and threw my bike over.

It was not the light-weight Koga, my touring bike, but my city bike, the heavy Utopia Roadster. The tyres alone weigh almost one kilogram each.
Well, the wind threw my Roadster over just like that. Regardless of the stability of its stand. And there was not even a saddle-bag – where the wind could have been caught – attached to it!

And then I remember how I rode my bike on Friday, December, 16th of last year home through the stormy Munich after a chess night at the Kolumbusplatz in the evening. Almost all the bikes I saw on my way had been thrown over by the wind and were lying on the roads, streets and plazas of the State Capital.

Or the day before yesterday, when I went to Unterhaching and saw that all the grey plastic rubbish containers that come with two small tyres and that were sitting next to the bikes had been thrown over by the wind. They lay around every which way.

Well, I feel almost certain that I never saw anything like it during the last 40 years, neither do I remember something of the sort from childhood days. Although there were a lot more bikes in those days. But then, what is true and what is wrong – when it comes to memories?

Or is it actually under way, the climate catastrophe? And is my memory of all that snow in Augsburg correct?

I do not know.

RMD
(Translated by EG)

P.S.
About the pictures:
On the first picture, you see my Koga in North Africa, when we rode through Tunisia a few years ago. The second picture is a snapshot taken during our last tour in October 2011 from  Munich via Rosenheim, Salzburg, Gastein, Tauernschleuse, Tarvisio, Villach, Udine to Grado and then on to Venice.
Currently, my Koga is hibernating. It already dreams of its next tour early in April 2012 from Naples to the Etna on Sicily

Kommentar verfassen

*

Roland Dürre
Samstag, der 7. Januar 2012

In Deutschland fällt ein Rad um.

Denn wen interessiert es, wenn in China ein Sack Reis um fällt?

So an die 55 Jahre kann ich mich wohl erinnern. Und in 55 Jahren hat man manches erlebt und viel gesehen. Habe viele verrückte und auch ein paar gute Ideen gehabt Und vor allem gelernt, dass man den eigenen Eindrücken nicht vertrauen darf.

So wie den Kindheitserinnerungen von immer verschneiter Weihnacht und hohen Schneewällen jedes Jahr im Winter entlang den Fußwegen und Straßen.

Was ist wahr, was ist falsch? Was dominiert das Gehirn, was ist vergessen?

Aber es gibt schon Erstaunliches. Meine Eltern waren streng. Da wurde mir beigebracht, auf mein Zeug gut auf zu passen. Besonders auf das wertvolle.

Mein wertvollstes war mein Fahrrad. Wenn das Fahrrad um fiel, gab es böse Worte. Ganz schlimm war es, wenn beim Umfallen etwas kaputt ging, wie z.B. der Rückspiegel, den ich mir unbedingt gewünscht hatte.

Und immer, wenn es um fiel, wusste ich, dass es mein Versehen war. Genauso wie ich fürs Umfallen immer eine Ausrede hatte, der zufolge etwas anderes oder ein anderer daran schuld war.

Meine dümmste Ausrede war der Wind. Dann hieß es schnell, ja „der Wind, der Wind, das himmlische Kind“. Es gab Sanktionen, auch fürs Lügen, und ich ärgerte mich, dass mir keine intelligentere Ausrede eingefallen war.

In der Tat ist mir noch nie ein Rad vom Wind umgeweht worden.

Noch nie? Falsch!

Am Mittwoch am Viktualienmarkt war es so weit. Hungrig von der schönen Ausstellung „Das deutsche Porträt um 1500“ im Hypo-Kunsthaus gingen wir ins Poseidon am Viktualienmarkt. Und während ich die leckere Fischsuppe löffele und zufrieden aus dem Schaufenster heraus auf das garstige Wetter draußen sehe, kommt doch eine Windböe und schmeißt mein Rad um.

Es war nicht das leichtere Koga, mein Wanderrad, sondern mein Stadtrad, der schwere Roadster von Utopia, bei dem schon die Reifen alleine fast jeweils ein Kilo wiegen.

Einfach so wirft der Wind den Roadster um. Trotz seines stabilen Ständers. Und ohne dass eine Satteltasche dran gewesen wäre, die als Windfang hätte dienen können!

Und dann fällt mir ein, wie ich am Freitag, den 16. Dezember letzten Jahres am Abend durchs stürmische München zum und vom Schachabend am Kolumbusplatz geradelt bin. Da lagen fast alle Radel vom Wind umgerissen auf den Wegen, Straßen und Plätzen der Landeshauptstadt.

Oder vorgestern auf dem Weg nach Unterhaching, wo neben den Radeln auch die grauen Plastik-Mülltonnen auf zwei kleinen Rädern reihenweise vom Wind umgekippt kreuz und quer flach lagen.

Da könnte ich fast schwören, dass ich so etwas in 40 Jahren und auch als Kind gar nicht erlebt habe. Obwohl es damals viel mehr Fahrräder gab. Aber was ist schon wahr und was falsch an meinen Erinnerungen?

Oder kommt sie doch, die Klimakatastrophe und ist auch die Erinnerung mit dem vielen Schnee in Augsburg richtig?

Ich weiß es nicht.

RMD

P.S.
Zu den Fotos:
Das obere zeigt mein Koga in Nordafrika, auf einer Tour durch Tunesien schon vor ein paar Jahren. Das untere ist ein Schnappschuss von der letzten Tour im Oktober 2011 von München über Rosenheim, Salzburg, Gastein, Tauernschleuse, Tarvisio, Villach, Udine nach Grado und dann nach Venedig.

Das Koga macht zurzeit Winterschlaf und träumt schon von seiner nächsten Tour Anfang April 2012 von Neapel nach Sizilien zum Ätna.

Be Sociable, Share!

Kommentar verfassen

*